224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Buccaneer State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (228) 467-3822
CGID1577

Buccaneer State Park

Camp Information
Sites
301
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   9   8   10   9   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
So does the good out way the bad? Not in my opinion. First the bad - $17 per person to use the "water park" in the front of the campground. There is a wave pool, two slides, and a tiny wade pool for babies that walk. Hardly worth $17 when its only open 10 - 6 during the summer. The really bad part is there is a "pool" inside the campground that they call a wade pool. I think the depth is 3' 9" at its deepest. As a camper you have to pay to use this as well? This silly pool is only open 10- 6 as well but it is closed Monday and Tuesday. Not worth it at all. Also had an issue with canceling a site. My father-in-law could not come because of medical reasons so had to show a doctors note to get them to cancel without issuing a voucher. Now the good, the park is big, lots of room between sites, at least in the section I was in. Also lots of trees for shade even though during the summer it can still be very hot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
Pool and camp store are only open wednesday thru sunday.the only reason for a 9 is no cable or wifi. Great campground will stay again. Camped in a motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This state park was recently rebuilt after the hurricane. It is a very nice place to bring the family. There is a water park in the park. It looks nice. It was not open at the time of our stay. Restrooms are new and kept very clean. There is beach access right outside the park entrance. The only down side to our stay were the bugs. The gnats were almost unbearable in the late afternoon. The whole family ended up with what appeared to be flea bites after a visit to the beach. Bring bug spray! The campground road signs on the highway in Waveland instruct you to turn at the wrong intersection. Make sure you have good directions and follow them. Overall we had a nice stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Hurricane Katrina ripped up this part of the Mississippi coast and it looks like this state park had to be completely rebuilt as a result. It is very new. The roads are easy to navigate. All of the sites are full service. The picnic tables are built into new, clean concrete slabs. The sites are separated from each other and there are trees dotted throughout the campground. There is a water park as part of the park, but it was closed while we were here. There is a tiny triangular stretch of beach at the entrance to the park. It is a half mile walk from the campground to the shore. The rest of the shoreline is sea wall. There is a longer stretch of beach several miles down the road. There is a brand new casino 2-3 miles down the road as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
This is a wonderful RV park. Nice staff. Park is kept very clean. Restrooms are also very clean. Sites are sloped so bring extra blocks. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20?
I stayed here around Christmas. The place was nearly deserted. There was no one at the entrance so I just drove around for an hour and finally settled on one of the grassy over-flow sites at the front so I could watch the sun come up on the Gulf (right across the street literally). This site had electric only. I will tell you that if you stay during the peak season, good luck getting a view like I had as these high priced sites are designed at such an angle that either the front or back of the rig gets the view and it will no doubt be obscured by the other vehicles. The road in front did not seem to have much traffic, but this may be different in warmer months. In the back campground you'll find a completely rebuilt facility with level sites, not a lot of trees and concrete pads. Some of the turns are tight though. There's lots to do in- season and according to the very nice park ranger who lives on-site, it's a safe area. Watch for teens who steal beer coolers at night, though, according to the ranger. I don't know how much my site really cost as he actually gave me a discount due to my overnight stay and the time of year. I would definitely rate this as an excellent place for families, but I'll bet it gets pretty crowded and loud in the height of the peak season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
Site was sloped downward enough to force my front wheels off the ground while trying to get the RV level. Other than that little problem, this park is a 10. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
One of the nicest state parks we have stayed in 8 years of full-timing. The only thing that kept me from rating it a 10 was the narrow drives and narrow paved sites. Our site was very level while others were not. Restrooms and showers were impeccable. Definitely will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
This is a beautiful park. They have done a great job rebuilding it from the devastation of Katrina. I think the camp store and laundry facilities are still under renovation. They were not open. The pools were closed for the season also, but we were aware of this before we booked. They have several campground loops. We stayed in "Pirates Cove" for 5 nights. No cable or wi-fi available, but the antennae picked up several local stations. The sites were spacious and on an a fairly level asphalt pad. We actually had a tree on our site which made for nice shade in the afternoon and evening. There was a nice picnic table on a concrete pad, but no fire rings in this loop. There was a loop across the road (Treasure Cove) that had fire rings and looked quite nice, but the train tracks are close to that area and may be a noise concern for some people. We heard the train from our site, but it was not annoying at all. The "Royal Cay" loop does not have picnic tables, and the sites are very close together on gravel or dirt. The park was full for the weekend of "Cruisin' The Coast" but surprisingly quiet. I would definitely stay here again. Be sure to take your mosquito repellent,for the hungry things are out in force after dusk! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Really fun wave pool and water slides here at this state park. Sites were a little uneven and close to one another, but if you select carefully you can get a good one in the back areas. People always post here about the gnats, and we saw a lot of them, but fans and bug spray keep them away. The beach is bike riding distance away but not that great. The pool and camp store are not open yet but look like they will be nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
While the campground is great, with some really nicely spaced sites, we probably won't stay here again unless we happen to be in the area when the gnats aren't biting. Still, I have to give them kudos for how well they came back after damaging hurricanes like Katrina, and more recently, Isaac. Rebuilding of some of the amenities were ongoing, but it did not impact our stay. We would have rated this campground much higher if not for the biting gnats we encountered during our two-week stay in April. We were unable to take full advantage of our great site because it was near impossible to sit outside. Within the first few days, my husband was bit so bad that his arms and legs looked like he had chicken pox. Eventually, we managed to sit in our screened shelter for a few hours each day with the help of a couple of big fans we purchased from Wal-Mart to create a cross-breeze to keep the gnats at bay. Nice long stretches of beach within walking distance (might be a long walk for some), and a wide walking/biking path heads in the direction of Waveland along a stretch of the beach. The Sound may not be inviting to swim in for people used to Gulf waters, but the beach is great for walking. Bay St. Louis is well worth exploring; don't forget to check out the Katrina trees. Trains rumble by tooting their horns throughout the day. It didn't bother us, but might be a problem for some. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
I love state parks. This was a good one. The pad was not level but they give lots of room for the coach. I would stay there again. They are about to finish the wavepool and waterpark so I expect it to be very popular soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
We enjoyed this park. It has been rebuilt since Hurricane Katrina, so the facilities are relatively new. The pool and water park were still not complete at the time of our visit. I'm not sure if it will be complete by summer. The sites were spacious and the roads and sites were newly paved (except for very back of the park where sites are gravel). We stayed near the front of the park in the first loop and the train noise inside our trailer was minimal. The beach was just a short drive. Water view is available at this park but those sites don't have sewer. Our only complaint was one that others have mentioned about Buccaneer and that's the bugs. The noseeums were AWFUL and they bite. Bad to the point of you can't sit or cook outside in the mornings or evenings, literally swarming all over. I have heard, however, that they are more of a problem in the spring than other times of the year. We want to go back, but we don't want to have to deal with the bugs. The park should really put more effort into controlling them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$24
Stayed for 4 nights. Park is being totally rebuilt after hurricane Katrina's devastation. Park facilities are less than 5 years old, and new construction is continuing. Sites are very nice, level asphalt pads. There is background train noise as tracks are about 1/2 mile away. Directions to park take you south on Nicholson Ave/St. I would recommend not taking this route, but take the road that goes toward the Casino that is 2 miles to the west. That will intersect with Beach Road which will take you to the park. There is not much shade in the park. I would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
The park is a little out of the way to get to. Our GPS lead us down Clermont road that had a huge hump over a railroad track that would have bottomed out our trailer, so we had to turn around and go Lower Bay to Lakeshore so beware. The campground itself is definitely in rebuild mode, but the sites were nice and the bathroom/shower facilities new. The campground is a bit muddy due to the recent construction, but the sites are paved. The laundry facility was still under construction. There is a nice playground for the kids. There was decent Verizon service here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
We were looking for a quiet, out of the way place to park our 5th wheel for awhile, well this was it. Just one problem: the little gnats were so bad, we couldn't set out, have a fire, or enjoy the outdoors. I stayed inside all the time, just went out when we drove somewhere. Not all sites are level, but they do describe them as slopped on their web site, so we were prepared for that. There is a lot of construction going on around the campground, so it is not a quiet place during the day. Campsites are nicely spaced, but you still don't feel like it is very private. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Very beautiful place with excellent access to biking and walking by the Gulf. Midges and mosquitoes were hungry but other than that, nice family setting. One problem camper was handled appropriately and asked to leave. Would hope our travels bring us here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Park is in a state of reconstruction from Hurricane Katrina. The camping area is in good repair and the sites have full hookups. Park is well kept and has easy access. The bathrooms are not as clean as they could be but are acceptable. Ice is available at the camp office. One of the great things the park has to offer it is right on the ocean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Campground is on the mend from the storm. Still a lot of construction to do. No store, pools, and washer and dryers. Very little shade in the front sites but nice in the back. Only problems with the back sites is it's close to a train track. The train passes about 2-3 times a night and quite a few times during the day. Gave it a lower rating because of garbage pick up. We were there for three nights and the cans were full when we got there and were never picked up. Seafood tends to get pretty stinky after a few days. Nice level sites from side to side. Large fire rings for campfires. No beach in front of the campground but some a mile in either direction. We would camp here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Very nice state park with lots of room to roam. We were there when they were working on the pool, etc. that had been damaged by the hurricane. You can bike ride in the park, as well as out along the road bordering the Gulf. Very peaceful and quiet--but that was January! Roads to the park are iffy at best, so would suggest you follow the signs for the Silver Slipper Casino, then come to the park along the Gulf road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
This park has been reconstructed after Katrina and it is still being worked on. They haven't got a laundry in yet and the swimming facilities are being worked on. Looks like they'll be ready this summer. If you follow your GPS in here it will take you over a rail road grade that you may drag something on and it also winds around. The signage for the park isn't that great. As mentioned in an earlier post, the easiest way in here is to take the road that leads down the Silver Slipper Casino. When you get to the Gulf, take a left (east). The showers and bath rooms are clean and brand new. The only problem I had was 1 shower head out of 4 didn't work very well. They clean the bathrooms and showers every day. The loop all the way at the back of the park has the most trees but it's near a road. The other loops are fairly open. The Verizon mifi works well. There is also a RR that runs very close to the park but the trains did not run at night or too early in the morning. The sites right across the street from the Gulf have no sewer hook ups and are $11 more / night. The sites and streets are paved and level. This is a great park but you wouldn't want to be here during a hurricane. All the buildings are 10-30' off the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
We found this reasonable price State Park campground to be a great place for visiting the Mississippi coast. It is difficult to reach when following the State Park signs from Waveland. There are some very narrow roads and narrow turns for big rigs. Instead, I recommend following the signs to the Silver Slipper Casino and then go east on the coast road. This State Park was destroyed by Katrina. Rebuilding of the campground appears to been completed. The woodland areas and campground trees are recovering. There is an assortment of attractive new sites and it appeared all had full hook-ups. The first three loops have a few level paved sites for big rigs. There is another loop with considerable shade and concrete pads, which are more suitable for big rigs. That loop is closer to the rail line, which does have an occasional passing train. There is an ocean view area with full hook-ups adjacent to the coast road. They are grass sites with no shade and cost eleven dollars more per night. There are plenty of brand new incredible bath houses. Verizon works great here and there are no problems for obtaining satellite TV from the first three loops. We would return for another stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
This park is coming back from the destruction of Katrina. Limited shade trees left, but nice facility. Will visit here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
This park is located within walking distance of the beach. In fact some of the sites are located just across the road running along the beach. The park has been completely rebuilt after being wiped out by Hurricane Katrina. All pads, electrical hookups, etc are new. Sites are asphalt paved and level. There are two loops which are very shaded and apparently heavily used on weekends while the remainder of the park was hardly occupied during our weekend stay. The majority of sites in the other loops are either partially shaded or unshaded. Be aware that the road running along the beach is being re-built with some sections being new and other sections still under construction and quite rough in some sections. We would stay in the park again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
As noted in previous reviews, this area is still undergoing renovation after Katrina. For some reason, Waveland seems to be lagging behind the nearby towns. The park staff is great; the ranger stopped by on occasion to make sure everything was going well. One evening, severe weather was predicted, the park manager knocked on the door to make sure that we were aware. We were and spent part of that evening in the bath house when the tornado warning was posted. The sites were level, and we had good Verizon and AT&T cell coverage. The railroad crossings near the park are built up, so I recommend taking US-90 West from town, and follow the signs to the Silver Slipper casino, since that crossing is much flatter. Daily rate is based on a monthly stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
This is a beautiful park. It was nearly destroyed by Katrina, but is nearly fully functional now. The don't have water hooked up for the water park yet, however. In spite of it's beauty, there are no trails open yet. The road to the park, from either direction, is under construction and is in sad shape. The railroad track crossings demand that you drive very slowly in order not to damage the rear hitch of your motorhome. It's doable, however. Sites are level and full-hookup are well laid out. We'd go back, for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$24
This park is still under construction following Hurricane Katrina, however two camping sections were open during our stay. We stayed in the premium, wooded Treasure Cove section. Sites were spacious and wooded (complete with bugs), with pads oriented so each RV had maximum privacy. Note that an often-running train passes behind this section, so be prepared for the noise (day and night). Concrete patios with picnic tables tended to be a distance from the RV pad, so bring outdoor carpet to bridge the two. Since there is so much sandy soil, be prepared for some mess, especially during rainy weather. The Royal Cay (regular, non-premium) section was also operating while we were there. Sites were much narrower with few trees. It looks like other sections are ready for operation during heavy seasons. Some people were using the overflow gulf-front section, however these sites did not have sewer hookup. This was a great park for walking (one could walk to and along the gulf from any site). Laundry and pool are not yet in operation. There is a great laundromat nearby, though, to which staff can direct you. Restrooms and showers, even in areas not being used, were exceptionally clean and well-stocked. Construction is very heavy along Beach Boulevard, so you may have to plan your route out. Staff is very helpful in providing "escape routes." We really enjoyed the rustic feel of our campsite, as well as proximity to casinos and the Gulf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$28
Not finished with rebuild post Katrina. What they have is top notch. Great layout with space/privacy between sites and water/sewer are well planned. Bathrooms are the best we have seen although hot water was a bit cool. Lots of birds. Great quiet stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Loved coming back to Buccaneer. Everything was very nice. 2011 the water park, pool and store are supposed to be up and running. Ranger rode through the park often. Enjoyed our stay and will be back. Bath house is new, however it is not air conditioned or heated but that didn't bother me at all. Very nice park can't wait to go back and planning on going back at Thanksgiving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
There can be many reasons to be negative about a park, but in the end, did you enjoy your stay? We enjoyed Buccaneer. While still recovering 5 years after Hurricane Katrina, the park is getting itself together. We stayed in one of the two back loops that are open. Nice shade in hot sunny weather; short walk to a small beach. Would have liked Internet access for the price, and after heavy or extended rain, the area between pads can be soggy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This campground has just reopened from the damage of hurricane Katrina. There are two loops open at the present time. The pool and water park are not yet open. There are new bath houses but they aren't air conditioned and feel more like saunas. Just about impossible to get dry in the hot, steamy conditions. Very poor design. The floors were covered with bugs, both dead and alive. The campsites themselves have concrete pads, but they were mostly covered with dirt or sand. Hopefully things will improve as time goes by, but if I were again looking for an overnight spot, I would stay at the casino campground just to the West of here. $24.00 seemed a little steep for the amemities provided. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2008
$10
This park has been closed since Katrina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$16
Great family campground with nice large shady sites. The $16 per night is a little deceiving. If you want to play goofy golf or swim in the pool it cost extra per day. The swimming pool is $2 for 12 and under $4 for 13 and up. First campground I have been in that charged extra to swim in their pool. Not much of a beach either unless you go a couple of miles down the main road. I still highly recommend this campground and it seems very popular. When we left they were placing campers in overflow lots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
This is probably the best State Park we've ever camped at. Very family oriented. Very well staffed. We stayed in the wooded area and it felt very private. Kids and bikes everywhere! Only complaint was the bathrooms, the first night they were dirty and the showers were full of mosquitoes. But by the second night that had been taken care of. In fact, even though we were right next to a bayou, the mosquitoes weren't all that bad. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$16
Wonderful family campground. Park roads and pads appear to be recently re-paved. Most sites have picnic tables and grills. Hook-ups are correctly arranged on the drivers side of the pad and were in excellent condition. This campground is the nicest state park that I have visited. The park offers tennis, basketball, playgrounds, miniture golf (extra fee) and a very nice disc golf course. The park also offers a wading pool, wave pool and water slides (all at an extra fee), however they do not open until memorial day. Also, the park store and arcade do not open until memorial day. The park is directly across the road from the Gulf of Mexico and there are several miles of beach available for use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$12
Large park that is well maintained except for the inner park roads. Nice sites; some larger than others. Lots of trees. Swimming pool, tennis courts, basketball court, mini golf, disc golf, small store, laundry facilities. Good hiking trails. Water park with wave pool and water slides adjacent to campground (additional fee charged). The best thing about this park is its close proximity to the Gulf of Mexico and miles of beautiful white-sand beaches. Dogs are allowed on the beaches! A couple of miles from the campground is a great 2.7 mile concrete bike and walking trail right along the beaches' edge. We camped here in November (Thanksgiving week) and the park was relatively full. Had a great time at the park and thoroughly enjoyed riding bikes through quaint Waveland and along the beaches of Waveland and Bay St. Louis. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$12
Very nice park with lots to do in the area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com