214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Gulf Military Monument Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (601) 437-5911
CGID1565

Grand Gulf Military Monument Park

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   6   9   9   7   7   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$23
Very nice clean park, lower campground is better for motorhomes. Sites are on small side, no fires allowed in lower campground. Lots of history, very nice staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Incredible park. One of the most amazing places I've ever had the pleasure of staying. Miles and miles of hiking trails, truly incredible history, great museum, thoroughly amazing old graveyard, more stuff to do and see at this park than my wife and I could do in three days. The Mississippi River is a short walk from the park. I look forward to going back for another stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This park is 7 miles off the main highway on a good tar road. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The camping spots slope from front to back and it is hard to level, although they are concrete slabs. The electric amps are good as is the water pressure. It is a beautiful place with easy access to the Mississippi River. The history of the place is well presented with a lot of civil war period buildings, wagons and interesting artifacts. The museum is excellent. The cost of everything is covered in the camping fee. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Really liked this park! A lot of history, it was part of the Battle of Vicksburg. A great fire tower to see the river. Also you can drive down and set close to the river and watch barges. Lost are close together on the bottom, upper was hard to get in we dragged back bottom. They said it had better cel coverage. I had to walk up the hill to get it, but still nice. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Warm welcome, friendly staff, shade sites, clean, neat piece of land, quiet and peaceful. We liked it a lot. Interesting museum. Free Wi-fi at the museum/office. A little negative is that the next supermarkets/restaurants/shops are 7 miles away, but we are towing a car- so no problem for us. We would, of course, stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Showers/toilet area were clean but dated, no biggie as all the site are full hook up. I was rushed for time and was unable to see the museum and exhibits, but they did seem well kept and interesting as I drove through. The majority of the sites sites seemed large, accommodating and shaded with beautiful shade trees. Campground is locate in a remote area and is very quite. Do not expect much of Port Gibson, MS... No major support services only a small Piggly Wiggly and a Dollar General. Also be advised that it is located next to Nuclear Plant (less than 1/2 mile) so have your insurance policies/wills in place just in case... No over air TV reception, fair cell and broadband coverage. Worth checking out at least once. Travel safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$21
Lower sites are easy to get backed into, and the upper sites you have to climb a steep hill to get to, but the sites are easy to get backed into. The upper sites you have several long term residents. Better cell service on the hill. Autumn time brings out the ladybugs. The sunny side of our 5th wheel attracted thousands of the little buggers. Ah, Mother nature. Great staff and a lot of Civil War History. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Paved roads with concrete pads, level first try! Very friendly staff. Great historical environment. Worth the seven miles to get to it. All back-in sites, and watch for tree limbs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Great place if you are a history buff. The RV sites are in the Military Monument Park so it is a destination park as well as a place to spend one night (as we did). Beautiful sites with very friendly park host. The Mississippi River is just a short bicycle ride down a park road. The bath house was clean, warm on a cool morning, with plenty of HOT water. However, there is only one shower and one has to climb up a set of stairs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Rate is based on weekly rate for FHU 50 amp site. Roads are asphalt, pads are concrete, and are located on two levels, with a short steep hill up to the upper level. We stayed on the upper level and had good satellite and Verizon coverage from our site, which was the pull through at the top of the hill. There are a number of permanents who work at the nearby nuclear power plant, but they are all in the upper area. While some distance from Port Gibson the park has a great museum and other exhibits relating to the history of the area and Civil War battle fought here. The staff was the best we have ever experienced, and we would definitely stay again in this hidden gem of an RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
We drove down from Vicksburg on 61 to Grand Gulf Road to get to this state park. The drive off of 61 is about 7 miles on a curvy road but even big rigs won’t have problems with it. You do drive by a Nuclear Plant. The lower loop campground is easier for big rigs to get into because the upper loop is straight up a short hill. We selected the upper because it has better TV reception and my husband wanted to watch the Celtics/Heat playoff game. The park itself is interesting and hilly. Your campground fee allows you to drive or walk around the park. There is a museum which displays the history of Grand Gulf, the civil war battle that took place here and how the Mississippi River affects the small town. Outside the museum there is an old church, water mill and house, Fort Wade, Spanish House, Old Grand Gulf Cemetery, Rifle Pits, Observation Tower, Gun Emplacements. We walked around the whole park on a hot, humid day and it was the first time in four weeks that we have been attacked by bugs. There is a half mile drive across the street to the banks of the Mississippi where you can see barges coming and going but we could not drive or bike it because most of the road is already underwater and they expect that when the river crests by May 15 most of this park will be underwater. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
Sites are concrete, streets are paved. Some shade trees. Basically no cell or aircard service, sometimes you get 1 bar with AT&T or Verizon. Park is 8 miles from Port Gibson which has limited grocery shopping etc. Management is great, there is a museum here and Civil War history. We would stay here again. Water pressure is good and voltage is good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
If you want to camp amidst history then this is the place for you. Grand Gulf is a jewel. The setting is beautiful. The sites are level concrete pads with picnic tables. There is a community grill at the pavilion. The park is filled with historical buildings, machinery and Civil War battle sites. It is well labeled and the roads are paved throughout the park. There is an upper level and a lower level. We camped in the lower level. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We arrived after closing hours and the Park Ranger came to the gate to help us and left his lights on in his truck to help up find a spot and get maneuvered into the site. Very well spaced sites. Port Gibson is well worth the time it takes to do the walking tour through the historic district. The office is also a great museum with some articles that I had never seen before. We will to back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
I stayed here six weeks while working at Grand Gulf Nuclear Station. This is a state park campground, and does not offer many amenities. It is basic camping, but it is quiet. My cell phone could not pick up a signal at the park. Not much in the way of local shopping or restaurants. You have to go to Vicksburg or Natchez to find stores and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
Located a quarter mile from the Mississippi River, on a civil war historical battlefield, with an excellent artifact filled small museum, and old era buildings. Two camping areas. One, where I stayed, in a cul de sac hollow with a paved central drive and angled concrete pads on either side, with the bath house up lots of stairs up the hill. That bathhouse was in need of repair and cleaning up. The other area up another hill where longer stay trailers seem to be. The park is about 10 miles west of US 61, so inconveniently off the road for an overnight, but historically good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$17
We accidentally found our way to this jewel and would gladly stay here again. It was a beautiful setting, our hosts and museum guides were more than helpful and fun to talk with, and we really regretted having to leave and go on with our trip. A real find! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
This park is close to perfect. We stumbled on it because of a foul up at a park an hour south. We stayed – and will make a point to route our next trip through here – because it’s such a great place. Full hook-ups, completely level concrete sites, partial shade (although our rooftop satellite still worked fine), beautifully maintained grounds, security, picnic tables, on-site laundry, and absolutely some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. History buffs will love the museum, historic buildings, and fascinating tales of Grand Gulf, including its role in the Civil War. Dog owners will love the pet-friendly policies and miles of walking areas. River buffs will love strolling down to the banks of the Mississippi to watch the boats and the wildlife. The only reason not to give it a ten is the lack of Wi-Fi and extremely weak cell phone coverage. The last 5 miles or so, after turning off Hwy 61, are a bit winding. Just take it slow and you'll be fine. It’s worth the effort. The $17 rate is the over-60 discount. It is normally $20. What a deal! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
This is a beautifully maintained park. The staff are all especially friendly and helpful and obviously put a lot of care and attention into keeping the park neat. It's a fantastic place to walk around, learn the history, and enjoy the exhibits. On the negative side, the sites are close together, and it is a few miles from any major roads, shops, or places to eat. We had no cell coverage at all (at&t) unless we climbed the observation tower. That was, however, a beautiful view and well worth the "climb". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
What a great setting! You could spend a day or two here and never leave the property. There’s lot of history to explore, and the river is a short stroll away. The view from the seven-story observation tower is worth the climb. We stayed in the upper campground and had no problem getting in or out. A few trees could use a trim. Cell service was essentially non-existent. Lots of trees, so satellite reception was a challenge. The office staff was very friendly and super helpful. They have great ideas for day trips to nearby attractions. Even though this park is a bit too remote for our taste, we’d definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$17
The park sits a ways off the main road. There are a couple low branches but no damage. The park road is asphalt with concrete pads, 50 amp, table, grass. We were able to have a phone signal but very low. Also computer signal. We have been here before and would stay again. It's very quiet and the personnel are friendly and helpful. Be sure to eat at The Old Country Store in Lorman. The best fried chicken and good buffet. Also tour the Military Park. Interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Agree with the May and March 2009 posts--awesome park, friendly people. A real gem. We loved our early AM walks through the loop and all the history. (This time of year, 6:30AM is the only bearable temperature time of the day!) A great value for $20, with all of the sites to see. The only reason we gave it a 9 is that there isn't much privacy (i.e., no trees or bushes) between sites. We parked in site 1, so we had one side to ourselves, and the park wasn't very full, so it all worked out well. Excellent base for exploring the area. Don't miss Port Gibson's Church Street, the Old Country Store in Lorman for fried chicken, and of course Natchez and the Trace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We were VERY PLEASED with our 2 night stay here. The staff could not have been nicer, the park was immaculate, and the exhibits at the park were wonderful. We were about 40 mins from Natchez so we dropped the trailer and went around the city that way and it made seeing sites lots easier. Pass by the junk sites at the casinos (unless you are just there to gamble), this park is a gem. Would definitely stay again, and will. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Excellent CG if you don't have kids and want lots to do at the CG. Nothing to do there, but lots of history in the area, Vicksburg being the best. Level sites, grassy areas, some shade, quiet and very pleasant hosts, employees. If they had WiFi, it's a 10. Showers and bathrooms clean, little old but good. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$15
A true gem! The best park of a four month trip. Came for a few days and stayed 10. Beautiful area on the Mississippi River with lots of history. Be sure to walk the loop, looking at the interesting tombstones, pristine condition rifle trenches and gun emplacements from the Civil War. Park is a few miles off the Natchez Trace and Vicksburg is about 30 miles away. Very quiet with the only noise being the sound of tugs on the river. Stayed in lower campground, but could have easily climbed the paved hill to the upper campground. A major pipeline is being built in the area and the workers who have occupied much of the park are leaving. Efficient laundry equipment. Poor reception for cell phone and Internet air cards. We took our computer to Port Gibson library where reception and speed were excellent. The best thing were the outstanding people who ran the park. We look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$15
This is a park with two sections. We stayed in the lower section which wasn't too bad. The parking areas were on large concrete pads. There were lots of birds around. We only had 30 amp electric. Watch out for the access to the park. It is NOT at the road where you can see the campground. You must drive down the road to the museum and enter there and then drive back to the campground. Also be careful to get the code to the gate (which they forgot to give us) because they lock the gate at dusk! There is an upper campground which appears to be newer but it is up a very steep access road. I don't know what it would be like to tow a heavy rig up that hill if it were wet. There is a two week limit on stays which appears to be overlooked because they have a lot of workers here who look like they have been here for a while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
This little Park is a jewel hiding in the outback of Mississippi. It is so close to the River you can hear the tugs in the evening. The old Cemetary will keep you busy for hours reading all the history written there. An Observation Tower shows the area from above. We stopped here as we were driving The Natchez Trace in the Fall. Would stay here again and again. Great place to walk pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$13
We enjoyed our stay here in a motorhome in the lower campground, space 13. The site was mostly level but did slope toward the drainage ditch. Heavy rains bring mud onto the pad. We parked on a concrete pad with room for our chairs. Grass, with a table, along side the pad. We had internet and TV. Cell phone with amplifier and antenna. The personnel were fabulous. We would return here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$15
Nice little park a few miles west of Port Gibson. Lots of Civil war history. Slow down and take your time to look around this park. Sites were reasonably level. We used the 30 amp, sewer and water hookups. Shaded spots but enough opening to get satellite signal. Very nice restrooms, very clean. Park personnel very friendly and helpful. Museum was a gem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$18
This park has a friendly and helpful staff. Cell phone reception is poor unless you are willing to climb to the top of an observation tower where we were able to establish reception. This clean park has a museum and historic cemetary and battlefield. It is close to the Mississippi River and other Civil War Battle sites. The park has "upper" and "lower" campgrounds. Access to the "upper" campground is via a very steep road on which a "running start is necessary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$15
Stayed here with the family as a holiday get away for three nights. We thoroughly enjoyed camping here. The area was great to see, especially for my 12 year old son, he was fascinated with the park and learning about the history of the area. We stayed in the upper campground. Facilities were clean and well maintained. The personnel were fantastic, very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
The park is very nice and quiet. They do have ice and propane at the museum / store. You are out a ways from a main highway about 15 minutes away. The upper campground has more shade but you have about 10 feet of grass from the pavement to the concrete pad for your RV. We stayed in the lower campground. The best sites for shade are 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10. They have a phone in the laundry room and another jack for email usage. The people are very friendly and helpful. The park ranger even brought 2 bags of ice to a motorhome that came in late in the evening after hours. A very nice place to get away from hustle and bustle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$12
Very nice park. Very quite. The only problem is there was no where to buy ice and the park is out of cell phone area. You could use a cell phone, but it required you to go to the highest part of the park and climb about half way up an observation tower. All in all a good campground and we will go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$15
If history is important to you this is a great park to explore. The park is situated on the grounds of one of the crucial Civil War Battles and has hiking trails through the battleground and an interesting Visitor's Center. The town of Port Gibson was declared "Too beautiful to burn" by General Grant is is well worth exploring. Two camping areas; the upper is older but a bit more spacious, the lower is better landscaped a suitable for larger rigs. Sites are level and grassy with good separation. Of note: During the month of May the Grand Gulf Nuclear Power facility has its outage and the park fills with temporary workers. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com