206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Perryville Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (573) 547-8303
CGID1633

Perryville Campground

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   10   8   8   5   4   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
Not satellite friendly and no cable. Weird about dogs and we were the only ones in camp!! It's off our list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
The was a fantastic campground, very clean, very friendly. We stayed in a primitive cabin (they have other deluxe cabins available), it was right on a pond with great fishing. Stayed 5 days/4 nights. Cabin was very clean and had air/heat with comfortable beds. We will definitely be making a trip back to stay here. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Clean park well kept and friendly staff eager to help and register quickly and get you to your site. Offered wood and other misc items and made our family feel like we were at home for the weekend. Great place to stay and we will stay here again . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
Called ahead for reservation and given instruction to contact person on arrival. Also posted on door to office. Quick response. Site was predesignated for us. Individual took us to site and as there was snow/ice on the ground was given okay to pull out anyway I felt was best for our RV. I was also informed if we had trouble when puling out that the campground would assist us. As temperatures dropped during the night, roads were more icy when we went to leave. Observed a Fith wheel (2WD) have to retreat from one access point so went on road where more long term folks were staying. Nice place and looks like a good place for a summer stay. I'm sure winter causes problems for the campgrounds however I felt if we needed help we would have gotten it. Park rate was for Good Sam. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Nice campground albeit could use some maintenance regarding the sites. Most need a bit of leveling and all I saw needed gravel. Otherwise quite pleasant with clean restrooms, friendly staff. We stopped here after traveling in heavy rain coming from St Louis area and had no problem reaching someone who told us to do self checkin. Cabins looked nice, large grassy playare for kids, pavillion for parties, could be a weekend destination. Decent air tv reception and great wireless. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
After fighting the traffic going through St. Louis on our way South, we were ready for a stop. Next time, we'll head further West and avoid the metropolitan area. A sign on the highway alerted us to this camp, my GPS AAA directory provided a phone number, and the man answering was very helpful. There were a number of 5th wheelers and travel trailers on the site, possibly permanent, but the wooded camp looked neat and clean. No cable television, but we did pickup 3 networks using the antenna. The Wi-Fi signal at our location in the middle of the park was strong. A good overnight stop on the way to an RV park with more amenities, we'd recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
The owner is nice and the name fits, it is a campground not an RV park. Fine for small units but we was driving a big rig and the site we was assigned was very unlevel. They were on a slight hill and the sites have not been graded or terraced so they tilt to the side. No cable and too many trees to get the satellite signals and the local stations are so far away they didn't come in very good. If you must - then one night and move on. But on your one night do not plan on TV and being level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Right off the highway, older campground with good sites and shade trees, uneven gravel interior roads, mostly level sites. Good Wi-Fi, helpful staff, fishing pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Sites were very tight and small, and it was literally right next to the highway. It is a former KOA site. We did not use the pool, however it appeared clean. We will not stay here again simply because the sites were too small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$26
For those with GPS, the address is: 300 Lake Drive, Perryville, MO 63775. It was not listed on the info page and we had a devil of a time finding it in the dark. The address is the only thing we have to add to the other fine reviews as it is still dark out at 5:30 a.m. and we will be leaving in a few minutes. We stopped here on Thanksgiving night without a reservation. When we called there was a recording saying they were open with self-registration. It was dark when we got here and the sites were not lighted very well. We didn't realize that most of the sites were pull-through so we backed in. That was our own fault because we decided to park first and register after. The brochure at the registration booth clearly shows the pull-through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Very friendly staff, nice level sites, although a bit close together. We will definitely return, probably for Thanksgiving weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We just spent five delightful nights at this campground. We had seen some negative reviews but elected to stay after camping friends checked out the campground personally. This former KOA campground was recently acquired by a new owner who spends a lot of time at the site. Staffing increases and changes, significant tree work that is ongoing, and other attention to detail such as improved procedures, better matching of RVs with sites, etc. are clearly making a difference. We would expect continuous improvement. We asked for someone to lead us into our site. We stayed in a 35 footer with an attached car in tow and had no difficulty getting in or out. Highlights include a nice shady environment, large yards, a number of long pull-through sites with full service including many with 50 amp power, and very competent and helpful staff. Some sites that allow friends' awnings to face each other are available. We can find numerous campgrounds in our area with nice trees and shade and a number with full service sites, but comparatively few have both, and still fewer have pull-through sites. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
The staff was very friendly and helpful, after that it went straight down hill. The roads are narrow and tree limbs hanging over the roads made getting out of the campsite very difficult. I had to unhook my vehicle and leave going in the wrong direction to keep from scraping my MH up. I just can't understand why owners don't understand why we don't want our MH's scrapped up by their trees. The roads left a lot to desired. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
The sites were very hard to get an RV into. The office worker did not offer any information about wi-fi. When I checked my book it stated they had free wi-fi for 30 minutes.The office would not return any of my calls for the code. Would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Sites are close together, and many have trees that make it hard to get in or out of. Before driving back to your site you need to take a walk to make sure you can get in and out; it will save you the time of having to go back up to the office to change sites. When we ran the water it came out brown/black each time it was turned on and there was almost no pressure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
I stayed here one night on our way back to St. Louis in a rental motor home. Everything was in good working order and the campground itself was clean and tidy. Interior roads were a bit tight to maneuver on into our designated site but the site was level and clean The Campground is completely tree covered so if you have Sat TV you will have a problem. The campground is located along I55 but far enough away that traffic noise is not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We arrived late at the campground after their quiet hour. We requested a campsite with full hookups. The roads in the campground appeared to be partially washed out by rain. The roads were rough and barely visible late at night. The campground is located on a steep hill and our campsite was very slanted. It was too late (after the quiet hour) to balance the trailer with multiple boards under the tires in the darkness. We were unable to use the full hookups because our trailer could not be balanced. The showers were located down a steep dark hill. Some of the staff did not report to work the next morning and the staff members present, were too busy to talk to us. We attempted to communicate with the campground management and the campground association, but they refused to listen to our complaints. Our trip was over 4000 miles, and this was our only bad experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Very clean bathrooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stay here once a year and we love it. If you stay here go to the Park-et restaurant for dinner. They have some of the best home cooking we have ever had. Their pies are great. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$47
Nice overnight, or longer if need be. Most sites are shaded & look like they would be quite nice in season. Longer-term rigs here are tidy. Cabins are located right along the little lake (more like a big pond), which is nice. Bathrooms are old but well-maintained and very clean. Main drawback for us is the prohibition on campfires. Some road noise from I-55 but not terrible; sites near the back of the CG would be less bothered by it. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
What a nice place for a stop-over. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Will certainly stay here again when we pass that way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
The Perryville KOA is easily accessed from I-55. The campground is clean and the bathrooms were spotless. The owners are friendly and helpful. The campground offers a very nice playground, a beautiful pool with a sun deck, a small fishing lake, two pavilions, fire rings at each site, and a mini-golf course. The free Wi-Fi worked well from our site and the campground store was well stocked. This park offers lot of shade from the mature Oak trees so you might want to call ahead if you need a site for your satellite connection. The roads are gravel as are the sites and might require some leveling. There is a short trail (50 yds.) connecting the campground to the conservation lake, and from there a 4 mile trail around the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
Owners go out of their way to make this more than just another KOA. Their campground and bathrooms are extremely clean. After we were directed to our site he came around about 1/2 hour later to check to make sure everything was alright and did we need anything. I felt treated more like a friend than a customer. Looking forward to our next visit this fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$34
It's Febuary! Lots of leaves on the ground but the owners where raking and burning as we came in. Owner came to the office and registered us in and was very, very pleasant. Owner escorted us to our site (even though we knew where to go because we have been here before). Needless to say the pool was closed but the area around the covered pool was nice and tidy. The site we where assigned was free of leaves and clean, including the firepit. Only about 15 rigs in here and not sure if they where overnighters or long term campers, we couldn't tell because the areas around the other campers where tidy. We will stay here again in April 07, I suggest you stop in if you're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
This was a nice campground. It is right off HWY 55 and could be used as a stop over or weekend trip. Pool was clean, hosts were friendly, sites were kept up. Small pond at campground has fish too small to keep. The walk to the lake is 4 miles, so we drove. Better off calling to let them know exactly what kind and size of camper you have, they have notes in their computer that lets them know what has and hasn't worked in different sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
We heard about the Perryville/Cape Girardeau KOA through a friend from work. She sang its praises several times, and goes very frequently. I had been camping when I was little, but we had never taken our children. We purchased a tent and everything we thought we would need and headed up for the weekend. It was clean and beautiful, After we arrived we realized that we needed several items we didn't have, and everything was available in the camp "store". I was afraid the prices would be higher, but they weren't. We had a fabulous time before that kids had to go back to school! We now keep all of our newly acquired camping gear in a place in the garage, ready to go when we want to hit the road. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
We stayed at the park for the Campfire Cafe cooking weekend. The site for the tent was in good condition with a new picnic table and ample fire pit for cooking. The restrooms and showers were convenient, very clean and well kept. They welcomed our large dog on his leash and had a special grassy area just for pets. There was some highway noise but the friendly conversation with the other campers and the owners made it fade into the background. There were also Cabins available with A/C for when it gets to hot for tents. We didn't bring children but the pool, fishing lake, and play area provide a lot for the whole family. This was a great site for this event and we will visit again! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
This park is better than most 9/9/9 parks that I have stayed at. The large pool, fishing lake, state park fishing lake that connecets to the park, the large pavilions, the long pull-thru's and the stores/restaurants that are near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$26
A good overnight stop between St.Louis and Memphis. Easy pull thrus at the campsite and nice area for walking dogs in a large field. Fuel, shopping and restaurants nearby. Easy access to the Interstate. I would use this as a regular scheduled stop when heading south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$27
We stayed at the Perryville KOA in May of 2004. The campground is wooded consisting of mostly mature trees with the lower branches removed. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they work hard to keep the campground clean and beautiful. Along with a small fishing lake on the campground property, there is also the 103 acre Perry County Community Lake just a bit over a mile drive from the campground. This is a MO. Conservation Dept. lake that provides disabled access. The KOA also had a Bark Park for owners to walk their dogs and even provided a waste scooper. The campground is close to I-55 so you will hear highway noise when outside your trailer. There are two KOA's between St. Louis and Cape Girardeau MO. on I-55, one in Barnhart and one in Perryville. Pass on the Barnhart KOA and stay at Perryville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com