223474 User submitted reviews online!!
John W. Kyle State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (662) 487-1345
CGID1570

John W. Kyle State Park

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   10   5   3   8   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Location is great, lots of access to the lake(s). Spots were mostly level and access was good. The park is looking a little old and the bathrooms and other facilities showed it. Laundry and fish cleaning station both were out of order and looked like they had been for some time. Without some attention this park will be in bad shape pretty soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
The campground directional sign after getting to the park was not clearly marked, thus I drove back out and found directions in a little store near the entrance. As I was there on Dec 29th, the place was nearly deserted. The toilets were locked and the laundry had a "out of service"sign. I can say that neither looked all that inviting from the outside. I had site 49 and had to dig out the sewer drain as it was all but covered with dirt. My satellite reception was poor, tried to use every nearby state for my Tailgater to find the satellites and there was decent visibility with my iPhone satellite finder app. The pads for the tables and RVs were concrete, but the driveways are not long. My site was about in the middle of the campground and the view of the lake was quite nice. I would say that the best full hookup sites are #4,5,6. All of the sites are pretty level. The sites in the 200's are primitive but close. Could't find shore power posts for every site so I guess they share. Could not find a walking trail or playground, but the park ranger was really nice and it seemed safe and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
We had a beautiful site on the water. We enjoyed the breeze off the lake and watching people ride jet skis or riding around in boats. I would have rated this a 8 or better but the restrooms and showers are in need of serious cleaning and the sites are too close to one another. Would not stop me from going back because we had a wonderful time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is an excellent park in a great location for a terrific price. Interior roads and site pads are paved (ours 2" out of level) with excellent spacing and most all shaded. Some lakefront sites are a little more money. We were in site 215 but I think 216 would be the best. Great breeze coming off the lake and nice views. Park police patrol regularly and it is very quiet. There is playground equipment in the campground and a beach with swimming in the adjoining section of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$16
Park was fine for a short weekend trip. While there were several bathhouses on the property, only one was open during our stay. The small playground was fine. The fishing access was good and both my husband and older son enjoyed the area. We will more than likely visit this campground again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
To be honest, as a Mississippi resident, I was embarrassed. Unkempt, and old this was a disappointment. Zero privacy because there is no under-growth, dozens of mature trees but nothing less than 50 years old so in a few years this will look like a hay field. Since there is so much sun it needs mowing and trimming more than most, a requirement that must have been overlooked by the maangement. Largest lake in MS, lots of fishing, and boating, but this campground is sad. Heres an idea, put in some new growth trees, clean up the place (weedeat), fix the dump station,it is disgusting. MS is supposed to be an outdoor state, this park didn't show that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
This was our first campground with our new 5th wheel. Clean park and well maintained. Plenty of shade. If you are into fishing, it's all right at your finger-tips. Good experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
This is a very nice state park that is quiet, clean and well-maintained. We stayed here as we skirted south of Memphis on US 49 and 278. The staff is friendly. The new shower house has push button water control that affords very little control and takes some getting used to but gives a decent shower. Signage to the park is a bit spotty, and as there are several parks around Sardis Lake it took us a few minutes to find the right one. As state parks go, this is in the upper half of the pack. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This was a nice campground. There was some shade and it was peaceful and quiet. We would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$8
Nice State Park with lots of shade and lake to fish in. Some sites are not so level but many are very level. Nice family park with lots for kids to do. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Easy overnight place. No pull throughs. We live locally so we go there all the time. Not much to do except lounge around and have a good time. There are play areas for children, lots of paved road to ride bikes on. All interior roads are paved. All utilities are close or with in reason. There are two campgrounds: upper lake and lower lake. I prefer the lower lake. It's more shaded easier to back into spots. It's not right of the interstate, so it you're looking for an overnighter this is not it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
We camped at the John Kyle State Park on the shakedown run for our trailer. There were nice concrete pads and full hookups at our location. The campground was quiet. There is no cable TV nor Internet access. The lake is within walking distance for fishing, swimming, or boating. The only area of disappointment was the Cypress Point on the lower lake. The picnic area was overrun with trash and the bathrooms were filthy. We will stay there again but will not use Cypress Point. We camped in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Unfortunately, previous reviews still hold true. This is an older park that could use some tlc. The bathroom stalls are small, somewhat modern but have a set water time and temperature (which is not always hot). The "premium" sites (extra $$, no discounts) have sewers but the water hookup is a community-type spigot. The lake is nice for fishing and there is a minimal playground for the kids. Overall, the park is adequate and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
This is a real pretty area and it could rate higher if a little care was taken...lots of locals in the area..beach is a long way from sites. Big sites and lots of shade and good fishing but just needs some tender care...you will enjoy it just don't expect much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Campground location is great, but campground is not well kept and bathhouses are nasty. I think a new manager could turn this into a 8 or 9 quickly. Current employees are more interested in their firewood business than customer service. The park is full of locals who rent year round and have constructed various buildings to suit their needs. Fishing is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com