214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Marais RV Park & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (218) 387-1712
CGID1482

Grand Marais RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   8   6   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
Great park, we had a nice, level and mostly quiet site with full hookups. The location is awesome as you can easily walk into town. It's also right on the water so walks out to look out over the lake are super easy and very enjoyable. No Wi-Fi from our site, but we did have good Verizon service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Nice quiet park. Sites could have been larger. Very busy. Full hookup sites were pretty shop worn. Wi-Fi available in office only. No TV with our antenna but satellite worked fine. Very touristy area and priced accordingly. We got gouged $27.00 for a pizza to go at one local pizza joint, and it wasn't even that good. Take a drive up the Gunflint trail. The scenery is fantastic! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
The park is located close enough to allow you to walk into town to explore and shop. We stayed here two nights with the grandkids and they liked using the indoor pool that is next to the campground (small fee for daily use). We full-time in our RV with two cats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Spent three nights here in early August and really enjoyed the facilities. The campsites are decent sized and reasonably level gravel which we had no trouble leveling the MH. The park was full and we had to change campsites on the last night but the hookups were easy and leveling was quick. The campground is close to town and we walked there several times a day. The staff was great and did everything they could to make our stay memorable. The views of the lake are terrific from some of the campsites and be sure to check the site map to choose a perimeter site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Reservation process for here was a problem. Due to taking courses at North House School we needed about 2 weeks. They only had space for some of the nights and said to call back to check on cancellations. Nothing came up, but we decided to stay for the first part anyway. The site we reserved did not have sewer hookup. When I checked in, I asked if a FHU site was available. She checked and found a waterfront site that was available and we could stay there two weeks. We did have to pay $4 more per night, but it was worth it. Our site had a gorgeous view of the harbor. Once in place our stay was wonderful. Sites are very large and fairly level. Utilities were good. Free Wi-Fi was hard to connect and very slow. A pay connection is available and we opted to pay for it. Much better speed. Campground is in easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. We were there July 4th and the fireworks were right in front of our site. Biking and walking trail goes right by the campground. Pool is indoors and is a community pool. Costs $4 per day. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Pretty nice campground. It is large and full. Lots of RV's and a lot of seasonal RV's. Right on the lake with a nice rock beach. The only WiFi is at the office and I feel the statement of WiFi is sorta misleading. It should be noted it is only at the office or you can pay $3.95 an hour for the commercial or $14.95 a day. Other than that it is an OK campground. If in the area I would stay here again. The town and the area is pretty and worth seeing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We love this campground! The sites are tight but the location makes up for it. The bathrooms are very clean. There isn't alot of features for kids, but I suppose that's because you're supposed to be hiking etc. The pool is the city's pool which I understand will be moved to another location so there will be even less at the campground for the kids to do. It would be nice if they put in more playground equipment or something for them. The older ladies and the gentleman in the office are very friendly. There are one or two younger gals that aren't. But that's people for ya! Overall a great location to stay at - would recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This municipal park sits right on the bay in Grand Marais and includes a beautiful long pebble beach. There are 300 sites for all manner of camping including group camping. Interior main roads are paved and serve gravel spurs. The campground is crowded during the summer season and sites are often close together so though there are trees don't expect much privacy. That said the setting next to the lake with easy walking and biking access to Grand Marais complimented by the comfortable lake effect temperatures make this a great place to be.They have 4 bathroom buildings with bathrooms that are clean. Showers are free.Campsites vary tremendously in shade, shape and size and are often not all that level. Unless you plan way ahead (I was told reservations begin January 1st) you have to take what you get though there are many sites that are not reservable. Only a small percentage of sites offer sewer, free Wi-Fi and cable TV. There is an option to pay for Wi-Fi, but it is very expensive.The office folks were friendly and business like. Unfortunately, I soon discovered that the site I had reserved was double booked. I was offered my choice of 3 other sites and was given free wood for the inconvenience which I appreciated. Verizon 3G cell coverage was good. Most sites are back-in and access varies a lot. I was surprised how quiet it was where we were camped. Note that there is an indoor pool next to the park which is available to campers for a daily fee - there is a special $2.00 rate for seniors during the work week in the mornings. We are already planning to stay here again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
One of our favorite campgrounds. Paved roads and gravel sites that are well maintained. 50a FHU site with good utilities. Had a line of sight for roof mounted satellite dish, but there are trees so some sites could be problematic. Can get a little close in some sites but the location makes up for it right on Grand Marais Bay off of Lake Superior. There is a short trail that will take you to Lake Superior too and the park is a short walk to downtown Grand Marais with some of the best eating places, a foodies paradise. We are already talking about when we can visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We camp here every year and definitely enjoy our stay. No rules, regulations or issues with anything in the park. I would recommend this park to anyone looking for an enjoyable camping trip. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This very large municipal park is located within walking distance of the tourist-oriented town of Grand Marais. Sites are quite small and many are occupied by seasonal campers. Many of the sites in the park do not offer cable TV connections. The site I was assigned was within a short distance of the lake shore. Wi-Fi service was a disappointment. The signal was weak and the response slow, possibly due to heavy use. I connected via Verizon broadband which offered a 3 bar signal. This park is okay for a short stay, but if you want to enjoy the solitude of this beautiful area, I suggest that you stop elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Fabulous view, good walking/biking distance from town of Grand Marais. The bathrooms/shower house just okay. We were able to snatch a prime lakefront site in the non-reservable section on a Sunday morning. Site was lacking in privacy but was level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We had a difficult time here partial due to Minnesota had shut down the state parks and it was crowded. The site we were assigned was so unlevel we couldn't park on it. We were given another site but had to cut short our stay by 4 days. The sites are crammed together and the sewer was on the wrong side. Part of the problem, we thought, was half the park was first come, first serve and the office didn't know when anyone would be leaving because the sites could re-up day to day for up to two weeks. Not well run in our minds. As a whole it is the only game in town so be prepared to be packed in like sardines with limited options. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Our favorite campground on the North Shore. Location is good as you can walk up town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Beautiful family park campground on Lake Superior. We had a great time camping here for a week. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The town was only a few blocks away, very easy walk. We would recommend this park to everyone. It's worth the beautiful drive up 61 to see and stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This was our second trip to this park and probably will be our last. The sites are so close together and the city needs to upgrade for "big rigs". There are very few sites with sewer hook-ups. This was an extremely busy place and guests don't observe quiet hours. The last time we were here there was no extra charge for using the pool, but now they charge $3 per person/day. All the lakeshore sights are taken by seasonal campers who aren't even there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This municipal campground has a mile of shoreline with pebble beaches and rocky overlooks. It's a beautiful location. Many of the FHU sites are close together. We were unable to get a FHU site and found we had more space between sites. The major problem was it was not possible to get level even with jacks and we ended up with our front wheels off the ground. We noticed this was a common problem. You can walk into town from the campground; there is also a municipal swimming pool at the entrance to the campground and it has adult hours. It is Olympic size. Because this is such a large campground, it is very impersonal. They run on full all summer so you need reservations. We would stay here again as the location is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
The young woman at checkin had no clue about a big rig. The first site was very unlevel and not long enough for our unit (42'). She told us to go check out a couple of sites and pick the one we wanted then to let her know which one we took. We did not have 50 amp but as it turned out, we did not need it. The Lake Superior access was wonderful and you could hear the waves crashing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
A large campground spread along the shore of Lake Superior. Most of the sites are in the open with a few large trees for shade. Grassy sites and mostly paved roads. Many seasonals but it was still neat. Waterfront sites are near the shore through the trees. Some sites overlook the marina. Sites require some leveling. Park is very close to town: one can walk to shops and restaurants. There are many places to eat. Last stop before Canada or BWCA. Friendly staff. Most of the sites are a bit tight to each other. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Nice campground. We stayed for a week. Only downsides were - it was tough to get our unit level even with jacks, and the site was muddy in the rain. The staff went out of their way to help when there was any problem. The walk / bike ride into town was easy, and the Fisherman's Picnic was a lot of fun. (It took two hours of redialing on January 5th to get through for reservations). The indoor pool was great (the very cool summer would have made an outdoor pool unusable). Don't jump in the lake, you'll freeze to death. We'll be back at every opportunity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Gone is the free swimming, golf, and Wi-Fi. Even the local television LP translators have gone away. This once magnificent campground is beginning to turn the corner in the wrong direction and the deficiencies are starting to overshadow the lake view and easy access to town. Roads are now starting to show their age was the most noticeable aspect for me. Although the rules prefer no lights from campers at night the streetlights left on all night could overpower any Coleman lantern (money the town wastes on electricity). The village has big expansion plans so look for a $40 E/W soon as they balance their budget on the backs of the RV'r. May pass on this place next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I give it a 7 only for the location; this campground is essentially a parking area winding around the city streets. The dusk to dawn light next to the baseball field blazed in the camper all night, I had to block the windows to sleep, forget trying to see any stars at night! Although it is "on the bay", the only waterfront sites are seasonals, which make the park look like a run-down trailer court. Some campers were on concrete blocks. No privacy, the public drive through the streets to get to the municipal facilities, no security. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We love this park and go annually. It is next to impossible to secure a lake view site though. They all seem to be permanent/seasonal. The only sites near the lake (view blocked by trees though) are for tents only. Still, the staff are friendly and Grand Marais is a nice quiet getaway. We are very disappointed however that the 'golf included' bonus for campers has been discontinued. It was the main reason we tried the campground in the first place. The 9 hole municipal course is a little rough but a fun, stress-free game nonetheless. Overall we enjoy the campground and will continue to go each summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We have nothing but good to say about this campground. We have recommended it to many of our friends and have made a number of trips there with the same results (excellent). How many places can you go and either walk to or just look out your front door to Lake Superior? They allow campfires which is a treat. The bathrooms considering all the people, are clean and well kept. Thank you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Crowded, but quiet at night. Restrooms/Showers outdated but clean. Short walk to downtown and all attractions. Beautiful area to visit. Lots to see. 41 miles from Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We loved this campground!! We have stayed here twice once late Oct 2007 and early May 2008, both times we were one of few in the grounds, what a wonderful experience. Staff was more than friendly and very helpful. Grounds are close to downtown. Grand Marais is one of the most beautiful places to visit, definite recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Used this campground as a home base while we traveled and checked out the sights, and there are many sights to see. Very good view of Lake Superior. Did all the tourist things, had a good trip. Recommend this campground if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
I booked in here for a total of 6 weeks. I found the costs were high for what I paid close to a thousand dollars and for what I got. They include the pool access and even one 9 hole game of golf for each day paid. When you stay by the week then you lose those perks and have to pay to swim or golf. This park will rate higher by those who stay a night or two. For long time camping I found the showers were of poor quality. Shower curtains cheap and to short to cover the opening from edge to edge. You had to make sure your clothes were out of the way or they got wet. They also were slimy. I found paying the $1.00 senior swim charge for the morning adult swim period was worth it as the showers were better. Being close to Lake Superior, a very cold lake made the stay a cold one. I went through 60 lbs of propane in 4 weeks because of the furnace running all night. You will find the town a tourist town and everything is expensive. Some nice stores to walk through and some friendly bars to have a drink. Some good restaurants. However I won't stay here again. Best time to visit would be mid July or August once the lake warms up a bit. Today is the first day of summer and it is 55 degrees outside this morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Nice park with a great location on Lake Superior. Indoor pool/hot tub/sauna included with site fee and I used almost every night. However, the pool facility is open to the public, and a lot of locals do use the facility. Wifi access is available for an additional charge, $7/day. Easy to get in and out. Conveniently located to all the great things to do in the area. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Delightful in off-season - close walking distance to town, right next to the wonderful North House Folk School. The town is charming, and has everything you need - check out the great Co-op (that's a natural foods store up here). Many sites are right next to the cobblestone beach, and there's lots of great trails to follow up the bluffs and down to the lake. There are a wide variety of sites, from hookups in a grassy field to sheltered tent sites in the trees. Bathrooms and showers were clean, with plenty of hot water, which was really nice for chilly May! And for that reviewer who thought he wouldn't come back until the lake got warm, he's going to wait a long time. Superior never gets warm - it's way too deep! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
Signage to campground good. Entrance and area to register limited particularly if you have a big rig. Office friendly and efficient. The access roads within campground were good. Had a mixture of sites both full hook-up or water and electricity. The campground lacked maintenance and some of the sites were not level. Solid electricity and good water pressure. The shortcomings of the campground were made up for by its location next to Lake Superior, particularly if you are lucky to get a site with a superb view over harbor. Convenient to walk to the village of Grand Marais. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
As with any real estate, its LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. It really doesn't get any better than this. Nice cross-section of site types with varying services serving tents to big rigs. WI-FI (Boreal Access) not only covers campground but entire town. A caveat, as the system was built for a town of 1500 permanent residents, surfing can be slow when the towns population triples on weekends. Leave your vehicle (city parking is problem) and walk anywhere in town in 5-15 minutes. Visit state's best woodcut artist. Some sites have breathtaking views of the harbor, only luck or good planning will get you into these. Can hear the waves of Superior from any site. Sites are generally flat and grassy with varying shade. A fair number of pull-throughs but sites are narrow. Paved lanes. Bonus new this year, your receipt gets you into the on-site city-run indoor pool. But wait folks, it gets better, 9 free holes of golf at Gunflint per camper per day, get passes at office. Best MuttMitts in the state to pick up after fido. Only certain sites have cable, which can be contracted by week or month, this is mainly for the full timers on the east side. Listen to community radio WTIP 90.7FM for fun mix of music and local talk. Everyone nice and friendly with all age groups represented and low-lifes were nowhere to be found. Expensive for a Muni but worth every penny in my opinion. Drawbacks are minimal, City Works and Yard is on site as are power lines for same. City ball field on site but no lights so done by dark. Close neighbors might put off some, but we were in town all day. An off leash dog park would make this a complete package. The last word for this piece of ground is RESERVE, RESERVE, RESERVE. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$32
The kids loved the pool (for $3 a day)and we loved the hot tub. We could not reach the outlet at the first site (30' landline!) so we moved. The sites are pretty level overall. The town of Grand Marais is within walking distance and the scenery is just gorgeous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This is a nice friendly campground in a pretty location, right on Lake Superior. It's close enough to walk to town to enjoy shopping and entertainment and restaurants. The campground does have a full service marina. The staff was very friendly, as were the other campers. The restrooms and showers, while older, were spotless. Many of the sites are reserved by lone term campers, and some of those sites need to be cleaned up. Overall though, it's a very nice park with very nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$27
The pool, sauna,& whirlpool are municipal own. There is a 3.00 charge. The building could use some maintance.The campground is part of the city's maintance garage. There are also high tension wires running through part of the park. Rec. hall is small and need of work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com