214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Timber Ridge Campground & Recreation Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (231) 947-2770
CGID1456

Timber Ridge Campground & Recreation Resort

Camp Information
Sites
250
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$68



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   6   7   4   5   4   4   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$68
This is a horrible park. The list of negatives is long but among them are unkempt, unlevel dirt sites, narrow and dusty roads, no park supervision, dogs roaming unleashed, speeding by cars and golf carts, children driving golf carts, golf carts at night with no lights, a dirty swimming pool, $10 extra per night for cable, $10 per night extra per night for sewer, and a very mis-representative web site. We will never stay here again and will advise our friends that Walmart is a better option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
This campground was our last 4 night leg on a two week trip. We reserved here based on recommendations from friends that stayed in a cabin last summer. Pulling in to the campground is a nice parking lot and newer looking lodge, store, and registration areas. This is where much of the pluses for our stay ended. First, a couple more pluses. The sites are large and this is a very large campground with lots of trees that were enjoyable at night. The playground is very nice and there is a unique BMX bike park. There are a lot of trails in the area we did not use. On the bad side, this campground is neglected and very terribly misrepresented by it's website. Our problems began at our campsite. There were 4 piles of dead leaves on the site. The site was large but the sewer pipes are a full foot above ground. We set up and went to the pool. It wasn't heated, wooden fencing had paint falling off it, and there was a kiddie pool that was out of service. It was full of water and debris. The main pool was not clean, there was a large dirt pile they covered with a mesh table contraption, and my 10 year daughter stepped on a rusty roofing nail near the drinking fountain. Their response had little concern and said they would let the maintenance person know. Looking at their 'Activities' section under camping, there were none of the following offered during our stay: Wagon Rides, Bike Parades, Heated Swimming Pool, Capture the Flag, Nighttime Glow Parades, Kool Kids Krafts, or Candy Cannon. The speed limit is 5 MPH but you'll have to drive slower or risk your truck and camper being violently shaken. Main lodge shower, $.50/5 minutes, was broken. Bathroom was dirty. Went to the other bathroom and the stall didn't lock, at least i was only walked in on once. Washing machines were all out of order, every one of them. The kids rented a 4-seater bike for $15 and the tires were very low. No one to come fill them. A couple of pinball machines in the lodge were out of order. There is so much potential for this campground but the owners just don't seem to care. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
This park is nice and is very family oriented with lots of activities for kids. It is a rustic park with gravel roads and sites. The sites are very large and amongst the trees, so no satellite service was available. They do have full hookups with cable. The location is not too far out of town. We got a weekly rate discount, but still felt it was a little pricey. Not many options in the area. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This was a pleasant place to stay with the kids. Nice pool area. Clean overall. Very friendly staff. Excellent camp store. A nice feeling of being in the woods, but in a well taken care of setting. A nice cross between a manicured RV park and a rustic park. Amazingly, insects were few and far between . No issues with mosquitoes. Good number of pull through sites. Cool little cabins; some even have air conditioning. Sites are well taken care of, and most are reasonably level. My family will definitely return. My one real gripe is that the restrooms were not as clean as I would like to see them. Not horrible, but definitely could be improved. Showers are pay stalls, so bring your quarters. It would be nice if the pay mechanism had a warning tone to let you know that your time was about to expire, kind of like a self serve car wash. Would like to see a hook or two put in the stalls so clothes, shower kits and or towels could be hung rather than having to lay them on the small mostly wet bench in each stall. Another thing to be aware of is the sewer connection at the full hook up sites sits approximately 9 inches above grade. So, depending on your site and the position of your rig, your sewer hose is running uphill at the connection. A good elevated hose support would be helpful to keep everything flowing nicely. Overall a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
There were positive and negatives we discovered here. We had a full-hook up site in the back of the campground which was nice as the only thing behind us was forest and trails. Nice trail system here and a map was given to us at check-in. Great pool and lots of activities for the kids. Our site was large and mostly level. However, the interior roads in this campground are terrible - narrow, pot-holed, broken asphalt / gravel mix. The wide, paved entrance is very deceiving as to what the rest of the roads are like. Cannot comment on the restrooms as we did not use them, but I did see you have to pay for the showers. Laundry room was very dirty and only 2 of the 3 washers were operational. Staff member came and emptied the trash while I was there but didn't bother to sweep or clean the floor in any way. Wi-Fi was terrible and we only got a signal at the main lodge. Cable TV not available unless you had a 50amp full hookup (we had a 30amp). The owners dogs had the run of the place which, one time, made it difficult to walk our 2 ON-LEASH (as required) dogs as the loose one followed and tormented mine. Not sure we will return; perhaps if we find out they actually invest some of their profits on improving their interior roads! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$46
I stayed here for 5 nights. This is a very busy campground. There are a lot of activities for children. The interior roads within the park are narrow and windy and I doubt that all of the sites are big rig friendly - I'd make sure to note if you're bringing a big rig when you make your reservation. Showers are coin operated. Wi-Fi is available in very limited areas of the park, if this is a necessity for you then make sure to mention it when you make reservations. My problem arose after I checked out. Six days after leaving the campground an additional charge from Timber ridge showed up on my credit card statement. After 3 phone calls to Timber ridge I was told that a staff member thought that there was a tent on my RV site and so I was charged a tent fee for my stay. This was done erroneously without my knowledge. I was eventually able to get the charges reversed. I have real reservations recommending a business that acts in such a manner. A 5 was the best that I could rate this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
I wish I had read the previous reviews before reserving 3 nights for our pricey "premium" site, but overall the camp was visually nice. Our site #64 was not level, picnic table wobbly and WiFi was extremely slow and/or not working. Showers are pay @ $.50 for five minutes only!! Thankfully, we had our own shower in rig. Camp employs a lot of young people who are friendly but not knowledgeable about restaurants, events, etc. Inside roads could use repair. It appears the owners prefer paying minimum wage to teens/college age kids, and are not putting much of their profits back into their campground. What a shame! They were not on site at all when we needed them for questions during our stay. At $55 a night, we would not camp here again nor recommend this camp to anyone else either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Interior road conditions were poor. Wi-Fi was poor. Laundry room was dirty with only 2 washers (of a total of 3) working for a campground with this many sites? One bathroom of the two was closed while we were here. The bathroom that was open, two toilets out of three worked in the Men. The handicap toilet was out of order. Two young ladies in the office were great when inquiring about local events, roads, etc. Our check-in lady though was coldly efficient bordering on rude. Rules of the park were not followed for quiet time, clothes lines, etc. Stray dogs would leave 'treasures' on your site. They have hiking trails, but no maps with lengths of trails, difficulty, etc. Very disappointed in this campground. The price was ridiculous considering all of the above. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
In the past 6 months we have stayed in roughly 25 RV parks. This was the worst. During the check in procedure one of the first signatures they require states that you waive any rights to privacy, meaning they can use your picture or any other info about you for advertising or any other purpose they desire. Secondly, while they claim they have Wi-Fi no one around us was ever able to get on. Thirdly, they fail to mention that there are additional charges to use the showers-pay showers. Fourth, campsites are dirty, mostly sand with a smattering of gravel and cigarette buttes. Fifth, off leash dogs wander the area at will-disturbing your leashed animals. Sixth and last the cable TV which we paid extra for worked hardly at all. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
Beautiful facility - friendly helpful staff. About two hours after we checked in, the 50 amp breaker at our site blew. The owner came back to the park and replaced the breaker. While he was working on the pedestal, he learned that it was our first trip to the area. An hour later he came back with maps and brochures and helped us plan our sight-seeing for the following day. Just can't beat service like that! Wi-Fi was iffy when the campground was full, otherwise, no complaints. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$43
When we arrived, we immediately had a problem with the electricity. It tripped our surge protector three times and continued into the next day. We were unable to use our a/c overnight but it was pretty cool and not needed. They came out the next day after it tripped again and worked on the electrical box. They apparently fixed it because it didn't trip again. They also ran cable to our site which hadn't been available. This is the only reason they got as high a review as they got. The electrical problems still exist as our new neighbors cannot run their a/c either. Lots of sand and rough roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We decided to try a new campground in Traverse City, so we stopped here. This would be a great campground if you have children, it appears they have a lot of activities for kids. We did not stay here though, we asked for a refund after we got to our site and discovered there would not be any electric or water supply for quite a while. Apparently the water and electric lines had been cut during some construction they were doing. The staff was very nice, and gave me a refund. The owners said they were new and were trying to improve the place. It is very hilly, and the roads are not paved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$35
Showers were ice cold and were difficult to get a trickle of water at best after paying $1.25. Owner was insulting to guests. Owner did not even know that his gatehouse guy did not have our parking permit when we arrived before the closing time of the campground, this was paid for in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is an old Jellystone Park that still has that look and feel. Lots of trees with dirt sites with no grass at all. The staff was very nice and the entrance is very well done. Lots of children riding bicyles and playing everywhere. I would stay again if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Very nice campground. It was extremely kid-friendly. There is a well maintained pool, a big playground, and even a dodge ball court. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
We stayed here in the winter, without the kids, but it was a beautiful area. The sites were covered in wood chips and it was noisy, but the whole campground was here for the same event, so we weren't inconvenienced at all. The staff was also very accommodating. Plenty of biking and hiking trails. The City of Traverse City is not far away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Nice shaded large & level un-paved campsites. Wi-fi available but not on all sites due to distance from office. Facilities were well maintained and laundry available. TV available off the air. Good location for touring the Traverse Bay area. Staff friendly and polite. We had water & elec. only site. We would recommend this campground if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
Nice wooded, hilly campground however the sites were all dirt/sand. No grass in the entire campground. They have wood chips in the sites to cut down on dust/dirt but still was a problem. Staff was very accommodating when something was needed. Top notch job in keeping groups/kids quiet after quiet time. Pool was not heated. (If it was it was still pretty cold!) There are planned activities for the kids but with no grass in the campground, kids were very dirty by the end of the day. Price was very high for what you get. Oh and the best part: they charge a 50 cent fee for showers which we think is crazy after paying $47 a night. If you are headed to Traverse City, I would keep looking for another campground. The State Park looked nicer for half the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This campground is great. The new owners are spending a lot of money upgrading things all around the campground from upgraded shower buildings to new sewer hookups sites. The cabins and bunkhouses you can rent are also really cool, some with full bathrooms and mini-kitchens. We camped after Labor Day so the place was virtually empty. For the weekend a bunch of soccer families arrived for a tourney and if not for them it would have been pretty sparse. It got really noisy with all those kids but by quiet time it was indeed quiet. The management really keeps things like that in check, at least while we were there. This is a very family/kid friendly campground with tons of things to do and on the weekends the owners sponsor all types of activities. As for the previous bad review on dirt/sand...well...it's a campground, not an RV parking lot. All sites are very wooded and fairly level. We had a great site but we noticed some had some strange locations of the utilities, so be on the lookout for that. But most sites were fine. Some sites are small but seem to be at least 20 feet wide, you don't feel right on top of each other. Some sites are actually quite large. I think of this place as a cross between a state park and a KOA in that they have resort type features like a pool, mini-golf and such but the setting is very parklike. Dump station and propane fillup also are available. Also tons of things to do in Traverse City on to the west. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
I will post my negatives first. I agree that it is a dirty/sandy campground (you get that with a lot of shade though). There are too many street lights and I do not like the fact that they removed all the trees along the back to make pull-throughs. Took away something to me. This would be a plus for the bigger rigs though. This is a wonderful family campground. If you have kids they should never be bored. Nice pool and many other things to do. The staff is wonderful. They are really trying to attract more business and make many improvements. They have definitely read the "manual" on customer service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
Just got back from this campground and I must rate it lower than the others here as I like grass not dirt!. This campground is an old Yogi bear campground thats in the woods with lots of trees but we didnt see any sites with any grass. I don't need a lawn but like grass and not dirt. I've camped for 13 years and only paid $45 or more twice ever, once at Walt Disney world, and once at fun N sun in St. Petersburg florida. These two I would pay $45 or more and will someday return. Timber ridge I wont! On the plus side the pool was nice. Only had to drive to it because we didnt' want to walk through dirt there and back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Nice park with ample room at sites. We utilized a pull through site and had plenty of room to park the tow vehicle either in front of or in back of the RV. On exit the radius to enter the road was fairly tight but doable without incident. There was plenty to do in the park and also in Traverse City during Cherry Festival. We tried the pedal carts but found it too hard to use in the sandy terrain. All in all I would recommend this park although a bit pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$42
We have visited this campground every year for the last 14 years and love it. It has new owners and they are doing a great job upgrading all the facilities. Lots to see and do in the Traverse City area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$47
Very clean and pleasant park. Has nice store with ice cream available until 10:00PM. Large clean pool and adjacent arcade, activities during the day for kids. Sites are large and convienient to both single track and dual track trails in adjacent state land. Owners and managers are very friendly. We will definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$42
The sites are large and very wooded. Nice layout of the park. Some sites require very long water and electrical cords. The front desk staff was very friendly. For reservations, I recommend calling instead of e-mailing as they never answered my two e-mails. The park is about 10 minutes from downtown Traverse City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com