218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Tishomingo State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (662) 438-6914
CGID1572

Tishomingo State Park

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   5   9   9   8   10   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
The park is right on the Natchez Trace. Most of the sites are beside a small lake. The sites are well spaced and fairly level but many are very short. There were also steep drop-offs around most sites. Only TV reception was PBS from Florence, AL. No garbage cans at sites, just a dumpster as you leave. Lots of good hiking trails. No laundry facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Traveling the Natchez Trace Parkway we stopped for one night at this State Park. Lake was low, but the rest of the scenery was beautiful with tall pine trees for shade. The road around the campsite was a little windy but the sites were mostly level - all back ins. Around the lake were lots of bramble type vegetation with huge "sticker burrs" that attached themselves to our Collie and had to be cut out of her coat. FYI for pet owners - judging by the fur around our site, this had happened to other campers. Check out the Pioneer cabin in the park for a look back at history. A great spot - we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$13
Older State Park CG. We stayed here in a 40' motorhome on site 38. It was level and large enough. Our $13 rate was based upon senior discount. Lots of overhanging tree branches on main roads into campground area, so be ready to dodge them. Asphalt main roads and concrete campsite pads. Water pressure and electricity were fine. Verizon phone service was 1-2 bars, my MIFI worked well. I was able to get satellite service for DirecTV on our site. I would camp here again if in the area. Not a destination campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very large campground with every site on the lake. Many of the sites had a steeply sloping dropoff to the site and it was a bit challenging to level our fifth wheel. The sites are private and the views are gorgeous. We only stayed the one night and it rained so we couldn't tour the park but it seemed like a great state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
We camped overnight enroute to Chewalla State Park. The drive on the "Trace" was awesome and finding this site was equally as nice. Only 4 or 5 others units (RV/Tents) so the place was super quiet. Front spots have terrific spacing between sites but as you move to the rear of the camp they get a bit tighter. Maintenance was being conducted on a lot of items (e.g. electrical boxes, bunk house, etc...) which is a good thing. Overall it was a nice place to camp and I'm sure to return for a day or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
This is a stunningly beautiful park, but it is in need of some serious maintenance & upgrades. Interior road needs resurfacing and many sites have eroded pads so bad that there is barely enough width to park a unit on them widthwise. We had at least an 18" drop from bottom step to sloping ground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$13
We fell in love with this place. Absolutely beautiful. We only stayed 1 night, I wish we could have stayed longer. We stayed in sIte 11 with a beautiful view of the lake. The parking pad was paved. There was a steep slope to get down to the picnic table and fire ring, but so worth it for the view. Some of the water front sites were not as steep as ours. The park itself is a must see for the swinging bridge, pioneer cabin to name a few. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This is the 4th time we have camped here. We love the park because it is very scenic with good hiking trails and great wildlife. As previously mentioned, the lake is down because of the hole in the dam. I rated the park a 6 because many of the sites need repair and in some cases very dangerous. While our site, 38, was good, many of the sites on the lake side have severe drop offs. I saw one motorhome where the step was at the edge of the pad and there was a 3 ft drop to the dirt. They would have had to step off the side of the step to get to the concrete and then a steep slope to get to the table/fire pit/grill. One of the restrooms at then end of the drive, where a majority of the campsites are, was closed. Also, when we arrived, none of the campsites had been mowed. The Mississippi Park Service needs to upgrade the camping sites and campground road. We were fortunate that our site was mostly pine needles. On the positive side, if you are a geocacher, there are a lot of caches in the park as well as the surrounding area. We had a ball caching. Even though I rated it a 6, we will stay here again. It is convenient to where we live, we don't stay in our campsite much, and there is lots to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
This is a beautiful location for nature walks and exploring. There are several long and sometimes rugged paths along a small river. Cliffs and small waterfalls abound along with very large boulders and many different types of plants. This is also a good place for morning trail runs on hills. If you go to the spillway for the lake, you will find many curious rock formations and with previous visits, I have seen water disappear in one location and pop up 100 feet away. Regretfully the state has put money into refurbishing the rather large swimming pool instead of upgrading many of the camping sites. So if you don’t have a gigantic camper, this is a great location for camping. It is very difficult to rate this campground. The environs are great, but the campsites are sad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
Right off the Natchez Trace at mile marker 304.5. Rate reflects 50% senior discount. Concrete site pads as mentioned in an earlier review are very high, and stepping out of your camper, you have quite a step down at most sites, especially the waterfront sites. We stayed in site 38 (not waterfront) and selected this site because it was level without a step down. The water level of the lake is fine, not low as previously reported. There is one ADA restroom (of 3 in the CG) this is of course the newest one. They had a Sunday church service at 8:30AM, very nice. There is a swimming pool, separate use fee, we did not use. Many hiking trails. Great diner type restaurant nearby in Belmont, the Belmont Cafe...excellent down home cooking, don't miss the peach cobbler, it is excellent! The cg was pretty crowded on the weekend, but very few campers during the week. I would have given a higher rating, but the dump station was on the side of a hill with 7 or 8 inch ruts from water erosion in the road to get to it; we didn't think it was worth the potential damage to our MH to try to get to it, so we did not use it, and this would limit any stay at this cg. We would visit again, but only for a short visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$16
This state park is right off the Natchez Trace located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains and it is very pretty. The sites goes around a lake but it is one road in and out. The site we had was fine for a 25 foot RV with electricity and water. There are some larger sites for bigger units sites 29-62 at the end of the loop but still on Haynes Lake. Very peaceful looking out over the lake. The park is named for the leader of the Chickasaw nation, Chief Tishomingo. There are massive rock formations and fern-filled crevices here that you can not find anywhere else in MS. Wildflowers line the entrance as well as the trails the Indians used to roam. The park also has a boat launching ramp, cabins, disc golf, nature center, swimming pool in the summer, picnic areas, fields for softball and baseball, a historic cabin, trails for hiking and wildlife viewing. We really enjoyed this campground yet others had told us that they didn’t think we would. I think it was because they had 5th wheels and the road could be a little tight for one pulling something that large. The ranger, host that checked us in was very helpful. They even have a Bear Creek Float Trip from April through October for a 6.25 mile ride down the creek leaving from swinging bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We camped here on a trek down the Natchez Trace. We were disappointed with the Trace (not at all as nice or interesting as the Blue Ridge Parkway for example) and this park was just OK. On the good side, the new bathrooms looked like a tiled spa and there were good hiking opportunities. The negatives were the lake was almost empty. The ranger said they had a sink hole in the bottom of the lake: they kept pouring clay into it but so far hadn't controlled it. He didn't think the lake would ever fully fill up. The campsites are level but in many cases the RV parking pad is elevated into the down slope of a hill, leaving you with steps to climb down to your fire area. The park, with the exception of the bath house, also looked poorly maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
This state park is right off the Natchez Trace located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains and it is very pretty. The sites goes around a lake but it is one road in and out. The site we had was fine for a 25 foot RV with electricity and water. There are some larger sites for bigger units sites 29-62 at the end of the loop but still on Haynes Lake. Very peaceful looking out over the lake. The park is named for the leader of the Chickasaw nation, Chief Tishomingo. There are massive rock formations and fern-filled crevices here that you can not find anywhere else in MS. Wildflowers line the entrance as well as the trails the Indians used to roam. The park also has a boat launching ramp, cabins, disc golf, nature center, swimming pool in the summer, picnic areas, fields for softball and baseball, a historic cabin, trails for hiking and wildlife viewing. We really enjoyed this campground yet others had told us that they didn’t think we would. I think it was because they had 5th wheels and the road could be a little tight for one pulling something that large. The ranger, host that checked us in was very helpful. They even have a Bear Creek Float Trip from April through October for a 6.25 mile ride down the creek leaving from swinging bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
Senior rate. This park is somewhat dated, but the hookups worked fine. Roads were being repaved and the lake level appeared OK. Verizon cell and broadband both very good. TV via bat wing picked up a couple of stations, but no networks. Cartoons and travel only. Sites vary here, all are on level slabs, but the grade around the slab can drop off quite a bit. Like a mini ski slope at the bottom of your steps. We had site 61, not lakeside and it was not too bad. Woodalls has this park with a 32' limit, no so. Also the park can be accessed directly from the Natchez Trace, take the marked exit for the park. We came in a weekend and lots of sites were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$11
Tishomingo State Park is the premier natural area in the state of Mississippi. It is an outdoor lovers paradise. Previous reviews were critical of the park roads and lake. Work has begun on a road paving project that has been in the works for years and will be completed in the Spring of 2010. Haynes Lake has been leaking since it was constructed and efforts to repair have been futile. What makes the park so beautiful is the cause of the leakage. A new bathhouse, a new swimming pool, and the road paving are recent projects that make this park the "Best" State Park in Mississippi. Hike the trails and take the Bear Creek Float Trip and enjoy the beauty before making uninformed reviews. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
This park has so much to offer but is in desperate need of care and attention. It made me furious each time we had to drive over the deep holes in the road directly in front of the ranger’s residence. Just a load of gravel in the deepest holes would go a long way to improving one’s stay. So much in the park needs attention, but I’ll just stop with the roads. On the plus side, the hiking trails are fantastic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
What a sad situation. A once beautiful park being allowed to deteriorate as this one has should be illegal. The lake is practically empty due to problems with the lake bed that haven't been addressed. The roads are deplorable. Leaking water lines in the newer parts of the campground. That being said, the restroom/shower building we were near was practically new, and was very clean. All ceramic tile. our site was what should have been lakeside, and was really nice. The staff were all very nice. It is just a shame that the state of Mississippi has allowed this park, situated as it is on the Natchez Trace, to get in such deplorable condition. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$13
I only rated park a 5 because the lake has a hole in the dam and the water was way down. Park is beginning to get run down: some of the roads are beginning to wash out and there are pot holes. I don't think they have enough staff or maybe money to keep park up. They just built a new swimming pool (nice) but I think they would have been better served to have spent the money on the camp grounds. I disagree with a previous post: our checkin was easy. Identified myself and went right in. I had used Reserve America. Would stay again but it's not my 1st or 2nd choice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
We paid a reduced price rate of $13 due to my being over 65. The rest rooms were not very good, and the showers were worse. The park personnel were friendly and helpful, but the check in process is excruciating. They use the Reserve America reservation system and it can be and was be slow and tedious. We would probably not stay here again, however, the bike riding and walking and hiking are both very good. There are things to see within the park, and since we were with friends, we had a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Nice Park. Agree with previous reviewer about the pads, some had a tremendous dropoff followed by a sloop down to the lake. Some site were very close together with no room for picnic table and fire ring (may have been behind site) There was a bluegrass festival going on so a lot of campers were traveling musicians and they would play at night, it sounding great thru the trees. Hiking was fun, very natural and undisturbed feeling. Only oddity was some of the sites had what looked like a sewer connection. Could very easily make a mistake and hook up which would cause a straight out of the movie RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
Lots of hiking trails, but it was too hot to hike. The sites are narrow, but there are quite a few on the lake. The lakeside sites have been built up to make pretty level, but the dirt is washing away leaving the pad exposed. This leaves a big drop off on some sites. To accommodate our slides, we had to park closer to the passenger side of the pad. This caused our steps to hang off the pad. I only gave this park a rating of 7 because the roads and the sites are in need of work. One of the roads had a very soft shoulder where there was a drop off and there wasn't a warning. The campground and activities were typical of state parks. I would definitely stay here again in cooler weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
My rating would have been higher except for one problem. The campground has a new bath house that is very well-equipped and modern. However, there was deep standing water on the floor of the women's restroom & shower area that was not cleaned from Friday until Monday. The floor was muddy in places from people walking through the water. Also, the toilet tissue ran out Saturday morning & was not replenished until after I located a park employee Sunday morning & reported the problem. Oddly enough, an older bath house in the campground was restocked the entire weekend. One other note: I would recommend checking out the campsites in person before reserving, since some are on a very steep side of the road with limited parking. Other than those things,it is a nice campground overall and we will return sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
State park campground on small Haynes Lake. You have to drive to the playground, swimming pool, & playing field area. However, Bear Creek runs through the playground/swimming pool area, which has a swinging bridge crossing is with trails through rock formations. The campground is a campground, not anywhere near a resort, but we like it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Some waterfront sites but are narrow. Not much room to park your truck. It stays full so reserve ahead of time. It is a beautiful park and I recommend it to everyone! The staff were very polite. Only one washer/dryer there. The closest laundromat is about 10-15 minutes north. The cabins looked nice too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Very nice campground. Close to the Natchez Trace Parkway. Unusual rock formations for Mississippi. It's one of the parks that was worked on by the CCC and has a swinging bridge and lots of trails to hike. The restrooms and bath facilities were average. Latches on the stalls were broken and tiles in the showers (mens) were broken but overall not bad. Had a washer and dryer. Sites were cement and level. Small lake that does not accommodate motor boats but allows fishing. Fills up on weekends due to it's proximity to Tupelo and other cities relatively close. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
Sites are all concrete and very large and shaded, also clean. Bath house and restroom were very clean and air conditioned. Park has several different things to do for activities. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
Right off the Natchez Trace Parkway. Most of the sites back onto a lake and are concrete pad. Main part of the park with swimming pool,cabins,store etc etc is located some distance from the campground. We stop at this park coming and going every year as we travel the Trace. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$14
We stayed here during spring break just to get away. Arrived after dark and had a little trouble backing into our campsite as there are no pull throughs. Don't think it would've been a problem during daylight hours. Not much to do in the area unless you like bingo. Woodall mountain (highest point in MS) was a huge disappointment. Excellent trails to hike inside the park. Great place just to get away from it all. Dump station on exit was a little tight on exit, but we would definitely stay here again. We pull a 38 ft. 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$13
How nasty were the bathrooms and showers? So nasty that I took photos and sent them to the Governor's office! Obviously, a sponge and a toilet bowl brush are used to wipe down the fixtures, and that ends the cleaning for the day. Urinal could be seen from the entrance door. Paint on the shower and stall floors was peeling is large chunks. Yes, small amounts of human waste on wall. Path to bathhouse served as the stormwater chute for the roof. Steps into building were at least 14 inches high. Wood landscape timber steps were very shaky. Sites are paved and level for trailers and motor homes perched high above the lake. For tenters, there was no level ground in sight. People drove 30 MPH in 15 MPH zone in campground. Don't let the beautiful surroundings and entrance station fool you. Take a look at the campground before buying a site for the night. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$13
Excellent State Park. Located on the Natchez Trace in a beautiful wooded setting. Sites were raised, very dry, level and easy to back into. The sites were very private and lots of space between them. Not a lot to see in the area other than some nice fall colors, but real relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$13
Very friendly and helpful staff. Natchez Trace Parkway has an exit right into the park. Lots of hiking trails. Also the only rock climbing site in the state of Mississippi! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com