218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Ogston RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (218) 729-9528
CGID1511

Ogston RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   8   9   9   9   10   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
The rate reflects a monthly stay. Signage is good. This park is out in the country and very quiet. Occasionally a train was heard in the distance. The roads are gravel (dusty) but were in excellent shape. The pads are gravel and fairly level. Shade was minimal. The sites are generous; you may get a neighbor on your backside if you are in the lower section. The water pressure could have been better and it has some color to it otherwise I would have given a higher rating. We didn't use the facilities but they looked fine. Both Verizon and Sprint worked well. We’d come again if in the area as it is very convenient to Duluth and Superior. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Campground was clean and the sites were fair size but they were all lined up like a parking lot. It was not picturesque but convenient to Duluth. My main complaint was that even though they were half full, she filled up every row instead of spreading people out. Do owners really think people enjoy looking out their windows only to see the RV next door? Well I guess that might depend on who is in the RV next door!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We stayed here on two separate occasions while traveling through Duluth. Good space for large rigs, level sites, and good utilities. A little out of the way for Duluth but not too bad. Level gravel sites. Owner requests check or cash for payment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Very nice campground in a rural area close to Duluth. The sites are grass and gravel and are fairly level. You are side by side with your neighbors, but there is plenty of room for extending slide outs and awnings without feeling crowded. Nice laundry and clubhouse facility and they have a water softener for the laundry machines. This is good since the water at your site is heavily laden with iron and a water filter did little to alleviate the problem. The water will stain your sinks and tubs if you don't stay on top of cleaning them. I would have rated them higher if the water was better. Wi-Fi works fairly well and you can receive several over the air TV stations. We might stay here again. Rate shown is with a Good Sam discount and they accept cash/check only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Most of the sites are very wide and spacious, some side-by-side and some the usual setup. Friendly, helpful staff, small but new laundry, some road noise from nearby US-53 and some jet noise from the local ANG base, gravel road and gravel sites. Feeble Verizon data coverage, none what so ever for T-Mobile. RV park Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
There are many more reviews of this park under "Saginaw". It is a large well kept park with long, wide pull-thru sites and wide back-in sites. The roads and drives are gravel. The space between sites is grass. They have planted trees between sites but few are large enough for shade yet. The large clean ponds give it a lake-side feel. The Wi-Fi was excellent. The only negative for us was the single dumpster near the exit and the small number of wash rooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Excellent campground with large, level, graveled pads. All sites are full hookup. There are phone connections at each site, but it was unclear whether they worked (we didn't ask). Immaculate grounds maintenance. Many seasonal sites all with newer rigs and clean yards. Three minor drawbacks: 1) though they've planted trees they are still small and there is no shade, 2) there are only minimal activities for kids, 3) campground accepts cash and check only, no credit cards. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
My stay was a 10 in my book! Making reservations over the phone reflected friendly staff, which was again experienced upon my arrival. First impression was that this was a very well-taken care of park, reflecting a lot of hard work and pride in upkeeping. Had a nice site overlooking small lake. I just needed a spot for the night but could have stayed longer. Quiet and peaceful. Sites were level and had a lot of room. I saw many seasonal campers, and talked with several people who were all very friendly and spoke highly of the park. The proximety to Duluth is a big plus. 10 minutes and you are in town. I will tell others and definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Great RV park. We got a pond facing space and really enjoyed watching people out fishing and geese walking around. The park was quiet and very peaceful. No trains, no planes, no loud people and no barking dogs. I would camp here again. I've read several reviews from people and found none of those concerns while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
No credit cards. Although they say they have Wi-Fi, it was a very poor signal. Bathrooms had dripping water & signs saying the floor was wet--no kidding! No Cable tv. Signs said to keep doors closed in the restrooms to keep out bugs. Only one garbage dumpster by the exit considering that it is a rather large park there should be more--it's a long hike and certainly not convenient. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Nice, quiet park near Duluth. There are a few small ponds on the property which is a nice touch especially if you get a waterfront site. There were permanent residents here but they were immaculate which tells you a lot about the running of the park. It had rained a lot prior to our visit but the gravel roads and gravel pads held up real well. Utilities were in good working order. We were in a back to back site used as a pull through with a water view. In busier times these sites may have two RVs. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Very nice quiet camp with several small lakes that are stocked with fish. A lot of seasonal campers but numerous lake front sites are reserved for short stays. Back to back sites are used for pull though sites when they are not busy. Good location to tour the area and lots of big box stores back towards Duluth. They only take cash or checks. We would definitely stay here again. Rate paid is with Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
We've stayed many nights here and have always enjoyed ourselves. On the downside, there's not much available to keep kids entertained. They do have a pool table, some board games and puzzles. They have a playground, but it's not much. They also have a swingset by one of the ponds. The big pond has some canoes, a row boat, and a pedal boat, plus a dock that you can catch small panfish, perch, and bass. We caught some northern pike in one of the other ponds. Bathrooms are clean, but only one stall and one shower. Sites are very roomy, but not private. It's very open and can also be pretty windy. The owners are very nice and accommodating. Most campers seem to be seasonal, long-term, and full-timers. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
The park was not full, so when we stayed here it was nice and quiet. They have a stocked lake for fishing. Check in was quick and easy (cash or checks). Several permanent sites that were clean and neat. Didn't appear to be a "kid friendly" place, but the location is great for exploring the Duluth area. Reception was good, water pressure was good and Wi-Fi was good. Since the campground was not full, we were able to pull through to our site, otherwise you would have to back in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
This campground is within a short distance of US-53, yet it is far enough away so that it’s very quiet. A 10-minute drive brings one to a major shopping area located on the northwest side of Duluth. Here one finds a good selection of grocery stores, a new Wal-Mart, and a number of restaurants. The park’s grounds are nicely landscaped and very well kept, with sites set around several large man-made ponds. The gravel pit mentioned in previous posts was not in use during my stay. The Wi-Fi service was excellent. I never encountered a problem during the 10 days I spent here. In addition, the over-the-air TV reception was very good. This campground makes a great base for exploring the twin ports of Duluth & Superior as well as the north shore of Lake Superior. I’ll definitely stay here when I return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This was a great park in a rural setting about 15 minutes from Duluth. Large sites, plenty of room. The scenery here was excellent if you like trees and ponds. The owners have mowed walking trails through the woods that are great for your four legged friends to get exercise. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Very nice park, great bath and laundry facilities, easy layout for big rigs. Nice level sites, good WiFi at the site. Good location to shopping and the Duluth area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
I can support the other highly rated reviews. Long pull through sites, grass, tiny trees (no shade), fairly quiet, well maintained campground. Wi-Fi good, antenna TV with perhaps 7-8 channels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We were excited to find such a nice park near our family in Saginaw, and were very comfortable there, 20 feet from the large lake. My wife very much enjoyed seeing so much wildlife and hearing the loons at night. The park has a great laundry, wifi, and maintenance. The owners were very pleasant and helpful with advice and directions on local shopping and medical facilities. We will return in summer 2012. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We found this park in Trailer Life directory and were so glad that we did. It was definitely a rural setting, but near the city of Duluth, so it was perfect for our stay. The people were great to help out with some driving directions we needed. We stayed here two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely stay here again. This location was very clean and well maintained. The sites are spacious and level. The area had wonderful landscaping with flowers, vintage farm equipment, and a windmill. Beautiful classic cars were being restored in the owner's barn. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
We weren't enamored by this park as others have been. It was OK but to us not above a 7. We were first put in a pull through next to real junky seasonal in a starker part of the park. We talked to them and we asked for a part of the park that looked nicer. It had smaller gravel and more grass. The sites there had the units back to back on a long pull through. It was a bit close and wasn't very private. On the plus side the site was level and easy to back into. The Wi-Fi worked very well although there was no cable. The park is mostly seasonal however there are plenty of sites open when we were there. There wouldn't be much for children to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a great RV park for the adults, there is playground equipment but not much here to keep the kids entertained for a weekend. The comfort station is a single stall attached to the recreation/laundry room. The assumption is that you are a big rig and you will be using the sewer hook that is at each site. In our case the sewer hook up was at the mid-line between our site and the one behind us, we did not have enough hose to make it to connection. All in all this is a nice place, it is a converted gravel pit and the "lakes" are great. No work over in the active gravel pit this weekend, but I bet it would be an issue as mentioned earlier for those on that end of the park during the week. This park is about 10 miles from Duluth and should be listed in Saginaw, not Duluth. Easy access to and from highway 53 for day trips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
The campground is about 10 miles out of town (Duluth). There was a lot of road construction downtown, what a pleasure. The campground is well spaced and relaxing. A good place to walk around at the end of the day. The staff was friendly. There was only one (1) bathroom. It was very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We stayed here the entire month of August. Great place for either an over-nighter or an extended stay. Roomy sites, nestled among several beautiful ponds. Gravel sites with plenty of grass in between. Close to lots of shopping and restaurants just down the highway. Clean laundry facilities, and nice, nice people to deal with. We will stay here again, for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We have stayed here several times and have always had the same wonderful experience. Sites are level and the campground is clean. There is a very clean bathhouse. There are a couple ponds in the campground stocked with fish. Located about 10 minutes from Duluth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is a nice setting with lakes and ponds. Hostess in the office is pleasant. These sites are large. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This site is an old quary with many lakes. We were put way in the back near the bathhouse. Has many permanent residents, but had plenty of empty spaces. The area around the office was very junky and unkept. The only dumpster was on the way out of the park. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Although there is a gravel pit next door, it was not loud or annoying.(this was important to the wife). No noticeable road noise. No geese near us, and our water was not "red" or smelly. We found the campground to be quiet, and we were there on a holiday weekend. Stayed a week and it was a good location for exploring the area. We are planning to return next July, to explore the area more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
I'm surprised previous posters haven't commented on the gravel pit which is located right next to the campground. They start work at the crack of dawn, with lots of heavy equipment moving around! There is also a fair amount of road noise from hwy 53 as the campground is located right off this highway. The water has a high iron content and is rusty looking as well as smelling. One other 'negative' is that while this park is listed as being in Duluth it is actually in Saginaw (try finding that on any map!) which is about a 30 minute drive into Duluth with lots of signal lights to get through. All that being said, we enjoyed our stay here. The park is well laid out, sites are wide open and easy to get into and out of. Wi-Fi worked great and so did our Verizon aircard and the folks who work here are indeed friendly but non-intrusive. We also heard that the fishing in the 3 small lakes/ponds was very good - catch and release only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Stayed here for 2 days. They have large sites and it was easy in and out. Parked near one of the small lakes with lots of geese: they were very, very messy!!! Had laid down an outdoor carpet on the gravel and the next morning it was covered with goose sh--. But that's what you get with geese. Water was iron colored and smelled so we switched back to our own supply: about half full, so two days was not a problem. Only one garbage / trash receptacle in park was not very convenient! A nice park with nice owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
Wi-Fi worked the best of any park we have ever stayed in. Friendly and helpful owner. Quiet and peaceful setting except when F-16's from Duluth IAP are flying nearby but that didn't bother us old retired Air Force types. We would stay here again which is the highest compliment I can give a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
The only reason this park doesn't get a 10 is that the dumpster and the laundry are far from the sites. The dumpster is on the way out, so not too bad, but the laundry is on the other side of a lake from the lower part of the campground where the large pull-throughs are. There are a lot of long-term guests here, and they also store RVs for off-season, but everything is neat and well-kept. The pull-through sites are actually double back-ins, with two power poles and sewer connections, but the water may be on the wrong side. As pull-throughs, they are huge, with plenty of room to park whatever you might have in addition to your rig. Nice owners, very quiet park, easy to get around. No cable tv, but super fast wi-fi (at least at our site); no problems with satellite access if you have one. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
I agree with other reviewers. This is a young park that is growing. Small trees will eventually provide plenty of shade. 3 ponds for fishing. Pull through sites are double length with two units per site, so you may or may not get a pull through site. Plenty wide enough even for the novice backer. Park owners are very friendly and helpful but leave you alone also. Dumpster could be closer to sites but not a problem being near the front. Mail and delivery service is available at the park. $5.00 to wash RV and $2.00 to wash vehicle (self wash) is very reasonable. Close to 2 large lakes for fishing and boating, but this is Minnesota, Land of 10,000 lakes. Park water looks rusty but that may be all the iron ore in the area. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again as it is probably the premier park for Duluth. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
I agree with all of the previous comments. I'm giving this park a strong 8. They are adding more sites every day. Sites are very large. Quiet, comfortable and relaxing. Wal-Mart about 8 miles, with small grocery store 2 miles from park. Another Wal-mart 18 miles. All normal store/restaurant, city stuff about 10-12 miles away. The owner has some fine and very nice classic cars! Laundry is very nice with only 3 W/D at $1.25. We looked at a lot of parks in the area and this is the best! Fishing was fun for me as no license necessary. John boat, paddle boat and canoe free for use. We stayed here for a week and a half. The park is full on the weekends. We would come back again. Cash and checks only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
Very nice campground that needs more restrooms & showers to accommodate the spaces they are adding. Can get muddy here, roads good use some more gravel, when it rains. Also, the dumpster located at the front of the park which can be a half a mile walk and if it is or has rained this is a muddy area. Very nice owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
This is a delightfully quiet and restful park. The sites are surrounded by 3 stocked ponds and there is a water view from nearly every space. The sites are large and the WIFI works great. The only thing we could find that would make this a perfect 10 is that the water pressure could be stronger. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We enjoyed our stay here. Management is friendly and helpful. Nice spacing between sites, and management makes an effort to provide the best views from your back window. Two large ponds stocked with northerns and bass, and one smaller one stocked with walleye. Fish can be caught from the bank, which provides a nice activity in between other activities. Park is a nice mix between seasonal and overnighters. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Nicely kept, quiet park with large sites. Quite open at moment since trees have only been growing a few years. Washrooms, showers and laundry very well done. Several large ponds within the campsite layout add interest. A large number of additional sites being added around another pond. Wireless internet worked very well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Signage to campground good. Confusing where to park rig to register. Owner friendly and efficient although only accepts cash or checks. Campground appears to have been developed in old gravel quarry. Access roads good within campground. Slightly soleness, open aspect serried rank style level sites with full hook-ups. A lot of small insects around. Campground is 10 miles north of Duluth. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
Nice open park with friendly-helpful office person. 10-15 minutes North of Duluth. Cleanest rest rooms I have encountered in awhile. Nice rec area. Aprons are gravel but reasonably level. Several small lakes and wandering geese added to ambience. Very peaceful setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$23
Very nice for a couple of day's stay. Large grounds to roam and a couple of small lakes. We used this location to travel up the west shore of Lake Superior. Small play ground for the kid's and a very nice modem location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$25
People were nice and the park looks fairly new. Trees are newly planted. Two or three small lakes around the park area. Good place to stop when passing through. Very close to highway but far enough away to be quiet and just outside Duluth. Gravel roads in park. Big wide open sites. RV wash building on site. New check in buildings. With Duluth close by, shopping, RV service shops, restaurants and Lake Superior are all close. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com