214508 User submitted reviews online!!
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (507) 584-6611
CGID1466

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
320
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$95



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   9   10   6   7   10   8   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$95
Lets start with the positives: the kids enjoyed the jumping pillow and the water slides. Negatives: the pool was about a quarter the size it should be for a park this size. My wife and I could not sit while our kids were in the pool. The sites were very small our awning was almost touching the awning of the camper beside us and as we tried to sit around our fire pit we were actually sitting in the neighbors campsite. The "lakes" were small and had so many campers packed around them that you can't get to them to fish or even see them on a walk. The biggest disappointment was the tubing river. It is a creek. You can't tube. Even if you could they had used it as a dump. Someone dumped old construction waste in the creek bed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
Some of the best, kindest and hardest working owners/staff we've ever seen. Improvements appear to always be happening to this park. Brand new main lodge. New cabins were just being finished while we were here. And they were just putting the finishing touches on their "premium" sites, which feature narrow pond-side back-in sites on class 5 and uniquely curved concrete patio slabs. Sites at south end of park are nicely shaded and appear to be good for small groups, if you choose. Conveniently located right off I-90, but little highway noise detectable. Pool and water-slide area is nice, but way too small to handle demand on most days. Good mix of seasonal, temporary and cabins. While shade is abundant on most sites, sites are very narrow. Sites with sewer hookup are also rare and resort does not appear to offer honey-wagon service. Polite, family-oriented atmosphere with bikes and carts scurrying about. Never any noise at night. Everything is a very short walk away. Center of park features a nice pond with fountain and paddle boats, where kids try their hand at panfish and the occasional turtle. There is no beach. If the water is high enough, you can take a short float down the creek that surrounds the park. If you're bringing kids, be sure to pack light tackle, small nets, bikes and maybe even rubber boots. Bike trails attach to park. Themed weekends and other activities are listed in their website. As with most campgrounds these days, you can NOT bring in your own firewood. Jellystone Austin charges what we think is a steep $5 for a bundle of wood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
VERY kid friendly campground. There are quite a few Seasonal Sites in the middle of the park. We arrived late but received a very friendly welcome from the staff working at the time. Long pull-thru site. Bathrooms were spotless. Showers were too. Shower was big, private, spotless, and HOT. Many activities available for kids including a petting zoo up through Labor Day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$46
Awesome campground!! Very kid/family/pet friendly. We stayed for 4-nights (Fri-Tues) and had a great time every day. There are so many things for the kids to do - whether it is the pool, playground, fishing, paddle boats, etc, etc or the planned activities - we had something for everyone to do each day. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. You get a nice 'welcome' bag when you check in with information on the campground as well as local attractions and a few goodies for the kids. The campground was very clean - showers, restroom, general areas and sites. The campers we were around and met during the stay were all very nice and fun to be around as well. Our kids made a few friends that weekend! We were unable to get a site with sewer (they were all booked 4-months in advance) so we needed to use the honey-cart service. Two gentleman showed up to "pump" and we were chatting with them and come to find out it was the owners that were pumping our camper! I was very impressed that the owners would be doing that, and so friendly/happy to be there doing it. They chatted with us a bit, asked us if we were having a good time, if there was anything they could improve on, etc. and just great guys. I would recommend this campground to anyone who wants a great camping experience! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This park definitely has appeal for families with children. I was concerned about running over a child as many were riding bikes and playing in the street. As a result, the campground was very noisy. We were directed to park in a spot that had a very deep mud hole as did several other sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
Unexpected stay because of vehicle problems. Nice park, staff was very friendly and helpful in getting us a spot. No cable TV, site pretty level, bathrooms were a little dirty with the number of people in the park. Looks like a nice place for kids, lots to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
This is one of our favorite places to camp. Staff has always been friendly, and the park is well cared for. There are lots of things for the kids to do as well. Prices can get a little expensive during peak season, but they also have special weekends with reduced pricing. Sites range from decent sized to quite large. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Very convenient park off of I-90 stayed one night site was under water when we arrived due to all the rain they received that day. Many activities for the kids which is a plus for us. Maybe would stay here again if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
During the summer this place is packed with a lot of locals many of whom are seasonal with some year round. The Campground has been taken over by a new couple and they are very pleasant and energetic. The campground during September is beautiful and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
Park is now part of Jellystone Resort. Stopped for 1 night - easy on & off from I-90. Park is very busy with many kids running around - having fun. Not a place for a quiet weekend away, but looks like a great place for families. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Restrooms are dated and well worn and dirty at end of day. Interior roads are tight & congested. Caution needed due to high traffic of golf carts. OK food served at on-site cafe (pizza & breakfast). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
We did not run into any of the misunderstandings mentioned, but our stay didn't involve children or tents or an extended stay. We had a nice campsite on the water. There are tons of things for kids to do, as mentioned, but the campground is large, so we weren't bothered by excessive noise or activity. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$51
We made reservations through the Beaver Creek website. We got a tent site with no hookups and expected to pay simply for the fee listed on their website. Unknown to my wife and I however, added to this rate was an extra fee per child. Had we known about his fee ahead of time it would have been okay: we would have chosen to stay there knowing what we were going to pay or simply camped elsewhere. Although the campground has children's activities to do, it is not all inclusive. They do have planned activities which we did not participate in due to time constraints. (we were visting relatives in town.) The pool is included, but you have to pay extra to use the bikes, water slides, minigolf, paddle boats, feed the pets. This is understandable so the items are available to use for those who pay to use them, but the fees add up fast. All this for a campground that says they can charge higher prices because they have so much to do. The staff seemed overly crabby the entire weekend with the exception of a nice man working the gates and a younger lady in the store. When asked about the additional fees we had paid for having our children camp with us, we were told the fees are listed in their brochure. I mentioned that I had reserved through the website and never saw their brochure. The answer I got then is that "I'm sure we had fun and the price we paid was worth it and that their website might not be totally up to date." Basically "Oh Well!" Again all of this could have been avoided by letting us know when we received our reservation confrmation what the true cost would be. We would have most likely stayed elsewhere since we didnt spend alot of time at the campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
The rate we paid included the Good Sam discount. The campground is clean and well-kept. Staff is friendly. This campground is specifically geared toward kids. There is a lot for them to do. There is a nice petting zoo. You can rent golf carts to use in the campground. There is a nice cafe that serves a limited menu. We had pizza and it was very good. I would suggest that they change from styrofoam plates to something less dangerous to the environment. Grocery and other supplies were readily available. We did have an experience that was difficult. They parked us in the incorrect spot. About 3 hours later, they asked us to move. As we are older and try to keep our days simple, this was quite a chore to unhook utilities, pull in slide-out, put everything away inside the unit, repark, and set up all over again. What was not satisfactory is that they offered us no compensation for their error, which they readily admitted it to be. We had intended to walk to the petting zoo and to have breakfast at the cafe the next morning. But, because of the experience, we had no energy left to walk, and no interest in giving them more funds. We could have asked for compensation of some sort, but if they were concerned about their customers, they should have offered it to us in some way--other than free donuts in the morning that everyone can get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$58
Stayed here Memorial Weekend, lots of families, the park was full. Sites are mostly grass with gravel roads, and some sites can be difficult to get into. Several restroom/shower facilities spread throughout the park which was very convenient. Lots of kid activities and good restaurant for burgers, breakfast, etc. Could have used better rule enforcement, kids dropped their bikes right in front of the office door and all over the parking lot, did not use the bike rack hardly at all. Golf carts were everywhere and did not observe the speed limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
Restrooms & Showers were clean but constantly had a boom box playing. Everything all in one building. Site was level, but on grass. We had 30amp and no sewer. Tight maneuvering and low branches. Very expensive for what you got. We went to see the Spam museum and Mower Historic Center. The Mower Historic Center is on the county fair grounds and so we got 2 for one because the fair was on. Probably will not stay again, seen the sites and not a real friendly campground. Price does not match facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Lots of activities for the kids and great shade on camp sites. Friendly staff as it's under new ownership. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$41
Park was well kept and the bathrooms and showers were very clean. Very friendly workers and the owners were great. Everything is geared for the children and the ones we saw were having a wonderful time. Worth coming a long way to stay at and the best part is you can stay as long as you want on Sunday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$40
A wonderful family friendly park with a real petting zoo and lake. They are very RULE happy, you can't escape the signs, but one of the nicest parks we have ever stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Large drive through sites, good shade, beautiful well maintained park. Friendly staff. Lots to do in park and in area. Theme weekends. Kids loved animal petting park they could walk into and feed the animals, as well as free fishing in their stocked ponds. My wife was thrilled with their free internet service. I especially liked their restaurant,horseshoe tournaments and Karaoke on Saturday night. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
We probably wouldn't have stayed here due to the lukewarm verbal reviews above, but it is close to Spam. We liked it. The park has enlarged in the last few years (the prior site count on this was 150) and the sewer/water is upgraded. It's still a family campground with an area of seasonal people - esp. the waterfront sites. We parked our 40' motorhome on the grass under the trees with just w/e and loved it - the satellite even worked, which is our gauge of a good park . Our lady at the front desk was terrific, but I saw others later that weren't. Great store supplies of every kind - even a hammer. The highway noise wasn't bad & we were on the close edge. I wouldn't want to stay here on a weekend in high season on a holiday, however. It probably gets bizarre. Lots & lots of stuff for the kids to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Beautiful setting but never-ending noise from the interstate and seeing the poor animals in their "petting zoo" suffer in the constant sun, humidity and dirt while in their "jail cells" detracts more than words can say. The ponds are rather scummy and quite mosquito-filled, and rusting equipment can be seen lying about on the "islands." Also, the workers act like they're doing you a favor while waiting on you, especially the older woman who mans the counter. The owner attempts to be friendly while visiting your site, but once he pops by he never leaves - and all he wants to do is talk endlessly about himself and his campground! When we departed he glared at us, making us wonder what we had done? On the up side, the sites are large, a lot of them are shaded, the park appears well-kept and the bathroom facilities are really nice. But at $29 a night, we found it rather expensive and not close enough to Austin to be called "Austin." We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Family Campground - pool, petting zoo, fishing ponds, train rides, gameroom, etc. Stagnant fishing ponds tend to be mosquito breeders. Otherwise, campground meticulously maintained. Slideouts are no problem, good sized sites. Nearby Austin hosts Hormel's Spam Museum - very well done and free. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$27
A quaint friendly campground. Kind of a throwback to the old style resort where a family would go to spend a week. Has a petting zoo, albeit quite run down, LOTS of activities and even a train for kids to ride around the park on. Sites are so-so, but staff is very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com