219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 159 user reviews. Phone: (928) 524-6689
CGID149

Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Camp Information
Sites
138
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   7   7   8   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Typical KOA with friendly staff. It is near the highway, but road noise is negligible. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Ok for overnight. Not much landscaping. It has a pool, tho. Big sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Rate reflects GS. We stopped here to get out of a high wind warning condition. The previous reviews are pretty much in line with what we found. It was very dusty due to the high winds and not much either natural or manmade to block the wind. Our site did not have a breaker on the power. Water pressure was good. The site was level both front to rear and sideways. It was a good overnight park. They have rolls and coffee in the morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
We stayed here three nights while we toured the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert and Meteor Crater and Winslow. The park was clean with a high desert landscape (no large trees) The staff was friendly and they had a cookout each night. There was a dog walking area as well as an off leash fenced dog run. We were close to I-40 but the noise was not bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
I-40 stop over campsite but also good stop for the incredible Petrified Forest. Staff very friendly and helpful. All gravel park and not really clear what is site and what is road. Wi-Fi excellent but campsite was very quiet. Although near to I-40 there was very little noise. Would recommend but have to say again that KOA have become expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
This is the daily rate for a 50amp pull-through and reflects one discount. Signage was OK. The staff was friendly. The roads and sites are hard-packed gravel and fairly level. The trees could interfere on some of the sites. The water pressure could have been better. There is some road and train noise, but not bad. The cook shack was handy for when you didn’t want to cook. Overall, an OK place for a few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
We love this place because of the owners and their Cowboy breakfast and dinner. It's in the desert so there is only a little greenery and a lot of dust. The sights are long and level with good cable. The owners work hard improving the place and are very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Big gravel parking lot. A decent spot to stop for the night, but wouldn't want to "live" there. Swift office staff with speedy check-in, much appreciated. We'd stop again if rolling through. Petrified forest is miles away. It's a 70 mile round trip to see that particular spot from the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$41
We stayed here in order to tour Petrified Forest and Painted Dessert. Close enough to both to do that. Not one of the best KOA's we've stayed at. The check in person was not very friendly and took a little longer than necessary to get checked in. The site we were given (#40) was at then end of the row and closest to the highway but probably the longest and widest site on that row. Entire campground was gravel roads and gravel sites. Sites are level enough but very dusty. The best part about staying here was meeting some really nice folks right behind us. Avoid the local eatery advertised in the KOA paperwork called Joe and Aggie's, would been better off eating at the campground. The price for the this campground is a little too high. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
This park met all our needs, which as full-time RVers, are very simple. Easy access on and off the highway; the park host was friendly and helpful; the park was clean and well-maintained; The pull-thru site was spacious and accommodated our big rig easily; all the hook-ups worked well. The park had all the amenities you'd expect from a KOA. The only negative we experienced was road noise from the Interstate. We especially like KOA parks for overnight stays and this one fit our needs just fine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Not bad for a KOA, but don't believe everything in their advertising. I took a site supposed to have "plenty of room for those big rigs with a tow without unhitching". When I showed up in my 40 foot MH with tow I didn't want to unhook, I was told "pull in as far as you can and let your car hang out in the drive - it won't matter". It worked because the place was fairly empty late in the season, but I wouldn't trust that when they are busy. Otherwise, no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$41
Worse KOA we have ever stayed in. A dirt lot next to the Freeway for $41 nightly. Short lots for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
I was impressed by this KOA...the owner is very friendly and helpful. The BBQ and breakfast were wonderful...nice way to meet others! I agree with the comment regarding the burrs in the lawn...but found those throughout Oklahoma and Texas. I would stay here again and recommend it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
The staff is friendly and helpful...excellent customer service. The sites are level and roomy, although a bit on the short side if you have a long rig and a tow. It's the desert, so there is little or no grass in the RV area and the gravel tends to get muddy when it rains. The park is clean and well-maintained. The WI-FI was good when it worked; it inexplicably went away numerous times while we were there. Nice park! We'll return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We stayed here for 4 nights and liked the closeness to area attractions such as the Petrified National Park, Meteor Crater and Highway 66 sites. It's an open campsite with a few trees here and there and close to the highway, but you don't really hear it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This park has very crowded sites, gravel with nothing in between. It's a big park with a lot of pull-through sites. The dog area had pricklers or something because our had trouble walking on the path. The WiFi worked and then when I tried to go back on later it didn't work. They had a cowboy barbeque for dinner and it was good. They also had a pancake breakfast but we didn't go to that. It's okay for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Good clean park, convenient to Petrified Forest. Staff was very friendly and offered a breakfast and dinner for extra fee. The sites are on gravel, with plenty of room between campers. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Well kept KOA. Since it is in the desert it is dry and very dusty, but the owners were very pleasant and helpful. The site was plenty long and level and we were not crowded together. The laundry was too expensive and the pool had a lot of leaves floating in it. But all in, it was nice and clean and we would stay here again if we get back this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Clean, dusty, but well kept. Extremely friendly staff. Morning breakfast was good and fast. Would stay again. Very convenient to the Painted Desert, Petrified Forest, and the interstate. Very little road noise, but easy in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Nice, clean park. Great location for Petrified Forest, Canyon De Chelly, and Meteor Crater. Nice, friendly staff. Great dinners and breakfasts. Will plan to go back and stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$29
Under $30 for a pull-through, electricity and water. Roomy site, level enough for one night. I'd have given it a 6 if it had a dog run. Friendly owner. Hey, it's 100% Holbrook! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
Friendly staff. Close to interstate. Nothing fancy. Flat gravel sites. No dog run. Trash cans by dog area full as everyone used them for garbage since only dumpster was way out front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$31
The campground is close enough to the freeway to make it really convenient for an overnight, and there are some places to eat close-by. The owner and his son keep the place clean and well maintained. The kid's park is a trifle "dated", but everything works and my daughter enjoyed it. I ran into an electrical problem with my RV and the owner was quick to loan me a extension cord so I could isolate and fix the issue. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$31
This is an OK campground. The whole thing is gravel and the sites aren't level side to side. It is clean and quiet. Management is friendly and helpful. We spend the night here when traveling through the area, and have spent a week here when we were touring in the area. KOA's in general are a bit over priced, but we still pay the price to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
The park is okay but nothing to brag about. My site was not level side to side. The wireless internet is slow. everything is loose gravel. but what can you say, it's a koa and they are mostly all over priced for what you get.The swimming pool had about 6 inches in the bottom. The back row bathrooms were closed for the season it said. Will try a different rv park if I come back through here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
Good park. We have stayed here a couple of times. This time three nights. Gravel sites. Near freeway but road is tilted away and noise level low. Evening cookouts for moderate cost. They also have breakfast. All utilities worked well. There are lots of parks and attractions in this area. We also visited the old La Posada Hotel in Winslow which served us the best lunch. Beautiful small hotel. Also, nice Indian ruins north of Winslow. If you go to Petrified Forest be sure to walk down some of the trails. Really a beautiful place. This KOA features some of the clearest sky you can imagine. Lots of stars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This site is a good place for an overnight stop. The dog run is not fenced. Sites are level, all connections are at the rear of the RV. The cable TV connectors are female. Most cable connectors are male to match the female cables most RV's carry. A male adapter is needed to connect the cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Nice stop on our way through. Clean, well kept. Good facilities, nice play area. Level spot, easy in and easy out. It rained when we stopped, otherwise we would have had a nice view of July 4th fireworks! Close to Petrified Forest, which was a nice drive. Staff was friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Person in office was very friendly. Sites are gravel, however they were fairly level. They also had a cookout and we just ate there, very good. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Basic Park with some new trees that interfere with Satellite TV and don't provide any shade nor privacy. Too pricey for location and plainness of park. There is a restaurant at the entrance to the park. We only stayed passing through so did not use any facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
A little pricey, but a good park. Lots of cable channels. Good Wi-Fi though it does slow down at times. Sites are level. Sites are a little small, but we always had a free site between us and the next RV. Good showers. Low price for the laundry. Lots to see in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
For our visit, this campground was okay. Water pressure and quality was good, cable and Wi-Fi both excellent. Very friendly and helpful office staff. Some interstate noise depending on which way the wind is blowing. Roads and sites are a gravel/sand/dirt mixture that I am sure would cause a dusty mess when the wind blows and a mud pit when it rains. Neither was a problem on our visit. So check the weather before you decide to stop. Sites are pretty level. KC diner just up the road is a great place to enjoy serious home cooking if you are sick of cooking. We would stay here again if the weather was right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Daily rate includes KOA discount. Stayed here 2 nights and only drawback was that site 24 was out of level side to side by over 3 inches. Check-in was friendly and courteous. Wi-Fi was good. Swimming pool was not open due to season. Would stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
Our site was a gravel, pull-through site. It took 2 boards to level my trailer side to side. The sites seem short but the gravel roads are wide. I was unable to tell where any site ended or the road began. I had to ask at the office if my truck and trailer were impinging on the road. Each site has a small tree for shade. The swimming pool was closed for the season. TengoInternet was supplied free for each day with a coupon. Staff was friendly and gave good suggestions of where to eat and how to see the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert. Dog walk is OK but there is no off leash area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$29
Area is all rock campground but a few trees, nice staff. The restrooms and showers are dated but satisfactory. Located next to interstate, with some traffic noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$36
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 5,271 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads, sites, and patio are gravel. Site spacing is good. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome and tow. My site 103 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. WI-FI and cable were included in the daily rate. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless, G3 Internet ,& Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. Walmart is 35 miles away and Safeway was 2. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. Campground was quiet and open. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Access from I-40 is good. Staff was friendly. Park is very small (crammed). The roads are gravel and pads are road bed type gravel. There is a run down playground. The dog walk area is dirt (no run). Lots of feral cats around the property. The place smells like the nearby Burger King. There is quite a bit of highway noise. This is okay for an overnight when you are arriving in Holbrook and the day has been long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
We stayed here over night in site 47. We arrived early enough to explore the town and enjoy a swim before heading to the cookout for a lovely steak dinner. This was one of the few campsites that we stopped at during our 3 month trip that had an option for dinner and a chance to meet other campers in a social setting, which we quite enjoyed. We also took advantage of the pancake breakfast early in the morning before hitting the road again which was a nice change (no dishes to do before leaving!). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Another over-priced KOA; and it’s an automatic $10 fee if you cancel your reservation unless you wait inside of 48 hours then they keep it all. The campground was virtually empty, so there’s no reason to make a reservation with a better campground just across the street. The entire campground and all sites are dirt with nothing for pets. We stayed here one night, but we won't ever make another reservation to stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
A gem in the middle of the desert. Near the Petrified forest, this ia a great park for an overnighter or two. Neat as a pin and well- managed and cared for. The staff are very friendly,knowledgeable, and helpful. There is a good playground for children and nice-sized, clean pool. A good, affordable breakfast if you want it (eggs, sausage, pancakes). Good wifi and cable reception. A good one to put in your memory bank. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
The RV section is gravel with a few trees, the tenting section is grass but right beside the I-40. The sites are very close together and have not been leveled recently. The next door sewer connection, where we were, was very close to our stairs. The water and electric sites are a better choice. As noted by others, they do provide meals on site. When they are not busy they do place people on every second site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Overall, I'd say it's clean and quiet. Internet connection is very disappointing (slow), so beware, you techno-travelers. There's very limited shade, so make sure your awning is in good repair. For those of you with dogs, prepare yourself with having to find a pee friendly bush that won't bite back (cactus). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Gravel sites with some shade. Tables at the sites and a cook shack on premises that served a nice breakfast. Good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Our 2nd stay in this excellent campground! Pancakes, level sites, clean facilities, great playground & pool, and friendly owners. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
We parked here 4 nights and wished it could have been more. The park is clean and well kept. All you can eat pancake breakfast ($1,99) is served every morning and in the evening a cowboy cook-out with a fantastic steak. Internet access works great, sites are large and partly shady. Park is located close to famous Route 66, Painted Desert and Petrified Forest. Next time in Arizona we will sure come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
We enjoyed this KOA with a great game room for our niece. We were given a site near the office but the lights were quite bright so I would chose a different spot. The pancakes for breakfast (all you can eat for $1.99) were wonderful. A very popular place for late arriving RVs but it was fun to watch them park. A friendly park. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
We loved this park. The food (steak dinner for my husband, chicken for me) was very good, as was breakfast. We heard very little road noise, even though it is near I-40. The site was large, had a picnic table and a small shade tree, and the management made sure to spread people throughout the campground, so we had no close neighbors. Lots of playground stuff: basket ball and V-ball too. Didn't use the pool. Restrooms were clean. Only downside was weak water pressure in the shower, and the Wi-Fi (Tengo) fluctuated. The management was very friendly. We would easily stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
Right off I-40, within minutes of Holbrook and Route 66 sights. Near Safeway supermarket. 20 miles from Petrified Forest. A large pool, playground, basketball court, BBQ and breakfast option, friendly staff. No shade, but can see Route 66. Right on top of neighbors. Big Rig Friendly. Would stay again for short stops in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Clean campground. Friendly staff and owner. Breakfast and dinner available at reasonable price. Close to highway but noise was very minimal. Verizon air card and phone service excellent. Good cable TV. Small trees so satellite reception would not be a problem from most sites. Good place to stay if your exploring the Petrified Forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This was one big gravel pit. Nothing spectacular to speak about. The Wi-Fi wasn't too good, you needed a coupon for each day you needed to use it and the connection was bad. We stayed 3 days but wouldn't visit again. The atmosphere was dismal!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
Nice, quiet KOA. The seasonal pool was closed (until May). Clean park, WiFi was good. The owners were very nice. We stayed one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
This is a great campground to stay at. The staff is very helpful and really know the area. Close to Painted Desert and Petrified Forest. Plus, it's located right on Route 66 and a great Museum in the town. We always enjoy coming here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Yes this is an older KOA but they have been making improvements. Rate is monthly as I work on the road. All services seem to be in good order. MUST SEE, Navaho County Museum, great, free and a step back in history. Eats, Romos for Mexican on Hopi (route 66). Take the time to see the town, it is a historical archive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$36
We have stayed here several times, and since we chose it again, we are well aware of its condition. It is like most KOA's in that it is pricey for an all gravel facility. It could also use some updating, but remains serviceable. It is somewhat close to the highway and the train track but not so close that it was an issue for us. I heard mostly a barking dog off in the distance outside of the park all night. The owner is very nice and immediately recognized we were repeat customers. He put us on the same spot as the year before, inquiring if we had any trouble the last time we were here. His store was clean and well stocked. The bath houses were also clean and well maintained. We drove over to the competing facility to have a look around, and decided quite quickly that the KOA was the right place to be camped! We will more than likely return next year if we travel I-40 into Arizona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
Nice campground with lots of amenities. It is close the the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest. Wi-fi worked great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
This is a typical KOA campground. They are right off the highway and pricey for what you get. They have long pull through, gravel sites and allow campfires. Roads are also gravel. Cable reception was good. Both our Verizon cell phone and wireless internet reception was good. You can hear highway traffic and train noise everywhere in the campground. They offer breakfast and BBQ at a reasonable price. Bathrooms and laundry rooms were very clean. We visited Petrified Forest NP and Painted Desert (20 minute drive) during our two night stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
This campground is easy to get into as it is off Business 40 and the town is small. The owners have a fully stocked store and are very friendly. The sites are mainly on gravel and a few trees but then again there aren't very many trees in this part of the country. The spaces are well maintained and easy to get to. Even though you are close to the freeway we didn't hear any traffic noise. Yes, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
Easy access, wide, long pull through sites. All dirt/gravel. Friendly owners, who also have a small restaurant for burgers, etc., for dinner and pancakes for breakfast. Great for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
A clean and well-maintained RV Park. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They have a small outdoor restaurant where they serve an all you can eat pancake/coffee breakfast for $1.99. They also have a great dinner BBQ with reasonable prices. Their store is clean and well-stocked. RV spaces are level and all amenities were in proper working order. We stayed here for one night while traveling through the area. We would stay here again. There is some freeway traffic, occasionally you could hear a train in the distance. The park is located in a newer section of town next to Hwy. 40. There is good on and off highway access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
The staff were friendly and well informed about auto repairs and diesel prices. The sites were easy to exit and enter. We enjoyed the outdoor cookouts in the evening and the pancakes in the morning. The sites were not paved, but were level. The restrooms and showers were clean and well equipped. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Essentially a large gravel parking lot on old Route 66, a couple blocks from I-40, a convenient place to stop and/or stay to visit nearby Petrified Forest (20 minutes east of park). Not many trees in the park, but then, not many trees in the entire town/region. Park offers some basic meals in outdoor dining area, convenient since not much else nearby to walk to or even drive to. Overnight a big storm came in, lots of rain, which created huge puddles in the gravel "park. We got quite wet wading around our coach to unhook and depart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Typical KOA, tired, old, dusty & overpriced but what could you get to grow out here anyway? Even though this is close to I-40 we did not hear any road noise, park was very quiet and dark. It's a good overnight stop to visit the petrified forest. The morning breakfast was nice and inexpensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
Road noise from I-40 and view of traffic causes a lower rating. Well kept gravel park with some trees. Wide roads and fairly narrow sites, just long enough. Could barely fit our 40' motorhome with toad attached. Helpful and pleasant owners have made an effort to create a nice park in a desert environment. Utilities worked well and well placed. Verizon cell worked well, did not use our Verizon air card. Spent one night passing through and would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$41
Apparently the flood damaged noted by one reviewer has been totally repaired. I saw no ruts anywhere. However, all the sites are somewhat out of level. I had to lift up one side about 2" to achieve level. The also use TenGo Internet, and I'm finding that they do not support either iPhone 4 or iPad connectivity. I filed a support request but have yet to have any answer. Found this to be a comfortable park though noisy as most KOAs tend to be. Love the breakfast served each morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Even though I would not consider this a destination CG, one could not have expected more for being in the middle of the desert. Everything worked great, TV, Wi-Fi, 50 amp electric, great swimming pool, friendly owners, friendly campers, etc. They had a cook out in the morning and evening the food was good as well as the prices. We really had a nice time here. Convenient to the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest. Spent two nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a typical KOA park with all the expected amenities. The owners are helpful and seem to care about what you think (we had a small incident with a transient person and it was immediately addressed). The laundry and rest rooms/showers are clean and well maintained. A well stocked store, cookout breakfast and dinners are also available (we did not use these). The sites are a bit tight for a long trailer but fine for a brief stay. We live in Tucson so this may become our stopping place on our trips going forward. Access from I-40 is easy and Holbrook has everything you need to restock for a longer trip or just grab a rest day. Several tourist sites (e. g. The Petrified Forest) are an easy drive from here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We chose this park because we wanted to visit Petrified Forest National Park and needed a place to stay overnight. Our options were limited as there is only one other campground nearby and it did not have good reviews. The camp hosts were very friendly and the full hookups worked, but that is where my positive feedback stops. After checking in, we started the drive to our site. The only way we knew which way the road went was because of the huge ruts in the ground. We are traveling in a 43 footer, and requested a site large enough to accommodate us. The campground website claims to be able to handle big rigs, but our experience was different. The campground's Premium Sites were flooded out, so we were put in a big-rig pull-through site. The camp hosts told me that we would be able to fit in our site without disconnecting our tow vehicle. Fortunately, we were planning to disconnect because there was no way we could fit without disconnecting. In fact, we had to park diagonally across the site so our rig was not out in the road. This caused an ill-placed tree to be literally outside our door. The site had many ruts in it from previous campers' jacks. We attempted to level by just putting the jacks in the ground, and the ground was so soft that our jacks dug holes in the ground too. We had to put plywood under our jacks in order for the jacks to be functional, and by the end of our stay (2 nights), the plywood was cracked in the middle because the ground under them settled more. There was very little gravel on the pad site and the campground itself was an absolute mud pit. To add to the bad experience, there were some seasonal campers there who let their dogs run wild. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a typical KOA with a friendly staff. Rate reflects 10% discount using KOA card. Sites are gravel, but good and level. We were disappointed that, since we had told them on the online reservation we were bringing a dog, we were placed so far from the dog walk as to make it unusable to us. WiFi is pretty slow. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
A fine place for a base camp while visiting the area. About twenty minutes from the Petrified Forest/Painted Desert. Yes, as previous reviews have stated, this KOA is dusty, with virtually no grass and few trees. But, that would have to be because it's in the middle of a semi arid desert. The campground is clean and well-maintained with a friendly staff. For a price, breakfast and dinner are also offered. Clean bathrooms/showers. Good internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
Very nice KOA while traveling along I-40 near Petrified Forest National Park. Weather gets very windy and hot during July. Staff VERY friendly. Stayed here for four nights so we could see all the surrounding area including Winslow and Meteor Crater. Seems like most people stay here one night then move on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We camped here 1 night in our tent (2 adults and 4 kids) on our way through Arizona. We paid extra for the "super-tent" site, which had great privacy (fence and shrubs) and a shared shelter with sink. However, the super-tent site is very dusty and the regular tent sites appeared to be on grass. Would probably use a regular tent site next time. Kids loved the playground and pool. Also the cookout dinner and breakfast are excellent, good food and a good value. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Good location, very nice people, but basically a parking lot. This is where you stay for good and helpful service during a trip, not ambiance. The bathrooms were clean, but it was a parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This was a very nice park and the owners are very friendly. We tried the cookout and it was very good and a good value for the money. Our only complaint was the cable TV did not work very well. We were only able to get a couple of stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
As full-time RVers, we generally avoid KOAs because they are not a good value for a couple traveling with no children. However, this one appeared to be the best choice in the area. Glad we stayed here. On-site owners (2 couples) were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. Breakfast and dinner is available daily for a fee, prepared to order by owners in a chuckwagon-style outdoor diner. All you can eat pancakes, $1.99 ! Plenty of room in the sites; utilities worked well; laundry room was very clean (5 washers/6 dryers). Great for visiting Petrified Forest/Painted Desert and Winslow. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Rate reflects KOA card discount. This is your typical KOA. Not great, not terrible. It is very convenient to the National Park and worth it for a couple of days stop-over to see the park. Place is all gravel and very dusty - typical western campground. Wi-Fi worked good, as did Verizon aircard. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Nice enough place to stop for the night. Nice people run the place. Have a BBQ dinner and a pancake breakfast on site. Next to Interstate 40 so some traffic noise. All gravel and sites level. Not a lot of shade. Would stay there again on another trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$29
The campground is really a dirt/gravel parking lot with a few small trees. RVs are lined up in rows without much space or privacy between them. This campground does have the friendliest staff I’ve ever run into, it’s convenient to I-40 in Holbrook, and has a nice playground, and swimming pool. This campground does make for a nice one night stopover. We would not go here as its own destination. We really enjoyed the cowpoke cookout. This is in a shaded area near the front where they will grill you a steak, hamburger, or hot dog meal for a very reasonable price. They also do pancake breakfasts here. You can eat there at the picnic tables or bring the meal back to your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
The previous reviewer must have a small unit because these sites are very small, especially narrow. Our rating of 5 reflects our experience, but it is a nice park and most will rate it higher. Our problems: Rigs over 40' are parked on the back row, giving more room to maneuver. These are probably the worst spaces in the park. They are not level, the sewer connection is a foot above the ground, and there's old tires and scrap metal at rear of park. The gravel had asphalt chunks mixed in, that were large enough to make walking difficult (space 105). In front of us, space 94, a number of people were living in a small, old, motorhome. Not sure what was going on, but visitors came at all hours. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
Stayed here for 3 days while sight seeing. Check-in was great and the owner and staff were very friendly. Sites are big and gravel through out. Laundry and bathrooms are spotless. Store was great and staff very helpful about sights in surrounding area. Would recommend this KOA to everyone. Thanks for a great stay. The rate reflects a KOA discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$34
We were in site #43. KOA is very clean and has full hook ups with cable and wi-fi. The park has a pool, horseshoes, volleyball, basketball court and a large playground. The entire park is gravel except for tent sites. If tenting you have to move your tent everyday so you don't burn the grass. KOA has a store and the gentleman checking us in was friendly. We did not use the restrooms or laundry but I suspect they were in working order. The sites have young trees on them, give it a few years and they should throw more shade. Eacn site comes with a picnic table. The site width was generous but we found it not long enough to park our toad behind and we have a 35 ft Motorhome. We didn't watch any TV but there were 55 channels available on the cable list. Verizon worked here-ATT did not. Shopping, gas and restaurants are all nearby. KOA offers pancake breakfast and Cowboy cookouts, neither were going on when we stayed. The Petrified Forest about 20 miles back to the east of the KOA. I would recommend as a good clean, safe overnight spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$36
We needed a quick overnight stop to avoid a snowstorm to the west. Check in was a cinch, we don't have a discount card, but owner accepted AARP even w/out membership card- nice touch. Sites are a bit close, but very suitable for a stopover. Hookups were in good working order, nice selection of cable channels. WI-FI was available, but we used our Verizon air card. Very easy access from I-40, and we were not bothered by road or train noise - it either wasn't loud or we were dead tired. We did not use the showers/bath houses, so can't comment on those. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
Sites are a bit close for our tastes but since ours was not a long term stay it was OK. We also prefer concrete or asphalt pads and it was all gravel. Hookups were in good working order, nice selection of cable channels. Wi-Fi was available, but we used our Verizon air card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$31
Very nice staff at check in. Gave good clear info for parking and Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi worked better here than in most other places. A little noise from highway but not too bad. Stayed only one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
We stayed here on our way to and from the Balloon Fiesta. This is our first KOA where the Wi-Fi actually worked! The sites are nice and wide. The park was full before the fiesta, and empty on the way back. This is one KOA that I would recommend. Our rate reflects the KOA Value Card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Typical KOA park with good electric and water hookups. Since we were only staying one night, we didn't get a sewer hookup site. We got the AARP discount of 10% which paid the taxes. This place would be good again for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
This was a nice campground with all of the amenities you would want, including free wireless internet. We used it as base camp for Petrified Forest/Painted Desert which worked well. As with most campgrounds in Arizona and NM, it was all gravel (sites and roads) but it was not dusty when we were there. Sites were very level. I would recommend this campground and come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Great campground to stay at while visiting the Petrified Forest National Park. Campground is easy in and easy out. All sites are pull through with ample room to maneuver in and out. No shade trees as of yet as the trees are young. The hookups are all located closely to make hookup easy. This is an all dirt and gravel RV park but the gravel is enough so that when it rains it's not muddy and it did rain while we were here. The power is good, no surges of any kind. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a standard KOA: good level gravel sites, good Wi-Fi and TV reception. It has easy access to I-40. Some sites with shade: we got one. A clean pool area and friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This is a large, level, gravel campground. Some trees, but probably 10 years from being real shade. Friendly staff. Had the pancake breakfast which was OK and at a reasonable cost. Verizon cell and aircard signal was very good. Not very busy, so campers were spread out. Utilities and cable were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed here the 3rd and 4th of July. Location was close to everything we wanted to visit. The petrified tree in front of the office was spectacular. We attended the Fireman's BBQ on the 4th and the fireworks that night. We would stay here again. Our grandson's liked the pool and the laundry room was clean. A Park Ranger from the Petrified Forest presented a late afternoon program for the campers and a small western combo provided good, toe-tapping music while steaks were grilled in the chuck wagon. We did not eat supper or breakfast there because we prepared our own food. A nice stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Very nice park. Convenient to Petrified Forest, Painted Desert and Four Corners. Lots of things to do in this area and this CG is convenient as a home base. We had two active 10yr old and the playground was excellent although dusty. The pool was cold but refreshing. Breakfast and Dinner available but we did not use them. Weather was perfect. No freeway noise. Friendly staff and they tried to space out the campers so you did not feel crowded. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Friendly people. Excellent all you can eat breakfast. Well kept facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
The campground was nice and the people were friendly. They offer breakfast and dinner every night at a reasonable rate. The swimming pool was clean and lots of places to sit. Not many shade trees near camp sites though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
There was no shade at any of the sites. Lots of gravel and dirt - very dusty. Bathrooms weren't great. Two of the stalls were out of paper and the floor in the shower stalls had lots of hair - more than should be there if they cleaned the floors every day in my opinion. The staff members at check-in were very nice. The park was fairly empty, yet they put someone right next to us which didn't make a lot of sense to me. The playground was okay. We didn't use the pool because of thunderstorms but it looked clean. Not sure if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Mostly all large crushed rock and dust. Big rig sites were large enough. 50 amp, water, WiFi all OK. Management friendly, but must question their judgment when they sent a tow of a disabled motorcoach right next to us. There were plenty of other sites available. The noise of a large diesel tow truck, flashing lights and spotlights was not a good experience. The "Cowboy Cookout" provides a decent steak dinner and breakfast. Otherwise not much to recommend it. We used it as on overnight stop - which was enough. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This was an excellent campground for a base camp to eastern Arizonia. The staff were friendly. The Chuck Wagon food was good. The sites were level and the facilities were well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
OK campground. Nothing to right home about. The air card worked OK. The sites were slightly leveled. Pull throughs are short! There is nothing going on at town. Mesa an Italian restaurant was tasteful. The one thing that we did enjoy at this campground was the weekend breakfasts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
Everything below is accurate + Spotless Pool and a 'Cowboy Cookout' providing eggs etc. in morning and Burgers, Dogs and one of the best NY Steaks you will ever eat for very reasonable $. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
The friendly owners have made this RV park one of my favorites. We had an electrical problem and the owner came over to help and even jumped in his truck and went to the hardware store for us. I've never been so well treated by owners. Sites are level, though the entire park is gravel. This is typical for the area. There are young trees, so one day, it will not seem so barren. Even so, I haven't seen another park with trees, so the new landscaping is nice. Cable is great, too. That's hard to find in RV parks around here. Next time we come to Petrified Forest / Painted Desert, we will make a point of staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$29
We have stayed in the Holbrook/Petrified Forest KOA before. It was as accommodating during this second visit as the first, which was two years ago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$42
Adequate for big rigs if the park is fairly unoccupied. We parked on an end site with exit to a driveway through the park and were fine. Bathhouse and laundry were clean but very old. The pool had not yet opened for the spring/summer. Breakfast was good and plentiful for a very cheap price. In our opinion, if the KOA's are going to charge extra for kids, they need extra entertainment options for them. If some options are closed for the season, then reduce the price accordingly. The owners were hands on managers and were friendly. Wi-Fi was fine with good reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
This camp is run by a husband and wife team. The wife was very pleasant and helpful, even apologized for the weather. (It was very cold and windy when we camped here.) However, her promise of excellent WiFi service did not materialize. When I had trouble connecting the WiFi and talked to the husband about getting help he could not offer any. Finally I asked for the support telephone # for the system and I ended up having to spend 15 or 20 minutes on the cell phone before getting help from Nomad, and even after that I only had intermittent service for about 1 day out of the 3 days we stayed. Park was all sand and gravel, but this is typical of all parks in this area (Northern Arizona). Our pad was reasonably level and roomy. There may be shade there someday, but trees are small so it will be awhile, and then only after leaves have sprouted in late spring, as they are deciduous. Adequate pull throughs and 50 amp service available. Cable TV reception was adequate but not great. Nice gift shop for an RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Very friendly & nice owner/operators. Felt right at home here. The whole campground is gravel. No grass and small trees. Pool was closed. Wi-Fi and Cable TV is free. Gravel roads are not lit at night. For some reason the don't turn on the street lights. I-40 in across a field from the campground but surprisingly there's very little road noise. This really is not a park for kids. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
Nice park with nice big sites. Clean showers and rest rooms and nice dog walking paths. The owners are great. Very friendly and make you feel right at home. Highly recommend this park! You can be sure I'll be visiting every year on my way down to AZ and back to MI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is a good KOA with level gravel sites and great wi-fi and cable TV. The staff is friendly and helpful. They take great pride in their business and were all painting the office while we stayed here. They are not serving the pancake breakfast or cowboy supper right now as it's the off season, but we've been here before and had it and it's delicious. We stop here every time we pass through Holbrook. There are some great old Mexican restaurants downtown that we always have to try when we come here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Their big rig sites do NOT accommodate a 40' rig PLUS a tow-able even though they will tell you on the phone that they do. We found out the hard way in our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
A good campground with good cable and WiFi. Nice size sites. It's all gravel because it's in the desert. I would give it a 7, but the owners are extremely friendly and they have the Cowboy Breakfast and Cowboy Dinner. $2 all you can eat pancakes with coffee. The dinners are reasonable too, but it is really fun. We go out of our way to stop here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
Typical KOA in that it is right on the road. But it was neat and clean, nice amenities, pancake breakfast and cookout at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$34
This is a good park, but not a 10 in my opinion. It is basically a large gravel parking lot. The sites appear to be relatively level and of adequate size. Few of the trees are large enough to provide any shade. The Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well, but as is typical at KOA's they cost extra. The on-site breakfast and dinner is a nice option. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
This is one of the most welcoming campgrounds I've ever been to. I arrived after 8:00 pm, and was impressed to find the office still open, even though it is not the busy season. Wireless internet is free with a code provided by the office, although it appears that they charge a fee for monthly campers. Cable television works well, although they do charge $2 extra per day for cable, so make sure you get a site without it if you don't plan to use it. The owners host pancake breakfasts in the mornings and cowboy cookouts in the evenings May 1 - Oct. 31. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We used the park as an overnight stop. The entire park is gravel and found our site level. Free wi-fi with a strong signal. The sites were large. The staff was friendly. We would use this as an overnight stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Very clean, and Owner was great. WI-Fi works well,no road noise from highway. We enjoyed this place so much each time we travel the area we stay here. Also great pancake breakfast in morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$38
Here is an owner that truly understands that how you are treated at check-in sets the tone for your entire stay, be it a week or a night. Couldn't have asked for more! Interacting with guests during "Cowboy Cookout" was a nice touch. Yes it's all gravel, no, there is no shade but it is the desert. Nice clean, safe, well cared for place to stay. Facilities are well cared for, hook-ups in the right place, Wi-Fi and cable TV are excellent. We certainly would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Clean neat and well managed. Friendly helpful staff. Cowboy Cookout was neat. I highly recommend this operation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This is a basic KOA near the I-40 freeway. No shade. However, it has all the amenities (i.e., Cable TV, 50 amp, nice wide sites). All sites, as well as roads, are gravel. Not a bad place to be for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Clean park with lots of amenities and great wifi. Staff was terrific, providing all kinds of information to us. Dog area isn't the greatest but overall, great value. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
The rate is more than I like to pay, but the choices in the area are not good. This is a nice clean and safe place to stay while visiting Petrified Forest National Park. Great staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
It is Arizona so not much grass to be expected. Nice campground with very friendly and helpful owners. Have a BBQ (fee) in the evenings. Free Wi-Fi which was nice for a KOA. Clean facilities. Easy access to the National Parks. Staff very accommodating with odd time arrivals and departures. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Great place to stay. Nice welcome and very helpful staff. Good playground and pool and easy access to National Parks close by. They provide a nice pancake breakfast outdoors in the mornings. Nice touch! Best overall campground we've used. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
There was a very friendly staff, nice pool, good playground for the kids. Great proximity to Petrified Forest National Park, and there are numerous eating establishments nearby. Campground also offered a "chuckwagon dinner" with live music, at a reasonable price. There aren't a lot of camping options in this part of Arizona, and we'd gladly stay here again. The only drawback is that the campground is essentially one very large gravel parking lot, with almost no delineation between the interior roads and the sites. This doesn't help the dust, which already is omnipresent due to the desert location. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Clean and nice campground. People are very helpful and friendly. Nice long pet walk. They have pancake breakfast every morning. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Owner/operators make a nice arrangement. Large sites, gravel not too bad for the cycle, pancakes a nice touch. Scenery in area great - two day to four days. Would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
I agree with all previous positive comments and would add that the pool was large (by KOA standards) at 50 X 30 feet, sparkling clean water and heated to 81 degrees on May 2, even though the air temp was below freezing at night. Enjoyed their breakfasts and cowboy dinner. Incredibly friendly and helpful owners. We intended to stay one night but opted to return after seeing the gorgeous Painted Desert and Petrified Forest Natnl Park. Overall an excellent park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$36
Clean park with a friendly and professional staff. Thanks We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$23
Great people, very much a family hands on campground. Laundry was clean. Showers were clean and the owners were great. The pool was not operational yet, but it had been recently painted and looked great. Good playground for the young ones. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Safeway in town with pharmacy, and pharmacist was very helpful with a special order. We enjoyed our stay very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Typical KOA, with RV sites right next to each other, but pleasant enough in the off-season. It's close to the highway, but there's not much noise. The sites in the back are nice and dark. Wi-Fi good. Tenting sites nicer than the average KOA, with actual grass, a rarity in that area of the world. Big playground area right near the bathrooms, with some fun equipment and big trees, But, and what IS it with KOAs? it's as if corporate headquarters mandates that every KOA playground contains at least one piece of really unsafe playground equipment, in this case a home-made climber that offered a wide variety of ways to accidentally fall six feet to the ground. And I'm not an over-protective parent! This KOA is quite convenient to Petrified Forest National Park, and the town of Holbrook is a delight to anyone who likes rock shops, as there are a whole bunch, all featuring legally-gathered petrified wood, so you can take home all you want without stealing from the park. Be sure to check out the great tourist-trap rock shops right outside the park on the Holbrook side. The campground is also close to a lot of fast food, but avoid the KFC, unless you want some edgy entertainment and bizarre stories to take home. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Good campground with level sites. We were in #11. Friendly staff. Convenient location for Petrified Forest and Painted Desert. We will return to this KOA. Not muddy at all while we were there. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
This is a nice enough place, but compared to others, if you want a memorial extra special place to stay, this is not the one. Not their fault, just not a very pretty area. The people were extra friendly and helpful, but the park just lacks for beauty and things to make the stay great. We would look for a different stop on our next travels through the area. Make it to a different town or area for the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$32
There are limited campgrounds available in this area to visit the Petrified Forest. This campground is a glorified car park with no landscaping and was very muddy. Entrance was quite tight and limited area to park and register. Sites are flat and wide but totally gravel. Dog walk was just the perimeter around the campground. Would not stop here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Keeping in mind this is in the desert, it's an OK park. Clean sites, utilities a little inconvenient but not bad. Spaces a little close, but level, easy to get into/out of. Staff good. Have a well equipped store, and good dinner and breakfast on site. Good place for one or two night stay-over. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Typical KOA. No Grass. Convenient to Petrified Forest, Painted Desert and other tour sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Park is entirely gravel with a few small to medium trees. Shade is a premium in this hot, desert environment. Spaces were OK width (not generous) with just enough room for provided picnic table. Hookups concerned me because water faucet was about 4" off the ground and inches away from the sewer connection. Restrooms and showers were clean and about average quality. Shower heads are too low for anyone over 5' high. My wife experienced problems with water pressure and scalding when toilet was flushed. Extensive cable TV channels were provided. I had problems connecting with the free WiFi service and the office staff wasn't knowledgeable about WiFi. I eventually figured out a workaround. Nice pool & playground for the kids, but none of the extra recreation possibilities that are featured at many KOA parks. Park staff were very nice and helpful and they even offer a great pancake breakfast in the morning and a "cowboy cookout" in the evening (for a very reasonable additional fee). The City of Holbrook doesn't offer much to the traveler except opportunities to buy rocks and petrified wood. We didn't find any decent restaurants or other tourist spots nearby. The Petrified Forest is very close to the park and the 28-mile drive through the National Park is very RV friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
The pool was nice. The staff was friendly. Our site was full hook-up. The campground was mostly gravel and dirt. They had a nice playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
This is a great little RV park. The park is a little worn, but the owners are friendly and helpful. They also have a cowboy cook out from 5:30pm to 7:30pm that features steaks, hamburgers, hotdogs, etc.. The price on the food is reasonable. There is a playground for the kids also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$31
We stop here every time we go through Holbrook. The place is a lot busier than it was last year when we went through. There is a nicely stocked store with lots of trinkets, as well as a swimming pool. They serve a Cowboy style pancake breakfast as well as a Cowboy Steak Dinner. If you don't want steak, you can order chicken, hamburgers or hot dogs. Staff is friendly. Good gravel surface roads, as well as plenty of room for slideouts. Each site has a picnic table. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
Overpriced. Noisy traffic, poor water pressure. Good points. Was able to get in and out easily with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. Was in site #30, an end site. We stayed here a few days so plenty of room for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$26
Clean park with large spaces. WiFi works great. Near the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert. Very low road noise. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
Nice place to stay overnight or visit the area for a while. Only complaint was that the dog's were noisy and the owners did not do anything about it. Lots to see in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
Location is good and easy, but the drive-through sites are short to keep your toad hooked up. It is dusty, with a picnic table at each site. Lots of small trees, but no grass, and light on the gravel. Reception lady was nice and helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$33
Wonderful owners-- very friendly and helpful. Very clean, well-maintained park. Good wifi and cable TV. Also, the town of Holbrook has lots of fun stuff to see with Rte. 66 attractions as well as Petrified Forest Natl Pk. Only slight drawback to this KOA is that it's on a hill overlooking the interstate, so noise might an issue if you don't have a well-insulated trailer (or if you want to sleep with windows open). It didn't bother me much, so I give this KOA a high rating! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
Basic gravel lot in the middle of the desert. The staff was very helpful and provided a great map for sight seeing. Not a big fan of KOA's, but this place is definitely worth a stop if you are traveling on I-40. Pancake breakfast and chuckwagon dinners are suspended for the season so we didn't get to sample the fare. Place fills up even during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
Although this is not one of the usually high-rated KOA campgrounds, we really liked it. The staff were very friendly, the laundry was clean, and the food was outstanding. The wireless internet worked extremely well which is more than I can say for some places that advertise it. This campground had a very comfortable feel to it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This is a very nice park and has all the amenities that you would expect at a KOA. The staff is very friendly and work to make your stay enjoyable. The pancake breakfast is great and they will also cook-up a steak for you in the evening. There is lots of natural beauty to see in the area and they also provide you a tour map upon arrival. I'll be back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
Friendly, easy to use Wi-Fi. Pancake Breakfast is available daily and they have a limited supper menu. Close to area activities. Convenient to I-40. Easy to get in and out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
Spotless,friendly, excellant food, great place to stay!!! Level sites, easy hookups, very nice campground. Have plenty for you to do, great tour maps and did we mention FRIENDLY. This park could make me a KOA fan. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Older and typical KOA. The worst part of the park is their sites and roads. The roads and sites are dirt, gravel and very dusty. Roads and sites are narrow. When I left I had to drive through empty site as I couldn't make turn on narrow road. I walked in neighbor's patio area to access my utility hookups. Staff was friendly but could have helped narrow site issue by not putting everyone together as there were many empty sites. My water spigot was 12" above the sewer hookup. I find this unacceptable. They advertise heated pool, but it was very cool on 90 degree day. Most people also thought pool was too cool. Their chuckwagon dinner and breakfast were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
Typical KOA. Clean gravel sites which are very level and fairly close together. Very friendly and helpful staff. They are still serving their pancake breakfast, and cowboy cookout daily. This is a quiet campground which fills up every night. We were surprised at the number of RV's that come in each day. Noise from the Interstate was not a big deal. This is our third visit to this campground and the longest time we've spent which is one week. There's more to see than we first thought here if you like old historical buildings and the desert area. We would use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Park was very dusty due to them working on sites. Thought it was over priced for the area. Convenient to restraints. Would not stay here again because of better parks close by for less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
The owners felt like long lost friends at the end of a long day of driving even though this was our first stay at their Holbrook KOA. They and their 2 sons were so warm and friendly. Owner spent considerable time helping me get my laptop hooked up to Hotspotzz so I could stay in touch with my friends and family while on the road. He went way out of his way to help me and was so cheerful while juggling trying to hook me up, calling Hotspotzz when we had problems, and checking in other campers. We met several people who said they went out of their way to stop here this year after having been here before, just because they wanted to visit with the owners again. What more can I say? It is such a joy to be around people who enjoy their job and their customers so much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$26
We don't normally stay at the KOA's and now we know why. We spent a nights stay at the Holbrook KOA and we were NOT impressed. We felt like sardines in their very small spaces. We had a popup trailer next to us and could hear everything from them. We only have a 24'class C, but any one with slides would be right up against the person next to them. All the dogs seemed to behave themselves, but a lot of kids screaming and running around acted worse than any dog I've seen. We had our AAA book and it said SPECIAL RATES FOR AAA $19-$21, we brought the book in and they said, OH, sorry those are wrong prices. This has happened at every KOA campground we've stayed at. It was $26 for only electric and water, if we wanted anything else like sewer or cable it was more. The WiFi was $5.95 and then we tried to get tuned in and it didn't work, the staff was of no help. We were very disappointed with the grounds. We took our dogs to the 'dog run' area and there was huge ant hills with killer biting ants and we spent the next hour picking out stickers from all the brush around. Road noise was awful from I-40. It did have clean showers, in the tent area, but the front ones were just OK. We wouldn't stay at this KOA again and we aren't picky, have stayed in the Wal Mart parking lot with more amendities. The Woodalls book's review was great, so trusted that, but won't again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
Fairly typical KOA. Sites are level pull-throughs with not much space in between. Spotless laundromat and nice pool. They serve an outdoor breakfast and dinner in season. Hotspotzz WIFI is available for an extra fee. As with most KOAs, a bit pricey, but you generally know what to expect. Very friendly and helpful staff. A good place to stay while seeing Petrified Forest NP and other sights. The office provided us with maps and tour suggestions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$27
The owners went out of their way to make our stay great. He helped me set up the WIFI internet, as well as explain all the options for the internet that were available. They also had driving tours printed in their welcome newsletter which I thought were great. The pet area was very nice with lots of trash containers available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$29
This park is clean and management is helpful. WiFi is available but costs $6 for a 12 hr block. We have stayed at less expensive campgrounds that offer it at no extra charge. Cable costs extra as well. There is a phone line available, however, all dial-up is long distance. We were there in late April. Even though temps were in 80's the pool wasn't open yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$27
Clean restroom and very nice owners and staff. The sites are very narrow - you will be very close to your neighbor. However the sites are level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$29
Clean campground with *excellent* management team. They also grill up some great food at night and for reasonable prices. WiFi on the campground has good coverage with reasonable (but not great) speed. Park is not much to look at, but well-maintained. I would certainly stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
This is a very nice KOA park. Park is clean and in good shape. All sites and roads are gravel. Staff was nice at check in. Cowboy cookout 5:30-7:30 pm and pancakes 7:00-9:00 am, very good. Some road noise from I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Extremely friendly/helpful staff. Nice large pull through sites. The managers have a steak barbeque every night with the best steaks I've had in a long time. Reasonable price too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$27
Good location for sightseeing; everything neat and clean; mostly all gravel. Easy interstate access We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$30
Clean campground. In town on a busy street. Level easy access sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com