206926 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Casino Hinckley RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (800) 995-4726
CGID1484

Grand Casino Hinckley RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
321
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   9   9   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
This is a very nice park and well kept. The sites are level and paved. The utilities worked well and the cable TV has a lot of channels. The Wi-Fi is fast most of the time. There is a very nice pool and play area at the clubhouse. It has a shuttle that comes around every 20 minutes to take you to the casino or restaurants. It is easy to get in and out of the campground, but all the sites are back-in. The office personnel was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Very nice casino RV park with all back-in sites and full hookups, including cable TV. Small trees at some sites that provide a little shade. Plenty of amenities on site including a heated pool, casino, fire rings and paved picnic table area for each site. Nicely laid out fully paved sites with grass between each site. Their free Wi-Fi does not work well, but Verizon aircard worked fairly well. We arrived prior to the weekend and about 80% of the park was empty. By Saturday AM, the park was almost full, so reservations are recommended for a weekend. We would stay here again. Rate shown reflects a 15% SKPs discount. You can also get a 15% discount if you have a Players Club card, but you must get it before checking in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Had trouble getting reservations as the phone connection was poor but made them finally. The park is large and very well laid out with easy back ins and well maintained asphalt pads and picnic table area. They do have cable which was a good find. Internet is free but fairly slow - we ended up using the Verizon MiFi and got 4GLTE which was fast. The staff is helpful and there is a small grocery, snack and limited camping gear available. A shuttle runs up and down the rows of campsites and gives free rides to the casino next door. Hd a good time and would come back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
This is the third summer in a row that we have stayed here. We probably would not have come this far north on this trip but they offered us 2 free nights in the RV park based on last year's visit. We stayed two weekday nights during the second week of July. The park was about half full while we were here. They seem to have more extended stay customers than they used to. We had a FHU, back-in site with 50 channel cable TV and free at site WI-FI. I believe that describes all the RV sites. Most site are open enough for satellite reception. There are also about 40 chalets at the eastern edge of the RV park. As noted previously, this can be a extremely crowded park when it is anywhere near full. This is almost always the situation on summer weekends. Call ahead if you want to be here on a weekend. This is as good an RV resort as there is in this area of the country. With a potential customer base of over 1,000 people, they could use a second pool near the chalets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
Nice campground at a great rate. We stayed here just before July 4th. This place has all the extras, only downside is that they put the sites way too close together and you are very close to your neighbor. All sites are back in sites. They all also have full hookups with cable TV hookup. Also, have 4 different swimming pools that you can choose from to go to. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
This is a very nice RV resort, but there are no pull-through sites and the sites are somewhat difficult to back into due to lighted site number posts right out next to the narrow paved drive. I had some difficulty backing in with just a motorhome and watched two 5th wheelers having to negotiate those posts and get their rigs in without back and forward a couple of times. Sites are paved and level with full hookups. I did not use their cable as my satellite had a clear shot and their trees are not mature enough to block. Shuttles come through about every 20 minutes to take you up to the casino or restaurant. I am glad I was not towing my car trailer or I would have had to unhook it to get into the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
All back-in, kind of narrow sites and many roads not that wide either. But we got in OK. Check-in staff not at all friendly and not much - like none - info given on the RV resort; just a map. Laundry was very clean. Easy walk to the casino if you are so inclined - it has a great buffet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
For the second year in a row we stayed here for 3 days over a weekend. We had a full hookup, back-in site with 50+ channel cable TV and Wi-Fi. I believe that describes all sites. The comments in my review of last August (8/11) still stand. When the 500+ weekenders leave on Sunday morning, this becomes a much different park. Some examples: the pool is less crowded, the Wi-Fi works better, and the air is less full of campfire smoke. If you don't like crowded conditions, don't come on a summer weekend. The RV service center that has been on the resort grounds the past few years is now closed. They now have some (plastic bottles and aluminum cans) recycling. This is possibly the best RV resort in MN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
This is a terrific campground with well maintained, level asphalt sites and greenery all around. The rate was good and the amenities, also. The pool was enjoyed. Restrooms were clean though the shower/changing areas could have included a little more space and an additional hook for hanging clothes. For those who enjoy gambling, there is a regular shuttle (every 20 minutes) to the nearby casino. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Excellent resort, we stayed here for 1 week, had a great time. We would recommend this resort to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
It has been 5 years since we were here last. We stayed for 3 days the final weekend of August. The difference between the park on Fri. and Sat. versus Sunday after the weekenders have left is like night and day. We had a FHU, back-in (which most sites are) with 50+ channel cable TV and od, at site WIFI that worked well for us. While complaints about crowds, kids, and lack of trees are based on facts, a park that has 300+ sites and draws families because of its' recreational facilities (pool, playground, b-ball, volleyball, horseshoes, etc.) is going to be crowded and crawling with kids at times (especially on summer weekends as others have noted). The lack of shade trees is something that is what happens when you convert and old, treeless farm field into an RV park. It takes decades for trees to grow to any substantial height. The only fixable flaw that I noticed was the "too high" sewer connection that others have mentioned. Ours was a at least 7" above ground and many others were a similar hieght. This is one of the best RV parks in MN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Beautiful, well-kept park. All sites are asphalt back-ins with grassy area, picnic table and fire pit, and are amply wide. Sites are long enough to accommodate a large RV and tow or towed. Most sites appear to be level or close to it. At night the park is quiet and dark, and security patrols the place night and day. The pool was clean and warm (heated). Staff at both the RV park and the casino were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Wonderful campground with many amenities. Did not have the same experience of the previous reviewer with the bugs, etc. Those with pets took very good care of mess and noise which is expected by the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Although this is a clean park with roomy sites, it is overrated by Good Sam's 10/10/10. Very little shade available from random small trees within park. Lots of mosquitos from small stagnant water pond in center of park. Nice casino but food sources there are mediocre at best. Due to $20 monthly rate, lots of long term campers taking up the better sites within the park. All sites are back-in but long enough for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We have stayed here twice this year, both times it has been a pleasant weekend. Sites are level, and some have shade. Shuttle comes by every few minutes should you wish to go to the casino. Morning walks are nice and large variety of RV's to look at. Campfire rings and picnic tables are well maintained at each site. Wi-Fi works well. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Love this park!! Especially nice if you like to gamble; they pick you by shuttle at your site and leave you at the front door of the casino. Park is very clean and has a large pet area. The staff from the the check-in to maintenance and security are great! Plenty of garbage containers throughout the park. Each site has a patio, picnic table and fire pit/barbecue. For everything that is included in the camping fee this is a great value. Has a nice play area for kids: volleyball, basketball, pool, inside game room to play cards or other table games. You also have access to all three hotels (Grand Casino hotels) to use the pools if the weather outside is not good for the campground pool. Hope to spend more time there in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Nice park and it is what it is, RV casino park and a destination, we traveled 800 miles to get there, mind you we met friends there as well. Staff is friendly, park is clean, sites level and the amenities adequate, cable is a nice touch. One gripe is that the sewer drains are too high makes for a poor dump but for 20 bucks what the heck. Once the trees mature it should be really nice, not really for the kiddos as is what we prefer. Definitely going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
This is one of our favorites. Plenty of room with blacktop parking, all sites have full hookups including sewer. Mostly flat, open RV park but the trees are finally starting to grow! Pretty wetland area meanders through the park; a lot of water and lots of ducks and geese when we were here. Good fun. One large bathroom/showerhouse for a campground this big (287 sites) might seem a little dicey, but it works ok. We've never had to wait. Shower stalls during our last stay, were a little less than spotless, but it was a busy week. If you put up the little flag at the end of your site, the shuttle bus will pick you up for a 'free' ride to the big casino. Buses every 5 minutes, 24 hours. Several very good restaurants at the casino. Car wash and large RV wash on site, plus a service bay for motorhome oil changes. VERY helpful folks at oil change facility; a great deal. We brought our own oil and filter; they charged us $12 to change it! Gas rig, of course. The Hinckley fire museum in town (2 miles) is worth a visit. The casino/RV park is 1 mile east of I-35, and at the interchange are lots of fast food places, gas stations, etc., also a multiplex theatre about a mile from the resort. This is a class act and a good deal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
We used this as an overnight stop. Sites have FHUs and they are correctly placed. Shuttle service to the casino and restaurants. Very efficient check-in. The site was almost level. WiFi is rather slow. It is well-priced for what you get. Inexpensive restaurant food and casino card for $5 gambling per person. There was a major storm while we were here and some sites flooded. This campground gets high ratings from Trailer Life and Woodall's. I have only given it an 8 as the WiFi is weak and there was a noisy party until 11:30 p.m. and security did not break it up, even though they tour the campground regularly. Campers were a mix of seniors and families so a late party seemed inappropriate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This is a very nice campground, we would stay here again. The staff was friendly and helpful. Make a reservation ahead of time or call early in the morning, they fill up fast. The sites are back-ins with descent room between sites. The casino is within easy walking distance. We had a flat tire the next morning and they were very helpful. They put air in the tire and directed me to the garage on the casino property. The flat was fixed promptly and we were on our way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Fun to stay, use the pool and camp relatively inexpensively. Lots of sites. You don't usually need a reservation. Nice for a spur of the moment get a way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
The price is reasonable for what you get, but there are some issues. We were here a week in hot muggy weather. The power in the park, and the town, failed regularly. We would lose power every day several times during the day, and one day it was off for over 4 hours. Weekends are jammed with families and kids. Some sites have paved patios and some do not. We had some severe weather while we were here, so the paved sites were nice. I would stay here again but during the week is better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Big park, lots of spaces, good facilities. Sites were level and roomy, with full hookups (50amp) and WiFi. Good value for the cost of the site. Free shuttle to casino, so you can eat lots at the buffet! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We generally choose the State Park experience but thought I'd chime in this resort since we tried it for the first time. I'll second the previous review from July 2009: "I saw no dogs running loose, no dogs off leash and nobody not picking up after their dogs. This place is great. Full hookups at every site, excellent Wi-Fi reception". For an RV-style resort, I felt it was excellent. It was even much quieter than I expected for this style of resort. I would stay here again if my destination was near here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
I read the previous review and I saw no dogs running loose, no dogs off leash and nobody not picking up after their dogs. This place is great. Full hookups at every site, excellent Wi-Fi reception, cheaper rates during the week. An RV service center next door. Shuttles to the casino so you don't have to drive over and walk from the parking lot. Very nice people in the office. Security. I could spend a summer here happily. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We stay here quite often and it is a very nice RV park. They do need to start making people pick up after their dogs. Doggie do on the lawn which isn't too nice. Also people let their dogs run free, no leash. Hopefully the management gets stricter on this. We were disappointed when we came out of our camper; a big dog was on our step. We are responsible pet owners and hate to see a nice RV park with pets not under control. Otherwise this is a very nice place with nice sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$19
Level paved site with paved patio. Good water, electric, sewer, and WiFi. Friendly staff. Would camp here again if in the area. Very good buffet at the casino. 24/7 free shuttle to casino and it is also within walking distance if you'd rather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
One of the best campgrounds we've stayed in. Grounds were immaculate, service was excellent. Shuttle to casino was dependable. Sites are a little close. We would stay there again and recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$22
Sites are narrow, overall. You are very cozy with your neighbors on either side. All sites (except overflow) have full service, including sewer hookup. Controlled entry into the location. Very clean overall. Shuttle service for casino is great. It is a good place to stay if just overnighting or if there for the casino. If we weren't going to the casino, we probably wouldn't stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
I agree with the others. This is a great RV park. Yes, it's not the quietest, but there is no shortage of things to do (gambler or not). Great food, but be either early or late on weekends at the casino eatery's. We went for a concert weekend and it was great fun. Everything was clean and well kept. The check in was quick and easy. This should be rated highly unless all you want to do is sleep. Then you don't belong at this type of place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
Perhaps all the bad reviews are sour grapes over a bad night at the casino, remember folks going to the casino is optional. We had no problems here at all, everything worked from the efficient check in to the voluminous cable channels to the omnipresent casino shuttle busses. Gives a Good Sam discount as well. Of course I'll let the gamblers subsidize my travel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
The negative reviews of this park are also a mystery to me. The park staff was plentiful, courteous, and check in was easy. It’s not an over 55 adult only park, so families with kids are to be expected. All the sites are the same length and width and equally spaced apart, which makes me wonder why one would need to “ask for another site.” The maintenance crew empties trash cans every day. The fire rings could use some cleaning, but by no means were they trashy. The hook-ups are exactly where they should be –half way between the front and back of the site in order to accommodate a variety of RVs. The grass doesn’t contain weeds, was mowed, and in the hottest month of the year, can not be expected to be a lush green. One should not expect a campground to have full time dog-police on staff, but only to correct the actions of discourteous owners when observed. I did have a minor annoyance with the security gate entrance. It’s built to accommodate a Volkswagen, not a large rig. Very tight fit. Also, one should pay close attention to the electrical box on the site. It is tall and could interfere with slide out operation. It doesn’t get a 10 because that would mean it’s perfect. There are only a handful of those type campgrounds around. But it is well worth the cost and I enjoyed my stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
One of the nicest campgrounds we have been to. There is an outdoor pool, but if the weather is bad, the shuttle will bring you to one of their hotels, where there are indoor pools. Clean, well maintained, and lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
Very smooth transaction when checking in...the guy at the counter was funny! Very secure campground...access card needed to get into the sites and we saw security making a pass by our site several times. WiFi and cable worked great. All sites are asphalt which is nice and level. Overall a great experience...I can see why this is rated one of the top places for RVs in MN. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Campground is rated as the "Best in State" by Trailer life. Some people would find problems with heaven! They do have campground wide WiFi, but they could use more towers for better signal pick-up. Sites are as wide as any I have seen. I don't need help to back into a site, but I have seen other campers help those that did! Restaurants at the casino are very good, with "The Winds" steakhouse equal to some of best around the state. The golf course adjacent to the campground is well run and maintained, and is fun to play. Shuttles to and from the casino stop at the front of your site, very convenient! Finest restroom I have seen in a campground, both from a viewpoint of size, and cleanliness!! This is not a "deep woods" campground, so know in advance what the lay of the land is. Sites are paved, full hookups, free WiFi, free cable TV! You only need to position your RV correctly on the paved pad to reach all hookups! The town is a couple of miles away, and offers plenty of shopping for last minute items. We have experienced many wonderful weekends here, and it is our first choice within Minnesota. I am constantly amazed at some of the comments and/or reviews that campers write. In regard to amenities, recreation and dining, this is as good as it gets! Some people find fault we a "Free Lunch!" We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$19
This campground is not well run. The people used to check you in don't seem to have any knowledge about camping. They assigned me a site that did not match my trailer. I had to go back and ask for another site I had checked out. They do not direct you or assist you in finding or backing into your site. I was traveling alone so had to back the trailer into a narrow site by myself. Could have used a hand. Sites are level. Sewer, water, electric and cable are all positioned so that after you back your trailer into the spot, you need extra long water lines, sewer lines, electrical cord and TV cable to use the facilities. The only reason I would stay here again is for the same reason I stayed here this time. For a night of gambling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
I have stayed here maybe 6 times over the years. Only an 8 because I am a tough rater. Park needs park-wide, free Wi-Fi. Grass was again like stray when I was there - the area had not had rain in six weeks - same as 2005. Don't blame the park for a drought. During these situations water is too precious to waste on something as frivolous as campground grass. You have to expect lots of kids at a family RV resort in the summer. Just hope I am not "less than desirable." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
This park is trying to cater to two very different types of RVers. The park is at a large casino, so it has lots of adult RVers. But come the weekend, familys with pop-ups and small trailers show up with lots of kids, dogs, bicycles, scooters and roller blades. It was like a KOA. The park is well maintained. Roads are paved and wide. Sites are paved and level. There are a few small trees, but no real shade. The park is big rig friendly. We would stay there again thru the week, but not on a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$15
The only redeeming feature of this RV Park is that it is cheap. It does not have wi-fi. It reminds me of a Calcutta slum. The grass (weeds) is dead because they don't water it. The place is full of trash. When we arrived, our fire ring was a foot deep in trash, but nobody ever bothered to empty it. The sites are not kept clean, people don't pick up after their dogs, and, in general, the place is not at all attractive. The restaurants in the nearby casino are, however, quite good and reasonable. This place seems to attract a lot of less than desirable people. I would not recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Paved pads and roads, great pool. The bath house was clean. T-Mobile data capable area, so you T-Mobilers can go online through your ISP. Only downside (thus our "7" rating), is the fact that during the past 8 years we've been camping here, we've noticed the majority of dog owners don't use the dog walk area, so there is plenty of dog waste around the campsites. No wonder more and more CG's are banning dogs, and they have our votes. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
This is an outstanding park. Sites are paved and level. Lots of space between rigs. Only gripes we have are that there is only one restroom facility which means that it is not convenient to most campers. Also, the pool and recreation facilities are far removed from the camp meaning that you will need to drive to the pool, laundry and rec hall. Casino shuttles are more than happy to deliver you to the gambling hall whenever you want to go! (Takes Good Sam and Good Neighbor discounts) We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Very nice park, lots to do even without going to the casino. No pull thru's keeps this from being a ten. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com