220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Myre-Big Island State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (507) 379-3403
CGID1464

Myre-Big Island State Park

Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   10   10   8   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$28
The campground is located on an island in the middle of Albert Lea lake. It is nestled under a canopy of trees and is nice and quiet. I would suggest you get a site with electric in the summer since it was a little hot and sticky. There was a few mosquitoes and a lot of long legged spiders, so also bring some bug spray. But overall, a very beautiful campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Twenty six per night was for a 30 amp electric site. In addition, there is daily parking permit of $5 or you can purchase an annual MN state parking pass for $25, which is good for 12 consecutive months from the date of purchase. Many recreational opportunities are available in the surrounding areas including biking/hiking trails. Campground is within manageable driving distances for shopping and other activities. Spacing between sites is generous and most sites are level or need only modest leveling. Sites range from full shade to full sun. We received three bars of 4G on our AT&T phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Very nice state park. Nice hiking trails and bike trail that goes into Albert Lea. Staff friendly and helpful. Shower house on the island campground is in need of updating. White Fox campground bath/shower house is great. Would have given a higher rating but the roads in both campgrounds are in awful shape with potholes. Trees hanging low and need to be trimmed back. They need to realize that rigs are higher these days and people don't appreciate tearing things off the roof and scratching sidewalls. Non-campers should not be allowed to drive through the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Not all spots are perfectly level, but with a few blocks we got our RV leveled fine. Wonderful wide sites, gravel pads, and good electric. There is no water at each site, but many places where jugs can be filled. Restrooms were modern and quite clean. Great hiking on maintained trails. Two campgrounds: White Fox is good for larger RVs, more open, and easier to navigate. Big Island is tighter, very wooded, sites seem smaller/cramped, but great for a popup or tent. Good firewood $5 at ranger station. Good Verizon 4G signal in White Fox (likely from Albert Lea) and AT&T cell phone had some service too. A very nice place to come! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This was a lovely park in southern Minnesota. We stayed five nights so we bought the MNSP annual pass of $25.00. The rate reflects $23 for the site and $5.00/day for the entrance fee. There are kayaks and canoes available for rent. The sites are large. We stayed in the White Fox campground, which is closer to the entrance and more open. The staff was super and very accommodating. The bathrooms were always clean and showers were in individual locked rooms, which is always nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
This is a lovely park. We stayed in a large, wooded site (electricity only) by the lake. We enjoyed the many hiking (dog-friendly) trails around the park. BUT we were surprised by the total price. Besides the $23 campground fee, we were charged a whopping $8.50 for making the reservation online. And then an additional $5 daily use permit when we checked in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We stayed here while traveling through MN. The lady running the office was incredibly friendly and pleasant. The rate we paid, $22 + 4.68 was for non-residents. We had intended on staying on the island itself, but the lady wanted us of the massive mosquito population, and recommended the new one. It was very nice, bathroom/shower rooms were big and clean. Spaces were nices and large. Loved the park. If we ever travel through again, we would definitely stay here. But bring the bug spray! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This is another great Minnesota State Park Campground. The spaces are larger then most other camps. I enjoyed all of the different wild flowers. The sites are easy to back into, and pretty level. I will be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
A very nice State Park. They have two different camping areas. Big Island is more wooded and private and White Fox is newer with very nice bathroom and showers. The park staff is very friendly and helpful. We did the Geocaching and that was fun for us. Nice bike trails. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
We had a non-electric site that was excellent. The White Fox campground is generally better for larger motorhomes (level, tree branches, etc) while the Big Island campground is wonderful for pop-ups and tents. Big rigs can fit in sites 1, 2, and 3 easily on Big Island though. In White Fox larger rigs aim for 37, 39, 43, 45, 56, 55, 54, and 47. Other sites will work too, but the ones I mentioned are pretty nice. Facilities in White Fox are excellent - clean and modern. Very fine hiking too. Limited cell phone coverage (1 bar). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$13
Large state park with two campground areas, one on a wooded island and the second a half-mile or so "inland". Our campsite was on the island and it was delightful. Large sites, heavily wooded, with electric available (water spigots, no sewer, dump at inland site's entrance). Bike and walking paths wind around the island. Rental canoes are available (pre-booking suggested). No formal "swimming area" but you can walk or bike to suitable access points. Camp host available for information or advice. Great kick-back place for an overnight or several days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
Very nice large park with 2 CGs: one is in savanna, with shade but sites open to each other. Very nice newer bathhouses there with individual shower rooms. The other, on Big Island & reached by causeway, is heavily wooded, with very large sites, some relatively private. Older bathhouses but very clean. Campground host on the premises. Nice view of the lake from some sites. Park use fee required in addition to camping fee; total came to $26 for a night for elec-hookup site. With the woods and peaceful atmosphere, the price was well worth it! Some distant road noise from I-35 and a distant train, but not bothersome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
Site are large with lots of room for kids to run around. Nice hiking trails that go from grass prairies to woods to marshes. Lots of birds, especially waterfowl. The trails could use more maintenance. There are several places with benches to overlook the lake, but trees have grown and blocked the view. There is a "Waterfowl Observation Blind" overlooking a march about 100 yards off the main trail that is rotting away and tree growth has blocked the view. Expect lots of bugs if you hike by the marshes. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
Two campgrounds: White Fox and Big Island at this state park. We stayed at White Fox - best sites for Class A are 55-63, other sites very fine for popups. Sites are open but shaded. Good run-around room for kids. Big Island campground have sites carved out of the woods. Some sites bit tight for big rigs but are fantastic for tents or popups. Facilities at White Fox are new and kept very clean. Big Island facilities are older but kept clean too. Excellent hiking and bird watching here. Can rent canoes too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Good state park CG. Park wraps around a lake with lovely views, fishing, hiking and bird watching. 2 separate CG's - White Fox is more open with fewer trees. Big Island is heavily wooded. Both have large sites with decent brush screening. Negative for us: no designated swimming area, which seems stupid for a park on a lake. For the money, it's a great value. Very convenient to I-90 & I-35, but not close enough to hear traffic. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com