224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Flying Goose Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (507) 235-3458
CGID1479

Flying Goose Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   7   8   9   8   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$49
Thought I had reviewed after stay, but can not find. It was OK for our 45 ft MH as a one nighter, but appears geared for families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is mostly wooded beautiful setting (wooded and on a lake) and clean campground. 65 of the 110 sites are permanent (at least spring through fall) sites and many more are customers who come here frequently with their groups. The owners / staff that we met are great people and there are many activities. WiFi is just ok. TV is a couple of channels by antenna and you might have sat issues due to trees. Many of the residents have an “ownership” attitude. Some of the sites get so crowded that things like people, dogs, ATV’s, bikes, golf carts, etc., spill over onto the narrow roads. Not very welcoming to “short timers.” If you have any sort of smoke issues / allergies I would highly recommend you look elsewhere. Lots of smoky fires go all the time to some degree and the air is really, really thick after about 4pm. People bring in pickups full of wood and have storage areas on their sites. But here is a first: there is a little mailbox in the laundry room with a sign, “Honor system - $1 per load.” And we felt it is pricey at $48 / night with no Good Sam or other discounts: only mid week and weekly discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$43
This campground was exactly what was advertised and what we were seeking: Nice sites, quiet and with a great beach. The owners/staff were friendly to the point of feeling like long-lost friends, guiding each rig to their site and answering any requests on the spot. Sites were rather large and most are quite well shaded. Hookups were clean. The beach is inconveniently (and oddly) quite a ways from the main campground, so don't expect to walk there with all your gear on a hot day. Many campers drove their vehicles to the beach, crowding around the sites that are there. The min-golf course was very run down, and the owner indicated it would be re-built next year. The sites in our area had the fire ring located at the far end of the site, which we found odd. Kids and adults had a fun, relaxing time and we found ourselves wishing we'd been able to stay another day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$62
Pretty pricey when we had to pay for extra people with us. We had various kinds of insects at our campsite the entire 4 days we camped here. The first 2 days we could not even sit at the picnic table, let alone put food on it! Some sort of little black bug was the very worst! Two perks were the daily trash pickup at your site--did not have to trek to a dumpster to dispose of trash. The other one was a nice little chapel with Sunday services which we enjoyed. Would be "iffy" if we stayed here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Flying Goose Campground is owned and operated by a friendly farm family with a hands-on attitude. The popular campground is located on the shores of Lake Imogene, a small spring fed lake. The campground is well maintained. The interior roads are blacktopped and the pads are gravel. There are large trees throughout the campground. The positive is there is lots of shade; the downside is the trees make it very difficult to enter some of the sites. I wouldn’t consider Flying Goose big rig friendly, but there were many larger rigs camping. Many of the sites were occupied by seasonal campers. Our site was not level. The restrooms were inspected frequently. As a result, they were very clean. The voltage was low with the air conditioner running. The drinking water had a unique odor. The owners are gradually updating the water, electricity, site size, etc. The OTA television reception was good. Twenty dollars is a group rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Pulled off interstate due to a storm and found this gem. Very nice pave roads. We were led to our site and given information about the local area. We were in spot 72, a 100 foot pull through, and got satellite reception. We were too far from the clubhouse for the free Wi-Fi. Just stayed overnight so didn't use any facilities but if the check-in area is any indication, the whole place is nice. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
Very nice park, mostly well kept permanent sites. Most roads are paved, sites are grass or gravel. Lots of shade, so no satellite reception. No cable system. But a very nice stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
What a find! This place is a gem. I agree with everything the past post said. Clean, Clean, Clean. The owner's were so friendly and helpful. Drove you to your site, came by later in the day to make sure everything is OK, and to chat. I can't say enough about this place. I will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Wow, what a find. Beautiful and well maintained property. Large pull-through sites with ample space between units. Excellent walking and biking. Nice looking lake, but not here long enough to enjoy it. Clean bathrooms, but coin operated shower a bit unusual. Would definitely stay here again, but would stay more than one night to fully enjoy the surroundings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
We stayed for one night, but would stay there for longer. Nice, caring staff and nicely maintained throughout. Big rig sites have little shade but are over 100' long. Roads are paved and sites are grass or gravel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Have camped here for 3 years now. AWESOME place & very well maintained/up-kept. Out in the country so is quiet. Is less than 6 miles from Fairmont if you need anything. No pool but there is a swimming area at the lake. There is paddle boats & canoes for rent. We recommend the canoes as is less physical. All staff is very friendly/helpful and make sure that your stay is an enjoyable one. We were there for the July 4th weekend and it was a GREAT time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
This is a beautiful campground with wonderful, extremely helpful and friendly owners. Sites are very large, easy to get onto. This park was closed for the season but since we made the drive they allowed us to spend the night which was well worth it. Wish we would have been able to spend a week here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
Stopped here for a couple of days on our trek west. Very friendly owners, even invited us to a Potluck dinner on Saturday night. Sites are spacious and very clean. Many trees for shade and fire pits at each site. A lot of seasonal campers who are very friendly and return year after year. Many family activities during the summer months. We plan to come back to stay during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
A very quiet campground even though it is filled with local seasonals during the weekend. Seasonals seem to have all the lake spots but the pull-through sites located in the back of the park are not near the lake anyway. The campground is very well kept, very clean and tidy. Satellite reception is not good nor is TV, except for area station. Verizon broadband and phone were fine. We enjoyed a quiet and relaxing time at this campground and certainly would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Flying Goose is a beautiful campground with a large lake. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept and clean. Wide roads. The pull-through sites are very large and level. We couldn't pick up any TV stations, but if you want quiet, beautiful, and friendly I would highly recommend this park for overnight, week, or month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a wonderful campground. We stayed 2 nights and loved every minute of our stay. The second night the owner made a point to come and see us and spend time with us. Nice friendly people. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
A very nice campground. The only problem was a past review stating this place had cable TV. They do not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
We stayed here overnight while traveling on I-80. Turned out to be a nice spot to stop. The only issue was we arrived late and started to pull into a "pull through" but quickly discovered that it didn't have sewer services which we were told they had. Luckily, the site manager showed up and directed us to the proper site, with us carefully trying to avoid hitting one of the numerous trees en-route. The actual site which was easy to get into and had all the amenities. We were very pleased with the campground, and only give it an 8 because the bath house entrance was on the opposite side of our camp site and while clean, really needs an upgrade. We would stay there again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This one of the best campgrounds I have found. It is a beautiful spot on Lake Imogene. We also enjoyed Fairmont, including the historic village and lakeside pedestrian path. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
This was a one night stop-over and was a very nice surprise. Clean, friendly and a very beautiful park. We stopped here just before a major thunder storm. Once finished, the sun was out and it was a very nice campground. Would definitely recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
We had a wonderful experience here. The owners were friendly and helpful. They have a little miniature golf course to play for $2 per person. The whole campground was very clean and well kept. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. The only downside was that showers were 25 cents for 5 minutes, so bring quarters! The sites were large, and it was not very crowded, so there was plenty of room and felt very spacious. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
We stayed one night while on the road, rolled in at dusk and left first thing in the morning. Looked like a very nice campground and we commented that it looked like a nice place to stay a few days next time through. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
We have stayed here on a couple of occasions since our daughter and family live in the area. The campground is clean and well run. The staff are friendly and helpful. The sites are good-sized and some are on the lake, although most of the lakeside sites are seasonals, of which there are quite a few (close to half?). The lakeside sites, in the site#100 range, are on a fairly steep hill and could be a problem for big rigs. When we were there, the park was full - so call ahead for reservations. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
The host family is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are well kept up and the lake is clean. My kids enjoyed the hayride, mini golf and fishing dock. There is a small beach on the other side of the campground...a long walk from the newer sites. The big rig sites are spacious but we noticed most of the sites between the bathhouse and the lake were pretty tight. The bathhouse was old and not very well kept up. First campground we had been to with pay showers. It wasn't a big factor for us since we have our own facilities, but we heard the tent and pop up campers complaining about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
We stayed for a week (7 nights for price of 6) in one of 6 fairly new "big rig" full-hookup pull-through sites. All sites were pretty spacious with lots of grass and nice trees. WIFI was available in or immediately outside the office with plans underway to put up antenna's to make wifi available throughout the park. Sites are either gravel or dirt, and each has a picnic table and fire ring. Lots of recreational activities available, ie. swimming, boating, miniature golf, golf course nearby, Sunday worship in nice little chapel. Very nice country setting a few miles from Fairmont. We will definitely return when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2004
$24
This is a nice campground located on a lake. Most of the sites are a little more wooded than we prefer, but they have a section over on the end by the woodline that is in a nice clearing. There are long, wide pull-throughs in that area and many large MH's were parked over there with us. Staff are friendly. This campground provided a refreshing overnight break after 3 days of solid driving. If we are ever in the area again, we would return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Located on a small lake with a nice beach and good fishing. Owners live on site and are unusually resposive to campers' requests/comfort. Several of the sites are so large that we could have parked our 34' Bounder sideways. Some of the waterfront sites are used by long term visitors, but there are many left available. Most of the sites are shaded by mature trees and the campground is located in a rural area away from traffic and noise. We only intended to overnight, but stayed several days as it was such a restful break. Would plan our trips through this area so as to be able to stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com