224277 User submitted reviews online!!
Watkins Woolen Mill State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (816) 580-3387
CGID1621

Watkins Woolen Mill State Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   9   10   9   7   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$21
This is a beautiful area in September with lots of forested land. Beautiful restrooms/showers. $21 per night for electric only. Some sites are concrete. Missouri knows how to care for and create great campgrounds! Be sure to visit the Woolen Mill historical site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
This is a nice State Park. Very nice 3.75 mile paved hiking-biking trail around the lake. They have mostly gravel back-in sites although there are probably 8-10 paved back-in's which looked long enough for larger rigs. They have both reservable and non-reservable sites. If you arrive without a reservation, I'd recommend stopping at the Check Station just inside the campground and see if they will assign you one of the paved reservable sites. There are some longer paved sites in the non-reservable section also,(the last loop). Sites are electric only. 50-amp is available. The park is about 5 miles east of I-35 off of Hwy 92. It's a real roller-coaster ride getting from the freeway to the park. I'd probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$26
We were only here one night but enjoyed the surroundings very much. We've been impressed by the Missouri state parks so far - clean and neat. Our site was gravel and a little downhill and our levelers kind of sunk into the ground. A little more rock on the sites might be able to help. We liked the bike path around the lake and our kids enjoyed the playground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
Extremely nice state park. Has large, well-spaced, wooded sites. Level pads were gravel and grass. Electricity was good. No WiFi. Very well maintained campground. Friendly hosts who came to site to check us in and give us information. Tour of the mill and house is well worth the time. Can visit the museum and outside the mill and house without the tour for free. Our first visit to a Missouri State Park and we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
Our first time at this park and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Shower houses were individual with locking doors. Restrooms were clean and well stocked. Electricity was stable throughout the busy 4th of July weekend. The 4 mile bike/walking trail was easy to moderate and had great shade. The naturalist had many activities during our stay. Camp hosts and rangers patrol often and kept everything very peaceful! No water or sewer but they do have water bibs throughout the park and a nice clean dump station at the exit of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
The only reason this campground does not get a perfect "10" rating is due to the lack of water / sewer hook-up sites. The campsites are easy to back into to, fairly level and roomy. Each site has a nice picnic table and fire pit compete with grate for outdoor cooking. The restrooms, showers and laundry room (with utility sink) were all very clean. The campground is close to the lake and trails. On the other side of the park is the visitor center and museum. The museum was very informative and don't miss the tours of the old Woolen Mill and Farm House. The Woolen Mill shut down in the early 1900s and most of the original equipment is still in place. One of the best kept secrets near Kansas City for a weekend get away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
With a very friendly and hospitable greeting the campground hosts drove up to us at our site to check us in. Beautiful and spacious sites, very wooded and relaxing. The very clean toilets and showers were newly built in the area we stayed, with private shower stalls. This was next to a new playground and made clean up easy with children. The roads were paved and well kept and the children could bike and scooter in fun and safety. We stayed Friday thru Monday and by Monday we were pretty much alone. This campground would have gotten a higher overall rating if there were more activities closer by, but the campground itself is excellent. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$19
Missouri State Parks are great places to stay. This one is no exception. Campground host were terrific. Make sure you tour the Watkins Mill and also hike the paved trail around the Lake. Make time to go to Excelsior Springs too. It is not far to travel back to Kansas City to see some things there too. The Arabia Steamship Museum is a must see and Harry Truman's Library is not far off the path either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
We loved this Park, nicely wooded sites, friendly staff, immaculate rest rooms and wonderful biking and hiking trails. The Mill tour is a do not miss. Very awesome spot. Stayed on a Motorhome (40') in a back in, heavily wooded. Check their website first, they have photos of all sites. Delightful Park system in MO. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
Watkins Woolen Mill State Park. Missouri parks continue to be upgraded with 1/10-1% sales tax. Internal paved roads, some concrete pads (ours was gravel but level). 50 Amp service. Large 2 sided dump station with two fresh water spigots New restrooms and individual shower rooms. Well shaded, grassy and hilly. Deer, wild turkey, owls, racoons and other abundant wildlife. This is a beautiful park with large fishing lake with beach (10 HP motor limit), paved bike/hike trail, and the US only remaining 19th century woolen mill with all equipment remaining. Watkins Mill, family home, out-buildings, grounds are well interpreted by Missouri Park interpretive staff ($2.50 admission is worth it). Great place to stay and relax. Jesse James birthplace and farm is 3 miles, interpreted by Clay County Park staff. Good site to visit, too, but $7.00 admission is a little steep, although we happily paid it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$13
We were there in July. Very buggy and muggy. No breeze reached most sites because of trees. We didn't think park was particulary attractive but it was the public facilities - the bathrooms/showers were so bad that we never setup the camper - we just drove on down to Kansas City and got a motel for the night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Watkins Mill is a great family campground with level shaded sites. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful. The bike trails offer easy access to swimming and fishing areas. Children will be entertained for hours on the wooded dirt trails within shouting distance of most campsites. My son especially enjoyed the hands on snake program at the ampitheatre which is just steps away from the site. He rates the campground a 10! If you need an electric site, go early or make a reservation. The 56 sites fill fast on the weekends! Make sure to bring your bike. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com