223219 User submitted reviews online!!
DeWayne Hayes COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (662) 434-6939
CGID1540

DeWayne Hayes COE

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   9   8   10   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
Wow - I was blown away with how nice this park is. We did not have sewer hook-up and not sure if it is available or not. The pads are paved, level and large. A fish cutting station was on the site. We were on the river and for those with boats - you can get a site with access to your own small dock. There is a Splash Park adjacent to the campground. Kids had a ball playing in the fountains (so did Grandma). Restrooms &showers were clean but dated. Be aware...gates close at 10:00 pm and if you are out you will not get back in until morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$9
We had forgotten how nice COE campgrounds are. Site was big, wide and level. Over the air TV was excellent. We had trees, birds and nature all around. Went to bathhouse and showers were large, clean and lots of hot water. One of the most restful nights we have spent on the road. Entrance gate can be intimidating. And NO recycle bin. Shame! Trash is all at the exit (easy for contractors, but not customer friendly). Definitely a great place for resting or family fun. Hope to get back here later for longer stay. Expect in summer it would be crowded and need reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
Dewayne Hayes offers a wide range of camping scenarios for you to choose from; privacy, closeness to bunk houses, closeness to pavilion. I stayed at site 92 with water/electric only. I wanted the privacy and boy, did I get it! Cost is very negligible with water/electric sites coming in at $18.00 per night and $9.00 per night with the geezer pass. Full hook up water/electric/sewer sites come in at $22.00 per night and $11.00 per night with the geezer pass. Bunkhouses are plentiful, clean and are set up similar to the one at Millers Ferry, 2 toilets, 2 sinks, 2 showers; one of each is handicap accessible. Paved walking, hiking, biking trails run through the park as well. This park also supports two (2) separate dump stations. Support services (Wally World/Full Service Type) are located within 6.9 miles from the campground plus for Military Retirees; Columbus Air Force Base is only 7.42 miles away and offers the standard compliment of services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$9
We paid the senior rate. An excellent campground located on the Tenn-Tom Waterway. We enjoyed watching barges going up and down the river. Large clean sites with a picnic table and an extra wood table for setting things/ or fish cleaning. An great place to spend some time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Well maintained and staffed. Sites had level concrete pads, with crushed rock around picnic and outdoor use area. We were on site 65 and watched river traffic during our stay. The area has hard surface trails providing access to adjacent sloughs for viewing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
The other reviews are on the money. I will also say this is one of the top COE parks we have been in to date. Park is more like an RV sub-divide. You have 100 feet on each side of your site. This park is on the Tenn-Tom Waterway. Staff was nice at check in and helpful. This park has tree sites and open sun sites with trees in rear of site. Sat. systems will work on most sites but not all. We could pick up a number of channels over the air on TV. You have sites 1 through 13 and 64 through 76 with sewer. You can see river barge traffic from sites 74-76, 84-86, 88-89, 91-94. All sites have 30/50 amps, water, table, fire ring, and the hook pole. Sites are cement and level. Nice dump station on the way out of park. Play ground equipment for the kids. Park is dark at night but has some lights. You may see the deer walking around in park at night. No noise in this park. Verizon cell and MiFi air card worked well here. The price was due to Golden Age card. Gates are locked at 10:00 pm and you have an exit gate to get out if you need to start before gates are open but cannot get in due to tire killers on this exit. If you like to fish or rest this is a great place to do it. Nice to see the tugs boats moving up and down the water way with large barges. To get here can be a trick. From Columbus, travel four miles north on Hwy 45, at Hwy 50 turn west, then take Hwy 373 go north two miles NW to Stinson Creek Rd, on left side (like a big V in road), NW on Stinson Creek Rd 1/2 mile NW to Barton Ferry Road, turn left. You will see the Brown sign, turn left. GPS 33.60465 -88.46562 will take you to Barton Ferry Rd & road into the park. As you near the park you will see a gate house ahead. This is for the day use park only. Look for the Campground sign and turn left. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$8
A long, narrow campground situated next to the waterway and an inlet. Only the sites at the far end of the campground actually have a view of the barges and river traffic. The primitive campground which is on a peninsula probably has the best view of river traffic. Lots of shade on most sites and because of the long narrow arrangement you normally only have a few neighbors. Adjoining is a large kids play area (recreational area) complete with large water fountains for the younger kids. They have boat ramps and parking spaces for those with boat trailers. A very comfortable place, particularly on off season if you want some quiet and wildlife. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
We stayed here while I was working on the steel mill. The staff was extremely friendly, the people were even nicer, and the staff was more than willing to help with anything. The down side was that you can only stay in one spot for 14 days and then have to move sites for 7 days and move again 7 days later. If it were not for that, I would have given it a 10. the other down side is the gates close at 10 pm. Other than that it was an excellent stay and we will stay there again. The park was kept clean and tidy, the roads were in good shape and the lots were level. Small problem with the 30 amp electric that was fixed the next day by the maintenance. We just had to plug up to the 50 amp for the night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$8
The park has very spacious sites and is very nice: all concrete. Has several concrete hiking paths. The COE site is a bit misleading: this park is NOT on the Tenn Tom waterway, but an elbow off of it. There would be no commercial river traffic to see. Also, on the COE site it lists sewers: this is true for only about 26 sites, and most of them are 'river view,' not on the river. So I was a bit disappointed to learn that. I used TWO GPS units to find this park: both got totally screwy and got me totally lost. I had to go to 2 gas stations to get directions. There are NO signs to guide you until you turn onto the CG road, already well into the woods!!! It would have gotten a 10, IF it was really on the river and had sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Nice park with nice space between sites. Varied views are available depending on your taste. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Rate reflects Federal Handicap Access rate of 50% off. We had a riverfront site with full hookups. This is a wonderful park, great for bicycle riding and not too far from town if you need groceries or supplies. We saw lots of squirrels, even more armadillos and 2 raccoons. A fishing dock was right below our campsite although we did not fish or swim from it. Paved hiking trails through the woods are great for walking or bicycling on. There were swings and jungle gyms for the kids to play on and the Sprayground in the day use area is big fun! To activate the water, touch both sensors on the red pole at the same time. We stayed here 11 nights and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$8
The price was with our senior pass. This is a wonderful park with something for for everyone. We stayed here over the long 4th of July weekend so it was pretty full. Luckily we booked in one of the circles off of the main road. It was very quiet even though the park was full. We enjoyed watching a tugboat pushing barges down the river. My son & DH enjoyed fishing on the river. The grandchildren all enjoyed the sprayground, what fun on a hot day. There is also a lovely trail to walk, in the evenings you'll see lots of armadillos and bats. The scenic overlook on the trail is lovely too. We plan on coming back here in the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
We found this campground by accident trying to get away from a very bad campground. This was a very pleasant surprise. The pads are all concrete and level. The grounds are exceptionally clean and well kept. The staff were most helpful and friendly. The sites are large and spacious. Very quiet. Had a wonderful stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
This is truly a beautiful park. Big trees and nice paved walking/biking trails with views of the Tombigbee waterway. Very clean and well maintained park which honors the National Park Senior pass. One of my all time favorites. I look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$9
This campground is on the banks of the Tennessee-Tom Bigbee waterway just north of Columbus, MS, adjacent to Columbus Air Force Base. All of the campsites have level concrete pads and paved drives. Interior roads are paved. There is lots of shade and plenty of room between most sites. Restrooms and showers were very clean. All sites have water and 50 amp service. I am not aware of any sites with sewer. We stayed in site 86 next to the waterway. Saturday morning temp was 43 degrees, Sunday morning was 39. There was a strong wind off the waterway so if you are not in an RV or spend time around the campfire, I suggest you use a site away from the water. We paid $9/night. That is the senior pass rate. I would recommend this campground to anyone, and will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Paved interior roads and sites. 50 amp service available at all electrical sites. Some sites have electric and water, others have addition of sewer. There is great amount of green space between sites. Sites vary from partially shaded to complete. Was able to get satellite TV at pull through site #86. Campground is located along Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway and approximately 6 miles north of Columbus. Be careful about GPS coordinates, they may be incorrect. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$9
We stayed here over Memorial Day and we lucked out and got the last sewer site. We really like this campground. It can get crowded on holidays, but all coe parks are crowded on holidays. The hosts are always great. We would give it a 10 if it had wifi! We seem to stop here every year and stay from 1 to 2 weeks. There are nice walking trails into the woods. It is just a peaceful place to camp. The base is nearby if you are retired military. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$8
We've stayed here twice. Last year in December we were on the perfect river site and didn't want to leave. This year the campground was more crowded and had lots of kids, but there were still sites available without reservations. Our site was in the sun but the breeze off the river really cools things off. We will definitely stay here again. The camp hosts are helpful and full of mischief - very fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$8
Wife & I stayed 4 days before Memorial Day, and the Park was terrific, clean, spacious, shady. I was well pleased with the campground and staff. Only about thirty sites offer sewer hook ups, but all have power & water, and space for tents at each RV site. Playgrounds for the kids were somewhat limited. All in all, one of the best campgrounds we've found. Reserve early though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
We had a full hookup site on the river, close to the restroom and laundry, with a view and were able to get satellite. The sites are concrete and level this is one of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed at. You need to come here if you are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
We really enjoy this campground. It has a nice group of people working the campground, and most of the campers who stay here are regulars and very nice and friendly people. We have met a lot of nice people while in this campground. The Air Force Base is near by if you are retired military and the small town of Columbus offers plenty in shopping and eating out. For us this is more of a relaxing type campground, for walking and just enjoying the outdoors. Fishing seems to be the main activity for many of the campers. The sites are nice with many shaded sites, and most have plenty of room between the sites. There are small playground areas for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
Great place to take the family! The restrooms were always clean. The host were very hospitable and helpful. We will return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$16
This is a great campground run by the Corps of Engineers and is located on the Tenn-Tom Waterway. Campgrounds are well maintained and staff is super friendly! Each site has a concrete parking pad and a large graveled area with picnic table, lantern pole, fire pit, grill and table. Many sites are right on the Tenn-Tom Waterway with great views of passing barges and boats. Most sites have shade. CG also has a boat ramp, mutiple use courts, picnic shelter, fish cleaning station, and a long concrete nature trail that meanders through the woods and goes to a wooden pier that overlooks a large swamp. The day-use area that is adjacent to the campground have abundant picnic tables scattered throughout a large wooded area, two playgrounds, a boat ramp, multiple-use courts, fishing piers, and they are building a small kiddie water park. Wildlife is abundant: of course squirrels and birds in the daytime. Beaver can be seen in the swamp. The nocturnal wildlife that come out in the evening and can be seen along the roads and trail are rabbit (large ones!), armadillo, deer, and racoon. Campground roads are good and with the ajacent day-use area there is plenty of pavement for bike riding. Granted, the road leading into and out of the campground leaves something to be desired, it is no reason not to visit this great park! Rates are $16 to $20 according to the sites' amenities -- regular site, river site, river and sewer site. Campground is just a few minutes away from Columbus so you're not far from stores and needed supplies (like when your bicycle has an unexpected blowout in the middle of the woods.) Excellent driving directions to the campground can be obtained on the ReserveUSA website. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a good COE campground once you get to your site. The reason I rated it an 8 was that the county road to get in here is horrible for a big rig. If you ran into another big rig, I am not sure both of you could pass. I strongly suggest arriving in the daytime. Also, the directions you pick up at a state tourist visitor center as you enter the state are not correct. We almost turned around and went back to the highway before we found the entrance. The park was nice once we got set up. This place is a little off the beaten path, but we would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
1999
$14
A real nice clean campground. Located on Tenn-Tom waterway. US Army Corps of Engineers Campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com