214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Moorhead Fargo Campground was rated 3 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (218) 233-0671
CGID1494

Moorhead Fargo Campground

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   1   1   6   2   1   4   3   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
Hi, As per the Campground Website the location is closed for 2012 and available for lease. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Sadly-not much in this area w/ Full hook-ups so-GOOD LUCK. 3 days here was long enough. When we arrived another camper had their vehicle parked in our area as they were told no one was coming into that site even though we had made reservations 2 months in advance, and called them to confirm that morning. We thought the 'dog park' was a good thing until we saw it. It was not mowed and we would of lost site of our new puppy in it. However the check-in girl happily showed us where it was located on the map with no mention of it's lack of up-keep. Some sites so wet/mucky that it made the perfect breeding ground for mosquitoes, and we left there with all the bites to prove it. I could go on & on but I think you get the point. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
If there was a zero rating I would have given that. It's no longer a KOA; is now Moorhead Fargo Campground. Muddy, narrow sites, no effort to clean up things after too much rain, pool has no water; overflowing trash can by pool. I put two loads of laundry in before I discovered neither of the driers were working, and the young girl running the place gave me change for the washers and didn't mention it. None of the video games inside were working. The water from the tap was brown; luckily we had a filter to put on when we saw it. We would have driven an extra hundred miles if we'd known how bad this place is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
STAY AWAY! Woodall's still lists this place as a KOA. IT IS NOT! We arrived only after winding several miles through a residential neighborhood and then down a rough, potholed, ungraded road. Perhaps they lost access from the interstate when they lost KOA status. We had reserved a pull-through and when we arrived were told there was none. Sewer water had backed up into several sites, pumps were running and the ground was flooded almost everywhere. The resulting mosquitoes were vicious. Hook-ups were not well maintained and our site was right on top of the neighbors. There were several very run down rigs in what appeared to be permanent sites. Ugh! We left the first thing in the morning and will never return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Typical KOA, next to the interstate, so there is highway noise. Atypical of a KOA, this place had lots of grass. However, this campground had been hit with torrential rains the days before (11 inches over normal for the year) and most of the sites were flooded out, so you got to pick which site you wanted, which was the "dryest" but still had to walk through mud or water puddles. Owners were very cooperative about where you stayed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Park is not up to KOA standards. Grass needed mowing on many sites and ruts from previous rain had not been repaired. Teen girls at desk were friendly. Lots of mosquitoes and biting flies even though right next to the interstate. Not much choice if you want to stay in Fargo area. Don't plan to visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
We would never stay here again. The long dirt road was bad enough, dry but terribly rutted and rough. The pull-through sites are awkwardly set up, two sites end to end with water on the curb side. There is a nice, fenced leash-off pet area. The price reflects water and electric only, and when we went to the dump station on leaving, it was clogged with standing water. An employee of the park was working on it. He reached for a concrete block placed nearby so as not to stand in the filth. It seemed the block had been there a while for that purpose. When we arrived we found the water was off and they forgot to tell us but got it on in a few hours. I am amazed that KOA lets them use their name. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Like most KOA's, it's just off the interstate, but there is a rutted dirt road (in some places only one lane wide) for access. The place was partly flooded due to recent rains; before people could stay, the staff had to check out sites to see if they were underwater or not. The toilets had black shower curtains separating the toilet from each other and the shower area; no real door. Big ruts in the access roads as well as mud. The people at the desk were nice, when they were there (off-season it's only manned morning and evening). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
I wish I had known about, and read the reviews here before making reservations. The pool was green, you couldn't see to the bottom. The adults in our group chose not to swim, but there were kids in the pool: a major safety hazard. There were major cracks in the dirt and large ruts left by trailers. The bathrooms were disgusting. They told us they were preparing for an inspection and it seems they didn't bother cleaning until right before the inspectors got here. The showers and sinks were not even wiped down daily. The help wasn't much help, and there were times when no one was at the counter/store for quite a while. There wasn't much room between sites so it was a good thing we were with friends. Definitely more of a stopover for the night rather than an actual campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Wish I had read reviews before staying here. I can echo all the negative comments previously. We arrived in a dust bowl and left a mud bowl after a modest rain. Sites were muddy, not level, with no grass area (only drained mud puddles). What a mess! Still cleaning up motorhome. Keep driving or stay in the nasty Flying J parking lot in Fargo rather drive in the 2 miles plus of gravel farm roads. Even got lost leaving due to detours for construction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
The pool was closed and filled with stagnant water. I'm not sure if they have plans to fix this. It's a little difficult to get here from the highway due to construction in the surrounding area. The road is dirt all the way in. The campground is nice with a lot of trees but the sites definitely need to be paved or at least gravel. There was a lot of rain two of the nights we stayed and our site ended up surrounded by water. Some of the bigger rigs ended up leaving tire trenches in the sites as they pulled out. If you can, I recommend staying at Lindenwood Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
I have to agree with the previous camper. The acess road is gravel with mud or dust depending on the weather. We go here just after 5" of rain, and most of the sites were flooded. The site water was so bad it was yellow, and the pool was green. WIFI 60" from the office was a 4% too poor to even use. The pull through site are pull through only if there isn't anyone in front of you. I would drive another 100 miles even after a 400 mile day to get to another campground. Rate reflects KOA discount... they should have given alot more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
NO and NO again, made reservation 3 days in advance and they responded with directions to exit I-94 on Exit 6 and proceed on the north frontage road west 4 miles to there park. Its not a road fit for a 4 wheeler. Mud 6-9 inches deep and rutted with no way to turn around. Made it but damaged the wires to the brakes. (Ruts axle deep.) We did make it to the office and when I ask the manager why she sent us that way, she informed me it was a county problem, not hers. Well after seeing the trash around the park and the green pool, we requested our reservation be canceled, she did but charged us a $10 fee. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
NO NO NO! Stay away from this mud hole. The road leading into the campground is some gravel and a lot of dirt. Frost heaves were terrible and made you think you might not make it through because of the soft road surface. Wi-Fi is lousy and sometimes you couldn't even get a signal. They have a pool but with out water in it I can't see it doing you much good. The grass has not been mowed for quite some time. The sites were not clean, in fact, I saw a woman go to the office and borrow a rake so she could clean up her site. There are deep ruts in pads. The roads inside the campground could use a lot of gravel. When making reservations the person on the phone acted like it would be a hard thing to do if I wanted to stay an extra night as she might not have a site for me. That was a big laugh since there was only five campers in the entire place. There is no one in the office from 1:00 until 4:00 so I found a site and set up and waited for the office to open. My reservations were even wrong as they had me coming in the following day. I gave her my confirmation number and she couldn't even find it but she did have my name down somewhere. I would have rated this campground a zero if I had the selection. This used to be a very nice campground but no more. I'm not sure but I think they are the only campground in the Fargo/Moorhead area and therefore can get by with just about whatever they want. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
We found this KOA to be quite nice. The park was in a grove of trees and on level ground. I say this because so many KOA parks seem to be in the hills. The spot was a nice pull thru. There was a RV in behind us on the second day. The WI-FI worked very well. It is right off the interstate but no road noise. It does have a dirt road for the last mile to the entrance. It is very convenient to Fargo and Moorhead. We would stay here again !! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
I have to agree with other reviewers about this campground. It probably was nice in the '80's but not now. The staff was friendly and the sites were fine (although a pull-through has two sites one in front of the other), but it's a so so campground at the end of a rough and dusty road. Wi-Fi was iffy and the restrooms/showers needed updating. We stayed one night and it along with our previous night's stay at a KOA have made us look elsewhere. KOAs near major attractions seem to be nice but otherwise "buyer beware"! If we return to the Fargo area we will stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Campground was very trashy, dirty and in decline. You have to travel 2 miles on a very dusty dirt road to get to the campground. Campground is full of fill time residents. On a positive note, the laundry room was very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
A nice overnight stop KOA. Sites are well spaced, campfire rings and picnic tables are provided. It is near I-94, so you do get some highway noise and you do hear train horns from Fargo. You can hear them, but they won't wake you up at night if you're in a TT, 5ver or MH. Tent campers or PUP campers may have troubles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This park is close to the highway as are most KOA's. The washrooms need a lot of work, as does the laundry. Sites are close together in the middle, but still big enough to get a slide and awning out. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
This park is the worst I have ever been in for a KOA. It does not deserve to be a KOA. My pull thru reservation was not honored because another camper stayed on the site longer than expected. Instead of moving the camper who did not stay the correct number of days, I was told that all they had was a back-in site. It took 20 minutes to jockey the 45 foot motor home into a back-in space which was not conducive to parking a large motor home. The road to the park is the worst I have ever seen in my 15 years of camping. The road is very rough and it is very dusty. Had to wash the coach and towed vehicle so they were safe to drive. I do not recommend this park to anyone with a larger motor home. The park lacks adequate rock and resembles a pig sty. If you have any other alternative, do not stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
This is one of the worst KOA's I have visited. Streets were gravel and dusty. Long "back to back" sites were muddy and not well maintained. Trees over-hung sites making it difficult to enter or depart without scratching my motorhome. The road to the Park is about a mile long and all gravel making it very dusty. I would not return to this Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The gravel road into this place is terrible but the front desk clerk told me it's being paved in 2007. Don't camp near the south end cause the interstate traffic noise will drive you crazy. The store/front desk is only open until 8pm and doesn't open again until 8am. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
The gravel road to this park is very long, very dirty and very rough. This road makes this park a very poor location for a diesel big rig. Until the road is fixed, we will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
This was the most unpleasant stay we've ever had. The 2 miles of road going to this park are often flooded and deep mud from rain or spring thaw. When contacted, the owners make no mention of this, or apology. We took our 42' motorhome into this mess one day after calling them on the phone and having no warning. There is no way to turn around or back out once started. Some of the sites flood too, and the park really shouldn't be open in the spring or after heavy rain. While right next to the interstate, there is no access when wet. All this known, the owners still made no apology for not telling us on the phone, and charged us full rate anyway. Walmart is a much better choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$30
Nice place. Very clean and organized store and restrooms, I was quite impressed. I was only at the grounds to sleep at night due to activities in town, but was a nice campground. The frontage road off the main exit was about a mile of gravel road, traffic noise from I-94 was somewhat noticable but not bad and I was camped near the front of the grounds right behind the store. I'd go back again if I'm in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We've stayed here twice and would stay for an overnight again. The staff was absolutely fine and helpful. The pool is nice and clean. It rained heavily both times and we had to depart from a pond around the site(s). Fairly close to the interstate and a new interchange makes it a little confusing to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Close enough to the expressway to get noise. Only 16 full hookups. Access road very dusty gravel. Park is clean. Owners/staff act as though the world is going to cheat them. They are unfriendly. Would try to avoid this park in the future We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com