220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Peculiar Park Place RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (816) 779-6300
CGID1632

Peculiar Park Place RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   10   9   10   9   7   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
friendly, accommodating staff. level sight with cement patio, table and benches. nice view. road noise minimal even though close to highway. stayed one night in route on road trip. would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$29
After reading other reviews, we decided to stay here for one night on our way south. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Sites are level and long; nice to have a small patio with concrete picnic table. We had no trouble with electric, water, or sewer. Nicely landscaped area. We didn't have time to walk their trails, but would like to if we come this way again. The two biggest drawbacks are the steep drive coming in and interstate noise, but we also know that any campground by a major road will have noise and so we don't expect any real quiet as you would have in the boondocks. As for the drive, I was expecting it after reading one review so drove in very carefully. There is another driveway, but it would bring you up to the office the wrong way and you would end up trying to turn around. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
This is a clean, well-run park. Our site was level and easy to get into. The staff are all friendly and are welcoming to their guests. The owner understands full-timers and their needs. The Wi-Fi was good most of the time and our Verizon broadband worked very well. Campers in the park were mostly long-term people who worked in the area. They were quiet. The only negatives were noise from the nearby highway and the fact there was only one individual restroom and shower for men, one for women. The the floor was not clean. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Easy place to overnight after a long day of driving on our way down to Texas. Nice level pull-throughs. Friendly staff. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
I really like this campground. Very clean overall. There is a nice dog area. The Wi-Fi is pretty good. Very friendly manager. Access for big rigs is good. Easy to pull in spots. Monthly rate in September is $440. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We stopped here for an overnight stop. Escorted to our pull-thru site which was nice and level. Good Wi-Fi signal, friendly staff, but a funny name for the town and park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
This is very nice park. I at first thought there were some untruths in their ad, i.e. every site has a view, but later discovered the owners have a sense of humor. My site #58 was long, large and level. Good water and voltage. A quiet place to get a good nights sleep. I would stay here again and recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is the second time we've camped here and only because it is the closest campground to our children. Level pull-throughs, narrow sites, and well maintained interior gravel roads. The Wi-Fi worked well. It is not at all kid friendly. The freeway noise is constant and loud. Our biggest complaint is the monthly rate is for (28 days). The full month of August would cost $435 plus $32/day for the 3 additional days. Way too much considering it's location and lack of amenities. We have been full-timers for over 10 years and have never encountered this before, nor has anyone else we know. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
This park is very well maintained and the owners are wonderful people the wifi worked awesome here not too many trees where we were at but was a very nice stay would recommend staying there to anyone traveling thru i would stay there again if we were in that area. The restrooms were clean and well maintained also. A beautiful RV Campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2013
$32
First of all, campers are charged extra if they have more than one car (including motorcycles). Our friends had a motorhome, car and motorcycle - the owner told him if he removed the motorcycle from the lift, he would be charged extra. The owner doesn't like kids. He told me that's why he doesn't have a swimming pool or playground. He does rake his roads almost daily. He also shows favoritism to the more expensive rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
They take cash or check only. We stayed for one night; everything worked; good water pressure. Our site was level and long enough that we didn’t have to disconnect the car. We were escorted to our site which is always nice. We would come again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
The website claims this park welcomes ALL RVers, is a family friendly place. It is not. Children are not allowed. The owner is rude, there are no games or arcades which is also misrepresented on their website. There are only two unisex restrooms, one of which is always locked, and both located behind over full, and rodent infested garbage cans. The laundry is overpriced and machines don't operate properly. The sewage empties out behind the park, and if you are located on the back side, the breeze carries the smell right to you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Nice place to stay just off the highway. We were only here one night and had nice level pull-through. Grounds are very well kept and the bathroom/showers were perfect. There was a big group of large coaches staying here long-term, other than that it was not that crowded. All in all, good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
This was a great overnight Park that is far enough away from rundown areas of South Kansas City. It has really nice landscaping (a little pond, pretty flower pots and concrete sculptures.)I liked our concrete picnic table and patio slab. The RV's are neatly terraced. Unfortunately, the view is the interstate. It is very noisy. We turned up the AC unit to drown out the trucks. Also, there was only one bathroom/shower unit. I would have rated this lovely park higher but the outside traffic noise at times was deafening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
Entrance road is steep and poorly marked until you are right on it. Roads and sites are hard packed gravel and very easy to level on. Stone patios with nice concrete tables and benches would be even better with more shade. No Cable TV, but lots of Off Air TV channels. WiFi is slow we ended up tethering through our smart phone. Campground is an excellent value. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Overnight spot in the back section (over hill from Freeway). Quiet. Was a little tight getting in and out of the space. Overall, a good stop over location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
After driving by this park several times, we finally decided to try camping here. What an error on our part not to stop sooner! The sites were clean and well maintained, and the park hosts were amazing. We arrived after hours and the host left her home to meet us at the office, making sure we were settled in before she left. Beautiful sunset, and we slept so soundly the road noise was not a concern. We pass through this area every year, and look forward to camping here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
The entrance is steep. The sites are gravel, but level and handle large rigs.The single restroom shower is clean and has good water pressure. There is a large area for pet walking. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
We like this park when coming to the Kansas City area as it is nicely maintained. The sites can be somewhat close together but they easily handle big rigs. The hosts are nice and helpful. The highway is nearby and is fairly busy so beware if traffic noise bothers you. WiFi is advertised but I had difficulty connecting and trying to maintain a connection. We stayed for over a week and were very happy with the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Park is very clean and features level, gravel sites. Be prepared to pay cash or write a check as credit cards are not accepted. The office is closed between 12 and 2 for lunch. The single restroom/shower combo is clean, tiled and has good water pressure. There is a large grass area for dog walking but no pickup bags. The entrance driveway is steep - our 43 foot motorhome drug bottom. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
The park is multi-level and mostly well thought out. There is grass between the sites and a paved table area too although it is oddly placed. The roads and parking are gravel. The spaces are level. The park is well kept and the staff is pleasant. Wi-Fi did not work. The park is separated from US-71 (interstate grade highway) only by a service road so the highway noise might be a problem for some. Our AC was on. The semi-permanent people are at the back while travelers are closest to the highway. We will stay here again and hope the Wi-Fi gets fixed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is our 'go to' place when we are in the Kansas City area. We stayed for a few months this visit and were very pleased. We backed in to a 50amp, FHU site with shade trees. Although there are sites without FHUs, the majority do and FHU sites usually are available, all you have to do is ask when you check in. WiFi was a little spotty but that has been our experience at a lot of parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We are Good Sam members, and have traveled throughout the United States. We were very disappointed in the high Good Sam ratings for this park. Noise from the highway was awful. There was one unisex room with a toilet, shower and sink which were the only restroom/shower facilities in the complex. Our site, #57, did not have sewer hook-up, although they advertise that all sites do. They also advertise that each site has a view. Yes. Of other RV's! There were a lot of permanent residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Everything was according to ad but Wi-Fi was a lot to be desired. We were in the next to last row at the bottom of the hill and Wi-Fi signal kept going out. However, we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We were very disappointed in this campground. We had read where this was rated among the top mid sized campgrounds in Missouri. Most any modern facility unless in a remote area has cable access. We were not aware of the short comings of this park until we had already paid for 5 days. After we parked we found out really quick there was no cable hookups, wi-fi was spotty at best, there were no shade trees, and the electric power surged so much we were afraid to leave our pet in the trailer for fear the power would go out. The next morning we went to the office to leave a day early and they would not issue a partial refund for the one day. We will not stay in this park in the future. We come to Kansas City on a regular basis but will by pass this particular park in lieu of a " full hookup facility" We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
The staff/owner was very nice and friendly. The park was clean, neat and everything worked well. The sites were gravel with concrete pads and tables. The road noise from 71 was not too bad, but it was hot and we had the air conditioner on 24/7. There was no shade, but then, we had last minute reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
We stayed one week. Good clean park, easy in and out with plenty of room for the slides. We visited friend and relatives in Kansas City and this Park was only 20 minutes from downtown Kansas. It's a tiered RV park, so you look over other RV's. I-70 is close. The highway noise didn't come into play. Close to grocery store and a Flying-J. Friendly people, we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
We used our Good Sams discount here. The water is very high pressure here so you will want to step it down some. The 50 AMP electric is spot on. The crushed limestone drives and parking spaces were rather dusty since it was dry here; it probably could get a bit sloppy in wet weather. The park overlooks a rather busy US 71 highway so the highway noise is is somewhat invasive when your rig is open. We spent one night here and would stay here again for only one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
We liked this park. It is next to the highway but our site in the back was very quiet. We had a lot of grassy space between us and our neighbors and even a little bit of shade. The site had a paved patio with a concrete table and benches, but no fire ring. There is a good supermarket and a Flying J with a restaurant nearby, and a more shopping including a Super Walmart in Harrisonville, about 9 miles. The owners were very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We stayed here for two months while we moved in and took care of business associated with our lives before we became fulltimers. Others have complained about the highway noise, but that didn't bother us at all. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful as were a lot of our new found neighbors. It has extremely reliable WiFi which is a must for us. It also has a lot of areas to walk dogs. We were able to walk our dogs along the access road without having to worry about a lot of traffic. We will definitely return next spring. (888) 200-4521 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Park is well maintained and the staff is very pleasant. There is hwy noise for those it would bother but it didn't bother us, Wi-Fi was great. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Stayed one night. Easy in, easy out with a HDT and 35 ft trailer. Nice campground other then Highway 71 road noise. Maybe behind the office it would be more quiet, but not in front of the office. I had to wear ear plugs to get to sleep. The Wi-Fi worked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
A park for Kansas City visitors concentrating on the south side of the city. The park is on a hillside overlooking beautiful four-lane US-71 Highway, and campers will hear truck traffic all night even when closed up. Yes, the country views are across the highway. Sites are gravel and level but entrance is bumpy and 45 degree uphill. Be forewarned that roadwork needs to be done to fix the entrance and exit areas. Nice patio with cement tables but no grills. Provide your own. We will stay again because those we want to visit are in south KC, or for an overnight. But this may not be the place you want to stay is visiting another part of the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
We stayed here over the Christmas holiday while we visited our daughter in Overland Park, KS. The grounds are nicely maintained, and the sites are tiered so each one has an unobstructed view. We didn't use the laundry or bathrooms, but did peek and found them to be clean. We would stay here again if we came through this area. The park is right alongside the highway, so there is some noise but it is not offensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
Extremely well kept campground with nice facilities. Sites are a little close together but are level and big rig friendly. Would be a great place to stay if looking to spend time in Kansas City. We stayed overnight and would definitely stay here again. We did not have to unhook toad from the rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$13
Fairly nice park. The WiFi is on the less-than-dependable side. The highway noise can be annoying. If you are inside, the noise doesn't keep you awake. If you are sitting outside, the noise is nearly overpowering. Other than those two things, this park is worth the money: 365.00 for a month. Not much in the way of shade trees, neither. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Friendly management. Clean and well kept park. Close to the interstate, but without too much interstate noise. We stayed only 1 night passing through but would stay again. Park is terraced on a hill side with level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
A nice friendly park. Sites are terraced so most have unobstructed views. Moderate highway noise. Short nice wooded hiking trails. A good park for Kansas City or Independence. Would use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Only shade is for back-in sites filled with long-term occupants. There is wi-fi available, but it does not work very well and if you inquire at the office, the owner is very rude about it. There is a nice fish pond, but nothing for children to play on. Sites were not well-maintained, needed mowing. Owner dragged interior roads after a rain with a noisy golf cart just after 8 a.m. Would probably not stay here again unless necessary. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2005
$27
We had reservations and had checked several times to see if they still had our reservations. We had driven all day from Western Kansas. We were very tired. We found they had sold our site for more money. We had got there around 3 pm in the evening. The owner of park was very rude. He told us we could stay there and pay $27 for no hook up or sewer or anything. We declined and drove 45 more miles to a very nice RV park we had stayed at before. We have never been treated so badly in our entire life traveling. No apologies or anything from the owner. He said very smart mouthed for us to have a safe trip. And then sneered and laughed at us. We found they were having somekind of race there in Kansas City and he had raised the prices for park to make more money. Even though we had had our reservation for 4 months! He had no full hook up spaces available because he had sold our reserved site! No one told us the price had gone up for that week. We would have paid if our site was available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
Spent several months here this summer - friendly owners and staff. Nice park with ample room for big rigs. Some hiway noise, but mostly quiet. Close to Flying J for fuel and other amenities close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Lovely park south of Kansas City, MO. Friendly owner who led us to our site. Large, level gravel sites with patio and picnic table. Group meeting room and pavilion available. Modem hook up in office. Private restroom and shower. Terrific place to stay and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com