218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Timberlake Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (601) 992-9100
CGID1535

Timberlake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
280
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   8   3   9   8   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$20
We stopped here for 1 night. Very friendly office staff. We had senior rate. 95% of park is monthly rentals, but the park is well maintained. Beautiful trees and a nice lake. The spots for non-monthly guests were right by the road, but not too noisy. Had plenty of room for our rig and tow. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Just stayed overnight, so didn’t see a lot. Large spaces, clean, nice grounds. Downside is that it's about 10 miles from Interstate I-55; also Wi-Fi didn’t reach me (no signal at all), even though I was close to office. Overall, good for the price. Staff told me of which sites were tentatively open, are all “first come, first serve”, have to come back and register after you park your RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This park is in a great location. Most of the water front is taken by monthly renters. Some of the nightly rental pads are being upgraded. This park is well maintained and the bath house I used was fairly clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
Mostly occupied by seasonal residents' vacation units with one small area set aside for short termers. Reservations required during the summer months. Be sure to write down your reserved site number, as the office closes early and you'll have to find it on your own. Wi-Fi only near park office. Otherwise, beautifully landscaped and comfortable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
We are a family of 6, travelling across the US in a Class C motorhome. We had to post this review as our experience was so discordant to the reports given below. On the upside, most of the reports are correct: this campground has well-spaced concrete pads, reasonably level, with plenty of trees providing shade. Our site was by the lakeside, and close to a clean pool and a playground the kids thoroughly enjoyed. Staff are generally friendly and helpful. There were however 3 significant strikes against us ever staying here again. Firstly, the toilet/shower block near our site (N66) was _dire_, some of the worst we have seen in the 50+ RV camps we have stayed at thus far. The shower cubicles were cramped (one was half-usual width!), and had no privacy screens/doors (other than the shower curtain itself). There was no dry level shelf space to put clothes/towels/toiletries etc. So far, not good, but bearable. However, whilst I was supervising my young boys showering, another guest used a urinal that overflowed when flushed, flooding most of the floor of the facility, and meaning my boys and I had to walk through this to get from the shower to the exit. This overflow then ran out through where the walls meet the concrete slab, and over the pathway outside. Stains I subsequently noticed on the walls suggest that this is not an isolated incident. Secondly, there was an intermittent smell of sewerage at our site. We have have experienced, and can tolerate, "farm" smells, but this was different. Thirdly, be aware that the number of flying bugs can be horrendous. With the onset of darkness, our motorhome became infested with flying critters, despite all the screens being closed! Overall, if you are using your own RV's shower and toilet facilities (and you get a non-smelly site away from the bugs), you will probably enjoy this campground, as others have. Just beware of the restrooms! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This stop was an overnight from a trip up the Natchez Trace. Most of the lakeside lots were taken by full timers. There were no trees in the area we stayed in, but sites were paved, level, relatively quiet and safe. Staff was adequate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$21
This large, very well-kept municipal park is located in a busy area, but is surprisingly quiet. On the shore of the Ross Barnett Reservoir, this campground provides a good base for recreation on the lake, and exploring Jackson and the Natchez Trace. A large majority of the sites are occupied by permanent campers, and transient visitors are placed in a section near the park’s entrance. A strong Wi-Fi signal was available at my site which was located within 250-feet of the office. There is good over-the-air digital TV reception, with strong signals from all the major networks and several other stations. A grocery store (Kroger) is within walking distance of the campground. The amount paid reflects the rate for seniors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
This park is a jewel! The park is beautifully wooded, with plenty of shade trees, and sits on the Ross Barnett Reservoir lake. There was a lovely pool, and really nice tennis courts. The park hosts were also very friendly and helpful. Plenty for the whole family to do. The RV sites are very wide, with lots of room between campers. We travel with our dogs, and this was a great place for them. Lots of places to walk, and plenty of green space for them to do their business. The Park was clean, and I did not have to "watch my step" because of other pet waste. We did not use the bath-house, so I cannot review it. We spent 3 days here, and I felt very safe. We would definitely stay here again. An added bonus is that the park is very near grocery stores, and shopping, so getting extra supplies was easy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This campground is part of the county system and there is another one on this huge reservoir on the outskirts of the capitol city Jackson. The campground is huge and it was good that we made reservations because it was full. Check in lady was so nice and efficient. Told us what to do in case a tornado hit because the sirens were going off but we were fine all day. Many campers come and pay for the season and there were a lot of home schooled children here. We did not get a lakeside campsite because we had made a reservation but it was fine because we were in a quieter section backed up to the bike trails. There are bike trails that go all around the reservoir and this reservoir is huge. The campground is near shopping, gas, restaurants and a short drive to Jackson. The park next to it is beautiful and a good place to walk and bike. There are tennis courts over there, a marina, picnic tables and great views of the reservoir. The one negative complaint I have is that the bathrooms (2 buildings) need to be upgraded. They were dirty, no toilet paper, two showers not really private and not enough for all the campers there. We enjoyed our two day stay here and there is also a pool and playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Our site was right by the water. Loved the swimming pool and fishing at their pier. The sites are well maintained, and they have several sites where people stay year round. You may have to call a month ahead of time as the campground is popular, as being by the water. Staff is friendly and there is much for kids to do while here. Would stay again, very peaceful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice overall campground. Lots of permanent folks, but clean and well kept. Very good showers. Mostly level paved pads. Close to Jackson. Wi-Fi only works next to the office. Verizon 3G worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
I would give them a 10 if they would maintain their Wi-Fi Network. I was there for 3 nights and I could connect to the internet for only one night. I did contact park attendant and she was aware of the problem but was unable to address the problem. She advised that the tech had been called and would be there in a few hours. She also advised it had been down for the previous weekend. If you don't need access to the net then this is a great place to stay. If you do need access you better bring your air card as you cannot depend on Timberlake's system to be up. Don't get me wrong as this is a very nice park but if you are going to advertise you have something then you should have it as you advertised! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Wonderful park that is very convenient to Jackson MS and all the necessary stores. Set on a lake, with large back-in sites that are well-angled for easy maneuvering. About half the park is monthly; however, most everyone kept a neat place. The laundry was large and very clean. The staff was super-friendly. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
I would have rated this park a 9.5, if the Wi-Fi worked as advertised and I could have used my in motion dish instead of having to set up my portable dish. The Wi-Fi would work in their office and laundry room. The tennis courts were in need of repair. I really feel this RV park has so much potential with just a few minor upgrades. Staff and the camp site setting is very nice. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Great Park. Staff is courteous and helpful. We always stay at this park when visiting relatives in this area. The only negative I have found in this park is a local church has services 8AM on Sunday morning and they will blast you out of your camper. It was a bit ironic that the rehearsal lasted twice as long as their service. This is the only negative thing that has happened in our 5+ years of staying at this facility. This rate reflects a special rate for disabled persons/senior citizens. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
The Staff was friendly and helpful. The maintence worker blowing leaves came into the middle of our campsite while we were sitting outside eating and blew leaves and dirt all over us and our food and never said a word. The restrooms have mold growing on the walls and really are in need of a good scrubbing. Stay in the older section as the new section has no shade but is first come first serve. We will not hesitate to stay there again since it is a nice park close to Stores and restaurants. The problems I mentioned were only minor inconveniences. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
Our second time in this park. Have enjoyed our stay both times and will stay here again. Friendly staff this time, grumpy lady last time. Clean and spacious grounds. Weird reservation policy which is the only negative I have about the campground. If you reserve a space, it is out near the highway with few trees. Space near the lake is first come, first served and many spaces are filled with long termers. Still a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
All the office staff were great!! They let me use the telephone several times, so I could get a new cell phone that I took into the pool. One dear office lady there even let me call my son for his birthday while mine was getting up and running. Most of the sites were very shaded. We did have a great problem, though. Our travel trailer, plus numerous others there, got "unindated" with ants!! We finally got them under control, however. We would camp there in another season when it wasn't so hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Enjoyed our stay at this campground since it was very clean, had paved roads, and concrete pads. The sites were quite large and campground provided great fishing. Water sites are unavailable due to monthly rentals and long waiting list(6 mos or more). Close to shopping center, Walmart, restaurants, and Natchez Trace Parkway. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Seniors pay $22/night for Premium sites (lake sites). Very convenient for sightseeing in area. All shopping nearby, particularly groceries. Quiet, pleasant park. Enjoyed view of lake; good bird watching. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Really nice park! I would have given it a 9 if the showers were private. I did use the bathrooms, and they were pretty clean. Did not use the showers, because it was not a private shower. Was pleasantly surprised that they had Wi-Fi! Husband went fishing there and caught several! People were friendly. Lots of trees and shade and and geese and wildlife. Would love to stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$22
The place was packed. It was the last available place to camp in the area. The showers house really could use some work. Overall, a safe place to stay, the paved sites are great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Very nice park. Some of the spaces were a little snug for a 40' rig, but doable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
Nice park, especially for snowbirds and long term parking. Located on a large water reservior and walking/bike track. Nice kid playground, tennis courts, basketball court and pool area, very family friendly. Very close to grocery stores and restaurants. Staff is ok. Very limited area for tent camping. Shower/bathroom were old and outdated but clean and supplied. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
This could really be a nice place, but the staff just doesn't seem to care about anything. The bathhouse is always less than appealing and hot water is almost unheard of. Their reservation policy is really weird too - you can only reserve a spot on the road, otherwise you have to take your chances. And if you make a reservation and then want to change it, they do not let you apply the reservation fee to the spot - you have to pay twice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$17
Park was real nice, when I pulled in on Friday there was only one spot left (Spring Break Week). Clean sites & the area of the park we were in was located in the large pine tree area next to the reservoir. Kids playground needs attention, only have one swing set that looks like it is from the early 80's & nothing else. No slides etc. They do have basketball goals & a tennis court, but for the age group of 3-8 range, there is not much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
Although the website advertised WiFi, it was only available in the office and a precious-few nearby campsites. We arrived in the early afternoon and did not receive a very cordial welcome, the clerk was too busy closing out for the day – this was 3:30. She was helpful in choosing a site as close to the WiFi as possible and that turned out to be a good thing – reception was intermittent and weak, but we did receive a signal. In general, customer service was lackadaisical – the employees just didn’t seem to care. As this is a State owned property, alcohol is strictly prohibited (parts of Mississippi have some of the most stringent liquor laws in the country). Apparently they are quite serious – get caught drinking or in possession and out you go! (Discretion was the key here.) Lots of routine security patrols and the grounds were fairly well maintained. Not so for the restrooms & showers – they were a bit on the “yucky” side. Paved sites and streets, wide enough but a bit hard to maneuver and our site was very ‘un-level’. Empty lakeside sites were not available for anyone staying less than a month – even during the winter when they would surely be vacant and not earn any $$$ for the park. We were parked in a quiet, wooded area with few neighbors and lots of shade, very much unlike the treeless sites in the front which were crowded and noisy with nearby street traffic and traffic through the park. We stayed here for 2 weeks. If we were in the area, we would return. The price is right and the trees are lovely. If WiFi is important, be sure to ask to be placed close to the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2007
$17
Beautiful Park on the lake. Overall the condition of a park is deteriorating. Totally unhappy with their staff. Heavy-handed manager who is really a cop on the premises. Had a disagreement over the way he handled my nephew. The entire argument took place inside my home. During this argument he did not introduce himelf as an off duty policeman till the very end. The manager called his police cronies on me and had me spend a night in county jail for disturbing peace. The lady at the desk is not the friendliest, but she is okay. One day I was sitting in the clubhouse and over heard a conversation. Someone called in for directions, the Reservoir Patrol cop answered and got quite impatient with the caller and hands it to the secretary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
This is a public park so don't disobey rules or they will ask you to leave. I didn't have a pleasant stay here due to the over controlling law enforcement personnel. No alcohol is allowed, no off road vehicles, golf carts, etc (even if registered and driving in an appropriate manner). I was asked to leave for taking my trash out in my utility vehicle though I use it for Fed/State government projects throughout the USA. There is a redneck attitude here, so if you're a quiet robot you'll have a good stay. I don't recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This is a huge park with lots of shade. If you make reservations you will be in the area where there are no trees or shade. If you don't make reservations you get to pick and choose your spot upon arrival. Its very clean and the sites are spaced enough you are not right next to the camper next to you. They could improve their playground equipment. All they have is a swing set. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
The campground is lovely. The reservoir only adds to a nice quiet campground. Campground security is evident. Friendly and helpful staff and campers where the same. There are plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and shopping within a very short drive. A few are within walking distance. The wireless internet did not work. I did not ask why. The bathroom facilities were not what I would consider clean. I observed heavy dirt in corners and ants, floors were greasy and slippery. With that said, we definitely plan to stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
We first reserved a spot and they had put us near the main entrance of the road. Plenty of road noise. When we got there, We found out there were several spots near the lake. The lady at the front desk was very rude. She wanted us to stay where we had reserved. We said no. We lost our reservation fee and had to pay another nights stay for the spot by the lake. Overall the campground was extremely nice, clean. Plenty of activity for the whole family. Nearby shopping for everything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Nice public campground on the resevoir. Reserved sites are located near a busy road with traffic noise but overall the sites are spacious, clean and scenic. Many seasonal and monthly trailers and motorhomes. Only a few miles from shopping. Convenient to downtown Jackson. We stayed for 6 nights and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2005
$22
Nice clean park. Well kept up. Real nice location. The only problem with this park is their reservation system. Reserved sites are along an extremely busy road. Clerk told me that is where they put all people who make reservations. Drive-ins have their pick of vacant sights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$20
Great campground close on resivoir. Lots of nearby shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Great campground with very friendly staff. The pool is great and nicely maintained. The campground has a boat launch and pier that can be utilized by campers for no extra fee. The sites are somewhat close together but this was okay with us as there were several campers in our group and we wanted easy access back and forth to each others sites. For us, this campground is local and one of our favorite weekend spots. We have camped here on several occasions and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is the campground where we do our Weekend Camping in our Area. It is a wonderful campground as is, but soon (by Spring of 2005) there will many, many more amenities. They are doing an overall upgrade of the park and will be adding cabins as well. I do not know if internet and cable TV will be added yet, we we are hoping for it. It will also connect to another GREAT PARK right next to it where there are more pavillons, more playgrounds for kids, and an amphitheather for movies in the summer, as well as for other use. Altogether it will be a great walking trail and lots of family fun. It's right on the water and so is the park next to it. The pads are concrete and there's lots of shade in most of the park. There are also nice new picnic tables and grills for every pad. AND a lot of room between sites. You can boat, fish, ski, jet ski, swim, or just hang out near the water sunbathing. There is a boat ramp at the park big enough to accommodate any size boat. We have camped here since 1985, when we were in our tent, then pop-up, then travel trailer, our Class C, and now our beloved Class C. There's a huge playground for children near the big pool, and there's church on Sunday too. I hope you will try our area campground when coming our way, it's really a nice campground. Also, it's near one of the biggest water parks in our area. ENJOY !!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Very clean, friendly staff. Nice area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$19
My kids didn't want to leave. Great for fishing,boating,and jetskiing. Very well supervised, very friendly staff. The Monthly Rental people are the best, they make the park. Looking forward to spending lots of extra time there. If you have kids or not this is the place to be! Everyone works well together. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$18
Park has both fulltime, nightly, and tent section.Both shaded and sunny sites. Located on Ross Barnett Reservoir close to City. Great fishing We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com