223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Big Red Barn RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 106 user reviews. Phone: (417) 358-2432
CGID1599

Big Red Barn RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   9   8   8   9   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
I have stayed in many places across the US and this is the first time RV Park Reviews let me down. I have, however, learned a good lesson. When checking in and asking the rate, don't let the host get away with asking "well do you have Good Sam?" before quoting their rate. I don't know if we got ripped off, but I can't believe their regular rate could be $40/night without the discount. The wifi was absolutely nonexistent on our site and the sites (although level) had nothing to offer. This is the first time in ten years of rving that I felt gouged. I wouldn't stay here again unless they dropped their rates by at least 30% per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This is the second time we have stayed at this park. Spaces are long and wide. Wi-Fi and cable worked well. Staff is very friendly, even have cookies upon arrival. Nice area to run dog. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Stayed here 3 nights to visit friends in area. Be sure to watch for signs to find the park. There are shade trees and grass areas to walk the dog. The sites are gravel and level. Owners live and work onsite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$29
Small, quiet, clean park. Level sites. No fire rings or pits. No pool. Very comfortable. Clean showers and bathrooms. Laundry on premises. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
Very pleasant surroundings, spacious sites, friendly hosts. WiFi service not so good. Would stay here again. Got military discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Very quiet and restful setting (no train!). The utilities worked very well. Most spaces were full, but everyone was quiet and enjoying themselves. We really needed a restful night and got exactly that. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
We stayed here one night. Pleasant and clean. Nice staff. Sites were clean and level. Would return here any time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
We were greeted by the owner and she was very friendly and helpful to all what we needed to know. The park was clean and our site was level. We had lots of channels on the cable TV and great Wi-Fi service. It was raining when we stayed here and it drained well. The park was quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Very friendly staff at check in. We were asked how we heard about the park. I was told if I was a military veteran I could receive a discount with proof of service. They seemed to really appreciate our business. The park is very clean and has gravel roads and concrete site pads. All sites are pull-throughs . Well spaced trees shade most sites. Good cable TV,and Wi-Fi worked well. We will definitely stay again when in this area. Rate includes a military veteran discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
We stayed only for one night while traveling. We didn't hook up water or sewer or do much set up so we used showerhouse. Very quiet with very clean restrooms and showers (very old but freshly painted). Asked for a restaurant recommendation and directions to a diesel station. Received both from a friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
This is our fifth time staying at this very friendly park. The people here are exceptional from the hands on owner to the fellows who do all the repairs and the office staff as well. Even though there is no swimming pool the environment of small city life and the peace and quiet of being out in the country a little bit make up for that. We would definitely recommend this park for a day, a week or a month or more. Just a nice, friendly place to stay We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
This was such a lovely place, despite the 2-3" of snow on the ground. We stayed two nights to avoid traveling in a snowstorm and what a nice respite it was. The owners/staff were friendly, the office sold jams and jellies that were delicious. Everything was nice and neat and we had no complaints at all. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Don't waste your money on this campground, they are nice to your face but once you walk away they talk and laugh about you. Also when I was working with the oil company we had a break for christmas, when I can back they put a wheel lock on my rig because I was two days late in rent(I was in Texas) they will chase you down if you go a little more than the speed limit but the owner does not obey the limit...internet sucked did not stay on for anything. like I said DO NOT WASTE your time or money We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This is a picturesque park in a beautiful part of the country. The spaces are long with patios and picnic tables. Cable is good. Wi-Fi was in general good. We stayed for 5 days. It is very quiet. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
The people here were very friendly and helpful. For some reason, the cable did not work initially at our site, but the staff came to our unit and worked it out so that we could watch the college football game we wanted to see. This is not necessarily a place to stay for days and weeks since there aren't a lot of amenities, but for a day or two, it's very comfortable. We have absolutely no complaints! We would recommend it to others who are traveling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$19
We stayed here on the PA rate. It was only an overnite stop for us. Checkin was very easy and we were give a shady site which was good because it was 92 out and the rig was hot from traveling all day. The sites were level and the Wi-Fi worked OK. The cable worked fine. Overall this campground is well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice campground set in quasi-wooded area. Level gravel sites somewhat on the narrow side. They are long enough to keep toad attached barely (37 ft plus toad). Lots of trees but they don't interfere with maneuvering. Some highway noise. Easy access from highway. Power OK - 117v w/ac running. Water pressure low at 35psi. We will stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
I'd like to know how this campground got such great ratings from previous posts. We had to stay here for an extended time and by the previous reviews thought we had lucked out. The cable worked but only for 39 stations. The WiFi was slow and sporadic 99% of the time. They were great at check in but the rest of the time completely clueless. The staff weren't aware of the area, didn't know about restaurants, road closings, parks, lakes, etc. Quiet hours weren't enforced and their attitude seemed to be, "Oh Well." There is absolutely no water pressure on our site and from talking to other campers, not any in the park. The power went out three times in less than two weeks and not once was it weather related. I gave them a three because the cookies were good, the park was clean, and it was easy access to the highway. Anything else would be a disservice to others. Will not stay here again regardless of the reason. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Friendly staff at checking. Directions sound more complicated than they are. (GPS took us right there. About a mile off I-49.) Free cookies at check-in, and we were led to our site. Level site, did not need to unhook. Just here overnight. Pleasant and clean. Lots of trees. We would stay here again. The rate cited reflects a Good Sam discount to $31.50. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
Very nice park for an overnight or extended stay. Staff was friendly and helpful and escorted us to our site. WiFi was strong, but slow at times. Sites are level and the utilities are in easy reach. We would stay here again. The free cookies were a nice touch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
Sure did appreciate the 25% military discount. Nice park and hostess at check-in. Accommodating to our 41 ft RV and 25 ft car trailer. Quiet park with a few contractor workers for building a hospital in Joplin that turn in early. Strong Wi-Fi and digital TV available. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Destination park in farmland of Joplin Mo (Carthage) . Easy well marked access off I-44. Friendly office staff that escorts you to your site. Good home baked cookies given to you on check in. Good hard pack gravel interior roads with level gravel hard pack, long sites with room to maneuver. Lots of room for slides with shade trees and grass between sites . Was here during rainy weather and no issue with mud or flooding. Utilities conveniently located and worked properly with good 50 amp service. Good free Wi-Fi. Strong cell phone signal. 111 good cable HD TV stations .Clean showers and laundry rooms. Park has an rural feel to it with no train, plane or traffic noise. Close to Wal-Mart in Carthage and major stores and restaurants in nearby Joplin. Propane sold on site. Good overnight or long term stop. Would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$15
We are currently still staying in this park! The staff here is great! Fresh coffee and baked goods served in the office are awesome. I have never been to a park that has been this peaceful and clean! Way to go on a great testimonial! Your dedication has paid off, and we love it! Thanks to all the wonderful workers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$23
Gave us a treat for the pet and 2 cookies for us when we checked in. The cookies were very good and fresh. Excellent cable service and Wi-Fi was a little slow, but it allowed me to check my emails. Sites were gravel and fairly level with plenty of room. I would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Reservations easy. Staff very helpful and courteous. Park very clean. Bathrooms/showers very clean. Almost a half mile from Hwy 71, I did not notice any traffic noise. No rowdy guests. This price reflects Passport America discount. I'll definitely be back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Nice, clean campground with crushed rock, level sites. A lot of mature trees. Park is sufficiently away from US 71 that traffic noise was very minimal to non existent. Satellite did not work at my site due to trees, but digital cable had all you needed. Carthage was very close by and had a lot of interesting antique stores in its town square. I had a mechanical problem and stayed here for 8 days, while they worked on my motorhome at my site. Staff very friendly and empathetic to my situation. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
We used our Passport America membership to get this rate. The park is easy to get into and around. A well-kept park, it has gravel level pull-through sites. The staff is friendly and efficient. When in this area, we'll come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Check in was quick and easy by a friendly and efficient employee. The gravel site was easy to get to and level. They have digital cable and provide a converter box if your rig doesn't have digital television. We didn't use the cable. Highway 71 is fairly close by, but highway noise was barely noticeable. The grounds are well kept but with the drought, not at their best, nor their fault. The restrooms/showers are older but clean and odor free. This was a one night stop for us and the rate was Passport America. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
We stayed here 4 years ago and the park seems to have gone down. Landscaping is not near what is was before. Water pressure fluctuated from good to poor with mostly poor. We stayed here to get past the 4th of July holiday before heading more north. We were there 3 nights and the restroom was not cleaned the whole time. If back in the area we would look elsewhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
OK for overnight. Paid $27.00 for one night with Good Sam discount. All sites are fairly level. Restrooms and showers are older, well maintained, and clean. They are changing over to a new cable TV system. A special converter box is required for non-digital TV's. Over the air TV had strong signal. Wi-Fi was off and on while being worked on. It appears that they lost a few good sized shade trees at the tail of the Joplin tornado last year. Not as many good shady sites available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Excellent overnight park. Utilities are flawless. Park is nicely situated with great big trees. Staff was friendly and helpful. Too bad Carthage isn't a true destination. If it was then we would stay longer. Good Place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Nicely maintained park, free Wi-Fi and cable TV. Nice mature trees throughout park, but do not interfere with rigs. I was able to use satellite at my site. Sites are gravel; roads are paved or gravel. Sites are long enough for big rigs and spaced nicely. Nice place to stay overnight or for a few days. Close to Carthage and stores (Wal-Mart) and about 10 minutes from Joplin. Rate shown is based on weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Well maintained. Very friendly staff. No trashy looking long terms. Met lots of other interesting guests to visit. Stopped for the night. Would recommend and stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Rate reflects Passport America price. FHU pull-through level site with 50 amp service. Our site had a nice concrete pad for picnic table and concrete path from road to RV. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV. Both worked great. Very nice well-maintained and clean park with pretty landscaping. Easy access off I-44. Nice people in the office. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
Clean, quiet campsite close to antique stores and a few minutes from downtown. Wi-Fi was spotty at times otherwise would have rated it a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$28
Great place for overnight or longer. Roomy pull through sites. This is is our 2nd time staying at this cg. Will stay there again. Just a few miles north of I-44. Nice and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
This is a clean park and handy from Highway 71. Sites are level and mostly long enough for pull-throughs. Grounds are well kept and nicely landscaped. There are good areas to walk dogs. Wal-Mart and town services are 2-3 miles away. We have stayed here several times and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
This is a very, very nice RV park about 5 miles off I-44. Had I known how nice it is we might have planned to stay longer than one night. Sites are spacious and level grass or gravel with patios and tables (no fire rings). Lots of small trees give the sites a sense of privacy and larger trees offer shade. Everything is clean as a whistle. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They have 40-channel cable TV and free instant-on internet that actually works. Not to RV park owners - internet access is not a luxury gimmick; it's a necessity and these people understand that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Nice level sites with full hookup. Decent cable TV and good for overnight. Way off from the highway so it's quiet. I would stay here again. Decent Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
Quiet park, many of spaces have shade, gravel pull thrus, picnic tables available on many sites, lots of trash cans around campground, clean 2 stall/2 shower bathrooms, laundry, game room, very nice staff. All campers were invited to share hot dogs and hamburgers on 4th of July and a family birthday party with hamburgers for owners family member. We were here for 30 days, made very good friends and enjoyed our stay while helping to clean up Joplin after tornado. I would stay again if in this area. Love the little town of Carthage - a must see - travel down the original Route 66 which comes through this adorable little town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This park is not a destination by any means. Had to be in the area for an event, otherwise would have skipped it. Upon check in, though I had reserved a 50 amp site months in advance, they tried to put us in a "gravel parking lot" near the entrance with only 30 amp, no sewer, no patio pad, no picnic table and in the full sun with 104 degree record heat. Asked for a shade site and were given "begrudging so" a site in the back with one shade tree, concrete patio, and full hookups with 50 amp. Would not honor our Passport America discount on check in. Sites are very tight with no privacy. Advertised Wi-Fi was a quick connect, but no internet available the whole 4 days we were here. Garbage cans nice through park, but not picked up on regular basis which brought out masses of black flies. Could not sit outside. Dogs were running wild. We were awakened at 3 am by dogs going through garbage cans and barking right outside our patio area. Water pressure was awful. Only nice thing was the bath house and laundry was very clean (though dated) and had A/C with paper towels and soap. Which is rare for most parks. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
Nice park. Wi-fi good. Cable fuzzy. Would have given higher rating except Campground Host when we checked in was certainly not friendly (did not seem to care if we were there or not - we felt like we were sort of an inconvenience for her). After I presented discount coupon I was reassigned a much smaller site when several larger sites were available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Really nice small park with loads of landscaping, trees, flowers and other plantings. Our pull-through site was level, gravel, with cement patio and picnic table. Wi-Fi was very good although a little slow late afternoon with park filled up on weekends. Very friendly staff, low pressure atmosphere. Very historic town with first Civil War battle site, historic downtown and an original section of Route 66. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Level, paved sites. Interior roads paved. Spent one night while driving through. Friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$15
We have stayed here on several occasions when going back and forth from Wisconsin to Texas. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Sites are gravel but level. Only complaint is the sites given to short stays are extremely close. The rest of the park sites appear to be a bit roomier. WIFI is easy to connect to and works very well. No extra charge for it either. Our rate was the Passport America rate. A definite bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This is a nice campground. We use it only on a pass through basis going to our final destination. Has flat sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
This was our 3rd time staying here and as before, it was a wonderful experience. The owners are fantastic and even though they had a lot of snow hit, they had 2 sites plowed out so we could take our choice of them. Water is on year around, but it's probably best if you just run off your on board tank and fill as needed to prevent freezing. Their Wi-Fi is very easy to connect to and sets up automatically for you. If you're planning a stop in Carthage or nearby, I'd highly recommend this park. They also have a great gentleman that will come to your rig if you have a break down. Just go in and ask about H&H RV repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Stayed over night. It is several miles off the highway but has good signs showing the way. Nicely kept level gravel sites with concrete patios. Family owned. Most all class A coaches and large 5th wheelers there. (We were the tiny one in a Class B Roadtrek in the midst of the forest of big rigs). Only complaint is the bathhouses are getting dated and could use repainting and refitting. Yes, would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$27
This RV park is quite easy to get to from the main highway. The staff is very friendly and know their jobs. Our site was level. All the amenities were in good working condition. The park is very quiet, no loud trucks or trains. We would definitely stay here again, have been here previously about 4 times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
A nice quiet park. WiFi is marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Rate reflects PA discount. This is one of the nicest parks we have ever used and we have been full timers for six years. We did not find sites to be too close together so I presume that is a relative thing. Wi-Fi worked great as did cable TV. Entire park was extremely clean. We would most definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Easy access to a quiet park. Easy pull through sites. We were late in arriving and the camp host met us and led us to our site. WiFi strength varied but still usable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
A clean quiet park near Hwy 71 and Hwy 44. Good selection of free cable channels, and our Verizon worked just fine as did the campground Internet connection. We were placed near the back in a pull-through and did require slight leveling. Sites are rather close together and trees met we could not put out the awnings. On the other hand, we had cardinals and blue jays looking through the window from just a few feet away this morning. Owners were friendly. Much to do in this area so this is a nice base. Our rate reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
This is one of the nicest campgrounds I have stayed at. Very clean, well arranged, and friendly, quiet place. Great cable TV, not a lot of channels but enough, and clear. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This was a nice stop over park. Passport America rate. Close to Rt. 71, but far enough away that there was no traffic noise. Gravel site, with concrete pad under the picnic table. Friendly staff. Level sites with some shade. Small playground, no pool. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This is a very pretty small park. Most sites are shady, gravel. Has pretty level pull-through sites. Easy access from State Hiway 71. Host was very helpful. Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
Rate shown is Passport America discount. Friendly manager who got her son to direct us to our site. Site was gravel pull through and level. Cable TV channels were generally clear with a few snow ones. WI-FI worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is a friendly place with wide, level spaces, grass, trees and antiques placed around the grounds along with the Big Red Barn. It was quiet, peaceful and a light rain in the morning made the stop even more pleasant. We met happy work campers and were led to our space by owners son which was a nice touch. There is a well stocked store and the property is close to the best new and used RV parts dealer in the U.S. COLAW 10389 Cimmaron Road. We still have them mailing us stuff, like hard to find bulbs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Park has gravel roads and sites. We were here during a very rainy week and the sites took on water, but it drained surprisingly well. (Most of the area was under flood warnings, and many of the nearby creeks were were flooded.) The cable TV worked well and any thing that didn't work was fixed promptly. The owner was personable. The place is clean and neat. The laundry machines were not reasonably priced. There is limited playground equipment at a church in the camp's backyard that my children used. There are several places for running and playing ball. Not a resort, but all in all a nice, friendly place to hang out for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Second time here after a year and like it even better. It's a small, well kept park with not too many amenities but a very nice place to stay. If you have kids there is no pool or fishing. Don't think there is a playground either but a nice office and lounge area. Friendly people. Great staff. Will plan to stay here again for a pleasant, quiet overnight experience. Price is Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Registration was friendly, rules pointed out, given map to site with directions, level sites, easy to get into, notebook in office with local restaurant menus, friendly park workers, back row sites were nice for dog walking, spacious view of sky, TV cable worked great, nice variety of stations, relatively quiet, and all in all a nice campground for several days. Nightly rates is Escapees discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Nice campground for a short stay. Nice long, level pull-through sites, solid Wi-Fi signal, and nice selection of cable TV channels with good reception. Utilities placement was odd on some sites: on our site sewer receptacle was 30 feet beyond those for electrical and water. We stayed one night and would stay again. Used 15% Escapees discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Stayed one night and were lead to our site by a friendly employee. Had a level site in a clean park. It's close to Colaws RV Salvage yard. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This is a pretty nice campground, but the swing room is tight. We had medium level, road noise and some train noise. Our Verizon cell worked great. Park has nice people at the check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
We thought the signage and directions were very good. The check-in was friendly and the gravel sites were long enough for most big rigs. Wi-Fi was good. The streets are a little narrow so if the park is full, swing room may be a problem for some big rigs. The street after check-in is a narrow, sharp 90-degree turn with a building on one side and a fence on the other. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Clean, well maintained park. Convenient to I-44 but far enough away to limit the road noise. Level, gravel sites. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We stayed here two times in November 2009 - coming & going from Minnesota to Texas. Nice park, clean restrooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This is a very nice park. The sites are well laid out. Would recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
Very nice park. Wide long pull thru sites, 50 amp, 52 channel CTV, fast internet. Quiet location but still easy to get on and off Hwy 71. If you're in Carthage for any reason, this is the place to stay. Very friendly staff. Nice place. I'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This RV park is just south of Carthage, MO. We have stayed here before and have found it in good order with friendly management each time. Sites were level, trees are nicely placed. Utilities and cable access were in good condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Nice campground. The people running the campground were very friendly and helpful. There are nice pull through sites and it's a quiet area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
The park was almost empty when we were here but I could see no reason. It was very nice and clean and neat. You could tell the owner or managers were very involved and interested in keeping a nice park. Sites were easy to navigate in and out. Next time we are in the area we will be back. Loved how quiet it was. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
Easy access with excellent signs and directions. Well laid out park and very friendly staff. Level and roomy sites and hookups. A good rest away from highway sounds. Will stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This was a nice park. Operators kept close watch on it and were available if anything was needed. Nice level pads with lots of grass. Just a little pricey for its location. It was quiet. Pads were a little close together but OK. Easy hook ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Very nice campground with very friendly staff, hosts, and clean facilities. Owners hosted a July 4th bar-b-que for all campers and presented fireworks show that was ended with rain. I rated this an 8 based on size of area between sites, approximately 20 to 25 feet, but all very neatly kept with many trees providing shade for trailer and picnic table. Be sure to step out after sunset for a wonderful sight - the fireflies are many and quite enjoyable. Beautiful countryside area and close to stores and restaurants in Carthage, MO. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The nightly rate was for a site with electric and water only. I stopped for one night with no reservation. They were full up but found room for me. Very friendly folks. This was my second time to stay here. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
This is a very pleasant park with a comfortable feel and really nice folks who run it. Our site had a tree that gave us some shade in the evening. Three were lots of medium size trees. The hook ups were convenient and the spacing very reasonable. I think all the spaces are pull-through. There were plenty of grassy areas. Noise level was low. We had stayed here a month before and decided to stay again since we were traveling back through. I am sure we will stay here whenever we are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Well, we didn't have the same great experience that others had. It's an OK place; glad we were just overnighting and appreciated the prompt email responses we got before we got there. First, we got assigned to the wrong spot. Got that corrected, but we had asked to be close to some grass for our dog and we ended up in gravel sandwiched between big rigs. Took forever to get change for the laundry machines, as the gal at front counter couldn't remember how to open the register. Since I had to go back a second time (all the dryers were $1.25, except for one, which was $1.05!!), she got faster getting me some nickels. Machines functioned pretty poorly and that was our main reason for staying at a commercial CG--to do laundry. A plunger sat right on the bathroom counter...ick. Hightailed it out of there first thing in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
Stayed 2 nights, we were going to stay 3 but due to a thunder storm there was no power, the power company truck was coming into the camp as we pulled out. Nice camp with friendly staff. Nice wooded campground, gravel roads and sites. Great signs to find the camp and easy on and off the highway. we would stay again. Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
This was our second time staying here, and as in the first visit, we enjoyed everything about this park. Sites are very nice with good grass and many are shaded with trees. Laundry facility was good and the owners were very friendly and helpful. They take you to your site and will do what ever is needed to get you situated. I'd recommend this park to anyone wanting to stay in this area. The nightly rate reflects the Camp Ground USA rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
This is a nice park tucked away from the interstate in the countryside. We were late arrivals and there was a packet at the office for us with a map and directions to our site. There are plenty of nice sites there, some open and some wooded. We were in a pull through site that was easy to get in and out of. We saw some back in sites on the side of the grounds that looked very nice and a little more private. If we come back through we will try and get one of those. There is a nice little office and rec area also. We only stayed one night so can't say much about any other activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$26
I stayed here because of good reviews. I wasn't disappointed. This is great. Friendly staff. Well maintained. Level pad. Concrete walk and patio with picnic table. The address is 5089 County Lane 138; Carthage, MO 64836. It is east of the 71/571 split on the south side of town. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$21
This Good Sam's park is well kept, quiet, and has just about everything one could ask. Rate reflects GS discount. Over the weekend , three RV groups were there also, but there was plenty of space for everyone and no noise. We stayed a week because there is lots to do in the area and larger cities are not far away. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
We really enjoyed this park and stayed an extra day to visit the area and take advantage of a very nice park with reasonable price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$15
We stayed here for 2 nights and the rate reflects Passport America. This is a great park. We pulled into our site after being led by the lady from the office and our trailer was sitting almost perfectly level. That was a great start. Voltage is good, water pressure OK and WiFi worked great. WalMart less than 2 miles away and so is a Lowes. There is a good BBQ restaurant about a mile away called Ranch House. It was almost perfect for us since we don't need swimming pools or anything but full hookups and a level site. If it had paved or concrete sites I would have given it a 10. We will stay here again when back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We stayed (1) night and used our PassPort America membership for 1/2 price rate($12.50). Nice park, courteous staff. WiFi was recently added and is better than most. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
We had reservations here. Reservations didn't require a credit card; we just emailed them. Very easy. The sites are pull through and gravel. Each site has a picnic table. Staff was friendly. The bathrooms and showers were clean. No pool or recreational area. I would stay again if I were in the area. Carthage has historical places to visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
When we pulled into the campground the host ask if we had reservations..no. Gosh, it was frustrating to them. The park was half empty, but they made a big deal of it. Also the office was closing, and they said to find a spot and pay tomorrow. They just acted as if we bothered them by showing up at 4 pm and asking for a place to stay. This was our first time there, and it will be our last time there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Pluses: level, gravel sites with mostly paved roadways. Restrooms are reasonably clean along with the showers. There is self-check in after hours. There are a few permanent residents, but nothing messy or unkempt. Nearby roadway is a good route for bicycling (small amount of traffic). There is little noise from US 71 (distant background, about 1/2 mile away). Park attendant warned us of heavy winds from storms inbound to the area and to roll up our awning (greatly appreciated). Virtually all sites are pull-throughs. Owners appear to be expanding to the north. Minuses: Wi-Fi worked, but the internet link did not. Park operator said they were working on this problem. Disappointing since they advertise Wi-Fi as part of the promotion of the park. This left us stranded on communications when we thought all would work just fine. Ugh. Although not the park's problem, we had difficulty finding our way back on to US 71 northbound. A sign is needed to direct people back to the highway. It was a bit confusing. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Nice park and friendly staff. Quiet, clean, with level parking pads. No amenities or things to do; however, it is a nice place to stay while exploring the area. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Very nice, clean park. Staff was very friendly. Sites were a little close together but no closer than many parks. We not only enjoyed the campground, but Carthage is a very delightful town. The campground is very close to Walmart and many nice small-town restaurants. It was very easy to find. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$22
Very friendly management here. Park shows pride of ownership/management. At the time of our visit, they were installing new underground cable tv lines and as a result some of the ditches were still not filled in, others had been filled in but with the rain today they were very muddy. When the cable installation if finished this problem of mud should be resolved. The park has nice wide spaces, driveways/interior roads all just recently asphalt paved. Sites are gravel and quite level. If ever traveling in the area we would definitely stay here again. The park was extremely quiet at night ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
Roads, sites are gravel and level. Power voltage and water pressure was fine. Some privacy barriers between sites even tho this is a parking lot style camp. We were passing thru, so didn't spend much time here. We'll return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This is a level, gravel parking area with hook ups, divided with split rail fence. Picnic tables were only half a table with seating on one side. If every site was taken you would be packed in like sardines. They only put campers on every other site. The nicer sites are to the rear of the CG where the extended stay, and motor home folks get to park. The shower house was clean and new. Wifi worked flawlessly. The office and owners home is in a big red barn just as the name says. Its out in the country but only a couple of miles and the trip to Wal mart was easy. We stayed here to go to Precious Moments, that is a must see if you haven't been there yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Great park, ran in to a guy tonight while walking around, who asked me if I stayed here all the time. I told him no, we just like the park and come here once in a while (live in Ft Smith, AR). He said this was the nicest park he had ever been in, that usually the grass needs mowed or the pads needed gravel or were not level or something was needing attention and he could not find anything that wasn't just right. I guess I would have to agree with him, we have just been coming for so many years that we expect it to be this nice. I suppose I should have said something sooner, but my wife and I just got onto this internet thing and by the way, the wifi at this park is better than my internet at home and they are not charging anything to use it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Very clean and nice park. It was quiet and I enjoyed walking around the park in the evening. I have stayed here twice and will go back again. Children are welcome but there isn't a lot for them to do within the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
Just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed your park. We are full-timers and have stayed in many parks across the U.S. Your park was by far the best for the money so far in our travels. We especially enjoyed the nice landscaping. Hope to be back again sometime in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
This is a nice campground. The facilities are very clean and up to date. The people that run the campground are very helpful. This is not a site for campers with children, unless just for a night, as there are no real activities or facilities for children. The Wi-Fi is free. We would highly recommend this site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
This park is clean, quiet and very peaceful. The owners are friendly, my husband says they're "almost too friendly", and helpful with the area. The camp sites are gravel with small concrete patio and a picnic table. The sites are close but you do have some elbow room between you and your neighbor. There's a play ground area for kids. I gave it a rating of 8 for the following reasons - our site was very unlevel and we couldn't get the RV level no matter what we did, the trees between sites don't provide shade. They offer 10% AAA and Good Sam discounts. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
This was the cleanest campground I have seen. The people are great. The sites are big. Free wireless. Close to the Precious Moments Museum. I would stay here any time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$20
Nice clean park with shaded sites, concrete pads, and picnic tables. Friendly staff offered information on area attractions. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
Nice park. Level gravel sites w/grass between sites and concrete patio w/picnic table on concrete and sidewalk to table. Grass had no stickers. Some flies. No designated dog walk, so could walk dog everywhere & pick up immediately. Advertised WiFi had poor reception at site, had to go to within 50 yards of office. There was traffic noise despite claim of quiet. It did slack off later at night. Limited facilities: No pool, no sauna, no exercise equipment, small trading library, laundry- 3 washer machines, 4 dryers, no newspapers, no store for RV supplies. Owners fantastic and friendly with helpful info on restaurants and sightseeing. Carthage very scenic, but small historic civil war town. We would stay again for short time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
Great RV park, owners on-site, very helpful and friendly. We checked in after hours, but were met with a smile and directed to our site. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We liked this place a lot. Neighbors in the site next to us commented they had been on the road for two months and this was the nicest campground they'd found yet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$19
They have added new concrete patios, big ones, and the park is so clean and quiet and easy to get into and out of that I don't even look at any of the other parks in that corner of those states,(MO,AR,KS,OK)when I am close. The WiFi is so cool that you acn't believe that you are in the middle of the Ozarks. The owners told me that they are planning a Hot Tub for 2004 for adults and I think that would be great after a 500 mile day. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$15
Friendliest owner's we have ever met. Extremely clean and well back from the highway makes for very little noise. Excellent. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com