224323 User submitted reviews online!!
Minneapolis Northwest KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (763) 420-2255
CGID1510

Minneapolis Northwest KOA

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   8   5   10   10   7   8   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Good location north of Minneapolis. Sites are level most pull-through. Showers are small and cramped and could use upgrade. Every time I camp here garbage is overflowing bins. Everyone seems to drive to washrooms and shower when it is so close. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$46
Stayed one night only; rate is with KOA discount. Good W/S/E connections; solid cell-phone coverage. Dirt sites and roads (they do get muddy), grass 'backyard,' reasonable distance between sites. Can be a little tricky to maneuver for big rigs but OK. Some distance from the Interstate, and traffic on the access route was bumper-to-bumper the day we were there. Major mall and Wal-Mart about ten minutes away. Not what we would consider a destination, but certainly adequate for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This is an older but decent KOA. Very good WiFi, no cable but good reception of Minneapolis stations on air. Sites could use some more gravel, especially when it rains. Bath houses are typical KOA, but in need of a little renovation. Staff is helpful and friendly. Good space between sites, plenty of shade, but no problem with trees as obstacles. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$47
Park looks nice, but needs some work on the office. Water there is heavy on the iron at camp sites. Laundry and showers are on a soft water system. Lots of mosquitoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$45
Very nice quiet site. The host guided us to our site in his golf cart and helped to guide me in. Wi-Fi is excellent although we were close to the office so don't know how it is further away. Plus you get quite a few TV channels. Was only 6 minutes away from the Walmart and 25 from Malls of America. We'd stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Rate reflects tax and value card discount. Another good value campground where our site was perfectly level. Services were good including Wi-Fi. Owners were very eager to please. Stayed here before and will be back when next in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Had a pull-through site for an overnight stop. Not level and close to other units. Restroom was older but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
Older, very well kept up KOA with lots of shade and friendly service. Sites were very level and showers/bathrooms were plentiful and very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Used this as a stop over so didn't stay long. Site was level and access was easy for big units. Could get sat signal at our site but this can be hit and miss for some. Folks seemed friendly at the campground. Playground was ok. Pool looked a bit scary. Office staff was friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$49
For the price, this place isn't up to KOA standards. Our "large" pull thru site was barely long enough to accommodate a 32' trailer + 22' truck. The hookups were odd. The sewer was on one side of the trailer and the water & electric were on the patio side. We had to stretch our hose and cord right under our stairs to reach the connections. Quite a few sites had standing water on them. Small camp store not well-stocked. Free wifi, but pretty slow. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Nightly rate is derived from a monthly rate for a full hook-up site. Electricity is metered and charged at 25 cents per KWH. Park is located very close to absolutely all commercial amenities yet is still located in a beautifully wooded area. Some sites are located to a busy county road. Wi-FI is excellent and so is digital over the air TV. There is a pool and a 9 hole mini golf. Nice store with a good supply of items and propane is also available. Owners are very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Check in good. Many trees so there are satellite issues, but thee are lots of local channels on external antenna. Not an easiest access from I-94. We just did an overnight stay, should be OK to visit activities in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area. Traffic issues on I-94 if you arrive/depart during morning/evening rush hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
A nice KOA. Good sites, but some are nose to tail so face each other. Plenty of pull-throughs, free Wi-Fi, choice of with or without sewer. Only a couple of miles to good shopping. A large nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
A little out of our way, but well worth the time to get there. Not your average KOA; large sites and spacious campground. Great and friendly staff/owners eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Very big rig friendly; a Prevost pulling tri-axle trailer checked in after us. Would definitely stay here again due to office staff, although I felt it was a little on the expensive side. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Price reflects the KOA discount. I have stayed here in the past and will stay here again in the future. Great place to stay, well off major highways which makes for very peaceful nights. Crowded on weekends. Plenty of things for kids. Wi-Fi weak at times. Good TV reception with antenna. Restrooms clean but could be better. Owners very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Good KOA and great location for visiting the Twin Cities. Staff and owners were very friendly and accommodating. Only thing I didn't like was the shared electric boxes, but from an owner's perspective I can certainly see why with such a large park. The sites are quite large, which means you can angle your rig in many directions as long as your electric cord reaches the box. Very pleased. Strong cell signal and 4G area. Would stay here again. Rate is with KOA member discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Rate reflects KOA Value Kard discount. Interior roads gravel, most sites gravel/dirt with grass areas. Long pull-through and back-in sites, fairly level, some satellite friendly, many with shade. No problem maneuvering 42' fifth wheel. Laundry very clean with 4 washers and 4 dryers. Pool is smallish but spotless. Verizon 4G (data and voice) very good. Pet friendly but no designated area. Very convenient to shopping, camping world, COSTCO and Minneapolis. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
Interior roads are acceptable. Site was gravel with forward slope. Services were good including wi-fi and aerial tv. Owner gave permission to cut tree limbs that were hitting roof and slides. Maintenance person was mowing the non-existing grass and blowing sand against unit. Had to ask him to stop. Only stayed one night and doubtful if we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$55
This campground is pretty convienent to Minneapolis being at the edge of Maple Grove. The pull through section we were in was set-up for side-by-side. That means you will need a long power cord and hose if you end up on the wrong side. Staff was friendly. Pool was on the small side, but they did have one. Interior roads are gravel as are most of the sites. Nice place, just a bit pricey for what you're getting. Internet access was hit or miss, working some times and not others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
Nice, friendly staff. Quiet grounds, clean restrooms and showers. Mini golf and pool made it fun for the kids after a long drive. Typical KOA parking lot, but shade was available. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
We paid $34.00 per night for a water and electric pull-through with a KOA card. This is one of our favorite KOA's We come here once or twice a year to visit relatives, and improvements are noted every year. Clean restrooms, abundance of shade trees, well manicured, nice pool. Some sites are a little tight. Strong Wi-Fi signal and plenty of TV stations via antenna. Will definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Nice little park quite handy to the Albertville outlets. We stayed here for one night traveling from Manitoba to Nova Scotia. The staff was quite friendly, enthusiastic, and helpful who were genuinely concerned that we had all to make our stay comfortable. We stayed in a nice pull through site that was handy to pool and showers/restrooms. The only negative were directions not clear from interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
The temperatures were in the low 90's and the AC Voltage (we were on 50 amp) was LOW. So much to the point that our voltage protector cut off. Other sites, with protection, were having the same problems. Finally moved to one site and it was low, but above the cut off level. A storm came up and a tree toppled onto a travel trailer. The owners came out and took pictures, but did very little to assist. The owner of the travel trailer did most of the work and finally, with a tractor, got his trailer out of the way. We would probably camp here again, however, for overnight only, there is a Cabelas in Rogers with dump facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$37
Older KOA with some typically narrow sites and others tucked into woods or backing up to cornfields - attractive grounds, with lots of shade trees (and in the fall, the maples are especially pretty!). Some beautiful, semi-private sites for tents & small rigs. Good base camp for visiting Minneapolis & western suburbs, and it seemed to be popular for just this reason. We especially enjoyed the country setting and lack of road noise here; would have rated this campground higher but utilities were oddly placed for some sites, including ours, and facilities look a bit worn (though are clean, and function properly.) Very close to groceries & other shopping if needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Follow the directions on the website or you'll get lost. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. They are working hard to update the park. Pool was closed for the season. Wi-Fi didn't work well at our rig, but there's a desk in the laundry room where we got good Wi-Fi. A bit pricey for what you get, but that's common with KOAs. Host leads you to your site, and makes sure you get parked OK. Not a lot of room between sites. (It wasn't crowded when we were there, so it was OK.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
I like this RV park. It has plenty of big trees throughout and is very quiet and peaceful at night. Although it is a little rough around the edges, there have been many improvements since last year. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Escort to site. Would be nice to have better ventilation in the restrooms. No cable TV but good reception via antenna. I will definitely stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We arrived late, but they had posted which sites were available. While trying to find a spot, the owner came out and helped out after hours, which was nice. Unfortunately as others have stated, this place needs some fresh money injected. The office and washrooms smell musty; a few candles would go a long way. It is not very level; it needs some care in this area as well. But it is OK for overnight if you want to check out the city. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This park is nice and quiet at night. Most sites have shade. It is the only RV Park in the area so we are "required" to stay here. There was a tornado in the area and sirens went off so we unexpectedly found ourselves in the restrooms with about 38 other campers and 8 dogs. One tree that fell was 3+ feet in diameter and fell next to a tent camper. The staff was friendly and helpful. There's no cable TV and our site had low voltage (108 V) even though we paid extra for 50 amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
What an awesome park. Front staff were so nice and friendly, park staff were great. Site was big, nicely treed and level. Pool area was very clean. Location to the city is outstanding. We only spent one night but i would stay here for a longer time if i could. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This is a great place and I would say above average for a KOA. There is plenty of shade and good size sites. The owners are very friendly. We were escorted to our site. Although the roads and sites could use a bit more gravel, everything drained well after a heavy rain and thunderstorm while we were there. There is a nice pool, and good WIFI. It is pet friendly, with clean rest rooms and showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
Thank you to the Minneapolis Northwest KOA. My presumption is this is the same one at Maple Grove. What a great stop. The people there were quite friendly and pleasant even though we rolled in around 9:30 pm. (We had been on the road all day and had been told by St. Paul East RV that I could not get in after 8 pm even though I had reserved a spot.) I was so glad to find a place to camp. Not only were they open here at NW KOA but as I mentioned they were very pleasant and even had a later check out time that worked great with our travel plans. The place was clean, I had a pull through site with shade and it was quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
This park is owned and managed by a delightful, courteous, and helpful couple, but it desperately needs attention. The roads are dirt, the sites are dirt with little rock,and many sites require that hoses and cords be run under the RV to the wrong side. We were there on a weekday and the one dumpster in the park was overflowing onto the ground with garbage. No cable TV, and the WiFi is the worst I have every seen with only one antenna to serve a large park. The folks simply are not reinvesting into their park and it shows. Stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
We have been staying at this campground for more than 25 years. It used to be one of our favorites. As KOA's go it is OK but has gone downhill in the last few years. The sites need some maintenance. The grass is all weeds. Many of the sites are uneven. This is a shady CG and unless you have a tripod dish satellite reception is difficult. There is no cable. With a little attention to the facility this could easily be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Our pull-thru site was very level with a nice grassy area and plenty of shade. We noticed the hookups were a bit funny, the sewer connection was on the left and the water and electric were on the right. Everything worked fine, it was just strange. The campground is very clean and quiet, no road noise at all. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This is a very busy campground due to its location in the Twin Cities. There is shopping and a Camping World within a few miles. Twice we have been unable to book the dates we wanted as they had no sites available for our big rig, so book early. The management was friendly and the sites were so-so. We used a Verizon internet card and cellular without problems. There appeared to be some long term folks. We would stay again, but reserve early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
This campground was so-so. The sites were OK although there were many rigs from out of state parked there but without anyone staying in them. There were few to no activities offered. I realize it was before the official camping season began but there should still be more offered. Playground equipment and office/store looked outdated and run-down. However, owners were friendly. We probably would not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
As always, a great place to stay! It's so nice how it's sooo close to the cities. We would stay here every weekend if we could! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$35
This place rates an 8 or 9 in cleanliness, nice layout, roomy, easy access from the freeway, fairly quiet (street noise). It rates a 10 on the staff. They're wonderful, friendly folk. It's a little overpriced for what if offers. At $35/night off season, I'd expect 50A and cable TV. It rained the day we pulled in - poured is really what it did. My tires carved 4-inch mud troughs through the grass so I could get into the site, which was a wee bit narrow for our 60 feet of rig. Sites are pretty level though. What killed the rating above is the water is brown every time it comes on. I thought it was just at my site, but it's the same in the park's showers and toilets. Once the water runs a few seconds, it clears up, but there's definitely a water problem. I didn't drink it without a filter and ended up buying water from the nearby Wal-Mart. I'd stay here again, but after confirming the water is clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Nice place! We only stayed one night, but wish we had time to stay here more because it was enjoyable. The owners were very friendly and escorted us to our site. For as packed as it was, we were surprised how quiet it was...it was nice! We will absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$37
This is a very clean park. The store is well equipped and we were able to access the Wifi connection by sitting near the pool on a porch swing. We have stayed at this park twice before when we visit relatives in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
We felt like we were crowded into this campground, with being in the middle of the road of pull throughs. Could hear highway noise. The facilities are very nicely maintained, hosts were wonderful people, and the pool, although older, was in pretty nice condition and our daughter loved it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Stayed here for five nights. It appears to be an older campground, but, it is very well maintained. Had some problem with sewer hook-up which was at the rear of the site, and my dump value is in the front center. But, that was solved with the Camping World store a few minutes away. The camp is very clean along with the rest rooms and showers. Lots of trees and a large area to walk around. Water has alot of minerals in it so be sure that your water filter system is working. Would have no problem going back. Staff was very helpful. Pool was not filled yet when we were there. Check website for pictures. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com