206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Beagle Bay RV Haven and Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (417) 548-0000
CGID1638

Beagle Bay RV Haven and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   9   3   5   8   6   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Rated this park a 7, but you'll need to know the details. First, all utilities worked fine (electric, water, sewer, Wi-Fi), level, gravel site, very quiet, good price. Second, don't expect the Hilton, since the campground appears very run down from a facilities perspective (old buildings, pool needing repair, grass needs mowing, etc). But for an overnight stay near the Interstate, it worked just fine for us. A very long rig 40+ may find it tight in making some of the turns in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
This campground is a work in progress. And it's going to take some work to get it in shape. But it is very pleasant for a night of rest. Its peaceful, wooded setting is a nice change from all the gravel and pavement in most campgrounds. It is very quiet other than the highway in the distance. The surroundings promote rest and relaxation. Dogs can run free on the walking trail. The office staff could not have been nicer. New owner took over a few years ago and you can tell he's making a change. It was really nice to have a change from the typical, run of the mill RV park. Very easy off Hwy 44. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$24
Just an all-round, wonderful experience. Friendly, cozy pull-through, treed sites. Clean restrooms, well-stocked store. Would definitely stay there again and recommend, as well! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
We called ahead and they had a nice spot reserved for us. Everyone is friendly and ready to help. I really liked the meeting room that is available to sit and chat. It is a great place to play cards with and meet new friends. The weather was too cold for the pool, but it looks great! I'll visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
The good things were the cheap price, friendly owners, and shade trees. Other than that it was terrible. I had to walk up to just outside the office in order to get internet. The restrooms and showers were horrible and looked as if they had not been cleaned in weeks. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
For an overnight stay it would probably be OK, but this park needs a lot of upgrading and upkeep. The owner was nice but I think he's overwhelmed with this business. I had to rake the leaves myself from around my site and grass was overgrown. There's old unused dilapidated buildings around that make it look junky. The office/store smelled kind of musty and was run down. The road noise is very loud also. Some of the electrical pedestals were broken and looked dangerous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$23
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. Access to this park is easy from I-44. We were shown to our site, which was plenty long for motorhome and toad. There are lots of trees, but they are trimmed so as not to cause problems for slides, etc. While we were here, the owner/manager assigned sites so that campers were not side by side, a courtesy I very much appreciate. All utilities worked well, and there are quite a few TV channels available - there is no cable. We did not check out the washrooms. There is road noise from I-44, but otherwise the park was quiet during our stay. We loved the shady sites in this park, and we will certainly choose it again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
Nice park for an overnight camp. Much improvement from the previous owner. Restrooms are cleaner than last time we stopped. Wi-Fi working fine. Freeway truck traffic can be loud so bring your earplugs. Owner very friendly and polite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This park is under new ownership as of March 2010. Now called Beagle Bay RV Haven and Campground. This is a delightful park with extensive remodeling underway. Good Wi-Fi and very clean restrooms. New laundry machines and new propane filling station. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Conveniently located right off the interstate, big rig friendly and easy to maneuver the sites and roads. I would recommend this park and will stop in often to see the progress and changes being made. We had a very pleasant stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
This is a totally uncared for campground. The bathroom had kitchen garbage in it as well as about a bushel of leaves. Many of the sites had electrical posts that were nonworking, and a strong sewage smell was everywhere. Buildings are run down almost to the point of falling down. Permanent campers have run cords across drives to hook up to electricity. We had to go 1/2 mile up the road to find owner to pay for site as we were leaving. I never saw any pool, no store and no office as they claim to have. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$24
WAC RV Park has generated a lot of controversy here. I last stayed at WAC in 2002, and there have been a number of changes. The park is cleaner than it used to be, and the very old trailers have been removed. While we were there this year, the pool and playground were closed, possibly for repair. The wash house with showers and toilets in the center of the park was closed, but the facility at the office was still open. Their pet bison was gone. Water pressure was still very low, but voltage was steady. All the sites are shaded, which means you have to watch for trees. Low branches had been well trimmed this year. Our site was level. Included in the nightly price was dinner for two: fried chicken, smoked beef, or smoked ham. The small restaurant can be described as quaint, rustic, or run down, depending on what you're used to. (Someone with a $500,000 motorhome will call it run down, and loudly wish they were at the Sheraton. We call it rustic. But we travel for the experiences and people we meet, and certainly not for luxury. We like to visit Death Valley in the summer, for example, because it's cooler than home.) There are water stains on the restaurant ceiling, but we found the facility to be clean and the food good. There is major reconstruction taking place on I-44, so a lot of the spaces have long term residents. We visited with several, and enjoyed the conversations. It's close to I-44, so there's some highway noise. I had a difficult time deciding whether to give WAC a 6 or a 7, and decided on a 6. People will either like this RV park, or hate it. We like it, and we would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$18
After reading the two page ad in Woodalls we decided this would be a great stopover on our way to Branson. YIKES, the Woodall inspectors must have been high on drugs when they checked this place out. There was NO water pressure at all so we ended up using the on board water for showers etc. Bathrooms were grim and the whole area with in the park was totally run down. Just plain gross!! The owner/manager? was very nice but even that can't/won't help this place. Avoid this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$14
We recently addressed a complaint to Trailer Life (Joe Daquino) in reference to the WAC (We Always Care) RV Park, located in Sarcoxie, Missouri. This park is listed in the 2002 Trailer Life Directory on page 987 with additional advertisements on pages 979, 990 and 991. According to the 2002 rating system, WAC RV Park is rated 7.5/ 9.5*/7. It is, in our opinion, this rating was grossly overstated in all categories. TL responded on 10/14/02 with "I have more information on WAC and am not surprised you found conditions to have deteriorated. Without getting too into the details, there seems to have been a change in the way things are managed at WAC. In any event, we found conditions similar to what you described when we inspected for the 2003 Directory (available in six weeks). WAC will have a temporary listing in that edition - just name and phone number information". In September of this year, we traveled extensively through the state of Missouri. Working our way from the south and moving toward Columbia, Missouri, we intended to stay a week or longer in the Carthage, Missouri area. On September 16, 2002, after reviewing the Trailer Life Directory and having been persuaded by the ratings and options available at WAC (which are numerously advertised in the Directory), we selected this facility. Visually, as we approached the campground, it appeared to be attractive with many trees and a number of recreational vehicles already parked on the grounds. At the entrance, and upon arrival, we were greeted by someone and personally escorted to a site as stated in the Directory. We were curious and somewhat hesitant, however, when at no time, were we asked to register our name or RV. The office building was in some disrepair, but we overlooked this seemingly minor detail. We also noticed as we passed by the pool and recreational hall, the surrounding area was cluttered with equipment (which had not been moved in some time as grass was growing in and around the equipment). We disregarded this at the time, as we were not pool users and we expected the pool to be closed this time of year. However, later inspection proved and it was obviously apparent the pool had not been in use for years as the concrete was broken and moss and slime was abundant. Nor was there a locked gate or enclosure around this area even though water was in the pool. And, livestock (buffalo and donkey) was stabled nearby and was grazing and depositing droppings around the pool area.) We setup at the site, which, as stated in the Directory was a pull-through, had adequate space and hookups for our 35' diesel pusher, a porch swing, picnic table and mature trees. Since it was late in the day, we opted to partake of the advertised "supper" and walk the grounds before retiring. We located the dining area accidentally, as were not given proper information on where the meals were served. Inside the office building was a small room setup with six tables. The meal, primarily precooked and served from hot tables was adequate, but nothing extraordinary. However, the ceiling was very noticeably water damaged and the atmosphere was dampening. We were somewhat concerned about the health conditions surrounding this area. At the time the meal was to be paid for, the camping fees were collected. Based on the advertisements in the Trailer Life Directory and according to the paper distributed when escorted to the site, an option to "pay for 4 days, stay a week" were available, which fit our plans for this area. However, at the time of payment we were told this did not apply to the month of September. It is noted, and very clear in the advertisements and on the paperwork, only the months of July and August were the exception ("pay for 5 days, stay 7). It is also advertised; a 20% discount is given for cash. We were only given a 10% discount. We argued the discrepancy, but the management discounted the claims. Our decision to stay more than one night was reversed at this point. After the meal, we continued our inspection of the grounds. To state the conditions were deplorable is an understatement at best. We found the following additional discrepancies (Trailer Life descriptions are listed first; actual findings follow the semicolon): Free Mini Golf: Facilities have not been in use for years. All courses were in disrepair, torn and broken. 2 Laundries: One Laundry room in the middle of the complex was available and was housed in a building, which was ready to fall down. Big Screen Satellite TV: It was nowhere to be found. Rec Hall/Game Room: At one time the game room was attached to the office building. The glass doors to this room were off track and broken. The room no longer was useable and appeared to be a storage facility filled with broken parts, boxes and appliances. There was no attempt to be discreet about this unsightly room. The only other building available for congregation was located across from the office. Here nightly entertainment performed, but no gaming facilities were available. 2 separate Restroom Facilities: The only useable restroom or shower is now located in the office building complex. The other restroom/shower area once was located in the laundry facility building in the middle of the campground. Pipes were broken, doors were nailed shut and/or broken and debris was laden throughout the building. Tent Sites: The designated tent area now houses livestock (mules, donkeys, horses), which have been purchased and taken in by the owner. The animals are stabled in and around a designated "Club House", which advertises meals and snacks served. It is disgustingly unclean with animal droppings surrounding the entire area. Efficiency Cabins: This is no more than a prefab grouping of modular apartments which currently house transient or permanent boarders. It is in terrible disrepair and an unsightly addition to the grounds. Additionally, we noted an unusually large group of permanent boarders. Located next to the laundry facilities in the middle of the grounds is a very old and dilapidated trailer, which is permanently fixed to the site. A very large dog is chained up near the trailer and the animal droppings from this dog have never been cleaned up. The stench and filth is deplorable. Located within easy walking distance of the overnight camping area is a very large community of permanent trailers and mobile homes. The area, is extremely unkempt, invites disturbance and compromises the safety of overnight guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$13
This was my third stay in 2002. No changes from before. Still enjoyed it. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
We stayed at WAC twice in June, 2002, on the way east, and returning. We found the staff to be friendly, informal, and always helpful. Campers are taken directly to their site by an employee who will fit you into a site big enough for your RV. The restrooms and showers were clean, but the water pressure seemed low. Their supper special is great. For $25, the two of us got the RV space, and a meal with dessert. The smoked beef is good, but we really liked the fried chicken. Kitchen and restaurant conditions appeared to be clean and spotless. When in the vicinity, we'll stay again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2000
$15
This place is an unsanitary dump. Its high ratings can be explained by the two full pages of advertising found in the directory books. They try to sell you a dinner package at check-in, avoid at all costs. When you see the staff and the "care" they put into food handling and prep you'll know why. Disgusting. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com