223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Point Mallard Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (256) 341-4826
CGID16

Point Mallard Park

Camp Information
Sites
239
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   5   8   8   8   1   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$22
Great RV park, owned & managed by city of Decatur with most amenities except cable TV. Antenna will pick up a few stations. Good Wi-Fi and cell phone connectivity. Level, shaded spots for everybody. Over 600 acres here with many, many spots and lots of locals know about this place. I will stay here again if I'm in this area. Price noted is senior citizen discount. Fire pits for all and cheap firewood available. Lots of shade and cool breezes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
Friendly staff, but not familiar with site sizes, locations, etc. Surprising number of full timers for a public park. A little difficult to find; follow directions carefully. Sites were a little larger than average, overall appearance a little better than average. We didn't use the golf course, tennis courts, etc. The rating would be higher if you wanted these amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Point Mallard appears to be part of a huge recreational complex. We were in the area visiting relatives and stayed here for one night. The campground is large and was very crowded. Many, many children. A very family friendly atmosphere, but kids were running wild throughout the night and were difficult to see while driving through the crowded park. Most sites, including 'overflow' sites, were filled. Fortunately, we had reservations. The sites were all gravel. Weaving around the campground in a bigger RV with a tow, would be a challenge. I did not think the sites were very spacious. We would have had trouble with our awning because of neighboring campsites and/or trees. We were given several choices to pick from when we arrived. None of the sites appeared to be accommodating. The management was extremely reasonable and found us an unoccupied seasonal site that they let us stay in for the night. The management was the best attribute of the campground. The bathhouses were very dirty. Many bugs and even animals were residing in the facility closest to us. There are many trees, and sites were level and gravel. There is no grass. We did not use the Wi-Fi. We did not take advantage of the nearby activities. If we were in the area again, I would probably stay to explore some of the adjacent activities, but I would stay with low expectations and avoid using the bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Point Mallard is an enormous recreation complex owned and run by the city of Decatur AL. It has soccer and little league fields, tennis courts, a huge water park, a golf course, archery ranges, bike trails and I’m sure other things we didn’t see. The campground seems to have a lot of “permanent” residents with a fair number of campsites for itinerants. The staff is very friendly. The campground is kept clean, they pick up your trash at your site 3 times a day. Our campsite (26) was a full service, pull-through site on a corner, so we ended up having traffic passing us on two sides. Next time, we will request one of the other sites. There was trash and cigarette butts in the fire ring, which we cleaned up because they were unsightly. Our price reflects the 15% Senior Citizen discount. This is also a Good Sam Club campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Nice big sites, easy to get in, good roads, large older trees and clean restrooms. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
Very nice wooded park setting - like a state park with gray squirrels and birds. Level gravel sites with good spacing between units. A great place for traveling through or spending a week. A few miles west of I-65 in the town of Decatur near the theme park. Nice people at check-in and those that maintain the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2013
$24
Yes, I went to this park. I have been there multiple times in the winter when the population is lower. This park is part of a city owned complex and has a large population of permanent residents especially during the warm months. The park is clean and well kept. I haven't used the bath houses and can't speak for them. The laundry was nice. It is centrally located to the city of Decatur but isolated enough so that you don't feel like you are in the busy city. During the warm months this is largely a trailer park rather than a campground in that they don't accept reservations and are consistently full. It's obvious there are vast amounts of long-term residents. I found the office staff to be unconcerned about visitor parking needs and demonstrated a take-it-or-leave-it attitude. While I wouldn't mind staying at the park again, I can't afford to drive my 35' MH there without reservations on the remote chance of getting a spot. I find their attitude unfriendly toward out of town visitors and more accommodating to locals who just need a place to store their RV. I would not recommend any out of town tourists planning on staying there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
For whatever reason the gal at check in didn't want to sell us a Good Sam membership. After some persistence she sold us the membership and applied the discount. The campground is quite nice. Lots of long term campers but still enough sites for others. Campground has shade trees, but does not provide privacy. Sites are decently spaced and level, but hook up location isn't great. We managed okay. Bathrooms/showers were good, as well as, the laundry facility. We enjoyed the campground and walking trail so much that we stayed an extra night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
City owned park, many full time residents. Clean laundry, stocked camp store, great folks running it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$21
We paid the senior rate of $20.70 per night for a 50 amp full hook up crushed stone / gravel pull thru site. The site was fairly level, there was a slight drop off as you first pull in and then the site flatten out nicely. Sewer was right there, but the electric and water were to the back of the site. No problems hooking up, but we did use two water hoses. We did not see a cable connection at our site. TV via batwing and Verizon cell and broadband were very good. The Park's Wi-Fi was also very good. Overall a nice municipal campground and we would stop again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$21
This park is mostly fulltime residents. We were instructed at check-in to go pick out our own site and let the office know what we had selected. We did. The beauty of this park is the long and beautiful walking trails. We were here during the time when the leaves changed colors and it was very pretty and peaceful. I think it would be wise to call ahead for reservations at this park since there are not many sites for short term people. We will stay here again when we get a chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
The staff was courteous and helpful. The pull-through sites were short and not level. Back-in sites were shady and more inviting. This was a one night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Nice city park. A lot of full time residents. Some routes in the park are not big rig friendly, we are 57' long hooked ready to tow. I would suggest you walk or have them take you by golf cart to your site to confirm you can get through with your rig. There is multiple ways to get around the park for access. Would return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$22
Rate quoted is with Good Sam discount. This is the second time we have stayed here. It is a little hard to find, not right off the freeway, but in a residential area. Several long term residents in the park. It is on our route when we head south for the winter. Will probably continue to use it as a stop over for a day or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
Nice overnight with Wi-Fi and easy in and out. Gravel sites. Roomy. Many snow birds for the winter. Big Bob Gibsons barbecue for ribs was very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Rate reflects Good Sam Discount. We stayed four nights. Site was easy to level. They only have four channels of cable so we didn't bother. Laundry room was very clean. Our Verizon air card worked well. We enjoyed our stay and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
Nightly rate reflects Good Sam discount. They also provide a Senior discount for 62 and older. We stayed two nights. We used a pull-through site. Sites were gravel, level, and fairly close together with not much screening or privacy. Hook-ups were easy to use. Verizon cell phones worked in the area. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will probably stay here again if the need arises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$21
This is a very well maintained city park. We were pleasantly surprised! Any privately owned or KOA campground of this caliber would cost at least twice the nightly rate. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Restrooms were clean and warm, and the laundry facilities worked well and were priced right ($1.50/wash and $1.00/dry). Our pull-through site was a nice size and completely level. The park is conveniently close to stores like Wal-Mart, Krogers, etc. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We loved this campground! The roads were paved, but the sites were gravel. Our site was very level, and all the others appeared to be level also. The sites were roomy. There were a lot of trees, so shade was not a problem. Point Mallard has a full size golf course along with a water park and batting cages. Decatur is a fairly large city so shopping and restaurants are close by. We were disappointed there was no cable TV or Wi-Fi. We camped in a back-in campsite. They had pull-through sites, but we went with the back-in site because we liked the looks of it better. We had no trouble getting in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
We have used this park for several years to visit family. We have always enjoyed it a lot. The sites are all full hook ups with 50 amps. Seems like they are making improvements all the time. There are a lot of trees but the sites are still spacious. This county park is part of a recreational complex near the river: has a golf course, biking trail and an olympic sized pool. There is no Wi-Fi or cable TV. We got the senior rate. We will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
We have used this park for the past four years and although they have added sewer connections to some of the sites very little has been done to improve the rest of the park. All of the existing sites are either dirt or gravel. Paving the sites would greatly enhance the appearance and use of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We stayed here one night traveling north. One can't make a reservation during the summer. The sites here are very, very shaded. Narrow roads if towing. We could not get our satellite to work. The lady at front entrance is not a people person. The park is only good for a one night stop. We would stay only as an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Sites are widely spaced apart and very well shaded. Well-maintained. Only complaint was that when we got to our assigned site, a CG worker on a golf cart came up quickly and told us not to back in. We had already noticed some very soft spots at the site, and the worker told us that the last motorhome had to be towed after it sank into the ground. After a lot of give-and-take, they advised us not to back all the way into the site. This was acceptable, but if that worker had not come up. They should have designated the site as unusable until it was repaired. Get directions from the park; our GPS took us through a large residential neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
Quiet campground outside town a ways from I-65, we got to choose our own site, city run as part of big recreational area, very nice golf course across street, wide sites in the trees with picnic table & fire ring, more back-ins than pull-throughs, well paved interior roads, trash picked up from site daily. Lucky for us our nephew had credits so didn't cost. Antenna reception not bad but no internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Friendly staff. There was plenty of shade and the spaces seemed to be very level so setup was no problem. Only problem was that there were no spaces with sewer connections, these seemed to be being used by some long term campers. I would stop here again for an overnight (though it is a little distant from I-65) or for a couple of days. Restrooms and showers were clean and well stocked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$15
Nice city campground. Stayed in more rustic area and during week so sites were not full. Gave us a lot of privacy and quiet We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
We had a nice, shaded pull through [site 74] which required minimal leveling. Avoid site 62 if you have slides as it is narrow. Rate reflects senior discount. We would certainly stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
A nice city-run park. Lots of trees but the sites were big enough. Everyone was very friendly. Excellent park for the cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
This City park has a lot of potential. The sites are fairly level and are on gravel. They are wide, and will handle large rigs with slides on both sides. There are trees for shade in the heat. The check in process was uneventful although they are remodeling the office currently. We asked for a site that would accommodate satellite TV and Internet and they assigned us to a site that had a screen of trees to the south which didn't work. We looked around and found a site that would work and went to the office to see if we could move. The office was closed so we went to the camp hosts. They were very nice and allowed the move. (This is one of my objections of municipal parks. There is no one there with any authority after normal business hours.) Unfortunately for us we ended up close to the long term renters. Even worse is that the camp next to us had two Harleys. The man started his up at 5:55 am and it had no muffler. It was the noisiest Harley that I have ever heard. Then he let it idle for about 5 - 10 minutes as he revved it up to get it to run since it was missing so badly. Finally he went to work. We complained to the office later and they apparently gave him a warning notice but said they could not kick him out since he was monthly. He also worked on his Harleys (he has two) during the day on Sunday. Being around the long termers is a different experience than being with the overnighters. This campground also allows campfires. This may be a plus for you but it can be a pain if you are downwind. We would consider coming back to this campground but only if we could park with the overnighters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$19
A really fine place to stay! Camp host was very helpfull recommending Andy's RV Repair to fix a plumbing problem. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$18
I stayed at Point Mallard for 10 months while I was working in the Huntsville area. I can't say enough good things about this park, the staff, the amenities and especially the camp host and his wife. Dallas and Toni are among the nicest and sincerest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They made staying at this park even more enjoyable. My two kids adored them, as did we. I plan on re-visiting the park in the future, if not for a place to stay while working, then just to get away and to see Dallas and Toni again. You can't go wrong with this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$16
Very nice park with all the amenities. Very fast check-in. Security was great. WIll go back in the summer. Beautiful and well maintained park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
We stopped overnight here on our way back from Destin, Florida. I was very pleasantly surprised. It was a well kept campground with a family atmosphere. I'm not sure if we'll ever be in the area again in need of somewhere to stay, but if we were, I would be pleased to stay at Point Mallard again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
Excellent campground. Full hookups for $16 senior rate. A bit close together at our section, but room for extra vehicle and picnic table. Gravel sites, mostly level. Satellite access with portable antenna at sites along west outer loop. 18 hole championship golf course part of park. $14.45 senior rate, walking. Half hour from Space and Rocket Center. Nice People. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
This was an excellent park. Everything is clean and in good working order, and the grounds are very well maintained. The camp host was extremely friendly upon our arrival (about an hour after regular hours) and helped us get everything squared away. The only negative I had was with the regular office staff. Their is a young guy that works in the office who can be quite rude and ignore you completely. Other times he can be extremely friendly and helpful, so it seems to depend on his mood. I would recommend this park as a destination for anyone. A couple of other notes - there are many long term campers, as the campground does allow month-to-month camping. I see this as a negative, since the weekend we were there they were booked to 100% capacity, yet many sites had trailers without people (they reserved the site and parked the camper long term, but didn't show up for that weekend). This annoys me enough in a private campground, but seems inappropriate for a public facility. Also, a positive/negative is that the fishing is good and there are plenty of nice spots to fish from, but there are also a lot of snakes (which we saw) and even a few alligators (which we did not see). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
This was our first time out of the driveway with our travel trailer. I honestly do not have experience for comparison, but I can't imagine a better time to be had. The campground was very quiet. I believe most of the campers on the site were there under monthly rentals because we didn't see a whole lot of activity. The staff were friendly and we were even greeted by an off-duty Decatur police officer that regularly patrols the park when he is off-duty to make sure nothing is afoot. He says that the residents are proud of their park and want to preserve its image. It must be working because it was very clean and well groomed. We were there over the holiday weekend and, even so, did not see evidence of neglect with the upkeep, trash pick-up, etc. We will definitely stay here again since we regularly visit the area to visit my family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
We camped here again Thanksgiving. My parents were able to join us this trip and everyone had a great time. I really enjoy this cg and was able to go ice skating this trip. We will be coming to this park many more times .This is well worth the trip. Not far off the interstate.Very easy in and out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
This is an excellent park.The only reason I dent make it a 10, is not all sites are sewer hook up. There are many things to do within walking distance to the park. Golf, ice skating, water park, driving range, and batting cages. There was a Civil War reenactment the Labour Day weekend that was very good. My kids enjoyed the park greatly. Great area for riding bikes,everyone was friendly. The host is very friendly and welcoming. The staff is very nice and helpful as well. This park is run by the city and patrolled at night by the city police. This will definently be a destination for us in the future. Even with all the things near the park to do, we had no problem with noise. Its very quiet at night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
This was our second camping trip, and we enjoyed it. The park was OK, but a bit crowded. Roads were paved, but RV pads were dirt/gravel. Rain made a mess of things. The water park was nice, and fun, but an additional $40 for my family. The on-site store was nice, and playground was too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We stayed here one night heading to and one night heading back from Gulf Shores. This is a really nice city run campground. In fact I have never stayed in this type of campground. The low price is amazing for a full hookup site. Nice shady sites. Wish we would of had the time to go to the nearby waterpark. I would definitely come back here if I had the chance and for a longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$16
We spent one week here. We enjoyed taking walks along the River and around the Recreation area. The staff was friendly. The area had many attractions to visit. I missed not having Internet access. We'll stop here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$14
We were looking at Northern AL for retirement and had spent several nights at WalMart. This campground was a welcome relief. We called in advance while traveling and had a site all set. Restrooms were clean and showers hot and water plentiful. A number of campers were sitting around the night before Thanksgiving and enjoying the mild fall air. If we should retire to the area, this would be a definite spot to visit and spend some time. Mid-way between Huntsville and Florence, it was easy to get to and extremely relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Bathhouse were small and not that clean. Several toilets and urinals ran over each time flushed. Showers would let water run out into the main restroom floor. Some site back up to soceer fields that were busy most afternoons and all day Sat and Sun with practice and games. Hearing constant yelling and whistle blowing was somewhat annoying. The park and campgrounds are adjacent but run by different groups. Park will schedule live bands and big parties without notice to campground. We encountered live band that played very loud music until around midnight. With small children it was a problem sleeping. Campground has no prior warning so they are unable to alert campers this may be a nusiance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$14
This was a very nice city run park in a very nice area. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very neat and well kept. I gave it a 9 rating only because of no cable t v. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com