206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Kaibab CampeRVillage was rated 6 out of 10 based on 59 user reviews. Phone: (928) 643-7804
CGID151

Kaibab CampeRVillage

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   6   8   6   6   3   8   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
The park is gravel roads and gravel sites. Some sites need leveling. Mine did not. There are lots of trees for shade. We did not have any problems with utilities as some have mentioned. I asked about those problems, and park personnel said sometimes those problems occur when the park is full. Some of the wiring is old, and they are redoing the wiring a section at a time. Where the water and showers are concerned, we just used our shower and bathroom. They did not say anything about our use of water. The park is closed from mid Oct to some time in March or April. We stayed 5 days and enjoyed every day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Beautiful park. Friendly hosts. Near sights. We will stay again. Gravel with plenty of room to back in. Restrooms are portable, I think due to lack of water. (sign saying water is hard to find). Some noise from passing trains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Beautiful location with quiet and cool temps compared to much of the rest of AZ, and only about 1/3 full at peak season. An hours drive to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Lots of pines and shade. Toilets are chemical outhouses. Showers are $2.25 for five minutes, with a sign that says to let the water run for a minute before getting in, then to add quarters to gain an additional "2/3 minute". Hmmm. Stalls were cleanish with some mildew evident. Nearby Visitors Center for Jacob Lake and lodge/restaurant/gift shop had good info about the area and the canyon. Food there was average; staff helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is a fully acceptable option for a full hook up site close (still 45 miles) to the north rim. The comments about some sites being tight or somewhat challenging to level (generally front to back) are valid but keep in mind you are staying in the middle of a national forest not a 5 star resort. We had no problem with water pressure, though it was somewhat low one day. Again that is why you have a fresh water tank and a pump. No problem with electric, as one reviewer reported. We were here 4 days while visiting the north rim and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
Very nice shaded spot. We only used electric and sewer as water is trucked in and they advise there could be odd smell due to chemicals added. Perfect spot to stay for the night on our return to Phoenix from Yellowstone. We plan on staying here again when making a visit to the north rim. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is the closest campground to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon but it is still quite a drive. Sites not very level, no internet other than the phone. Lots of trees and wonderful areas to walk the dog. Only port a potties but they use chemicals so it isn't too bad. They charge for showers and laundry is kind of expensive but water is a premium up there. I would not want to show up at night here...very challenging backing into a lot of the sites. Pull thrus are used for the biggest RV's and fifth wheels. The staff is very helpful though assisting the process. Only one store/restaurant/gas station in the "town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Reasonable RV park if you're looking for hookups near the Grand Canyon north rim. The sites are well spaced, but not as generous as one would find in forest service or national parks. You get 30 amp power, water, and sewer. Verizon cell has 1 bar, great with external antenna (I have one). The water has to be trucked in, which results in lots of chlorine and low pressure at times. We were awakened at 8 AM one day by the septic pumping truck pulling up next to us and proceeding to pump out the septic for 45 minutes and leaving quite a stench. No fun for breakfast. In summary: we wanted electric for heating in October and we spent all our time away from the trailer, so this worked out well. If you're looking for a place to "hang out" I'm not so sure it's a good destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Not a Big-Rig friendly park. The long entry road is extremely dusty. Interior roads are tortuous with large pine trees and large rocks - difficult to drive and park without major damage to RV body. Be very careful while the staff is directing you to your site! Many sites not level. Electricity inadequate - 30 amp only and voltage drops below 105 risking system shutdown or appliance damage. Water in short supply. No WiFi or cable and trees block satellite. Unfortunately this is the only North Rim campground with hookups. OK for small rigs, but if we return to the North Rim, which is Awesome compared to the overcrowded South Rim, we would dry camp at another area campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Maybe it was the time of year, but we didn't encounter any problems with water pressure or water usage. Loved the quietness of the area, the mile-long path through the woods to Jacob Lake Inn, and the clear, star-filled night sky. Our dog loved the forest path, too. Wi-Fi was 20 miles away, no cell phone reception (AT&T), and too many trees to set up a TV dish, but out there, the solitude is the main attraction. 45 min drive to the north rim, but worth it for full hookups. Sites were long enough and wide enough. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
In my 40+ years of camping, this has to be the worst “full hookup” RV park I have ever stayed at. After paying your non-refundable campsite fees, you are given a list of rules that say water is for drinking only and 50 amp service is not available. No showers, use of washing machines, etc. Of course for an extra fee of $2.25 for every 5 minutes, you can use their shower or pay to use the washing machines Water pressure is only 35 pounds. Worse yet, your electricity often falls below 103 volts, which on my unit caused the EMS to totally shut off the coach until the voltage got above 103 volts again. This park needs major infrastructure upgrades and their website really misleads the reader as to what they are really getting. I'll never stay here again or recommend it to others! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Quiet and shaded with many trees. Sites can get muddy in rain. Told that 50 amp sites available, but only 30 amp available. Water supposed to be for drinking only. No cable TV or Wi-Fi. Expensive for what you get. Still 50 plus miles to North Rim. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is a very nice rustic park. Camping in the forest was great, no traffic noise. The office staff is friendly. Some of the pull-through sites are close but most have plenty of room. We would definitely recommend the park even though it is a 45 minute ride to the North Rim. The only ding is the water pressure is terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
It is all about the money. That is what applies to this campground. We chose this camp site because of all the advertising on their website. Full hook ups, fire pits, rafting on the Colorado River. It really was a lot of promises. When we arrived after visiting the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, we were really exhausted and not in the mood for trouble. This is, looking back, why we probably didn't leave. The unpleasant surprises started with the registration. We are a family of 5 and had to pay an additional $4 for our third child (nine years old). This added to the extreme high rate (in relation to the quality of the camp) of $35. The second surprise came a minute later. The kids wanted to build a fire and we asked for firewood. The desk officer said, "Oh but than you have to decide whether you want a fire pit or a sewer." We asked why. Well, there are places with a fire pit and without sewers or places with a sewer without fire pits. The price is the same (?). We still do not understand the rational. We were two days in national parks so we needed a sewer, so ended up at a public fire pit. Then the toilets. They were basically chemical without lighting. Not a surprise, that it was a risk to enter in the morning. There were showers but you had to pay $2.25 (in quarters) and not convenient. So that added another $11.25 to the rent. Then the promise of a river. There was nothing: to the big disappointment of the kids. The rafting was far away from the camp site. The site has nothing more to offer than the many government owned campsites in the area. Come here for half the price and avoid disappointments. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Closest full hookup RV park to the Grand Canyon North Rim. Site we were in required more leveling than others we've stayed at. Showers and laundry were shutdown because of water shortage in the area. NO cell phone service unless you have Verizon. Good radio reception from So. Utah stations. NO TV unless you have satellite. Park provided fire rings in a central picnic area, but not at individual sites. It's a beautiful park, away from the highway, in Ponderosa pines on the Kaibab plateau. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very nice and helpful staff. Peaceful setting. The campground has chemical toilets, but they are kept very clean. AT&T customers cannot get wireless cell service for about 30 miles, but Verizon customers can get service. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
Location, location, location! This is the closest campground to the North Rim that has hookups. They have water and electricity but only chemical toilets. To be fair, the toilets were clean and did not smell. The showers were clean but to "conserve water" require you to pay $2.25 for 5 minutes (they have quarters in the office). If the objective is really to conserve why isn't the water metered? Seems the big rigs could use as much water as they wanted for showers and toilets as long as they take the wastewater with them. There is no dump station. The restaurant at the Jacob Lake Inn is good but very pricey. Once again location. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
We were made welcome and given a pleasant shaded site. It was pretty quiet here though there were numerous folks around. Handy for the North Rim. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This campground is in a pine forest. Sites are adequately spaced, gravel and dirt, not level. Our air card worked excellent and we got full bars on our verizon cell phone. The laundry room had 2 washers and dryers each, $2.00 to wash, $1.50 to dry. There are pay showers, 5 minutes cost $2.25. We had full hookups which worked fine. There is a natural scarcity of water, so their rules prohibit filling your holding tank. There is dry camping available, not level, and generator use is prohibited. Office staff was friendly and we were escorted to our site. It is about an hours drive to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, on a nice 2-lane paved road. There is a walking trail to Jacob Lake Inn/store, and Kaibab Plateau Ranger Office. We enjoyed our stay and would return if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Closest park to The North Rim with hook-ups. Road to the campground a bit rough in spaces. Sites are close but we were lucky to be there when they weren't busy and they spaced us "every-other" which gave us room. Fire pits and picnic tables at each site. Lots of trees, beautiful setting. Our Verizon phone worked OK, got two bars. Our Verizon USB modem worked well and we were able to get the Internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Quiet park out in the Kaibab NF about 45 mi from GC North Rim. Nice walking trails in the NF nearby. Escorted to site by camp host who helped us back in. Staff very nice at check in. Sites not that level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
If you want to stay on the north rim and full hook-ups, this is the only option. Sites are not level and somewhat close together, but overall is an okay place for a couple of days. The canyon is about an hour away. The trip up and down 89a is somewhat challenging, but doable. Utilities were fine, but no 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Even though they don't have cable or WI-FI we stayed an extra night for the peace and quiet, forest experience. Nice park, friendly staff. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
We stayed at DeMotte CG closer to the north rim and stopped here to dump tanks at their 'dump station'. After being charged $12 we were led to a sewer pipe in the ground next to a camper in his site. I was told there was no water available. This was the most $$ I have ever been charged to dump tanks and the WORST facility ever. I'm just glad we didn't stay in this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This park is a nice alternative if the Nat'l Park sites are full. Nice area and the adjacent Jacob Lake Lodge provides a nice breakfast! Sites are close together and unlevel but nothing terrible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed our visit. The park is very quiet. Most of the spots are not level and a few are tight, no big deal if you have blocks and are good at backing. The people next to us (what would be the driver side) had a very tight spot and only had about 10 feet out of their front door to our trailer. Great central location to visit the Canyon or Utah. Great cell coverage with Verizon. Make sure you fuel up before Jacob Lake, diesel was $3.28. It was over .20 cents cheaper in Fredonia or the Gap depending on which direction you come in. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Pay for showers. Pit toilets. But with hookups, not a real problem. They do tell you that they have to truck in water and want you to be careful with your water use. It is a request, not a mandate. Very quiet and woodsy. I think the sites are a bit close together, but we did have good neighbors. It is a 40 mile drive approx to the North Rim. I'd prefer to be closer, but there is no other choice unless you dry camp totally without electricity. Have not investigated those options. Camp ground manager was most helpful and even loaned me a drill so I could install a handle on our screen door for easy closure. Wonderfully quiet!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
What a gorgeous campground! Wish we could have stayed longer. It was so quiet and peaceful in the pine trees. We went for some walks along the dirt roads, and they were so lovely and restful. We spent a full day resting in the campground before going to the Grand Canyon. After the heat and dryness of the canyons in the area, the cool greenness of the Kaibab Plateau and forest was most welcome. My daughters loved visiting the horses corralled next to the campground and the two colts in the pen. It was an easy drive into the Grand Canyon, but what a zoo once you get there! Try to find ways of getting away from popular overlooks and onto the trails. The fellow who 'guided' us into our spot was well-intentioned, but situated us in the worst way. After he left, we pulled out and did it again on our own. Bring plenty of leveling blocks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
Tall pines throughout the park, very quiet except the sound of the wind in the trees. Sites are not level but not impossible. Most sites have adequate space between them and the back in sites are definitely the best. Backed up to the forest is very peaceful and slightly more private than the pull through sites. The spaces are not identical, each has it’s own pluses and minuses. Our site had trees too close to the rig to open the awning and the ground outside our door sloped significantly which required being very careful when stepping outside. However, this is by far better than the asphalt and concrete, just off the interstate, type of campgrounds. We would prefer the National Forest dispersed camping but we require electricity so this campground is perfect. AT&T had no connection. No WiFi. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This campground is very similar to a National Forest campground except it has full hookups which we needed. There are sites that will accommodate large RVs as well as smaller sites for pop-ups and smaller trailers; sites are generally well spaced apart except for the area where pop-ups and smaller RVs park. Some sites are not very level. The campground is nestled in amongst Ponderosa pines which gives some degree of shade all day. The park is located at an altitude of approximately 8,000 ft, and when we were there in July, the temperature was pleasant all day. There is plenty of National Forest land immediately adjacent to the campground to walk pets. We would stay here again if we could not dry camp in the National Forest campground nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
We stayed here while visiting the north rim of the Grand Canyon and chose Kaibab because it is the nearest campground with utilities. The showers are clean but they are pay showers. $2.25 to start the shower and each quarter thereafter gets you 40 seconds more time. The reason I rated it a 6 is the chemical toilets. In their defense, they do tell you ahead of time that is what they have. For any who are not sure, they are porta-potties. They told me they have theirs hooked to a sewer so I expected better. The truth is the toilets were too full and splashing up was a problem. Because of that, we would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
After reading all of the reviews, and the varied opinions, we decided to stay here and experience it for ourselves. We are always on a quest to seek out campground/RV parks that look and feel like a National or State Park campground but with full hookups. We were very pleased with this campground. We had none of the issues stated in the previous reviews. We were in site #58, which backed up to a split rail fence that separated the park from the forest and it was a full hookup site. We could take our dog back there, play frisbee with him or just go for a walk along the trail. The site was plenty wide enough for our 30' class "C", our Jeep, BBQ, chairs and our portable fire pit. The park is quiet, has lots of trees,is nicely set up with a separation of back-ins, pull-throughs and tent campers. We found the camp hosts to be helpful, kind and ready to answer any questions we had. We enjoyed our stay so much, we are returning for a week in July. There is so much to do between the North Rim, hiking, Jeeping, bike riding, the Vermillion Cliffs, Lake Powell, river raft trips, horse back riding, that we will probably go back many more times. This is one of the best campgrounds I have every stayed in. That said, I don't care for the asphalt-sterile camping, so this may not be your type. It is truly beautiful and peaceful at Kaibab Camper Village. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
We agree with other reviews about the beauty of this campground. It is scenic and remote (the gravel approach road was a bit rough). Be aware that this is not a "refined" campground. The back-ins can be difficult to maneuver due to the boulders dividing sites and protecting utilities, so the friendly staff guidance was appreciated. Many of the back-ins are well worth the effort for the added privacy and the natural setting behind the fence, especially our site #43. Also, most of the sites are not level. We needed to use our extensions to reach both water and electric. The proximity to the North Rim is a big plus for this campground. Be aware that the weather can be dicey in May (we had snow one morning and 28 degrees, and the next morning was 24 degrees). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
It's hard to rate this place since we arrived late in the day and were only here one night. But it looks like a nice place to spend some time, with lots of shade trees and near to recreational activities and the north rim of the Grand Canyon. Earlier reports of 50 amp power available are incorrect: they only have 20-30 amp. We had an escort to our site, which we really didn't need, but was nice and we had room to park our truck next to the trailer. If we were here longer we would be a bit disappointed in the outdoor space available at each site, but there's plenty of room elsewhere to relax. It's in the middle of nowhere, with few shopping or other resources around, so stock up before you get here, and don't rely on a GPS to get you there. Our GPS never heard of Jacob Lake or this campground. They appear to be open all year round, although the north rim of the Grand Canyon is closed from October 15 to May 15: there are other winter attractions in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Beautiful forest service type campground but will full hookups and tighter spots. We have stayed here three times and are always a little leery of being assigned a tight spot as this can happen. Sometimes we've been able to request a spot and sometimes not depending on other reservations. Staff is very helpful when escorting you to your site and even want to help you back-in but they are not always knowledgeable in this area. That's ok because we appreciate their help and just park it in our own manner after they leave. They have a dump station or what they call a dump station but the collar is so high that it make dumping almost impossible to keep from making a mess. If at all possible, when you are assigned a water and electric site, dump your tank elsewhere. Within easy driving distance of the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
What a jewel! It is really like a forest service campground, but with full hook ups and plenty of room for big rigs. The place is beautiful and has lots of trees. The pet walk area is the forest. There are many trails to walk and enjoy the setting. The office staff was very friendly. The sites are very close to level and are easy to maneuver into and out of. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
We picked this campground based on it's location closest to the North Rim with full hookups. Also (being August) we were looking for a cooler camping location to escape the heat. We were not disappointed. Weather was great: 78F/40C with a couple of small rain showers. The site we stayed in was nice. Campground was quiet, friendly, with lots of nice pine trees. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
The worst place we stayed at during our 20-day trip of the West. Problems started when we arrived and they escorted us to our campsite and attempted to "help" us back our travel trailer in. The gentlemen who worked there was several cards short of a full deck, and aggravated us for 10 minutes by trying to get me to back into a spot that only an ATV pulling a little red wagon could have gotten into. We finally politely told him to get out of our way, drove around the park, entered from the other side and dropped our trailer in on one try. Around 9 p.m. our power went out, an we were only hooked up to a 15 amp outlet. His solution (after telling us that we must have done something wrong) was to piggyback us off our neighbor's service rather than try to figure out what was wrong. There were only 2 showers for the entire campground, and they cost $2.25 for 5 minutes. No Wi-Fi either. If it were not $34, I would be less cranky, but there is a public park campground across road for $15 that offers essentially the same features (no electric, showers, etc.) and it has a much more open layout. I would avoid this campground at all costs. (P.S. The clerk deliberately failed to mention that the showers weren't free during the check-in, so we weren't able to use them that night at 10:00 because we didn't have enough quarters). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
We enjoyed the site very much. Peaceful, nice picnic table, trees trees and more trees. The only problem we had and our neighbor next to us also was it took about 10 cranks of the steering wheel to back into our site (trees). It was very tight! Would we come back again? Definitely! This was a great place to camp and so close to the North Rim (45 mins). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This is the closest full hookup campground to the North Rim. I am sure there are issues time to time with every campground but this suited our needs and we had no problems what so ever. The toilets were outhouses and the lake was a marsh but it had services and a picnic table. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
During our stay, the electricity went off three times. Each visit to the office to see what the problem was, resulted in the problem not being solved. But instead of the employees stating that someone had done a poor electrical wiring job, they blamed the visitors to the park. I was asked if I had turned everything on in my motor home. Told the clerk that I did not, and that everyone else close by was also without electricity. One camper, next to our site was told she could not use her AC and microwave at the same time. It would cause the electricity to go off in the whole park. Each time, the staff made it clear that it was the fault of the campers staying in the park that the electricity went off. When I asked for a partial refund of money, was told that wasn't gonna happen. Another problem was staff that did not know what they were doing. One man was suppose to direct campers in backing into sites. He had no clue how to do said job. He tried to put us into a site that was too narrow for our unit. The staff really needs to have some customer service training. There is no way that we will stay in this park again. And I have already made it known the problems we had on several Yahoo rv groups. If asked in the future for a recommendation for this park, there is no way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We were glad just to get a place to park on short notice. I had only a 15 amp service because the other camper had the 30 amp, we were told that we would get 30. We did not have sewer hook up. The site we had did give us room to park. We did enjoy the North Rim very much. The park cost is high for what we got. Not sure if we stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
The park is 45 miles from the north rim of the Grand Canyon but is the only CG with full hookups in the area. To get to the CG, you must travel on a washboard gravel road for 0.5 miles. We are travelling with a group caravan and when we got to the CG, one of the sites assigned to us had a trailer on it. The staff seemed to be very confused and unorganized but finally put the displaced camper on a nearby site. We also had problems with the breakers continually tripping but the work-camper said that the breaker was being replaced the next day (and we didn't have any problems after then). In order to reserve a site at this CG, we each had to pay a 1 night, non-refundable deposit back in Feb. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Kaibab is an older park, but well cared for. Management staff were pleasant and helpful. It is a welcome change after the parking lot parks in Las Vegas, NV and even Williams, AZ. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
Kaibab Camper RV Village (formerly Jacob Lake RV Park now managed by Canyoneers, was a real disappointment this time. Although we have stayed there many times in the past, we have not had this rig there. Our 37-foot coach should not have been a problem for the park but it definitely was. We parked very slowly and carefully between tall pine trees and large lava rocks, hooked up sewer, water and 30-amp electricity (there is no 50 amp). Within 30 minutes our electricity had gone off and it went off 16 times over the next 2 1/2 days. Sure, a trip to the office got the maintenance man to come to the breaker box for the four coaches on that line that on either side of us but when this happened in the fierce thunder and lightning storm the first night it wasn’t fun to get help in the pitch black of nighttime. Our coach has an automatic shut down if inadequate power is coming into the system. Apparently, four 30-amp sites were on the same 70-amp line. We were charged the same fee for overnight camping as everyone else who had consistent electricity but we only had electricity for about 1/2 our stay. Sure this park was built in the 1940’s, but they have not made any of the basic improvements needed for a comfortable stay. My advice? Any modern coach who wants to run anything beyond basic lights should stay away from Kaibab Camper Village. Primarily the tent campers use the less than clean showers and they cost $2.25 for five minutes. The chemical toilets are chemical toilets. Nuff said. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
We stayed one night after dry camping in the park at Grand Canyon. The campground hauls their water so use is limited to household. If you need to fill you tank for the park there is a dump station at the park when you go in. This campground is very pleasant and quiet with lots of nice trees and I could get a signal for my dish in space #69. They lead you to your site and if you have time I recommend the drive to Kanab for two reasons. #1 is Escobars Mexican Restaurant which has some of the best Mexican food I have eaten and #2 is the scenic view of the Grand Staircase Escalante and the Vermilion cliffs. While in Kanab it might be a good idea to fill your fuel tank as the diesel is about 320 to 30 cents a gallon cheaper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
This park is as described – very similar to a National Forest Service campground. It is located in a pine forest, about 3/4 of a mile down a dusty, dirt road off Highway 67 (the main road to the north rim of the Grand Canyon National Park). While it does have full hook-ups, water must be trucked in. Filling one's fresh water tank is not allowed, so plan to arrive with a full tank, especially if you need to use your water pump (and hence your fresh water tank) to boost the pressure for a shower. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is no Wi-Fi or cable. Our Verizon service did not work in this camp (but did at the Grand Canyon National Park lodge); however, one of the staff indicated that Verizon would be available next year. If we return, we would prefer to find an RV park closer to the National Park, as the drive is exactly one hour each way. This RV park is advertised as the closest full hook-up RV park to the North Rim; however, we would gladly sacrifice a sewer hook-up for something more convenient if staying 2-3 nights. Our first campsite was not level, and would have been difficult to enter and exit; however, management was very nice about changing to a more acceptable location. We did not check out the laundry or showers, and indeed the restrooms are porta-potties. We camped 2 nights with no pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
This park is very rustic, to say the least. True, they have to truck in the water, false, you can't take a shower. Jacob Lake is more like a "spit hole" than a lake, pond or a mud hole. The park is very nice and quite with cool temps to sit out and enjoy nature. If you are concerned with no internet, then check with your internet provider and tell them that you are going to a "dial up park", and you need to get instructions on what you need to know & do before showing up. No cell phone service, just pay phone (one of the last in the country). 40 miles from the north rim of the Grand Canyon with spectacular views at sunrise. This was our 3 time there and what a hoot. Will stay here again. . and again. Be sure to bring your supplies since the closest grocery store is at least 40+ miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
The park is shaded, however there are several drawbacks to staying here. Although this is the nearest campground outside the Park, it is still almost 40 miles from the North Rim. Just be aware that you will have a long commute into the park. There is no internet service, and no cell phone coverage if you happen to be on AT&T (don't know about the other carriers). The rules provided on check-in limited water use to just personal consumption (no washing of vehicles, pets, or yourself!). I don't know how they expect to enforce the no shower rule. We filled-up our fresh water tanks before we came just in case there was an issue. I would give this campground a 6, mainly because there aren't many alternatives if you want an advanced reservation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Nice location in a pine forest. Very isolated park, decent sized spaces. The folks at this park are very concerned about water usage, as it has to be trucked in from far away. No public showers, and the rules stipulate that water is to be used for consumption only - no car washing, no showers. They reserve the right to penalize you $20 for every violation of their water rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Tightest park we've ever been in. I worried the whole time we were there how we were going to get out of our site. Fortunately the coach across from us left the same morning we did, so I was able to pull through his site and get out. Also the gravel/dirt road driving in (7/10 of a mile) was so dusty that our red tow car was snow white AND you are not allowed to wash cars or RV's in the park. I WILL NOT STAY HERE AGAIN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
The hosts were great. 30 amp electric service a bit weak. About half of the people picked up after their dogs in the very convenient dog walk. A few of the sites are quite large, but most are a little close. "Lake" is a bit overstated. The grounds are more what you would expect in a Forest Service campground, rather than a RV park, somewhat rustic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Sites are small, restrooms are just nice clean porta pots, showers are pay per minute, and the store has about three items in it, but the location is great for going to the north rim, plenty of big shade trees, and very nice and helpful staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Very Quiet. Great Location, off the road but easy to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
We were to stay here June 24th (Saturday), but the Warm Fire was going on at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We stayed another week in Williams, AZ. I called and spoke to really nice people at the rv park, but the people in charge of the rv park are in Flagstaff, AZ. I was calling to cancel because of the fire. On Monday, I finally was able to reach the people in Flagstaff to find out if I was going to get my first nights stay refunded. They were nice, but told me I need to be patient for about a week. Well I've been patient for 4 weeks and still have not heard anything! I guess I will need to call them back again. When we finally do get to visit the North Rim, I think we will stay in the National Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$25
This is a great place to use as a base for visiting the north rim of the Grand Canyon. While it is located 45 miles north of the park, it's the closest campground with FHU. The campground hosts are very friendly and willing to give additional hints on sights in the area. We loved staying in a wooded area, smelling the pine scented air. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
This is one of the closest campgrounds to the north rim of the Grand Canyon. We stayed here in a 45' Prevost. It's a bit tight, but certainly workable. Close access to Rt 89A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
The forest offers shade, quiet and seclusion. There was an escort to the site and the staff were friendly and helpful. The gravel sites were not level. They only offer 30 amp, but it was so cool in mid-September, we didn't need the AC on. Water is trucked in so we were asked to conserve. Restrooms were port-a-potties and were locked in our section. Firepits are available, but not on site, they were across the road in a tent section. We were here during Deer Bow season and the campground filled up. It is one hour drive to the Grand Canyon North Rim and 45 minutes to Kanab, the only grocery. Fuel prices are much higher on the Plateau. They offered a modem hookup but requested a 15 minute time limit. They did recycle aluminum. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Campground is accessible by a 1/2 mile gravel road. Individual sites varied from very small to roomy. All need quite a bit of leveling. Not much privacy between sites and trees made slideouts a challenge. Biggest concern was the power supply. Voltage fluctuated quite a bit leading to lights dimming and variations in fan speed. Ran the refrigerator off propane to reduce risk of any damage. Water pressure low. It's about 40 miles to the NPS campground at the North Rim. Undoubtedly worth the extra miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Toilets are port a potties, sinks outside, $ showers, didn't inspect them. There was a power outage because one big coach was running 2 air cons! They had to turn them off before the electric came back on. We had a reservation, called mid afternoon to tell them we were delayed until around 6 and "hold it"; when we got there we were given the last available slot (next to the entrance). Someone did not communicate our phone message. A good location for seeing the North Rim We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com