206532 User submitted reviews online!!
Hayti/Portageville KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (573) 359-1580
CGID1611

Hayti/Portageville KOA

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   6   6   7   8   4   8   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Good for an overnight stop. If campground were full, access to sites for big rigs might be tight. Level sites, some trees. Gravel sites have reverted to grass in most instances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Enjoyed our overnight stay as we had a drive through spot on the corner of the NE side of the campground and the campground was not busy. Gravel with nice green grass compared to the dirt and mud so often seen. All hookup areas well maintained. Only problem was WiFi advertised but never worked even after calling front office. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Rate reflects KOA discount. Park is located right beside I-55 so there is some traffic noise. You exit I-55 then drive several miles on a poorly maintained local road. Camp sites are level and gravel. Each site has a picnic table and fire-ring. Even though the have big rig access, noticed a 5th wheel pulled by a large truck experiencing problems pulling into their site (the back end of the 5th wheel and the front end of the truck stuck out into the road about a foot or so). One TT was being worked on at the site and the work was very noisy. Host was friendly. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
OK for an overnight but pretty spare. Some trees but very weak wi-fi with an hour of time for free. Probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Laundry a little pricey. Showers are individual rooms and clean enough that we actually used them. Sites were long enough and fairly level. Roads are narrow and we backed up rather than risk making a turn. In dry weather this would not have been an issue as the area is very flat - after 15 inches of rain we were concerned. Outer Road was uneven and bouncy. Excellent diesel choices in Hayti (6 miles). We would stay here again for the convenience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Used for just an overnight stop. Interior roads are in good shape and pull through site was adequate. All services worked well. Checkin was fast and easy. Staff were helpful. Probably not a destination park but very good for overnight. Will use again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
A typical, close together site KOA. The WiFi is included but requires a new "key" each and every time one logs on. I found it a bit spendy. I do not know why a campground in Missouri would find it needful to shut down their pool on the Labor Day weekend. The campground is clean and there are lots of pull through sites. The 20 amp-outlet was non functional in site #35. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Needed a place to spend the night, while it was quiet. It seem a bit pricey for what you received. The interstate was in view, but had to take a service road to reach it for about 3 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Convenient to New Madrid history, easy to find off I-55. Clean facilities, including pool. Closest restaurants/gas 6 mi away. Drawbacks: Wi-Fi is rationed to 2 tickets (60 mins) a night (not sure why). Also, the air conditioned community center ("rally room") was kept under lock and key and not available (again, not sure why). Pricey for what you get, but it's about the only show in town. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
Stayed one night...not again! Pass this place by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$37
The place is in general disrepair. Ruts filled with water on the road. The wi-fi worked at the camp site, but it was the worst service I have seen in a long time. Provided by some off-brand (Wildblue Communications) the response time was slow, but worst of all, after you'd read your email and browsed a few web pages, you were automatically cut off! They justify this as "restricting your bandwidth." We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
What a disappointment for a KOA! Talk about over-priced! Wow! The price of $36.92 a night only included electricity. No water or sewer hookups and no WiFi. There also was no cable or satellite TV available. Imagine that - all of nothing for that price. It felt like "highway robbery". I have this one on my "do not return" list. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
A clean, flat park - nice owners. Very close to I-55. While they advertise wi-fi, it appears not to be set up properly, and the owners don't know enough about it to maintain it. The gravel and grass part of my site was solid and level, but the grass only part was spongy. Okay for an overnight stop, but I don't know if we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$39
Well, I don't feel quite as enthusiastic about this park as the previous poster, but do agree that the owners are very friendly, and are trying hard to make a nice CG out of what they have - which is a smallish, shaded CG right along a major interstate (can you say "road noise"??) Pluses: good owners who care about their customers, individual shower rooms, clean bathrooms, convenience to interstate, and owner will take & deliver pizza orders to your site. Good for an overnight, but be prepared to wear earplugs if you're in a tent or pop-up. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2007
$32
Nice friendly folks, smaller campground. On I-55 some road noise. No TV reception, not really a problem on sleepover stop. However for 32.00 and change, water would have been nice. Didn't use any other facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
We had a very bad experience at this park. I am posting on all web sites that I can about the treatment we received at this campground. We work camp for KOA and have done so for two years. We stay at KOAs in our travels 30 plus nights a year, not including our work time stays. Never have had any problems. I will try to make this short. We had free night certificates from KOA for travel, not enough for every night, so we knew some nights would have to be paid for. We asked the owner if she would honor one of the certificates and she said no, so we paid for site by credit card. 15 minutes after we were there, all set up and unhooked from truck, she knocked on our door and said we had to leave immediatly. She falsely accused me (female) of ripping something off the womens bathroom wall and she had it on video. A camera in the restroom?? I never even went into any restroom. She called the sheriff and we waited up front for him because we did nothing wrong. He told us she just wanted us to leave. We asked to see the "video" and he said to take it all up with a judge. We did not get a refund for the site and two days later there was a charge for $80 on my credit account beside the site fee from there. Could not believe it. None of my work camping friends can either. Stay away from Hayti KOA!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
We loved this park. My family and I were just stopping over for one night, but decided to stay for two. The owners were so very nice, my family and the entire park were invited to their rally room to eat Jambalaya and visit. We had a great time even though it rained! The bathrooms and showers were spotless! I cannot comment enough on how hard the owners worked to make our stay an enjoyable one! We will definitely return again, hopefully very soon! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
We left here the day after July 4th. They had a free BBQ for the campers and they had fireworks for the kids that night. A fun time was had by all. The owners are friendly and helpful. They had a fabulous pizza which they delivered to our site and the wifi worked great! The sites are well kept and there is plenty of room for slideouts and vehicles. The store had a little bit of everything. The bathrooms are impeccably clean, and the hot tub and pool were great! This campground is a little way off from towns and stores but it is a quiet friendly relaxing place to stopover. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
This is an old park that sets miles away from towns and is surrounded by farms. The bathrooms were well worn but well maintained. This is one of the KOA's that say the have WiFi that actually does, though is sometimes faded out for a few minutes. The owners/managers were friendly. There are lots of trees wide open spaces for walking and a lot of grass, the park itself is surrounded by row crops. Sites are side by side and you may have to share a picnic table with your neighbor. It's definitely a good stop over. We stayed three days doing family business nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
We came here in place of the Casino Aztar Campground. (see my review of that campground) I am writing this review from my RV using the FREE wireless internet connection. If you dont have a computer, they also have a computer with an internet connection in the store which you can use for a small fee. They have great pizza delivered to our site. The restrooms were spotless and the showers clean and fresh. Our dog had plenty of room to play and was welcomed by the staff. The staff and owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The sites were big enough for our RV and we didnt feel at all cramped like at the Aztar Campground. We will stay here at the KOA and drive to the casino for our future visits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
I am at this campground now, using their Wireless Internet from my cabin. It is stable, fast and free. The campground is small and not many people are here. I don't understand why. The new owners here are very friendly and so are the staff. They provided me with a wake up call and fresh coffee made in the store. Although the campground is right on the I-55 freeway, I heard no noise and was able to sleep soundly. The restrooms and showers are immaculate. I will be coming back here on my return trip. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
They just took this koa over, so they are still in some restoration processes. The pool was 3 ft to 8 foot, and other amenities included: a hot tub, a playground, free showers, great restrooms, 24 hour laundry, and a general store with rv supplies. I can't remember having a better experience. It's six miles from Caruthersville and less then 20 mins to Sikeston. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
This kampground has just been taken over by new owners. The new owner is very accommodating, and very eager to please. Many improvements have been made to this park since our last visit. The stories of the previous owner by the locals are legendary and they are very open to voicing their pleasure at the new owner. We like this kampground and new owner so much, we are planning to return regularly. The new pool is very clean and inviting. The grounds have been tidied up a great deal and the new owner is still working on improvements, especially for the playground. The laundry is open 24 hours, is clean and very functional. Nearly all the sites are pull-throughs and our 40 foot 5th wheel was accommodated without any effort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$38
We had been traveling for 3 months, we had campgrounds that were wonderful and some that were so so, their prices usually denote their quality. Most of the KOAs we stayed at were very nice with a family set up, this place was a swampie, bug ridden, mess. The owner who was a female was pushie and rude as heck, I was so disappointed with this place that I actually wrote to KOA. I have never done this, never! Of all the campgrounds we stayed at over the past 90 days, this was the worst and by far the nastiest!! With the Koa discount membership card, we paid $38, we would not have stayed but it was late and we were very tired. This has no pool, no play area, no nothing, just campsites and mosquitos due to all the standing water. We stayed in 2004 in our motorhome. The mandatory pet area, is a strip of grass with a fire hydrant and a rock... We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$29
This was an excellent RV park. It rained real heavy the evening we were there and water pooled real bad. Also swarms of mosquitoes the next morning while packing up. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Camp was expensive for the services offered. Stayed at a very nice KOA the night before for $10 less. Owner (wife) was rude. She made wise cracks about us as we were checking in. Also, we were headed for the pet walk with our dog and stopped to talk to a neighber. Owner came over in golf cart and told us the pet walk was over there! We said, that we know and just stopped to talk. She said she'd wait and sat in her cart until we moved on. We won't stop there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Just read the most recent review and would like to offer a rebuttal. I have stayed in this KOA six times a year for 22 years now, under the current ownership for the past 15. The owners are the most gracious and accommodating I have ever encountered in all my travels. Considering it was completely destroyed by fire three years ago, and rebuilt from the ashes is a testimony to their desire to maintain a first class facility. They are honest, hard working, friendly, and will give anyone whatever that person may need, without question. I personally wrote a letter to KOA which resulted in their recognition at the national KOA convention. I find the review in poor taste and am insulted by the writers allegations about "relatives and liars". I am neither! Nor am I impressed by a $70,000 rig, as apparently civility didn't come with it! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$31
The woman who owns this park woke us up before 7 a.m. and demanded cash because she thought we had shorted her a few dollars on our late arrival deposit!!! She wouldn't even let us get dressed and come to the office to pay!!! "I only own one KOA, thank God", she said. We were driving a new $70,000 rig, but this moron treated us worse than trash, over a misunderstanding of less than $9 - the way I read her stupid rate chart, I thought she owed me money. I've never seen such behavior from a rational human being. Whoever made the comment about the nice owners is a relative or a liar. Check with the local gas stations and rest stops - they've heard it all before!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Well kept grounds. Shady sites. Very friendly owners, will fix a good breakfast for nominal charge. Quiet. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com