221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Basswood Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 104 user reviews. Phone: (816) 858-5556
CGID1635

Basswood Resort

Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   9   8   8   10   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$22
We used this park as an overnight stop. Although it is five miles from I-29 we had no problem finding it with the directions provided by the campground. We were greeted by a friendly staff member and escorted to our site, which was long and level, allowing us to stay hooked-up for an easy early morning departure. The bathrooms and showers were clean and inviting. Wi-Fi did not work at our site but better reception is possible near the office. They have a well-stocked convenience store which has a bigger than average RV section as well as wine and liquor, gifts, food essentials, and a large toy area. In addition, for an extremely reasonable price they make pizza and deliver it to your site -- a feature we appreciated and took advantage of, enjoying it thoroughly. We stayed using the Passport America rate. Our rig is 33' long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
This place is beautiful and has lots of charm. The pool is clean and my kids loved it. Like all too many campgrounds they claim to have WiFi, only to find out they really don't have access throughout the campground. We loved this place and would go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
We stayed at this resort last fall. We chose it again this spring for several reasons. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The park is well kept and clean. They take care to maintain the grounds and landscape. There are a fair number of long term residents but this does not cause an issue. They keep the sites up and it does not look junky. It is within a few miles of the airport so very good for us. There are several small lakes and they stock them with bass and catfish and others. Fishing is $5 a day, per pole. You may keep two fish a day, per pole. We had catfish for dinner twice! I would return here any time I am in the area. We spent 7 nights, last night free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
This RV park was a wonderful find. The staff is wonderful and the grounds are nestled into beautiful surroundings with several small lakes, lots of areas to walk, and very nice RV spaces. We were lucky to get the last pull-through space available due to a RV club, and we are so happy we did! One of the great features is an on-site pizza shop that delivers right to your space. The food was very good too. If you are passing through this part of the country, we highly recommend this park as a destination, but do take advantage of all the place has to offer and stay more than just one night like we did. This is definitely a place to setup camp and stay a while to enjoy everything the park has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$26
This is a great park in a very nice setting. Grounds well kept as were the showers and restrooms. They have perhaps the best stocked convenience store I've seen in an RV park particularly for RV items you may have either forgotten or might have had to replace. Escort to site was the best I've ever had and knew just how to maneuver a big rig so we glided right into the assigned site. About the only downside was the requirement to sign a waiver along with the rules and regulations that states that your picture may be used in advertising without further consent and a couple of other odd legal items that have no place on an overnight stop document. We happened to arrive on a NASCAR event weeknight and the rate is the Passport America rate for that event. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Rate is Passport America price for one night. Just north of Kansas City about five miles from I-29. We had a FHU 50 amp pull through site. Roads were paved, site was gravel. Decent spacing between sites. Free cable and wi-fi advertised. We did not try cable, but wi-fi did not work at our site. Airport nearby with planes flying low. Bathrooms were great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a nice enough park with ample room to maneuver a big rig pulling a toad. Staff were courteous and friendly, hookups were easy, restrooms were clean and showers were nice and hot. The well-stocked general store was a big plus since the nearest grocer is about 6 miles away. The nearby airport services commercial aviation so expect some big jet noise. Being a retired Air Force veteran, that noise just sounds like freedom to me, but it may be bothersome to some. I do have two "cons" to report: (1) the park's Wi-Fi system was terrible (in fact, useless) and (2) they don't appear to be very proud of the fact that they're a Passport America park because they don't advertise the fact. We were initially booked more than $97 for two nights, but they refunded half of that when we discovered (elsewhere) that they were a PA park and asked for the 50% rate. Bottom line: we were satisfied with our stay at Basswood and wouldn't mind staying again. But in the interest of having a well-rounded experience, we'd probably look at other parks if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
My husband and I have been camping for over 40 years. We enjoyed our stay at Basswood very much. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and informative. The lake was beautiful and the camp was nestled in the rolling hills, perfectly. If we are ever back that way, we will stay there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Definitely overrated. Wi-Fi was terrible and phone service spotty. They need to let customers know that they are only 5 minutes from the KC airport and right on the flight path. Rate cited is a rally rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Site shady, but not level -- during rain probably muddy. Nice dog park. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
There is little I like about this campground. The cable doesn't work. The deluxe sites have very little green space and is non existent in the daily sites. You aren't allowed to use your golf cart but you are more then welcome to rent theirs for a nominal fee. Why do campers rent these anyway? You can't go out of the park with them so people rent them to ride around the park and gawk at other campers. Park Managers have the "do as I say not as I do" attitude". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Park is within 30 miles of home which is very nice for us. We stayed with our camping club for 4 nights. Area is quiet at night and is very spacious. Restrooms are very well kept up and clean. The issues we had were with the internet and the cable service. Absolutely no internet at the camp sites. We were not informed of this at check-in. Brought to the attention of the desk folks and they say it is an ongoing issue. This was no help. The cable was so bad we used our roof antenna. Until I know for sure they have addressed the internet issue, we will not be returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Beautiful, well kept park. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. Paved roads. Roomy sites. Easy access. Employees take you to your site. Well stocked store. Out of the way to find the park, but it's worth it. Rate is PA We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Swimming pool was cloudy.The is staff friendly. It was ok for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Very nice park. Not far from town. Park was clean and well-maintained, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pizza place on-site is very handy and they deliver to your site for free. The camp store was quite well stocked. Shade was available on many sites and some paved sites were available. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Our nightly rate reflects two nights at the Passport rate and one night at the Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Basswood Resort is really just a campground, not a resort; don't get fooled by the name. It's a better RV park than most. They have a huge work force who are mostly work-campers. They keep the place looking nice. Everyone is friendly. The sites are rather small for a place that advertises itself as a resort. I'll stay there again when in the need of a campground north of Kansas City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Escort provided to site. We were in site #96 which was very level with good power and water. Wi-Fi slow and cable TV was not very good. We used our antenna. Good store in park and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Best bathhouse ever in a campground. Good location to tour Kansas City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
We stopped here for a few days in early May. Nice resort atmosphere, although the pool wasn’t yet open for the season. There are several ponds, although we found only one to be fish-able. The transient lots are on top of a hill, but they are nice sized and level. Clean restrooms/ shower facilities. Friendly staff. Great camp store. Good place to stop for a few days if you need to recharge. Great deal with Passport America Discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This park is way overrated by good Sam. The employees are all seniors who spend way to much time trying to ruin yours. The office staff had a employee with her foot on a chair with no socks on. Why is she there. There us a so called maintenance person who must be 90 that runs this park like a prison camp. I tried to talk to the managers and they went out the back door to avoid the 3 people who had complaints. Legacy needs to wake up and retain the managers and quit hiring all those seniors. It a rv park not a nursing home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Large, excellent family park with a great store, pizza and ribs available and they will also deliver to your site. Good laundry, but very, very poor Wi-Fi and TV connections. Very disappointing as we require good Wi-Fi for communication with family. Managers did explain that they were experiencing difficulty with current provider and were looking to rectify asap. Good access into Kansas City though - about 35 minutes. Platte City has excellent grocery store - Price Chopper. Stayed on Passport America rate of $19. Would recommend and stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
This review is for Legacy rv resorts, a chain of rv parks, with around 20 locations throughout the states. They all seem to have nice amenities and a luxury atmosphere with camping rates to match. The facilities are generally staffed through something called a work camp program. Through this system, the company mostly  employs senior citizens living out of their rv's within the parks. A clever idea, give the bored retirees living there something to do, and save a bundle on operating costs. The result, however, can often be less than ideal for the younger vacationing crowd. Check into one of their locations, and you're given a list of about 101 rules and regulations. The mostly semi retired staff, with nothing better to do than mind you're business, makes it their mission in life to enforce every single one to the letter. Although these places look like they're probably a lot of fun, rule number one might as well be: NO FUN! Check out some of the reviews on their individual establishments on Google maps. Generally, the happy campers are also working there, and the fun seekers are dismayed. Save money, get a bigger campsite, and have more fun at a locally owned establishment, or a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This is a gorgeous rural campground with views and amenities galore. We stayed just after a snowfall, so we were not able to do any exploration. We were escorted to our site which we appreciated. The layout is well done with views of a beautiful tree covered rolling countryside and lake. Our bathroom building was configured with individual rooms. Each was tiled and had a vanity and toilet and some had showers. Our site has a level paved area for our trailer. Water, cable, electricity, and sewer are on the left side of the trailer so that works well for us. Nice people in the office. We were really impressed with the store that seems unusually well stocked with items to entice grandparents into buying. Lots of unique stuff. They even make and deliver your ordered pizza to your site. Sites are generously spaced. Verizon 3G cell coverage was good. We were unable to use the WI-FI because we didn't have a password and the office was closed. This was satellite cable so the reception was not always terrific. Though we has a guide to the channels I was not able to find a guide to programming because the park documents did not list their provider. Many sites are drive through. Big rigs should have no problem with the drives or obstacles. It was generally quiet except for the occasional sound of a jet taking off or landing. This is an excellent RV resort in a nice setting and with a great staff. It appears well run. We did have an issue with off hours cleaning of our bathroom building which meant I couldn't get my shower, but I think this would not be a problem normally. We received the Good Sam Discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
We have stayed at this campground several times. Service and facilities have always been excellent. Fresh water hookups are heated. Even in late December, we were able to order fresh, hot pizza delivered to our door from the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
This place lives up to its "Resort" name. Super clean facilities, really spotless campgrounds for big and small rigs, and relatively easy access to downtown KC. The park is very pet friendly and has a relaxing, country-style feel. The only thing it really needs is an exercise room but other than that it's a great place to stay when you have to be near the city. I wouldn't go anywhere else around here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Was skeptical with liquor sales in office upon check-in. When led to our camp site through numerous seasonal areas we were afraid. Poorly manicured and hard to maneuver, not Big Rig friendly. Way off the beaten path. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Way off the beaten path. Campground sits high up a hill. Tight spaces to maneuver in. Park was clean and office personnel very friendly. Would not stay here again as it is too far off my travel area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$44
This was our second stay at Basswood Resort. Since this was Memorial Day Weekend the staff was very busy and a little more stressed than our first visit, they didn't seem near as friendly. We stayed here in our 35' travel trailer and large diesel pickup. Our site 34 was a very tight back in site and the rigs were so close I ran into the slideout of the fifth wheel next to us. There was hardly any room to park your vehicle after you backed your rig in. If you plan to be here during a holiday week or weekend make your reservations way ahead. Overall Basswood is a very family friendly Campground/Resort. The laundry facility was great but that's the only amenity we used while in the area visiting family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
Rate reflects Passport America. Some areas are showing their age but overall it is a very nice RV park. Although a ways off I-29, it is easy to get to (just take it easy going in and out of entry -- steep!). Well stocked store. They deliver fresh made pizza, wings, etc. right to your campsite. Pool is beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$49
Difficult park for me to review. I will just try to stay with pluses and minuses. Pluses first - Nice family destination park. Lots of activities. Well maintained facilities. Minuses - Not really "easy access" from I-29, as it is about 6 miles away. $49 reflects the holiday weekend fee. Reasonable, I suppose, but we had the smallest back-in site we have ever had. We had room for the trailer, the truck, the picnic table, and the fire ring (as long as there was no fire). Entrance to the park was not good. Turn from the road starts immediately up a very steep hill. We scraped the front landing gear turning in. Not too bad for us, but based upon the pavement damage, many others had fared worse. If you want a family destination, this park is ok. If you are looking for somewhere to stay while visiting the area, choose something else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$19
Easy access and pull-through sites coming from I-29. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The showers are awesome, lots of pressure and clean. I will come here again if I need a rest stop, or place to stay for a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
We stay here when passing through the area, by default, as it is the only RV park in the area, and we want to stay close to family. Rate reflects the Passport America rate, available Sun-Thur. The sites are relatively flat. The entrance could use some work, but don't make a sharp turn when entering and exiting in your rig and you will not scrape your hitch. Staff are friendly and helpful. Full price is a little expensive for what you get. The park is in the path to the airporit, so there are planes going over, but the first one isn't until about 6:30 AM. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
Excellent park for long or short stay. We stayed a month this visit. Last year we wintered there during one of the worst winters in years. Park roads were constantly plowed to keep them open. Resort has nice fish ponds/lakes and walking trails. Only downside is that it is near the airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$39
The park has stocked fishing ponds. It is a great getaway spot for a long weekend. They have excellent service and helpful staff. The grounds could user some lawn maintenance. There are lots of long term units that are starting to get a bit run down looking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
I would recommend this campground as an overnight stop, a destination campground, or a long term home base. This is our third stay at this campground. Each stay was during cold weather. On each stay, we have discovered more amenities in the campground. Grounds are well kept. There is a variety of sizes and styles of sites. There are many pull through sites, and access was easy in our 36' coach with towed vehicle. Utilities are placed well. Water hookups have heaters and water is available year round. We even ordered a pizza from the camp store that was delivered to our site. There is not a dedicated dog park, but I found two areas where our dog could run off leash during the quiet season in November. The manager approved of the practice, and said he was working with the owner to implement a fenced area for dogs to run off leash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
Very nice resort type park with fishing ponds, pool, etc. Sites are level and adequate but close together. Very nice office staff with pizza delivered to site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Beautiful park! The rate was higher for us because we stayed during a NASCAR weekend. Normally, the rate would be $19/night for Passport America members. The park is just ten minutes from the Kansas City airport. There is abundant hiking and biking trails. Sites are level. There is a variety of sites, some are sunny and satellite-friendly, others are in woodsy areas. The laundry has front-loading machines. This park has its own pizza making and delivery service, but note, it closes at 6PM. There is a an artsy town called Weston within a short driving distance from the park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
Price reflects the PA Rate. This is a pretty nice park. Long gravel pull through sites. Good utility hookups. Management is very friendly and helpful. We'd probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
We will never go back to this park. The driveway entrance is the steepest we have ever seen. Our 45' motorhome became lodged in the incline as we tried to enter. We left a deep gouge in the pavement. Once inside, management refused to trim trees so we could get to our site without scraping tree limbs. They acted as though they could not have cared less. We have been RVing for over 40 years & in a motorhome for 10 yrs. Our pavement gouge was one of dozens left by many others! We left without staying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Great place. We stayed 3 nights and wanted to stay for a month or more. Well maintained, level sites. Quiet location with nearest freeway about 5 miles away. Staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about local eateries and directions and history. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
This is a nice park close to Kansas City, but not too close. Wal-Mart is about 15 minutes away. Very clean, with lots of trees and shade. Pool and store are up front, and the store stocks lots of items for your rig, as well as plenty of food and drinks. Staff was super-friendly, and helpful. Wi-Fi was good, and the hookups well-placed. The laundry was okay, but the dryers were a little on the cool side. Plenty of fishing at the park, as well as nearby. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Very nice park. If you have children, there are a ton of things for them to do. Bathrooms/showers were excellent, sites were wide and long. Wi-Fi didn't work, barely a signal, even with my Verizon card I could only get 1 bar. The surrounding country side is beautiful and the staff were very friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Very nice campground in a pretty setting. Not close to any big attractions but good amenities and activities. Staff was friendly. Campground was clean and well maintained. Manager was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Nice clean campground. Full hook ups, mowed lawns swimming pool and many activities for kids. Fishing ponds. We camped here when it was full, and there was good manuverability for parking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
This is one of the cleanest campgrounds we've stayed in anywhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were led to our site that accommodated our 2 satellite antennas as we requested. They make great pizza in the office and deliver to your site. We've never run into this before. The Wi-Fi is strong, although we didn't use it for internet. The restrooms and showers are immaculate. We would like to return for a longer stay some day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$37
We were very pleased with our stay. Temperatures were below freezing, yet all hookups were available and working. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
We loved our three days at the Basswood Resort. The park is exceptionally clean and the staff is the friendliest we can remember. There are three fishing lakes on the property and the walking trails are accommodating. We will return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Park has been better in the past years and could use a bit more attention in the maintenance of the facility. Spot we stayed in was in need of more gravel and leveling. Managers were helpful and extremely friendly. Store was in great shape and well stocked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Park is very well taken care of. Sites are close and there is a lot of mud in the "upper park" area when it rains. The WiFi is useless and Verizon Broadband service in the park is non existant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Passport rate. Was only here one night but the resort is beautiful. It's a must visit, and has a friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This is one of the best RV parks that we have ever used. Everything is well organized and clean. Sites are scattered into pods, some are shaded, some are open and more satellite friendly. Parking sites are either gravel or concrete, and level; interior roads are asphalt and in excellent condition. Each site has two sewer connections to accommodate almost any rig and sewer hose condition, a nice touch. Excellent Wi-Fi. The camp store is the most well stocked we have encountered. The staff is friendly and efficient. This is a destination park, not just an overnight opportunity. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is a nice and clean park. Unfortunately, we were out in the direct sun and the temperatures were extreme, so we had no shade. The pool is extremely small for the "traffic" they have. We did get some days at 1/2 price as we used Passport America. Friendly staff. Some sites are up a steep hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We love this campground and go several times a year as it is far enough away from home but still close! Very nice campground with fun weekend activities and nice friendly staff. Great country store for all your needs and also serve pizza right to your site which our kids enjoy! The pool in the past had paint flaking off the sides of the pool but appeared to be cleaner when we visited this year. Highly recommend this campground and they also have cabins and tent sites available! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very clean and well-maintained. Friendly staff. Pizza delivery is great! My wife went to pick it up and they demanded that she be given a ride back to our site with a staffer and we were only a short distance from the office! Swimming pool is very nice and has a splashier area for the kids. Fishing wasn't that great but it was fun trying. Will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
What an outstanding property this is. The rate posted is based on weekly rate, but was actually a bit lower because we were here for ten nights. Seven at weekly rate and three at Passport America rate. I have never seen such immaculate and large, private restroom/shower facilities at any campground in the nearly three years we've been full timing. They are absolutely outstanding. It rained for a portion of nearly every day we were here and our site (#125) never completely dried out in our ten days. I would not stay in any of the sites in that area again. There is also a serious erosion issue up in the area of those sites. An added bonus was the easy drive to the Kansas City airport. Less than ten minutes. As someone mentioned the planes sometimes have a route directly over the campground but it was not a problem for us. All in all this was a terrific campground, with very friendly and helpful staff. We would surely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We were only here one night but would definitely return for a longer stay. It's a lovely park with lots of trees and flowers but with an area free of trees that would interfere with satellite reception if that's important. It's clearly a family resort-type campground, so there are lots of kids and larger groups. The negatives are (1) the sites are a bit close together, although not as bad as we've seen in other parks, and (2) the very steep grade at the entrance. We didn't have a problem going in but the ladder on the back of our rig hit on the way out. If you're carrying anything on the back of a long rig, beware. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
Rate reflects Passport America. This park is a little hard to get into and out of. The drive goes up fast, off the road and can cause you to drag the back coming and going out. The sites are close together but are long. The flight path for the KC airport goes right over the Park, so it is noisy. This is a nice family park with more than usual for kids to do, including fishing, a play ground and pool. They have a nice store and make pizzas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
Rate was $34 minus the Good Sam discount. Staff were VERY friendly. Upon arrival I was led to my site which overlooked one of the lakes. They sell very good pizza in their store and even delivered it to my site just like at home. The store was very well stocked with about anything a person could want (RV supplies, fishing, food, beer, wine, spirits, clothes). They have an outdoor pool which is covered and heated. Many walking trails. I will come back. It is a ways from Interstate 29, but worth the drive. They also have cabins for rent and you can rent golf carts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
We camped here for a week. Price is weekly rate plus tax. This place was OK, no better, no worse. It rained the first day and our first site was a mud pit. We moved to a dry site the second day. It was level, partially shaded, and had a gravel pad. Water, power and sewer were fine. The wifi didn't work at all. The pull through sites in the rear loop where we camped have plenty of room between spaces. In other loops, the sites were close together like a parking lot. The store at the office was very nice and sold pizza, beer, wine, and alcoholic beverages. Even though the water was cold, folks were still catching bass and catfish in the ponds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
The RV Park is about twelve miles off the freeway, however the roads are well-maintained. Management was quite cooperative and friendly. This is a up-scale RV Resort. There were very few vacant RV sites when we came into the park. There are several small lakes here and you can fish in them for a fee. We would stay here again if in the area. You are guided to your site by an employee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$34
This is a very clean well run campground. The bathrooms are exceptionally clean. Campers should be aware that the Kansas City International Airport is close by so you have all that traffic noise and the camp sites are very close together. We were only traveling through so for the one night it was acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
This was a good campground that is situated north of Kansas City. The location is somewhat remote, although there was easy access to interstates for trips to KC and Independence. There are lake front sites on concrete pads available, but we were on a long pull-through grassy site that could easily accommodate any size RV vehicle. The staff was very friendly. I would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
A nice park, some sites are a little tight. Very steep hill on entry! Located about 7 miles off I-29, with easy access from I-70 via I-435. The sites at back of park are larger: pull-throughs and back-ins. There was plenty of room for a 37' fiver and HDT: 60' overall. The Wi-Fi weak at the back of park: worked outside at picnic table, but not in the rig. Also worked OK at laundry room, which is also nice. There is a big store, friendly personnel, and lots of worker-bees around. This is a Legacy RV Resort location, Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
This campground is too far out of the way for what you get. It rained the 2 days there and we were knee-deep in mud. The sites are gravel but they need much more. The front spots are too close together. The newer spaces are filed with monthly rentals. The back spaces, where we were, have enough room and include a table and fire-ring. You can fish for $3 a day in one of the small ponds. You must buy their fire wood because of a beetle problem. The store has everything you might need. Many camp workers around and they are always working. The people here are pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
Great place, resort atmosphere, with friendly and helpful staff who escort you to your site and guide you in. Level sites, lakes, country store, clean pool, new and clean bathrooms with private showers. Kansas City International airport nearby, but noise did not interfere with a good night's sleep. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This was a great place to stay--although a little pricey. They had a pool, a large playground and even delivers pizza, that are made in the country store, to your site. We stayed on a paved site (I believe this was deluxe and maybe why so pricey.). Other sites were flat gravel...however these were somewhat close together. When we were there, they had a band, but said they normally have movies. Three lakes to fish in and a nature trail to follow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Very nice campground in a country setting. About 5 miles from the interstate but a good place to call home while touring the Kansas City area. Also a good place for campers with kids. Lots of fishing and a nice pool. The campground itself is clean, accessible and has good wifi. There seem to be a ton of work campers around the campground. The front office staff needs more training as they couldn't seem to check people in efficiently or take reservations over the phone very well. Nice big rig sites with plenty of room. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
First the good: Wi-Fi available throughout the park, small lakes provide an attractive setting. The swimming pool, while small, was clean and nice. Now the bad: the park is located in an area near Kansas City International Airport, the final approach pattern brings aircraft directly overhead at an altitude of 2000 feet. Over two days we saw about 60 aircraft a day fly overhead, it was noisy and a distraction. The sites are small and very tight. My rig (a 30 foot trailer & F150) barely fit into the site. The pavement was level however the grass space between sites was about 4 feet, so if you have a slide, forget using it. Several of the sites located throughout the park were occupied by full timers who obviously had been there through the winter. To fish the small ponds required a daily fishing pass, which seemed petty to me. The entry pavement slopes considerably, the pavement has scars of several unfortunate rigs who have scraped their way into and out of the park. Very low value to camp experience rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
A nice park in the middle of a country setting. The trip from I-29 is on a 2 lane narrow, winding country road. Once set up in the park, we quickly discovered that the park is adjacent to the Kansas City airport. Aircraft preparing to land soared over the campground all day long. Will definitely not return to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$36
We would have rated this a "10" except for how small [length wise] the 30-amp overnight sites are - it wouldn't hold our 28' trailer and Ford Expedition - fortunately sites beside were empty so we took a second site to park vehicle (only other choice was to partially block the road) - and everyone along the 30-amp overnight spots were doing the same. However the sites were very level (concrete) and hook-ups were easy to get too. Playground for children was incredible - best we have ever seen. Bath houses incredibly clean - really liked the layout - plenty of room for each shower area - each one even had a internal "bench" inside the shower, so it was easy to give a small child a shower (which is difficult in many campground showers). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$43
Large campground with several pull through and back in gravel sites available. Sites were fairly level. Caution when entering park if you are towing as we did hit the hitch and caused some damage. The entry is at a steep angle with the highway coming in. Park was quiet even though sites are somewhat close. There is a large section of seasonal sites, but didn't affect our stay here of 5 nights that included a weekend. It is in the flight path of KCI airport, but we weren't in the park during the day and little flights during night didn't cause concern. Large camp store that also has on site take out pizza prepared to order. Playground, pools etc, were not open as this was off season. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
A very nice park. Clean, thoughtful people and many sites. The only negative is that they gave us a site that was a little short for our rig unless we disconnected. Since we were staying for four days, we had to unhook anyway so this wasn't much of a problem. The extra car we had they provided a parking space close by which was very nice. We would definitely return and if it were for only one night, I would better describe my rig during the registration process and ask for a site where I didn't have to disconnect. I am certain they would accommodate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
About 30 miles north of KC and 5-6 miles off I-29. Nice area with small lake. Cabins available as well as pizza. Numerous 5th wheel/TT in the front seemed to be staying a while by siding/insulation framed around units, of course it was winter time. Rent golf carts if needed. Laundry area had a sewer smell? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$34
Great showers and restrooms. Pull throughs were wide with paved roads. Very nice camp store. Only negative was the steep entrance. Good access to Kansas City area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Nice place. Family oriented, beautiful grounds. You can even get pizza delivered to your RV! Steep incline on the road coming in. Mostly gravel sites, some cement pads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This park was very busy, but well kept. We would stay there again, however, it was further out than we expected from the main highway. That was the only negative. The owners were friendly and helpful. Multiple activities. A great family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
This is a great park for a night or a week. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful view of one of several well-stocked fishing lakes. There are several good walking trails and a well stocked camp store. We are planning another stay on our return trip to Florida. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Very comfortable, restful campground, spared from recent floods by being on high ground--though access from I-29 (exit 19) via MO-HH was blocked by rain--take 18 instead and there are signs. Friendly & helpful staff, easy entrance & access to sites. Don't let hilly appearance scare you off! Great cable & WiFI even though we were 5-6 minute walk from the office. It appears to be a summer destination campground for extended families so the pool is well used, nice playgrounds and walking areas as well as pond fishing ($). Would be a 10 if sites were larger but they were at least adequate for motorhome with towed car. Cool-looking separate tent area as well as cabin areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
I was a bit nervous after reading the previous review, but we needed a park in the area, and so tried the Basswood Resort. It was delightful. It was very clean. A very busy weekend yet a quiet place to stay. Would be wonderful for families with children as the pool and water play area are both very nice. There is an area in the middle of the park that is for longterm stays and it is a bit rundown and messy, but for short terms all the areas are great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
This is a nice park with rolling hills, trees and a variety of sites to choose from. The pool and playground are very nice. The fishing ponds were nice as well as walking trails through the woods. There were planned activities for kids such as a hayride, crafts, duck racing contest and movies. The store is very nice and even has a pizza shop. The bathhouse was very clean but the water pressure for the shower was very low and the water would not get hot. It is a bit noisy in the daytime because of the close proximity to the Kansas City International airport, but I guess the positive thing about this is that planes don't fly out of KCI after 10:00 p.m. or so at night. We will try this campground again, hopefully the shower situation will be resolved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$36
Park recently purchased by Legacy RV Resorts. Needs lots of work. Sites dirty and lots of dirt instead of grass. Their "deluxe sites" not worth the cost. Very difficult to level and big drop offs. Trees not trimmed and entire area un-kept. Has great possibilities but will take time and money. Ass't Manager very nice at helping solve some of my complaints. Will check it out in about a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
Good park for a few days or longer--level sites and good cable--WiFi, nice people and great site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
We really enjoyed this park. We stayed an additional 3 nights. It is pet friendly. The roads are good, and the staff friendly. We will visit there again. (The pizza was very good too). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
We used this campground as a base for Kansas City. It was easy in and easy out of the city and not that far to travel for everything you wanted to see there. We did go to Independence, MO and enjoyed President Truman's Library. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
Just stayed one night, but we really enjoyed it. Lovely park, nice long pull through with 50 amp. Great place to walk around. The airport traffic overhead can be noisy during the day, but stops at night. Will return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Just an overnight. A very nice park, very pretty, and well maintained. For us, 30 amp, TT, pull through next to one of three fishing ponds. Site was a almost too short but we made it fit. A bit of a hilly setting but nothing any good rig can't handle. Very good store, fully stocked. Friendly folks. Pizza delivered to your site! Will go back if we want to spend more time in the Kansas City area. GSC 10% discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
On the whole a pretty nice place, the long term people are in one spot and the in and out in another area. My only gripe: They sell pizza; it is very good; they deliver to the site which is very nice, but I felt uncomfortable giving the Work Kamper three bucks for delivering a nine dollar pizza. I did not want to insult a nice person. I will stay here again and I am not certain about the nightly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
Nice campground about 5 miles from I-29. Fishing, pool, camp store, etc. Can get a bit loud when jets from KCI are routed overhead, otherwise it's pretty peaceful. Poor cell phone signal. Weekly and monthly rates available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
They advertise as a resort but it is mostly monthly guests. It is a nice place to go with kids for a weekend because they have a nice pool and nice area for kids. But we didn't have kids with us. We were parked way in the back past the monthly guests and the site left a lot to be desired. Overnight ok but otherwise I'd pass on this place. The work campers were not friendly and hardly acknowledged you while checking in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
The staff here are mostly full time RV people. Helpful and friendly. They escort to site and assist parking. Store has good variety of supplies including alcohol and trailer needs. The sites are very narrow and small. Crammed in so that you and your neighbor fight over parking space for the vehicle. Very busy park and I believe over priced. I will stay here again because of the convenience and the washrooms. Supervision of pets and making owners scoop dog waste is lax. Pool on weekend, was full of kids as it should be, but also full of weekender campers drinking out of bottles and very inebriated. Observed camp workers look in and do nothing. They need to tighten up on some issues. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$80
The cabins were great! But where they parked our friends was extremely tight. The pool was closed but no one told us before we got there. They are converting it to a water park, so I am sure it will be nice. They have a lot to do for families, but seemed a little pricey for a campground. Not sure we would pull our trailer here to camp, but would stay in the cabin again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
I liked all the amenities of this campground. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a campground cabin and friends stayed in their RV. The sites are too close together and there are a lot of rules that don't appear to be enforced. Lots of campers that appear to live there. We went through the Trail of Terror which was a lot of fun, however, for the price to camp, it should have been free. We would rent a campground cabin again, but would not tow our trailer here to camp. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$31
Stayed there a few times. Currently hooking up cable tv...our site had it. They closed pool on friday for cleaning and didn't notify anyone with signs. Would be nice if they did this during the week when it is slow but overall nice. Lots of airplanes with KCI just south. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Airport noise till about 11 p.m. Very nice, tenting area new. Easy access to KC. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Beautiful park with easy access from interstate. Also easy to enter park/sites with a big rig. Parking/distance/privacy from neighboring campers was just perfect. The only problem I had was it became a major ordeal to use the internet (room was either locked or computer down). Nice, clean swimming pool and great walking paths; friendly customer service! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
There are lots of trees to view, although many of the trees on the site are too small for much shade. It is truly a beautiful park with several terraced site locations. Some grass at sites. Quite a ways off the road but worth the trip. Staff were friendly and the store on location was well stocked with food, equipment but way too many boutique things. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$27
Easy for big rig. Roads are gravel in pull thru area. Sites could be more level. Common areas looked very nice but we did not use. Great playgroud for kids. Airport noise during daytime only. Very nice people and will use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$32
This is a really nice campground. There are several different areas so you feel like you're in a smaller campground. There is a great pool and playground. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The only downside is the noise from the airport. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$31
WOW! This is a great family resort! Kids loved the new maze/playground structure, and all the organized activities over Labor Day weekend. Sites were a bit cramped on the lower level by the ponds, but everyone around us was very friendly and considerate. The managers went out of their way to be helpful, even to the kids. Restrooms were immaculate...cleaner than mine at home! My husband liked browsing at the well-stocked store. Kids pulled lots of fish from the pond, and enjoyed the pool. This was one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed at, and we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
This was my second and third time staying at this resort (going and coming back). My friend had never been here, but she was mighty impressed. I was in a 22 ft MH, my friend in a 30 ft fifth wheel. We had four children between us (ages 15 mos to 14 years), and it was just us girls. I loved it my first trip, and we collectively loved it this time as well. Friendly staff, immaculately clean baths, well stocked store, lovely pool and AWESOME play structure (all four kids couldn't get enough.) On our return trip the kids couldn't wait until we got back. We took advantage of the delivered pizza that is made right in the park (very good and and two large at $15 fed all of us), and the pancake breakfast saturday morning. Staff couldn't have been more nice, fun and helpful. This could be a vacation destination all in itself. Will definitely come back. We were told by a staff member that the park was bought by a new owner last year and there are a lot of changes going on even now. I believe anyone that stopped there prior to 2005 may have experienced a different sort of campground. I highly recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$38
Regular campsites are cramped, premium sites are somewhat larger. Wireless internet was spotty. Staff was very friendly but somewhat untrained. Spotless shower house and laundry room. The pool is nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Have stayed here (4) times since 2002; last time Sept. 2004. Stayed twice facing small lakes, once behind the rec hall (Nov. '03 stay & these sites are sheltered from the wind), the last time on a beautiful back-in terraced site as we stayed a week. Park hosts are helpful and pleasant to their guests. A good "kick back" park & convenient enough to shops, grocery stores, vet, gas stations, restaurants, etc. This is our base while in the Kansas City area. Last stay here was 2004 in a Motor Home. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We camped here with a large motorhome. Very nice park and friendly staff. Everything was very clean and the grandkids loved the pool. The country store was very convenient and prices were better than I would have expected. Will be staying again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I was extremely disappointed with Basswood RV Park. The pictures on their website do not match!! We have a 4 year old son, the pictures on their website of the playground looked very nice. We got there and the playground equipment didn't even look like it had been used in years. They definitely borrowed pictures of a different playground, because it doesn't match their website pictures. Many fulltimers living on the top hill. Not much to do there but fish. However, the way the lake and ground is laid out, it looked like you barely had room to sit down before falling into the lake. They did have a nice store located on the campground, but they need to improve the looks of the RV park and playground. If you have kids, I would not recommend this campground. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$28
A nice campground, the best in the KC area, but the big rig sites are WAY out back and up a hill and are mostly back-ins. The small sites near the office have phone service, but an average size motorhome won't fit there. Too many permanent residents. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com