224234 User submitted reviews online!!
Compton Ridge Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (417) 213-5801
CGID1589

Compton Ridge Campground

Camp Information
Sites
219
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   9   7   7   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Stumbled on to this campground after trying one down the street that the reviews on here were way off. The park is under new ownership. Very nice staff and manager. Shaded back in spots and sunny pull thru with room between sites. Three bath houses and laundries, two pools and a small playground. Nice little store that makes and delivers pizza to your campsite. Wifi and over 100 channel cable. They staff and manager say the new owners have big plans for the campground. Hope they don't change it too much, it's almost perfect the way it is. We would stay here again next time we're in Branson. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
We drive out of our way to stay here. We usually meet some family members from Arkansas in Branson. Park is clean, staff is super, great cable TV, Wi-Fi works well until park gets busy. One of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
An all around great park. Clean and well maintained by very friendly and helpful people. This campground is cut into a mountainside and is heavily wooded. Despite the hills, they have done a nice job getting the sites graded to a 'level-able' finish. If you're unhooking anyway, choose a back-in site. They are on the forest's edge and have the most shade. Our site was quite narrow, however. With my slide extended, the utility box prohibited opening my storage bay. On the other side, I could not fully extend my awning. In its way was a roofed wooden deck with a picnic table. The deck was a very nice surprise and I just extended my awning so the space between the coach and the deck was covered. Combined, it made for a very nice shaded & dry area. The site included a moveable fire ring, but the site really was too small to find a place to use it. We ate a quite-good, but a bit over-priced, breakfast at the on-site café. There are a lot of extra amenities at this campground. Wi-Fi was just OK. We were only minutes away from all of our Branson activities and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
Very friendly and helpful staff. Shuttle service provided to Silver Dollar City. Clean and shady. We will be back. We had a pull through spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend as a family and had a BLAST!! Every RV seemed to have a handful of kids, and the park had a full weekend of activities you could participate in (hay rides, face painting, bouncy houses, etc.). This RV park has FULL SHADE sites, but the trees are kept trimmed well enough where they do not interfere with the RV itself. Our site was downright DARK with shade. Swimming pool area and playground area are nice. The roads may be a little tight for those not comfortable towing larger trailers, but I had no issues. We DEFINITELY plan to stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
We camped here for Spring Break as the weather was already really hot! We didn't get to see the park in full swing as it was off peak season. The indoor pool sure was nice as most other pools werent open in March. Terrain is very hilly and rocky around the sites - unique. All sites are terraced into the side of hills so not a lot of open area for kids to play. Plenty to do in Branson, though. Staff was very helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Conveniently located near Silver Dollar City. Park offers lots of amenities, especially with which to entertain children. Sites are very shaded, but a little hard to pull-through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We loved this park, we were nestled back in the trees, had a covered picnic table and a fire pit. We didn't use any of the amenities but they are numerous. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Compton Ridge is like the movie, The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. For The Good, the park is very clean with sparkling restrooms and three well maintained swimming pools. There is a nice children's playground. The staff was great and even provided a free shuttle to Silver Dollar City. For The Bad, it is very pricy and some sites are close together. For The Ugly, the premium sites (1−12) are a total rip-off. Most RV parks calls a parking lot with hookups the overflow but Compton Ridge call these sites premium. Also, the electric power was low so no toast while the air conditioner is operating. Good park if you don't stay in the premium sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
We booked our reservation based on previous reviews on this website and were disappointed. The park is fairly old but very clean and well maintained. To be fair, they are in the process of getting the campground shipshape before Memorial Day, when they start getting busy. The cement pads are fairly short and the trees hang low. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We asked them to cut some limbs off trees that were touching the top of the motorhome, and they were here the next morning to do so. This would be a great park if you had kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$33
We stayed at Compton Ridge over Thanksgiving. The park managers were great and so were their staff! On Thanksgiving day, they hosted lunch for about 100 people that were staying at the campground. What a great treat, they provided the meats and everyone brought a covered dish. After Thanksgiving, the campground emptied out with the exception of us and our friends. We had the run of the campground for a few days until we left. The staff could not have been friendlier, the place was the cleanest campground we have been in in a long time! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
We continue to be impressed with the new owners of this place. Everything is clean and neat. Staff goes overboard to be of assistance. We went with the grandkids for a Halloween event. What a blast they/we had. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
There are only 3 negative things I have to say about this park. The sites are quite tight, there is very little grass, and in my opinion it was a little pricey. That being said, I also have to say that is the case at almost any RV park in Branson. We had a wonderful experience at this park. We had a premier spot in the main campground, which included pull-though concrete pad and full hook-up. There are a lot of people working at this park and they are all so helpful and friendly. The showers were immaculate. There was a nicely stocked store, a diner, a laundromat and indoor and outdoor pool. It was very family friendly, with plenty of room for the kids to play and many activities for them. This park is just 5 minutes from the Branson strip or Silver Dollar City. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Great campground. Lots of space. Large sites. Friendly staff. Great pool! A great feature of this campground is that it is a good distance from the major road that brings you to the campground. Great for reducing traffic noise. We ALMOST stayed at the campground across the street. Wow! Glad we didn't. (Many of those campsites back-up to the highway. Also, that campground is a long, narrow piece of property. I don't know how I would have managed my large motorhome in there.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
The people that ran this campground were very nice. Just about all the sites had nice shade. I was led to my site by a nice gentleman. I stayed at this campground for 2 nights and was asked twice if everything was OK with my stay. These folks are very attentive to their campers. The grounds were clean, as well as the bathrooms and showers. The store located on the grounds rocked; it had just about anything that a camper would need. I will stay here the next time I return to Branson. My wife loved the place as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$41
They jammed our 30 foot trailer into a spot where I had to park my truck next to it under the awning. The campground is nothing like they advertise on their website. We will never go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
We had a large family reunion at Compton Ridge. The group rented cabins, motel rooms, and RV sites. The staff went over and above making everyones stay GREAT. Compton is a clean, friendly, family operated park. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$43
The staff was fantastic. They escorted us to our site and helped us with tickets and show reservations. The campsites were pretty level considering the crazy topography of the Branson area. We were in a pull through site. They had a little restaurant that served breakfast and lunch. They had 2 pools, one indoor and one out. The campground was very clean, and they had a very well stocked camp store. The campground is a mile from Silver Dollar City, and they provide a free shuttle. My only complaint would be the water temperature of the indoor pool. It was COLD, and I feel that an indoor pool should be heated to a more tolerable level. Other than the cold pool water, the campground was very nice and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
It is a good location for checking out the many shows at Branson. Friendly people, lots of smiles and more music than I have ever been exposed to in a campground. We will be back,in the near future, to enjoy what camping was meant to be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
All sites are spacious, have a picnic table and a fire ring. The back-in sites are well-shaded, backed by woods, and the picnic table is covered. The pull-throughs are more in the open with some tall trees. It is a "state park" like wooded setting but with all the amenities: good internet, 65 cable TV channels, big laundry with an ironing board etc. We enjoyed the walking trails and birdwatching. Silver Dollar City is only 1.3 miles down the road, and they run a free shuttle. The shuttle is nice in that you don't have to wait through the parking lineup; they drop you right at the entrance and you don't need to take the tram from the parking lot to the entrance. Staff is friendly and helpful. I stayed in the Main Campground, which is connected to the North Campground and Lodge by a short trail, or down the road a very short distance. The North Campground looked nice, is smaller, and has several cabins. The rate reflects a monthly rate. I would enjoy coming back someday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$42
We had a bad experience with this park. We called weeks ahead to ensure the indoor pool would be opened for April 1st. Although we were told the pool was being filled and looking like it would be ready. When we arrived there was no filling taking place and they were still painting the inside of the pool. So between being lied to about the pool opening, the high price of $42.00 off season rate & the park is very large with no grass. Those things would prevent us from coming back. We generally stay at parks that are under $40.00 per night for a family of 4 in a full hookup site that has a swimming pool. There's a lot of places in Branson to choose from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$42
This review relates to our experience in the Main Campground at Compton Ridge (versus the North Campground). We stayed at Compton Ridge four nights as part of a rally with about 18 trailers. A couple of years ago, we had stayed at Compton Ridge also as part of a rally as the campground was in transition from private ownership into franchise ownership. Our experience then was so negative that we decided we would not camp at Compton Ridge again. Well, the ownership has changed and this park is back to private owners who have a strong on-site presence. When our rally organizer talked with the new owners, they wanted to do what was needed to earn our business again. We couldn't have asked for a more accommodating and gracious experience. The customer service was above and beyond our expectations. Our reservation and check-in went smoothly. The facility, amenities and services were much improved. The showers and bathhouses were spotless and warm on the cold Autumn mornings. Our site was level and easy to set up. All the services worked as promised. The campground was landscaped with Autumn colors and theme. The whole experience was most positive. This time, thanks to the new owners, I will say that we will return to camp again at Compton Ridge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
One thing that is really nice about this campground is the covered picnic tables/breakfast areas at each campsite. These are very handy during the frequent rain storms. Our site was very private and quiet. The park was not full when we stayed here, and the pool was huge and not crowded at all. The roads are paved, but very hilly and some of the sites wouldn't be condusive to big DP's. The wifi was excellent, and the voltage at the 50 amp power pole was very steady at 120 volts. They have new management, and have added breakfast and dinner with different menus each night. They also have pizza delivered to your site, and provide free shuttle to Silver Dollar City which is only 1.3 miles away. If you enjoy a "State Park" type atmosphere with trees and privacy, this is your place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We have been camping at this park for many years. The sites are well shaded and large. The bathrooms are always kept clean. The store is one of the nicest stores that I have visited in an RV park. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location of the park is close to most Branson attractions, and even includes shuttle service to some. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This is a nice park and family oriented. We've stayed here 2-3 times per year for the past four years. The park changed hands in the preceding several months and now has corporate owners. The employees are not as friendly or dedicated as the previous resident owners and their RV workers but still do a decent job. In our opinion, the location is perfect and offers several different routes into and away from Branson. This is a real blessing during heavy traffic times. Also it must be remembered, this is on the wooded top of an Ozark mountain. That means there are hills everywhere and you must go up, down or up and down many times no matter where you go. Also there are lots of trees (hence lots of shade), the whole countryside is rocks on top of rocks on top of bedrock so no dirt. There never was and never will be grass. We have been and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Compton Ridge Campground has recently changed ownership. We attended a rally in the North campground in a 29 ft travel trailer for three nights. When we made reservations, we requested a site that was easy to back into. We were assigned site 24 in the North campground. It was difficult to back into especially since recent rains had created a gully at the front of the site and someone was parked directly across from the site. Upon our arrival, we asked that the gully be filled. It had not been filled when we left. The gravel sites were not level. The sites throughout the North campground are back-in and are all tight to negotiate. The bath house is clean but not heated. A portable heater appeared on the women's side but provided minimal heat since the main bathhouse door is louvered to the open air. Temperatures were in the 40's at night while we were there. WiFi and Internet connectivity were supposed to be in place when we arrived but only worked for a portion of the first day of our stay. Even though the WiFi problems were reported, they were not resolved while we were there. In the campground pavilion, not all electrical outlets were operable. The campground is nicely wooded and was quiet while we were there. We would only stay at the North Campground again if we attended a rally or another function based at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
Pros: Family type campground. Nice play areas. Shade. Some large sites! Location is close, but not too close, to " 76 strip" and to West Branson where you can find; Walmart, Country Market, etc. without too much traffic. Cons: No Refunds, XP charge starts at age 6, most start at age 12. You'd better like gravel. We've stayed here several times, but this time gravel is everywhere. It's great at the site, but between the sites? Gravel instead of grass? Yuk. Gravel at the playground? Not right under swings, but as close as possible? Are these folks allergic to grass? Bathhouse. On a large loop was one shower, two toilets for each men/ladies room. These were very small and crude. Trailer Life rates these highly? It always appeared clean, but smelled very strongly sometimes of Pine-sol and sometimes of black water. I am not making this up. The water pressure is quite variable in the bath house as well as the RV. Very annoying. The Wi-fi is spotty at campground. Unpredictable. No longer a family-owed private campground, as it is now owned/operated by Legacy/Silver Dollar City. Bottom line is all that matters. RV work-campers don't seem too happy here anymore. "Lots of changes" they say. And, still we'd stay here again. Why? It is the only place we found with some wide sites, full hook-up, and large play areas. But, we keep looking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This was our second stay in the NORTH Campground. We got a 50% discount as stated on their website. All was OK except wireless internet. They just got it in the North campground. It worked the first 2 days then quit. We reported it twice but was never repaired for the remaining week of our stay. The North store was closed the entire stay. The North is OK, but they give very MINIMAL attention to the campers there. Also they have begun installing cabins in various sites. We checked on prices for our visitors and felt the prices were very high for the time of season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
We were here a week with a group. We all have big 5th wheels. Some of our people had good sites some did not. Some of us ask for other sites that we fit into. We were first given an unacceptable site. We couldn't get our slides out because of a bank and tried to shovel it down so we could. Also we were about 2 feet from a drop off bank from our front door. We could not fit our large 5th wheel into this site. We ask for something that would fit and were prepared to leave. They said they were full and there were plenty of empty spaces, that we saw. Finally they did give us another site and charged us $9.00 more a night which the site was not worth $39 a night. Very unfriendly owner of this park. He could care less if we stayed there or not. Not one of our people were rude to him but he was rude! We will never stay in this campground again and I heard this from some of our group. The ones that didn't get decent sites. There were plenty of decent sites available but he was trying to shove everyone he could in those less than desirable sites. He would not let anyone know what site they would be in before we arrived. Also he would not let anyone see their site until they paid. We moved to another site which was not worth the $39 we paid daily but was better than the one we had. At least our 5th wheel fit into this one. Some of our group had damage to their expensive 5th wheel trailers trying to get into the bad sites. Never saw anything like this before. Very bad service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
When we reserved our site, we told owners how large our unit was. They attempted two times to put us on two sites that were not set up for a fifth wheel as large as ours. They would not tell us site number till we arrived and paid. Directed us on the site and did not care about damage to our RV. After RV was damaged and only then did they give us a site which was long enough. There is no grass just gravel and our site was pie shaped, very close to other RVs and this was a VIP site at a high price. They do have some nice sites up on the hill and are located by a bath/laundry building, pool and playground. All others in the area are in need of upgrades badly. They have a heated pool but needed to better care for it. Hours were posted but varied day by day. Owner was RV unfriendly and rude. We will never return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
THis is a great campground! We have stayed in several in Branson and this is by far the best. The place is nice, the sites are wider and larger, the restrooms are extremely clean and nice and lots of shade which is important in summer. It has playgrounds, pull through sites, nice laundry facilities, etc. And it's a bargain especially if you have a Silver Dollar City annual pass. It's very close to SDC which is where we were going, but not as small as the SDC campground and certainly not as full. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$39
We camped here for several days. I was disappointed that there was not any grass. There are only rocks. Everywhere. My chihuahua was the most disappointed because rocks her her feet. When we called we asked about Wi-fi and were told that they had it. Our daughter takes online college courses and needed the internet. When we arrived there was not Wi-fi. We had to go to the office for an Internet box that my husband had to hook up ONLY after we went to Wal Mart and bought extra cable to hook it up. We were upset about this because this was important to us. If a campsite does NOT have something they should NOT say they have it. Compton Ridge is too far from Branson if you see a lot of shows. I got tired of all the driving up and down those hills, so I didn't go to many. My husband and daughter did enjoy many shows. We never could find a grocery store except for Wal Mart. This was so strange. The people at the office were okay, but when we asked about where we could go because of the tornadoes that were forecasted they didn't seem concerned and said we would be safe. Well, we might have been, but with 60 mph winds, we were not going to take a chance. Overall, the camp was okay if you do not care about having grass, and if you do not care if the people are unfriendly. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
Park was very nice. Stayed in North campground. People were friendly. Only complaint is internet.. Park is up on everything else but internet. Could at least put wireless router by offices so campers could be by the pool and download email. otherwise park is pretty first rate. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$32
This is a very nice campground situated in a wooded area on the outskirts of Branson. Compton Ridge is close to all of the Branson attractions, but off the main highway. We found the campground owners to be helpful and friendly. Our campsite was near the center of the main campground across from the outdoor swimming pool. The restroom/showers were very clean and modern. A laundry room was just a few short steps from our campsite. The campground has two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor. There is a playground, basketball and tennis courts located near the center of the campground. We enjoyed our trip here and plan to visit again in 2006. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$26
We visited the park in late October. It was very nice. It has a indoor pool which was great for the kids in the evening and during the cool weather. Also, it's close to Silver Dollar City. The bath house was close by and looked to be fairly new, was very clean. We plan on going back this fall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2004
$35
Stayed at Compton Ridge North. Not accommodating to 36' and up 5th wheels. Nearly impossible site accessiblity (had to use site across just to be able to back in with 2 other people guiding). Tore roof due to overhanging tree branches on site. Sites very narrow! CG could use some thinning out of trees and brush. Indoor pool N/A at this time. Was ready to leave by the next morning! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$26
We camped here in a fifth wheel in July 2003. The campground is very clean and family oriented, with a very friendly and helpful staff. It is also very quiet. The campground is built down the side of a mountain with multi-level sites. We enjoyed our stay very much and will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$31
Sights are very difficult to get into (North Park) with narrow roads and a lot of obstructions. Sustained damage to my RV and campground personnel could have cared less about what caused it (a tree stump that was sticking up about 1 foot at entrance to the lot). Noticed a lot of mold on ceiling in bathroom and dirt around sink faucets. Nice privacy on each lot with a pretty view into a wooded valley to the back of the lot. Did not see many big rigs when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Stayed on the main campground. The north campground is closed during winter months. Very friendly staff. The campground is not right in town. It sits about 3 to 4 miles west of the strip. Sites are split about 1/2 gravel and the other paved. Even though we were on a paved site, we still had to put boards under one side of the trailer, but it was only 1/2 to 3/4 inch off level. Would love to see this place in the summer when everything is green. Tickets for some attractions can be purchased at the campground office. Camping prices vary form $21 to $30 depending on site and hook ups. Extra $2 charge per night for 50 amp service and for extra persons past 2 per site We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Good clean campground. Friendly folks running the place. Main reason we went was because of the indoor pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Been staying here since the early 70's. Heavily wooded, sites with concrete pads and some gravel. Some sites have covered outside picnic tables. Multiple pools, one indoor heated. Nice store, a limited amount of apartment type and motel type rooms for non campers. Large indoor meeting facility for groups, dinners etc. Nice family who owns campground which is now managed by the children and grandchildren of the owner and developer. Close to Silver Dollar city. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This was our first trip in our travel trailer. We had a great time. Our site was clean and very cozy. They had a great playground for kids. We were there for fall break so outdoor pool was closed but looked like fun. Indoor pool was open and kids had a great time. People were friendly and they had a BBQ meal you can order and pick up at office. It was absolutely outstanding. Very convenient location once you figure out the backroads around Branson. We look forward to returning fall of 2003. Restrooms were clean. I loved the wooded surroundings. I would recommend this campground to all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$27
Nicely shaded large and level sites. People friendly and helpful. Plenty to do on site and in town. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com