219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Timothy Lake Campground South was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (570) 588-1617
CGID14552

Timothy Lake Campground South

Camp Information
Sites
312
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   8   8   3   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$3
The nightly rate is reflective of our Thousand Trails membership. We stayed here in a 42' rig. Although we had reservations, Thousand Trails policy is a first-come, first-served system. That said, when we checked in, we had to drive around the large park with rig in tow to find an adequate site for our length. Cable is an extra daily charge but there is no TV signal so we signed up. Beautifully kept park, staff not too friendly but we would return as it is a beautiful area in close proximity to the Delaware Gap National Recreation Area with many hiking/biking trails and lots to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Nightly rate reflects Passport America. Driving directions on the web site are old and need updating. Was about 10 traffic lights, not 7, from I-80 on Rt 209. Winona Falls Rd from Rt 209 to campground is very winding and there are a lot of deer around, so go slow. Campground registration is open late on Fri and Sat, but Sun - Thurs they close at 5. Not very good hours, IMO. No assigned sites. You arrive, get a map of available sites at the registration desk, then pick a site and go back to finish registering. Desk clerk had no info on site lengths, so you just have to drive around to find one that fits. Back-ins and pull-throughs are available. Some are more level than others. Cable and Wi-Fi are pay-to-use for about $4 each per day. Wi-Fi can be signed up for online after you get settled on your site. Cable is purchased at a kiosk in the registration office, so if the office is closed you're out of luck until the next day. Using the washers and dryers is pricey. This place could use a nice fenced in doggie play area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
We stayed in the newer Timothy Lake South section. The park is several miles off hwy US 209 down a very hilly and curvy road with very few sighs. Don't despair, you will eventually get there. Staff was friendly and helpful and check in was easy, pick a site and come back to pay. We had pull through with 50 amp full hook ups. All worked fine and were easy to connect. Nice pool (we didn't use). However this place is expensive. The rate shown is PA rate. They add a $3 "resort fee". If you want cable TV, thats $4 per day extra. If you want Wifi, thats $5 per day extra which we chose not to get since we were only here overnight. Next time I will look elsewhere in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Stayed at Timothy Lake South April 8 - April 11. Place was empty since it was out of season. The campground is well maintained except for the bathrooms. The bathrooms are very outdated and need major work. The sites are pretty level, but the pull through sites are pretty narrow. They are all long enough for you to enjoy though. Overall, I liked the campground and plan on going back again this summer. We were in site 26, and that entire row seemed pretty good. Not a lot of shade, so in summer, most sites will be hot. All in all, good place. Would give it a 9 if the bathrooms were half as good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$0
Staff were very friendly and helpful staff. We had a back-in site on gravel/grass. We backed up to a thick tree line on the upper section of the park. We had full hook up with 50 amp electric. The site was fairly level. Hook ups were good. There is a picnic table and fire ring. Not much privacy between sites in this section. We choose this section for satellite reception. Other sections have trees and scrubs between sites. A total of 297 sites. Very big friendly. The road off route 209 to the park, about 4 miles, is a little narrow, but no problem if you take your time. Many amenities as usual at Thousand Trails parks: pool, clubhouse, planned activities, etc. There was a covered dish pig roast over Labor Day, free for all guests. Timothy Lake North has an indoor water park and outdoor pool. “North” is for small RVs only. There are about 125 cabins for rent in the north section. North is where the lake is located. Staying at the South park, and you can use the North park. There is a very clean laundry in the club house, with 3 washers and dryers. Our Verizon phone worked well with 3G, 3-4 bars most times. We did have a few days were we had trouble connecting to the Internet. One of our neighbors had the same problem. I thought it was our computer, but it was the phone. TV over the air was good, received all major networks. The park was installing a new Wi-Fi system. Not sure, though, if there is a charge, or if it is up and running. They were installing some new antennas by the club house. Acres and acres to walk your dogs. Very dark, little to no light at all at night. Very quiet even over Labor Day when the park was full. Very tiny book exchange in the clubhouse. This is a great park. Very clean and being well maintained. Sure it can have some upgrades, but almost all parks can use a little upgrading. The only problem we encountered was our surge guard shut down twice during peak hours when the park was full. But it came back on in minutes. The small lake is supposed to have some good fishing, but we didn’t give it a try. The water park is a big bonus, with an indoor lazy river. The north campground is about a mile from the south section. Every day we had deer and a few geese walking through the park. In the lower section of the park about 30 sites are being used for storage. There are a few of these sites with 2 to up to 4 RVs on some of them. Some look like they have been there for a very long time. There are few restaurants and pizza shops starting about two miles from the resort. Five miles from the park there are many more restaurants. Major grocery shopping is about five miles to a “Super Foodtown” .Large flea market across from food store. The park has several miles of paved roads for walking or biking. Bonus; you are in the beautiful Pocono Mountains. Just on the border of Delaware Water Gap National Park. Can't understand the last couple of negative reviews. Just because its not where you want it to be is no reason to give it a negative review. Road construction is not the fault of the RV Park.We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
This is a true rip off park. There are no great places to stay in this area, but we would try to find a Costco, Wal-Mart, etc., before staying here again. We were told on the phone that we could pick our site: would take us in a golf cart. The park is approximately 12 miles from the highway, and roads are under construction and with detours. No one told us. When we arrived, we were told to take our 45' with tow and find a spot. I asked if we could use the golf cart to find the site, and they said it wasn't available. We were told there were many satellite sites (wanted to watch the Olympics). We walked over and it took over an hour to find a site that we could fit on without a lot of low hanging tree branches, and we had to unhook the tow. Sites are not level. We were not comfortable here and will not return. We picked this park because of the one favorable review we saw. We certainly can't recommend it. It seems they know they only have you for one night. Rate should be around $25, just to get off the highway. Staff is not helpful at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$0
There is nothing to complain about here. The interior roads are all paved and in excellent condition. There is a variety of sites, which are well spaced. Good water, good power, scenic, pool, playground, definitely a great place to camp in the Poconos. Verizon phone service & MiFi work reasonably well. I don't understand the last two poor reviews, we didn't see any of that. The staff were present and very accommodating. Lots of activities for kids and teens, including an indoor water park just up the road at Timothy Lake North. This is one of our favorite Outdoor World parks. Only negative is that for a park this large there are only three washers and dryers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
These are actually two Outdoor World Parks, Timothy Lake North and South. If your camping rig is anything over 25 feet, don't even consider staying at the North campground. It is an older park, set up for rental and ownership cabins, with few workable campsites. However, South campground is just a mile down the road and with almost 300 sites, has just about any kind of site you want, some in the open and some with deep shade. If you want both satellite and WiFi, be sure to have a compass. WiFi signal originates from the registration/store/activity building. The pool is nice. North has a huge indoor water park and an outdoor pool with a water feature, big game room, impressive store, food service, and is open year-round. If you don't want a loud, party atmosphere (very kid/teen oriented), you can stay at South and still use all the activities at North. There is much to see and do in the Poconos, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Don't expect much from Timothy "Lake". It is small and covered with pond scum and vegetation. We stayed at the South campground and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com