223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Shakopee Valley RV Park was rated 4 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (952) 445-7313
CGID1514

Shakopee Valley RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   2   1   3   8   3   5   7   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
From the pictures and description on the website, we had high hopes for this campground. Upon arrival, we were put in a campsite where the hookups for the water and electric were broken. So we had to move to a different site, after we had already unhooked and setup. The part of the campsite closest to the river resembles a gypsy camp. There are various makeshift tents constructed of tarps and chicken wire. There are loose dogs running around. Broken down cars covered with tarps. The bathrooms and showers are infested with spiders. The stall doors have so much rust on them that the bottoms are falling off. The toilet paper was always empty in a least one of the stalls. In the stalls that did have paper, the toilets were plugged. The pool looked as if it had not been cleaned for a very long time. There were cars racing in and out of the campground at all hours of the day and night. I would not recommend this campground to anyone, let alone campers with small children, as they would not be safe. It's really unfortunate that this campground is not properly maintained, as it could be quite beautiful and it is in a superb location. Needless to say, my family and I will not be staying at Shakopee RV park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
Everything was subpar. Starting with being quoted three different rates for camping by an employee, to being told conflicting information as to sites available. Our second day we had to move to a new site due to our campsite being used as a bike ramp and social drinking area. We were told we would have electric, but there was no access from the tent areas. Loose dogs were in and out of our campsite: leaving waste in our site the owner did not attend to. The park seemed to think the only issue was noise of dogs but we had issues with the shower house water temperatures being too hot or lukewarm, the pool was not being heated, the bathroom and shower house doors did not always shut or lock due to rust. We were so dissatisfied we chose another campground to go to. The owner was unpleasant and tried to change our nightly rate to say "we owed him" when his sign on the wall said "two persons/1 tent= $300/month." We stayed a month, were okay with paying for the month but wanted the $300 back for the month we weren't staying. He tried to tell us that you couldn't take apart the payment to get a refund at all for canceling. Then at the mention of a lawyer and the Better Business Bureau, he handed me two hundred and said, "There, a good compromise, look forward to having you back next year." Seriously? There are many other campgrounds in the area. I have found many nicer and more professionally run choices. I will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
When we arrived, the entry area was so full of vehicles, you couldn't pull an RV in there. So we parked the RV at the nearby restaurant. After running the gauntlet of smokers outside the office door, we were told our site wasn't available, but they would give us a different site (with sewer) at no extra charge. A "really nice" site. Not very welcoming or friendly. The road to the site was horribly pot-holed. The roads are very narrow, and one parked RV had his awning out into the road. The site was extremely unlevel and muddy. When we got to the site, we saw why our original one wasn't available; 75% of the sites are flooded! It's on the Minnesota river, and it was apparent that most of the sites had been flooded at one point. There was very little gravel to park on and very little "grass" to walk on. Parking the towed vehicle was a challenge. While we were here it rained even more, and the water got to within 10 or 15 feet of our rig. This reservation was made in April, and no attempt was made to contact us to let us know the situation at the campground, nor was anything said at the time of checkin. Overall, what sites were available were very narrow, very run down looking, very damp due to the heavy tree cover. We would not stay here again. There are other options within the Minneapolis/St Paul area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
When my husband called after reading the other reviews on this site, the park's answering machine claimed that the park itself was "100% open". When someone on the staff called us back, he assured us that we would love the campground and would be happy to pay more than they asked to stay here. In reality, they charged us full price for a fairly level, muddy, incredibly buggy (mosquito) site; bathroom and shower areas closed because of more flooding; and a park staff that didn't answer the phone the three times I tried to call. The sewer connections are placed towards the end of the sites so you will need an extra sewer hose if you still plan to stay here. How a park can claim to be "100% open" when the bathrooms and at least half the sites are still underwater I don't know. Maybe for the privilege of having a train blow its horn for at least a full minute at 4:30 in the morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
We called ahead to reserve a space but when we arrived the space was taken by another RV. The park is not lighted so it was hard to find a space on our own. We kept calling the manager and finally they sent someone to find a spot for us. This park had been flooded 4 times this year and the last time was just 3 weeks ago, we were not told this when we called. The bathrooms and showers were closed and the new playground advertised on the website had been washed away. The indoor pool was covered up with a tarp because of the humidity but they said to ask and they would uncover it so we could swim. There were many full time, living RVs that were in very bad condition and there was an abundance of animal waste on the ground. Our site was very unlevel and there was an RV stuck in the mud behind us that looked like he would need a tow truck to get pulled out. I would advise arriving during the day so you can see what kind of situation you are going to have in your RV space. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$34
There are limited choices of campgrounds close to the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area, and so trade offs have to be made. This campground is near the Minnesota river in a low area and is prone to flooding. Evidence of recent flooding was present when we camped. The Minnesota river flooded twice in 2010. Usually it floods every other year or so, most often in the spring. Campers should be aware of river conditions, which is easy to do because the news media makes a big deal out of them when they are notable. Anyway, this place offers 50A and full hookups in a relatively high-density setting with grassy strips between pull-throughs. Staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The place is apparently under new management and I did also see recently planted small trees and other evidence that some effort is being made to improve the property. The office and indoor pool area are older and careworn but workable. The campground is now open year around, according to management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
When registering, no one informed us that the park was partially submerged by high water. We drove down to our site through water across the road. Our site was near the rest rooms and was very muddy, but it had rained not too long before we arrived so we were not that concerned. We left for the day, and when we returned the water was higher. Not really a problem. Next day we left again and when we returned the water was even higher. When we awoke on the third day, the water was higher and it didn't seem to bother the staff as they were still checking people in. The long term campers had been moved to the top of the park but no one had said anything about possible flooding. We checked the weather service, and they had issued a flood warning for 7 to 9 feet above flood stage which would have floated us away. You can understand our concern after the flood that swept away the campers in Arkansas. Will never stay there again. Ads say under new management, but it was the same people that were here the year before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Everyone knows there is a difference between camping and RVing. In a campground you (usually) have lots of trees and basic facilities. An RV park typically offers paved spaces, not a lot to look at but great options like free Wi-Fi, a swimming pool and a convenience store on site. Shakopee Valley RV Park does its best to merge these two concepts into one. Trailers are pulled into a heavily wooded area that can be a bit dark on cloudy days. Spaces are graveled and mud can be a problem after rain. Full hookups are available, but Wi-Fi is only available in the main facility. However, there is ample seating and even power outlets. Smoking is (apparently) allowed so you may have to deal with that while you surf the web. When we were here someone was watching a (very adult) movie in the TV room so I had to walk over and close the door so my 13 and 16 year old kids weren't subjected to that. The indoor pool (also in the main building) is of moderate size. The pool area includes a jetted spa. The facilities are passable but certainly not stellar. The bathrooms are aging and you can tell the management is struggling with upkeep. One of the most surprising things about this park is that it was almost completely full. But I believe a good many folks there are staying for the summer and doing some gambling at the nearby casinos. Several RVs have permanent decks and "yards" which gives the impression that you are entering more of a community than an RV Park. We chose this park because of its convenient proximity to ValleyFair. If we were to travel this way again I seriously doubt we would stay here again, although the owners seemed very friendly and accommodating. The darkness of the RV area was a bit too oppressive. When we're RVing we prefer a more open-air feel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
A very shaded campground. We stayed here five nights and enjoyed our stay. There were lots of leaves on the ground which made it look a little unkept but it was fall and our truck was covered after only one night. Internet was only available at the office or just outside the building. There were a few trains: usually not after 10:30 P.M. or before 7:30 A.M. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
I camped here with family and stayed for 4 nights. I first would like to say that the office employees were very nice and accommodating to my worries when I called. However, I was moved before I got there three times. My sister, niece, and my two daughters went a day before us, and told me what to expect when we got there. They were not lying when they said that the fishing stream was dried up. I know and understand the park cannot control this, but they should have told us that the fishing stream is the run off from the city and when it rains that it floods and floods fast. My girls were walking on the rocks when it was raining, and thank God they are 16 and 17 because they heard the water coming and knew to get out. If it would have been my 8 year old niece or some other younger child playing down on the rocks they could have been seriously injured. The park really needs to let their campers know about this run off. I do have to say the site we were on was pretty nice, if you enjoy being in the shade all day long. Though the campground has tons of trees there is no sun pretty much anywhere. Thank god we also had the campsite we did because it was one of the few that actually had grass; the rest pretty much were wood chips. Though again, I know they cannot control this but when it rained our campsite became mud and clay which didn't dry at all the rest of the stay, I am sure it didn't help with no sun. I do have to say the bath houses were clean, and the prices were pretty good, though they didn't really carry anything but ice and wood in their store. We had to go to Super America to get very simple camping items that you might run out of. I would have to say I would probably not choose to go back to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
We camped at Shakopee Valley RV for 3 nights, the first thing we noticed about the site was it seemed pretty big and grassy. When we went to look at the "fishing stream" it was empty. We found out when it rains it can be dangerous. We let our kids 17, 16 & 8 play on the rocks and the little bit of water that was in. The next night it was raining when our 2 oldest ones were in it, thank God they had common sense when they heard water rushing to get out. The water rushed through the grate, had our kids been down there they could of been seriously injured. This should be told to all people camping there. The bath rooms and showers were very clean. When it rained our grassy site turned to mud and clay and stayed that way. We ordered wood ($20.00) gets you a lot, but they don't always deliver so we had to drive our car up and load it ourselves. The office has ice but not much more, we were always told Super America has it, yes you could walk there, but who wants to leave when you have been camping all day. The speed limit is posted as 5 MPH, but I don't think anyone went under 15-20, you could not safely walk on the roads there. There is a DNA walking path, which was very nice! over all we will probably not choose this campground again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Completely shaded campground makes satellite hookup very difficult. Due to severe weather, tree limbs kept coming down and blocking the roads and sites. One road was blocked for 2 days. Gravel pads are narrow and due to all the rain, mud was everywhere. Indoor pool was available but did not look inviting. Neither did the restroom facilities. After a week out of the park, we chose not to go back because of the continuing severe weather. Stayed 2 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$27
this quiet park is located right in downtown on the banks of the Minnesota river. It is adjacent to a heavily forested bike/hiking trail and across the road from a Perkins Restaurent. The facilities were well-kept and clean. The Staff was knowledgeable and friendly, but the manager was downright hostile and argumentative to nearly everyone but the seasonal campers. This is a really nice park and even though the roads and sites are narrow and make for really tight maneuvering, it could easily be a "9" or even a "10",if the manager wasn't so bad! There are so many things to do within minutes of the park, such as Mall of America, Valley Fair Amusement Park, Murphy's Landing, Raceway Park, Canterbury Park, and Mystic Lake Casino, to name a few. We will not come back unless there is a change in management. We stayed here in September, 2003, in a class "A" Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$28
I agree with previous rating. I wrote the first review when previous owners managed the campground. We stayed Memorial weekend 2003. Canturbury Parks bought the campground for their jockeys and workers use. Previous owners would not rent to horse people and we found out why. They keep pets outside all day, go to work at 4:00 a.m. with roaring diesel trucks, lots of old run down trailers. The crew comes back mid-afternoon for a rest, want it quiet and then go back to work later. We went there because of the indoor pool. I was not advised it was being repaired. The new managers were full of hate and blamed the previous owners for everything including busted pipes. It's Minnesota, new owners should have shut off the water. After one night we had enough mud, noise, smelly sewers and nothing to do. I informed the manager I was leaving on Sat. am and wanted a refund because I wasn't advised of the pool repair. After fussing for awhile, the woman agreed to refund most of my money. I had until 11:00 a.m. to get out and the husband sat in his truck outside my camper until I left. Moved to Lebannon Hills in Apple Valley and had a wonderful time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$27
I have never met a more inhospitable campground manager in my entire life. The couple running this place are mad at the world and their venting it through their customers. I'd rather sleep on the street than stay in this dump. Sunlight never gets through the canopy of trees in this swamp. Stay away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
This place is totally shaded which makes it 5-10 degrees cooler. The indoor pool is a big hit on rainy days, spring or fall. Conveniently located near ValleyFair, Mystic Lake, Mall of America, Canterbury and more. Right on the Minnesota River. Bathrooms and shower are older, but kept clean. Great bike paths/walking paths kept up by DNR. One of our favorite places to camp when we want to stay near home. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com