223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Percy Quin State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (601) 684-3938
CGID1556

Percy Quin State Park

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   8   9   10   10   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Great park rangers. Sites are concrete pads. We were parked by the lake with a great view of the lake. The restrooms and showers are kept clean. We stayed here while exploring Natchez. The only down side is what I found at all Missouri parks; a few of the long term camper sites are allowed to be very messy which hurts their beautiful campgrounds. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Stayed here 3 nights. The lake had been drained due to a recent huge storm so I got a $4 discount on a lake side premium site. My site was #5 and I had to use all of my leveling blocks as there was a steep incline down toward the lake. Still the location of the table and the area around the site was level. This was the second campsite that I visited in MS on my trip with broken shore power posts covers. I again had to duck tape the cover closed as one day it rained for 12 hours! I would suggest an outdoor rug if you plan to stay awhile. There was no fire ring (common for MS campgrounds), just look for signs of an old campfire. Many sites are not level. Some level sites I found are: 44, 46,47,49. Sites 99 and 100 are in the wooded area,but should get some satellite reception and are more level. Picnic tables at these sites are in a good location, but the sites are a bit short for big rigs. There was a laundry facility, but the washers/dryers were missing. On my site my Tailgater had good reception and my iPhone with AT&T had 3 bars. No walking/hiking paths nearby. Lots of cabins with 1970's decor inside. Some construction going on across the lake and a nice information center meeting hall a short drive away from the campground. Wasn't hard to find the campground. Pretty well used campground for December and the lake being drained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
The lake is being repaired or this place would have been packed. Nice paved back in sites, good looking cabins, nice looking golf course, and marina (eventually). Will remember this one for when we have more time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
We stayed here with another travel trailer and we were able to get reservations for neighboring spots. I have been going to Percy Quinn my whole life, but this was the first time since we bought the camper. Lots of things to do in PQ, but my favorite is admire the scenery. Older park, VERY DARK at night. If I didn't have help backing in, I would not have been able to do it: it's that dark. Nice, peaceful, quiet, family and pet friendly. Great place to bring the bikes. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
This is one of the most beautiful state parks I've stayed in. We were only going to stay a night, but ended up staying a week we loved it so much. Great restaurant right up the street. View of the lake were stunning. We didn't fish but they were catching them. We can't wait to stay here again. Friendly campers, with all the luxuries. The "cabins" were actually beautiful brick homes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
We have traveled all over the US. This is by far the best camping area we've been to. The sites are large sites, paved and level. Lovely lake, boat launch, fishing pier, championship golf course, trails and much more make this place number one in our campground experience. The park has "cabins" that are brick houses with screened in porches that over look the lake. There is a boat launch and lots of fishing. If you are going south in Mississippi on I-55 stop at exit 13. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
Stayed here for 3 days for a family reunion. This is an outstanding State Park. Clean, new picnic tables, and grills. Most all sites are level and require little or no leveling. We camped on site 41. Will stay here again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
We love this State park. Some sites are easier to back into than others, but all sites are roomy. The park is great for bike riding, which we love. Most all sites are nicely shaded. We camp here often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$21
Very nice park with a family-friendly environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
I camped here over the weekend and was in site # 44. It appears that the economy has left it's mark on Percy Quin. This is a wonderful park that is suffering from a bit of neglect and lack of TLC. Still an overall good park but needs proper maintenance. Restrooms were clean; but some showers not working, out of paper, etc. Park was booked up for the weekend and all sites were full. The staff was having and issue with power on some sites and some people were shuffled around. Park staff did a good job as far as I can tell. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Very nice park lots are spacious, very clean, we enjoyed our stay there we stayed with 4 kids and 3 little dogs, and the kids really enjoyed swimming in the roped off area in the lake, and the hills for riding bikes. very good for the whole family We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$14
Stayed as a overnight stop. Pad was level, park was very clean. Restrooms and shower were spotless! Was very surprised to find such a nice state park campground in Mississippi! This has to be the nicest state park we have ever stayed in. The personnel were great in helping find a spot on short notice. We were very tempted to stay here instead of continuing our trip to Texas. Rate was senior rate - $14. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Pad very level, park very clean, view outstanding. Need to drive to any services you need. Mark down was only because help at the gate did not give directions except to assign a spot, and did not give any brocure of the park to help. Seemed more occupied with the MP3 or like device that her job. This did cause some inconvenience as the site assigned had no signs to it. Well worth visiting again if the staff is more helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
We love this park. We have cousins that go about once a month and it's their favorite as well. We last stayed in site 15 and were pretty close to the water. The dogs loved all the shade and made plenty of friends. The bathhouses are conveniently placed and were very clean everytime we went. We drove around one night and saw a deer. Security patrols often. We're looking to book another site soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Very nice! We camp alot in tri-state area, this is one of our favorite's. Kids enjoyed themselves. Family oriented. Only downside is that it's difficult getting a site around holidays. Have to book well in advance for standard or deluxe site. Not for primitive, which is well maintained with very nice sites also. Says there are "walk-up" sites available but for pop-up or RV'ers I wouldnt recommend chancing it. Only 5 minutes off the interstate which is nice. Feel free to say hello for every holiday weekend next year!! See you there... We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
The park was well maintained and the bathhouses were very clean. So clean that I opted for the bath house over my own shower. Trash pick up everyday and you are provided a trash can with bag everyday. Had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Percy Quin is our favorite park and we have stayed over a dozen times during the last two years. Nice wooded areas with lots to do while on site. McComb is about 8 mins away from the campground with everything you could need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
Very nice place. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Campground is very clean, restrooms were basically clean. Nice large showers. Equipped with picnic tables, BBQ pits, and fire ring (bricks were in a circle and that is where you are to have a campfire). Some site were very unlevel others nice and level. All blacktop paved. No lights in campground at night, make sure to bring flashlights if arriving at night. Nice family CG. Plan on going back again and again. One negative to note is no cable and no WIFI. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$18
My site (#60) was decent sized and level. Some others I saw were neither. I was barely able to reach the sewer hookup with a 12 foot hose. Park was generally well kept. Each site had a trash can that was emptied frequently. Most of the workers were prison inmates. They seemed to be doing a good job but weren't supervised very closely. The park office was very helpful when I had a minor mechanical problem and had to have a part shipped to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$16
One of our favorite places that's not too far of a tow. Wooded, wildlife, golf, lake, and close to quaint antique shopping nearby. Having full hokups at every site is a big +++. Have stayed here countless times and have booked 2 yrs in advance for holiday weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$20
We like Percy Quinn very much, wish it were easier to get reservations on short notice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
My favorite campground yet! Beautiful grounds and a giant lake to make a wonderful view. Great place to take your family and ride bikes. The fact they have sewer hookup gives it a 10++. Loved it and cannot wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
If you are looking for a consistently clean, quiet and user friendly park, then Percy Quin is for you. This is our 8th trip of 2007 and we have camped in a different location each time. We highly recommend this as a family park and consider Percy our #1 campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Nice quiet campground. Good fishing in the lake. Spots were clean. Hard to get satellite TV with all the trees but has plenty of shade. Lots of hills to climb. Two golf courses. A nice 18-hole course and a par three. Would return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
Very nice campground on a lake. We have camped here many times and just love the place. Has a golf course in the state park too. They have rebuilt the bathhouses and added sewer hookups to all sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
This campground is a must see. My two children had a blast riding their bikes and skateboards on the hilly, paved roads. All sites were paved and shaded. The bathhouses were clean. The beach and playground were also nice. I will definitely visit this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Bring your golf clubs. Located within the State Park is a beautiful 18 hole and 9 hole course called Quail Hollow (601-684-2903). Also, you must have lunch at The Dinner Bell restaurant in nearby McComb. It is "family style" home cooking served around a large round table with a huge lazy susan in the middle. They are famous for their fried eggplant and chicken. This "round table" style of restaurant used to be quite common in Mississippi, but The Dinner Bell may be the last of a dying breed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Great park, kids everywhere. Within 1/2hour of being there my kids (6 & 8) had found others to play with and were having a great time. We stayed on a lake-view site and it was great, level and very easy to back into. I did notice that there were some sites that were not as level as the one we had. Some really not level. That is the only negative that I could find with this park. I did check out bathhouse, this has to be the largest shower I have ever seen, and very clean. We have already scheduled another long weekend at this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
Very nice state campground. Nice paved roads, RV sites generally set wide apart, level and in good condition, many sites have partial shade, and many have view of lake. 18 & 9 hole quality golf courses at the CG. Garbage picked up every morning. Good hiking & biking trails. Stayed there in a 32' 5th wheel; will definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Can't say enough about this park. The sites are mostly shady and all are paved and pretty level. The whole campground is now full hookup, they just made the improvements this year. They also remodeled the bathhouses. They are fine!! Ceramic tile floor and walls. It's a very large state park, well kept. It has a nice pool, but it wasn't open, it opens Memorial weekend. We swam in the swimming area at the lake, which is for campground guests only. Two nice piers for fishing, a fish cleaning station, a marina, concessions, 4 tennis courts, playground, game room, nature trail, & laundry. Lake perfect for fishing, boating, skiing, etc. The website shows a lot of photos, but they were taken in the fall looks like, and they don't do the park justice. It is a beautiful state park, can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$13
I have been camping here since I was 8 years old, 41 years now. The park is very nice and has become more and more popular over the years. Nice lake, GREAT playground for the kids, lots of people too. I would definitely recommend this one for a family if you like to be with lots of other families nearby. We've stayed in a tent, a cabin and lately a 26' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
We were camped in our 36 foot fifth wheel and no problems manuevering and parking. Sewer connections are currently being installed to sites (some are already in). Very large, well maintained state park with lots of activities. All roads are paved and in excellent shape. Very shady and quiet. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com