218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Dauphin Island Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (251) 861-2742
CGID15

Dauphin Island Campground

Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   9   7   8   4   7   8   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
Great location, a short walk thru woods to the beach. Sites are shaded, and dirt and are very close together. They are fine if its dry but if it rains our site flooded and were walking thru 4 inches of water during tear down. The rest rooms and showers are in need of a remodel and were often dirty. They advertise Wi-fi but is only available at the shelter house. Would consider staying here again but only for the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$47
This is definitely a campground. I wouldn't stay longer than a few days...just enough time to visit the Estuarium, Fort and beaches. This island is definitely a bird lovers paradise and the campground is well situated for that. The sites are very uneven and heavily rooted. The wifi was down when we got there and remained down all week and the management didn't seem to care. The laundry is outdoors and was dirty and rusted. After the rain our sites and our neighbour's were filled with water - we were ankle deep at one point. Great area for family camping and birders but I would stay in Gulf Shores and take the ferry for a day trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
We loved this campground. It is older and has lots of enormous live oak trees with accompanying roots. However, the utilities all worked, and a beautiful beach is just a very short walk away. The campground adjoins the Audubon Bird Sanctuary and is a short walk from the Estuarium and Fort Gaines. Most of the island has wide, paved bike paths. A great seafood store, a general store and several restaurants are a short bike ride away. We were here during the transition between the snowbirds and the vacationers. The snowbirds come back year after year, they like it so much. We had intended to stay 4 days, and stayed 11. You get a price break the longer you stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
This park is conveniently located to so many things - Fort Gaines, the Estuarium, the paved walk/bike path, beach access, the Audubon Bird Sanctuary trails and the Mobile Bay ferry to Fort Morgan/Gulf Shores are all within walking distance. It is a birder's paradise, especially during the spring and fall seasons. There is an excellent seafood store on the island, but larger grocery stores are at least 20 minutes away. The park itself is nothing special, narrow paved interior roads lead through mostly well-trimmed trees to sandy/dirt sites that are fairly level with decent spacing between them. Be aware that sites along the main road are exposed not only to vehicle traffic noise, but also a lot of racket as the ferry docks and loads several times every day. This is not an issue farther into the park. We were assigned site #41, which was "borderline noisy". The 50-amp power and water were strong, and most sites include sewer and a sturdy table on a concrete patio. Only a few sites have fire pits. Our amplified MiFi Internet worked well here, but our Verizon phones were very weak and we had to walk to the park's "hotspot" for reliable service. The laundry "room" was outdoors, with 4 washers and 4 dryers - only 2 of the washers provided hot water. The bathrooms and showers were very old, but cleaned daily. There are only 2 RV parks on Dauphin Island, and we've stayed at both. We prefer this one for its convenient location to everything; if your goal is to spend maximum time at the public beach you may want to investigate the other park. The city recently imposed an 11% "lodging fee" on the parks here, which brought our weekly rate above $40/day. A bit steep for this park, but what can you do? We love Dauphin Island and will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
To say the sites were uneven would be an understatement. After squeezing between 4 trees and overly large roots, we stopped at 5 blocks to level out. But, the island makes the short stay bearable. A must is to take the ferry there from Fort Morgan. It's a fun ride. We also were there for the birding. This is one of the top spots. Sadly, the birds are late in migrating this year, but it was a great walk and 1 new bird to our list. We would have rated higher, but they had a live country band that played way past our bedtime. Check other spots first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$49
Okay park but haphazard. Cable TV lines run across the roads and have been taped to the road by long term residents that make up the biggest part of guest list. We had no cable available to us. WiFi is available only in the community building. Sites aren't well maintained but the low monthly rate may make it a good option for some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$36
We have stayed here three times now. Spent Jan. And Feb. This year. Most friendly people! Love the quiet and lots of beach time without the crowds. Don't expect anything fancy but very comfortable. Wifi in the community building. Cell phone service is poor. Will return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This is Alabama's version of Margaritaville. We are motorhomer's that prefer rustic, "old timey" adventure to "suburban" RV parks. If you have dogs, this is your place too. Just keep them leashed & bag their poop & you'll be just fine. Understand that you're on an island, far from the mainland, and adjust your expectations accordingly. These folks work hard to survive and provide accommodation for the tourists during the season. Private beach access & DOGS welcome! Much to do, if you like history and being surrounded by saltwater. We will return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
If you're looking for a quiet, peaceful place, this is it. Arriving the week after Labor Day, we didn't need a reservation -- there were dozens of spaces available. We were assigned to a very large, shady space that was probably the easiest back-in I've ever had. I do feel that this park is overpriced; discounts are available on the monthly rate, but not for shorter stays. Also no Wi-Fi lessens the desirability. But I would certainly stay here again just for the quiet atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$31
This park needs a face-lift. The right turn into the park is more than 90 degrees so be prepared in a big rig. The gate when leaving the park is also tight for a big rig--you can get through, but it is snug when towing. The sites are close together and not all have sewer. Low hanging trees, electrical wires running across the streets--this park has just seen better days. It does have a wonderful location though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
This park is a snow bird park. It was QUIET and so nice. Everyone was great and so nice. The sites were on grass and dirt. Overall I would stay here again. The county should put someone money into the sight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
This park was a real treat, whilst we didn't use any facilities, and the sites were average, the location makes up for lack of services. We had a full hook up site that had ample space. The staff were nothing but friendly. Take the five minute stroll to the beach at sunset, it is amazing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
Came here on the recommendation of another camper and were very disappointed in the facility. Very old, dirty restrooms and showers. Paid top dollar $41/night plus a "maintenance fee" of 5%/night. I don't know about you, but "fees" make me see red when costs should be included in the nightly charge. At that rate one would expect very good amenities, but this place does not have them. No Wi-fi, no cable, no pool, poor laundry, and the "maintenance fee" obviously did not pay for the cleanup of the site from the previous tenant who left their charcoal remains dumped next to the electric hookup. We would not stay here again since there are many better choices available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$33
Interesting area, decent beach access. No Wi-Fi or cable, and many seasonal/permanent units. Rates are maximum for amenities offered We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
Very outdated park. Many winter seasonals. Hodge podge layout. Bathrooms are woefully outdated and in poor condition. Laundry is outside barely under cover but functional. Could not get satellite for the trees. Also had to work wonders with 100' of cable to access a cable connection. A plus for this campground is the short pleasant walk to the beach which is really A+. Also a strong positive is the access to the nature trails of the adjoining bird refuge. Might stay again if they start some improvements. Price is based on the weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$34
I'm giving this park a 10. It had everything we were looking for in a campground. We were in site 29 and found it spacious and clean with all connections easy to get to. The park was clean and well maintained, the campers we met were friendly, the camp operators were all very informative and friendly. I've been in some campgrounds that were tight but this place had plenty of room. There were a few rigs a bit close together but the majority seemed spacious. The trails through the bird sanctuary were well maintained and there were a lot of them to keep our 3 year old Springer happy. They have a path to the beach that was just beautiful and at this time of year we had it mostly to ourselves for the entire week. We took the ferry over to Gulf shores twice and were able to visit Pensacola and the areas out that way. This was one of out favorite vacations and a place we will most definitely visit again. To be honest, I read some pretty bad reviews both here and on other sites that had me second guessing my decision to book here. Upon arrival I found that they were completely opposite to my opinion so I was really glad I didn't back out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
This park was OK, the people were nice, this is an older park and we stayed during the off season. There were places to eat and attractions nearby; don't go out of your way to stay here but you can do much worse. It could use some updating. We probably will stay here again if we are in Dauphin Island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$27
A shady closely spaced campground right by the main road, across from a pilot boat facility that is very noisy, and a ferry landing, but also very close to the civil war Fort Gaines, and the Estuarium at the Dauphin Island Sea Lab. Shore access 1/8 mile away by the fort. Electric, water and dump station. The central bath house is very dingy and dark. Bike paths run along the main road, and there are interesting houses to view. Good for an overnight and for the surrounding attractions and biking. Would stay here again for the attractions about but not for the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$35
We stayed here for 3 nights and the only negative is the shower house is very old and could have used an upgrade which would have improved the ability to keep it cleaner. Other than that, this is a wonderful park located within walking distance of the beach, across the street from the Sea Lab and adjacent to the bird sanctuary. While we were here the snow birds hosted a pancake breakfast. This is a very quiet park and is ideal for a long-term stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$36
Park was very nice. Very close to Gulf and Bird Sanctuary. Unfortunately February is not a month to get the full benefit of the Sanctuary but walking the trails was very enjoyable. Beach area very nice for walking and the pups loved running in the sand. Lots of sites to visit. Unfortunately no Wi-Fi - had to drive to a community center to get service and it was not great. Could not use satellite due to trees. No pool or in-park events. Would stay again for a quite vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
The only reason I didn't give this campground a 10 rating was the noisy tent campers. Policy said children should be in their own camp area after dusk and that quiet time was 10 pm to 6 am. I don't think that was enforced on the group of tent campers that arrived Friday evening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
This is a lovely place to stay. There is lots to do. The beach is just a short walk away. The beach is clean. There is a boardwalk, which helps when bringing beach supplies. The park is very dog friendly. They have a fenced yard for the dogs to play. There are walking trails, biking paths, a playground, and a nice camp store. The employees are very courteous and friendly. Had plenty of room between spots, paved drives, and nice concrete patios. Clean park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$28
Loved my stay there! The campground is older and you sometimes park back to side of other rigs, but it is comfortable enough. The campground was clean and staff was nice. The best thing is the closeness to the water and the best trails in the attached Audubon Bird Sanctuary. They are easy to walk and the dogs are welcome. There is a lot to see on the island itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
I liked this campground because it is close to the beach and the beach is dog friendly. There were a lot of long term snow birds there and they were friendly. Yes the park is a bit older, but I liked the park overall. Barely one Verizon bar and 2 AT&T bars on cell phone. My Verizon cell modem could not grab enough signal even with external antenna. That is the only reason this park did not get higher than an 8. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
I am back from possibly the worst camping experience ever. We have stayed at Dauphin Island campground for a few days each of the last three summers. Up until this visit, we thought it was safe for our children. Approximately four hours after checking in: my 8-year old son was harassed on the playground and then his bike was stolen. We found it around midnight thrown about 15 feet off the beach path, deep into the trees and bushes. (The park constable stayed to patrol the campground while we searched: thank you to him.) The next night a "tween" playing on the playground had my 4-year old in a choke hold and the other child's mother got mad because my son bit him! While watching my children on the playground, I heard older kids yelling about getting guns to take care of "problems". I got my children and went back to our campsite. We left the next morning even though we had paid for another night. After we were on the road for an hour, we called the campground to let them know why we left. They were more concerned about their reputation than wanting to know the details, campsite numbers or safety issues. Up until this visit, we have loved this campground and have made wonderful memories visiting the estuarium, Ft. Gaines, and Skinners Seafood has the best fresh shrimp ever! But this summer: the "all summer campers" made us feel uncomfortable to the point we left early and didn't even ask for our money back. Keep in mind that of their 140 sites: 100 are "all summer campers" during fishing season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
I enjoyed the family atmosphere at this campground. They have an excellent play ground for the kids. Very family friendly. Close to areas to eat and recreation. I loved it! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
If you are a birder this is a good campground. The campground is old and somewhat rundown but the close proximity to birding sites makes up for its faults. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$28
The pictures on-line don't do the campground justice. I had some initial concerns based on previous reviews, but we were more than happy with our surroundings. We had a site that backed up to the tent camping area so we had ample room. Some of the loops looked a little tight though. Our biggest complaint was lack of available trash cans. There were the main dumpsters near the entrance and at the bathhouse but none in other places that we could find. Sometimes we had to walk farther with a doggy pick-up bag than we wanted. Considering that we were definitely in the off season, we found plenty of things to keep us busy. The campground was one of the quietest we've been in. Not sure what it's like in peak months? All in all, it was enjoyable and we look forward to future trips. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
From previous reviews I didn't have high hopes for this park, but we thought it was fabulous. Sites are just on grass but are reasonably level. The playground was new and looked great. The beach was fantastic, lovely warm water, fish swimming round us, sand was great and we had it almost to ourselves. Only issue was the mosquitos in the evening, but they could be held at bay by lots of DEET. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
This is not your usual RV park. It really is an old time southern fish camp. Most of the sites are occupied by long term residents (many on concrete blocks) that live in near-by towns. The camp rules say that you can stay there as long as it does not become your permanent address. We met folks there that work on off shore oil rigs. Most of the sites have a big boat that is kept there. The entire park was dirty and not well kept. Our site had several spent charcoal dumps on it, and beer bottle caps and cigarette butts were everywhere. The site next to us dumped their spent ashes on the ground everyday. The showers were a mass of old pipes and mold. The toilet stalls were rotting and falling apart. I asked the office twice one day to clean up blood on the restroom floors and it was still there when we pulled out. Most sites are very narrow and very close together. Their “walk to the beach” beach has tree stumps all over it and even out into the surf. The community has very little to do unless you bring your off shore boat with you. Be prepared, this community is a study in revenue enhancement. Restaurants were mostly non existent. With all the great state parks in Alabama, it is hard to believe the state is connected with this facility. We will not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
The sites were just too close together. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$31
The RV Park was about half-full during this time of the year; however, the office said the snowbirds were slowing filling up the park and they expected a busy season. Ask for senior citizen discount ($1 off per night); no other discounts available. We stayed for two nights and had a nice site for our big rig. TV reception for local stations was clear and we had no problem getting satellite service (there are many trees but our site was fairly open). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$32
We stayed here two weeks in December and loved the park. The CG has an access path to the beach and to a nice nature area with several trails. These trails were really nice to take the dog for a walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Some sites are better than others. One of our neighbors had to move because he was sinking in. We did not have that problem. Some sites are more shaded and dish set-up may be an issue. At night the noise from the nearby coast guard and ferry can be an issue. The northern wind, which can be quite gusty at times, carries the noise into the CG. The beach is very nice, but the remnants of Katrina are still visible, especially on the western side of the island. There is also a nice Estuarium in walking distance that is worth a visit. Mobile is somewhat far away, but daytrips are possible. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
Park is just a short walk from the beach, ferry landing and fishing. We noticed a large number of the camp sites could have used some cleaning. Cigarette butts, paper, used charcoal brickets etc., were scattered about. Picnic tables could use a coat of paint. I guess these things get overlooked because this is the only campground on the island resulting in no competition for campers. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
The only thing this campground has going for it is location. It is right on the gulf and across the street from fishing piers and the ferry. The beach is in poor condition due to hurricane damage. There is a small playground but nothing else for the kids to do other than ride bikes. Bath houses are outdated and in need of repair. If you're planning on going fishing, this is the place, otherwise stay somewhere else on the gulf. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Very nice park. Short walk to beach. Many hiking trails through Audubon sanctuary. Easy walk or bike ride to nearby attractions - Ft. Gaines and Estuarium, a small but very interesting "aquarium" focusing on the flora and fauna of the estuary. Ferry to Gulf Shores just outside campground entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We spent several days here and the campground (and weather) was beautiful. Short stroll on the boardwalk to the Gulf. Right accross the street from the US Coast Guard station and Aquarium. Walking distance to Fort Gaines or the Ferry to Gulf Shores. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1999
$20
The campground is located on the gulf side of the island. It has it's own beach on the gulf. It is a short walk down the path to the beach from the camp sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com