219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Sundermeier RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 127 user reviews. Phone: (636) 940-0111
CGID1642

Sundermeier RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   3   3   7   7   7   7   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$52
A very clean campground with concrete roads and wide pads. About 5 or 6 feet grass areas between very level sites. The office person was nice and helpful. Restrooms and showers were exceptionally clean. No cable unless you gave a $35 deposit for a converter. We were starting out before the office opened the next morning so had to use our TV antenna receiving a few local networks. The restaurant near by had closed down. The "activity room" only had couches. Our nightly rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We felt the price was way too much for the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$53
Due to a breakdown we were forced to stay here for 10 days. It is nothing more than a parking lot with hookups. It is advertised as having cable however the system they have requires that you place a deposit for a digital box. Having obtained the box I still could not receive cable and it took all of 5 days before finally a tech came and got it working. The owners are fully aware of the problem but say there is nothing they can do as they are under contract with the provider. Another issue with this park is the exceptionally HIGH WATER PRESSURE in excess of 100 PSI, our neighbor pulled in with a motor home hooked up and promptly ruptured his water lines due to not having a pressure reducer, no-one apparently told him about it and he did not read the notice. A lot of noise from freight trains going past all night plus the highway also did not make our stay pleasant. The park is convenient to St. Charles and St. Louis however I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
They list the campgrounds as "award winning". For what? The campgrounds were neat and clean and the pads were extra wide (double actually). The grass was mowed and the services were available (water, sewer, electric). The not so nice details are the noise. The campgrounds is located very near MO 370 which is 6 lanes wide at that point and busy. OK, campers are used to campgrounds near highways. I can't call that a negative or a positive so it's a neutral. But, there's a busy freight rail line that's between the highway and the campgrounds! If that isn't bad enough, how about being in-line with the St Louis airport runways 4.5 miles away? That's not enough for you? How about a park owner that allows one camper to have 5 dogs in an outside pen on their campsite? You get the picture. Would I return? Definitely not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$53
We utilized this park last year in June and found it to be very nice but pricey. Since we enjoy Historic St Charles we decided to visit again this year. It appeared the grass hadn't been mowed for some time and the trash dumpsters were overflowing despite the park being less than half full. Upsetting was the new requirement to access cable that required a $35 deposit and a 1/2 hour phone call to activate it. The location is outstanding for Katy trail and Old Saint Charles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$52
Park is located approximately 28 miles from downtown St. Louis. The pads are concrete, level and a generous size. Neighbors are somewhat close, but no problem putting your awning out. Our rig is almost 44' and we had plenty of space to park it plus our tow. Check-in personnel were friendly and efficient. We didn't use the laundry or showers, but the building looked clean and well cared for. Only drawback was the price and lack of amenities. There is no pool and the restaurant on site was closed. Easy on and off from the highway. WiFi was included in the price and worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$57
We have been coming to Sundermeier regularly for about ten years. Some complain about the train tracks and I for one enjoy watching a train go by. I also have no issues with the airplanes overhead. I have no issues with no swimming pool or maybe being not too kid friendly. The value for us is we bring bicycles and basically ride out the back gate and you are on the KATY trail. The park is also walking distance to beautiful down town St. Charles. Of course they get an A+ for generous concrete pads and trustworthy full hookups. The unfriendly staff reputation is about 90% urban legend. I do have a couple of complaints that are the reason for my overall rating. Their restaurant that we loved so much is closed down. The picnic tables are one click away from fire wood. Grass was a weed patch. Lastly was the new deal with needing a cable box to be able to receive cable. These little things all added up to deciding it is in fact overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$52
This park seems to be the only park with paved sites/roads in the area....a small detail that allows them to significantly overcharge for the services/amenities provided. Park is close to the interstate, but entry roads are narrow city streets. Inside the park, pads are concrete and level, roads are paved and in good condition, turns are manageable even for big rigs. Surroundings are poor....views of lumber yard, railroad tressle, junkyard, and interstate overpass. Close to airport and landing/takeoff noise. Interstate noise constant and railroad noise frequent. Not pet friendly. Weedy (not grass) areas between sites hasn't been mowed in quite some time. Male office attendant very unfriendly. Stayed four nights only because we didn't have a better choice. Would avoid a return stay if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$52
Being the lazy guy I am, I'm going to hitchhike on the comments of another reviewer, who said: "More for adults than children. Check-in was easy and staff was very polite and helpful. Located in the town of St. Charles but easy to get to, about a mile or so from I-370. The interior roads are all paved with level concrete pads and patios with plenty of room on front back and sides with a nice grassy area and a table. Full hook-ups with good WiFi and over 60 cable channels. Very clean restrooms, showers and laundry. Entire park is well maintained. Close to historic St. Charles which is worth a visit." That's a very succinct description of this park. I would only add that it would be more accurate to describe this park as "pet tolerant" than "pet friendly" since there is no dog walking area. You have to walk your dog outside a pedestrian gate at the rear of the park. That being the case, unless your dog has a strong plumbing system, you may want to ask for a site close to that gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$52
Very nice, clean, safe in town RV Park. Premier level concrete sites. Paved roads. Close to historic downtown, KATY walking trail along river and playground. Rate a bit high, but worth the stay. Will go out of my way to stay here in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
All concrete and asphalt -- no trees. No dog walk. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$52
Excellent park. More for adults than children. Check-in was easy and staff was very polite and helpful. Located in the town of St. Charles but easy to get to, about a mile or so from I-370. The interior roads are all paved with level concrete pads and patios with plenty of room on front back and sides with a nice grassy area and a table. Full hook-ups with good WiFi and over 60 cable channels. Very clean restrooms, showers and laundry. Entire park is well maintained. Close to historic St. Charles which is worth a visit. We stayed here for 2 days. Very nice RV Park, would come here anytime if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$53
Very nice park but overpriced. Level cement pads, good cable and WiFi. Close to downtown St. Charles and easy highway access. Just don't think their rates are reasonable. Have stayed in parks this nice for less money. Will have to consider whether I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
For a city RV park, this one was excellent. The park roads were wide with good drainage. The pads were concrete, wide and long with well maintained grass in between. There were no issues with vehicles sticking out into the road. The sites were fairly close together as you would expect in an 'in town' park, and no trees. Picnic tables at each site in good condition. Location was great; close to highway, St Charles and St Louis. Trains nearby but no whistles. Planes not an issue at night due to noise mitigation. Access to Katy bike trail. Pet area is provided. Hosts were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This is our 3rd time at the park. I always think the price is a little high for what it is but it does have level concrete sites and the biggest thing is its location. Great for checking out historic St. Charles and not a bad drive into St. Louis. Dog walking is outside the back gate but the Katy Trail is there as well as a park, so it's nice walking. The restaurant is closed, as mentioned in a previous review. The staff here is helpful. Good satellite, Verizon cell & air card reception. Easy access of the highway but no highway noise. We did hear a train once in a while but it wasn't that bad. We'd stay here again even though the price seems high because of the location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
I've stayed here twice now. Clean, concrete pads. Not very dog friendly, they want you to walk dogs off site. Last time I stayed here they had a restaurant, which was very convenient, but it's closed now. Nothing exceptional to offer, except paved roads and concrete pads. Nightly railroad noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Great park. Easy to find, nice level concrete pads, well kept grounds. Very friendly staff. Close enough to St. Louis to enjoy the sights. The Katy Trail is located just outside the park. The only drawback was the airport flight pattern was overhead and the nearby trains would rumble by at all hours. Even with that we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$62
As has been mentioned, paved roads, concrete pads, in a big parking lot without a tree. No pool, and some city noises which are to be expected. They charge 5 bucks for kids, and there are zero things for kids to do here. We've stayed before, but will not again as the pricing is out of balance to the features. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$53
Well paved roads, full cement pads. Very clean. Walking distance on state park trail to historic town of St. Charles...very close to Missouri River. Good things about the park except way overpriced. Big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$52
Excellent park! Camp sites and interior roads paved and can handle large RVs. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hookups were convenient and well spaced and WiFi worked very well. Close to Katy Bike trail. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
Overall this campground is a keeper. Our only major complaints were the fact that the site to which we were assigned had no electricity, but we moved to another site. A petty complaint is that they have Tengonet. It's free but it's Tengonet. We would absolutely come back for a night or few. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This park is a great place to stay when in the St. Louis area. The personnel are friendly and helpful. The sites are concrete pads with patio area. Behind the park is the Katy trails for walkers and runners. Highly recommend We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$56
I did not feel this CG was a good value for the high price. Water was still off to most of the CG on 4/1/2013, never saw the restaurant open, WiFi didn't work most of the time, and the noise level from trains and traffic was a bit much. I would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$50
Good clean park, we stay here a couple of times a year for a week and a night or two when passing through. If you read some other reviews there can be some noise from an elevated train and there are some planes overhead. The planes never bothered us and the trains could bother you if you did not have the AC or Heaters on. However, if you looked at other parks in the area, this is the best. It is right off the interstate and you are within 30 minutes of everything to see, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$52
Nice park and close to St Louis. I wish people would quit complaining about city noise. When you camp in metropolis, you are going to get noise. Park is very clean and seemed to be well maintained. Our site was level and large. Washrooms and showers were very clean. There was a restaurant on site but was closed due to New Years day Holiday. Will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$52
This park is OK. The sites are paved and level and the hook-ups worked well. Good cable selection and decent Wi-Fi. Trains run all night; very slowly and very close. Loud motorcycles cruised through the park until about midnight. There is nothing pretty, attractive, or appealing about this place. Good for an overnight - but really quite over-priced for what is there. Five dollars for a third person is the most we have ever paid...anywhere, ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$52
This is a very nice, clean and well maintained RV park. Very convenient off I-370 and I-70. All inner roads and pads are paved and level. Paid $52.00 for a full hook-up back-in site. Cable TV and Wi-FI were excellent. Restrooms and showers were very clean and perfectly maintained. I would stay here again without a doubt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$52
We stayed here for only one night but will return and stay again. It's convenient to I-70 and close to a lot that St. Louis offers. St. Charles is an interesting touristy town. The CG has an onsite restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised by our meals. There are also great eating places in the old town about a mile away. Wi-Fi worked great as did AT&T signal. Nice relatively wide concrete paved interior roads and parking pads. My only complaint was the train noise-- they ran all night on a bridge just to the north of the park. I'll run my fans next time for white noise! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$42
Price is through Coast-to-Coast. I echo the other reviews; concrete pads were nice; utilities worked well but come prepared with a water pressure regulator because the water pressure is SUPER high. WiFi was even good! Verizon datacard and phone worked well. The big gotcha is the price which did include cable TV and Wi-Fi. They get you for location because it is great for old town St. Charles and getting into St. Louis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$51
20 minutes from down town St Louis. Immaculate site, big wide concrete pull throughs. The couple who run it are real friendly, but they are leaving the end of September 2012. Would give it a higher rating, but it's close to the active and busy rail line, and the price without a Good Sam discount is $56. They have a bar/restaurant on site with an extensive menu, but the Saturday night we were there it was almost empty and the dull canned parlor music meant zero atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$52
This is a great place to stay for the long term. The restrooms and showers are kept clean. If you have kids, there is a playground at a park that is within easy walking distance. The on site restaurant has excellent food and there are plenty of other choices a short drive away. There is a downside. It's very close to a train track and a highway. There is also the airplanes going overhead. The Wi-Fi works best when the park is not busy but is generally slow in the morning and early evening. The cable TV has analog and digital channels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$51
This is a very good but not excellent park in the old St. Charles area of St. Louis. All utilities performed well and the sites were concrete and level. Unfortunately, the park is located within the landing pattern of an airport and near a railroad bridge, making a good night's sleep somewhat difficult. Our principal objection was the price. I suppose operating a park near a big city is costly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Seems like a lot of money for the convenience of being close to town. The park is basically a parking lot. Might be good for an overnight, but so is Walmart - at considerably less money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
The park is very nicely maintained. It has concrete pads that are level and long. For the price, the sites could have more spacing between them. All roads are paved. No trees. The park is walking distance to the historic district and has access to the Katy State Park bike trail. It also is near all the St. Louis attractions. Great ,free Wi-Fi. My only negative to this park is the price. The basic rate, before Good Sam, is $57 a night, which, in my opinion, is overpriced for the area and amenities. A very nice park, but you pay for it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$57
Good Campground. Concrete pads. Several pads were doubled up but we weren't. Not pet friendly. Asked to take dogs out of the park and across busy street to the Katy Depot trail to walk them. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$57
This park has easy access to the highway, but it is very tight and filled with 90% residents. Restaurant on site. They are not movable on the NO REFUNDS policy as we had an emergency and they refused to refund for days not used. Would not stay here again as the choices are many of other parks that would be more understanding. St Charles is a great little town to walk around in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$52
Good overnight spot if traveling. Staff was very friendly. Nice restaurant on site. Katy State Park is behind the campground and is a nice place to walk or bike. Nightly rate is a bit high considering lack of ambiance and amenities. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$57
A nice campground, level cemented sites, but no trees, and when the park has lots of campers you are lined up like crows on a fence. Owners were pleasant and helpful, especially when we had trouble connecting to their internet service. Good restaurant onsite, with delicious oxtail soup. A short walk to the Katy Depot trail and the Eco-Park along the Missouri River. There is a train which goes through nightly fairly close to the campground -- no whistle, but you can't miss the rumbling. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$52
RV park very clean and well kept. They have propane on site. Paved roads and sites. Great walking trails. This location suited us for an overnight stop but would try to find a more reasonable park next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$52
This place isn't cheap, but neither are "in-city" campgrounds in many other large cities. The CG doesn't have much ambiance, but all the roads and sites are paved, wide and level. The staff were very nice when we checked in. There seem to be a larger number of long-term residents than when we were here in the past, but that seems to be true in lots of places these days. Regardless, all the sites were neat and clean. There is free Wi-Fi and cable. Satellite reception was easy to obtain. We stay here because it is convenient to family nearby and there simply aren't many decent alternatives this far into the city. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$52
This is our second stay at this park, mainly because we bike and it is right on the Katy Trail. As others have mentioned, this park is overpriced in comparison to other comparable parks across the United States and it is nothing more than a large lot with a nearby railroad running. My main reason for writing the review was that although they advertise dog facilities, the dog park they mention is not close to their park and they prefer you to take your dog outside the safety of the RV Park to walk and eliminate. There is a back access gate to get out and return. They provide no containers to dispose of your puppy waste and the only dumpster is very removed from this area. I asked about the feasibility of placing a trash container at the gate for pet owners but was told the public access parking lot for the Katy Trail across from the back gate had a can, although I will need to look for it because I have not seen it. Food selections in town is fantastic. If this park was not so convenient to the rail trail, I would try to find another. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$47
After reading all of the horror stories about the St. Louis area, we were nicely surprised by this park. It is expensive and it is just basically a cement parking lot, but we felt very safe and secure here. There is a lot of noise from traffic and airplanes, but we are in the middle of a metropolis. The office staff were very nice. There is excellent cable and Wi-Fi. Getting to the Arch from here was a piece of cake. We went on Saturday to avoid traffic. We would definitely recommend this park for the St. Louis area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$58
This park is pricey. The grounds really need attention and the lady that checked us in was very rude and that always sets the tone for the review. The bathroom/showers were well kept. There is a restaurant and pub on the site and it was OK. staff was attentive. Sites were long & wide and had concrete pads. Rough part of town, but we felt safe. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$57
For $57 I would not camp here again. Tengo internet w -as down the entire length of stay. It kept saying it was being rebooted. There was way to much noise - traffic, train. Also, you would think for $57 they would allow you to wash your RV. We have stayed in much nicer true "RV Resorts" in south Florida for less and are allowed to wash our RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$41
We got here on a VERY busy weekend with the festival in town. We've stayed before, and even though they are higher priced, it is a convenient location to St. Charles, which is a charming community, and not a bad drive into St. Louis. The spaces are all concrete. We had a back in, and had plenty of room for our 40 ft RV plus tow car and a decent space between sites that was well trimmed grass. The park is very clean and quiet and right on the Katy Trail for hiking, biking and dog walking. Our price was a bit lower due to their affiliation with Coast to Coast. Our cell and Verizon air card worked well here. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$52
The park is nice, asphalt roads, concrete slabs, strip of grass, cable TV, but it stops there. The Wi-Fi was a pain and no one knew how to fix it. The price was a bit on the high side for what they didn't have. I was a bit upset with the whole thing. I don't think I would stay here again and I would advise my friends to find another park in the St. Louis area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
This park is close to the St. Charles historic district and attractions and you pay a lot for the convenience. It is basically a large parking lot at the end of a residential street with some grass between sites and around the edges. No shade. Dogs are welcome but must be walked outside the park gate. They are very strict about that. A dog park is a short distance away. There's a restaurant/banquet center in the park, which is very strange. The bathrooms and showers were dirty the afternoon we arrived and still dirty late the next morning. The park smelled like sewage in the evening but was okay in the morning. The Wi-Fi signal (Tengo) was weak and intermittently disconnected. There are few other options in the area but we'll drive further rather than stay here again. The price is too high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$47
This campground is very overpriced. It is much like other campgrounds priced in the $30-35 range. It is basically a large lot with paved roadways and concrete pads with grass between the sites, nothing special to justify the price. We had a decent stay but my wallet was considerably lighter when we left. The water pressure is extremely high. An elevated train track is just north of the campground and there is considerable train noise at night. Fortunately, there are no crossings and therefore no train horns to add to the noise. The campground is also in the flight path of St. Louis airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Overall our stay at this park was pleasurable. It is well maintained. The grass is well trimmed, and the sites are very large. I was able to park my 35 ft coach along with tow dolly and still have plenty of room for two- three vehicles. The only draw back is that there are no pet walks for the dogs. We had to go off property to walk the dogs. There is no garbage pick up so you have to be your own sanitation disposal person. The highway noise is minimum, and the freight train that passes at night is not loud at all. Overall a nice park to stay in. I would stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$52
Very pleasant location right by a large city park and bike way. The town of St. Charles is about a mile and a half away, an easy walk or bike ride. Very pleasant people in the office. Sites are flat and concrete but there is no shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$61
This is one of our favorites. I give it two thumbs up. All roads are paved and all sites are concrete. The pull-through sites are long and wide. Staff was nice when we checked in. If with children, there is not a lot to do, but everything else about the park is tops. Our rate reflected two grand kids and tax. This is a definite for the future. I would have given it a ten if not for poor Wi-Fi, but did get a 4G signal on Verizon modem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
To get the current rates, you can check the website. This park is a short walk from a park alongside the Missouri River which has a playground. The RV park grounds are well maintained. The Beefeaters restaurant serves good food. Restrooms are kept clean. Wi-Fi is excellent. When you stay in a park for a while you can see they have maintenance issues, but they do their best to keep up with them.. A couple of dryers are out of order in the laundry room for more than a week. Laundry has 10 washers, 6 small dryers and 2 large dryers. Even when this park is full, it doesn't feel crowded. The lots are all concrete pads with wide paved streets. This is a good place to be for an extended stay. Monthly rates are about 12 times the daily rate with separately metered electric for the back in sites. Pull throughs are $150 for a monthly rate. Many people return to stay in this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This is a well located, very nice RV park. It is not a campground, does not have a jumping pillow or a pool, and that's OK with me. The attraction is downtown St. Charles and the bike path nearby. 1.5 miles flat to town, 250+ mile bike path along the Missouri river. 4th of July in town is great. Paved roads, concrete pads, grass, no trees. Easy in and out, good central location for sightseeing. Restaurant on the grounds. Courteous, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$57
Nice park, great sites, polite staff. A bit too costly: but then I guess they go by "supply and demand" since they are the only park around. The area needs more parks to give them some price competition. Overall a pleasant stay though. At least they are really big rig friendly! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$57
I was very disappointed in this park. In travel books sounded like a top park but it is just a cement parking lot with small un-mowed grass between spaces. It is run down and not friendly. I would never stay here again and will leave a lot earlier than planed. It is way too expensive for what is here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Level concrete pads, exceptionally clean toilets and showers, excellent restaurant on site. Laundry facility equally excellent. Manager and the restaurant personnel are great. Dogwalking available across the back (you have to look hard to find the single access point thru the fence). No traffic noise. Definitely would stay here again in our Road Trek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Many good things about this campground. The concrete sites are double wide, so your vehicle can be parked beside your RV. The sites accommodate the longest RVs, are easy in and easy out, and are well spaced between sites. The bathrooms are clean and pleasant. Friendly, helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2010
$55
I'm glad to know I am not the only one who does not like this campground!! It is touted as such a wonderful place, but in reality it is a concrete jungle, and is a virtual parking lot. Staff is very cool and reserved -- not very friendly, and there is no place to walk dogs unless you go far off the property near the river. There is absolutely nothing here for children either. This should be listed as an overnight stop only, not a true campground. After two stays here we opted for the KOA in Granite City, IL -- much better!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
This is a very nice park overall. All pads are concrete and hookup is very easy. One of the things that is good is that there are 2 sewer hookups at each of the pull thrus so we don't have to unhook our tow car. Staff is knowledgeable and helpful. There is a restaurant on site which offers takeout which is convenient and food was good. The park itself is rather sparse-few trees and right next to a railroad trestle which can be noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$50
Favorite thing was excellent steak restaurant in park! It was a noisy park as it is near highway, trains and airport. The neighborhood around the park is noisy too (it was a weekend though). It doesn't have much ambiance, it looks like a big parking lot. Not much grass for the dogs, so we asked to park away from others and that worked so that we could use grass on empty spaces for our dogs. It seemed like a lot of the other people didn't pick up after their dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
This is top notch park is an old historic town of St. Charles, Missouri. Shuttle rides down to main street where one can get your fill of shops and places to eat. Great nightlife around town also. At the part is an award winning restaurant and bar. Easy off and on Hwy 370. Train tracks are kind of close but quiet down after 11pm. You will not find a better place to spend a few days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
If you plan on sleeping this is NOT the park for you--overhead train tracks with trains averaging about one an hour all night, in the flight path of planes all day and night, garbage pick-up at 3:30 a.m. We were lucky enough to get a site within 20' of the front door of a restaurant that is well-lit. For $55 a night there are no amenities other than a laundry where half of the dryers are out of order, and bathrooms. Rules are very strict and if you have a dog forget about an area within the park for them to do their jobs--go out the back gate and walk along the road in a slight ditch. No trees or shade to be found with drive thru sites. THIS IS THE MOST EXPENSIVE park we have ever been in and we have been in 41 states in the last three years. Now for the only plus we found are the sites--very wide and long for the biggest rigs. The on site restaurant is open to the public so there isn't any security any time of the day or night. According to Traiter Life this park is highly rated and we can only go by that and the description the park provides to make our decision to stay. NEVER AGAIN!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$55
In a previous review I expressed concern that the owner might be starting to cut corners in a tight market. Unfortunately, during my most recent stay I noticed two disturbing trends that tend to support my theory. First, lawn maintenance was being performed at intervals so infrequently that I found myself looking around for the "prairie restoration" plaque. But most disturbing was the fact that several sites have been rented on a long term basis to a company employing laborers, who appear to be Mexican nationals. While they are quiet and well-behaved, since they are unfamiliar with what I shall call RV park etiquette, they don't hesitate to transit your site at all hours of the day and night, if it is convenient for them to do so. It is quite disconcerting to suddenly notice someone passing within a few feet of your windows at 10:00 at night. Now, while I would expect to find this type of belt-tightening at a much cheaper park, seeing it HERE is incongruous with the price structure, as well as the RV resort "aura" that the owner wishes to promote. To be completely fair, however, it should be noted that the word "resort" is not used in their brochures or on their website. It is now apparent that was a wise decision. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$49
Have to agree with the previous comments about the price being high for what there is. The long sites were level and the power was good plus it was easy to get in and out of. The train tracks are elevated and you do know when the train goes by. Neither of us heard it at night. We did hear the airplanes and the highway. There is a restaurant but we did not check it out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$62
First the positive: Friendly staff. Large, paved spots. Great wi-fi service. Wonderful location. Negatives: Terribly overpriced, especially considering that the trains woke us up every night (more than once). While we don't mind because we don't use RV park facilities, there's no pool, no clubhouse, no playground. It's pretty much a parking lot with sewer and electricity. If you're a Big Rig, be mindful navigating here. Don't miss the turn onto the very narrow street! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
The price here was high, and some shade would have been nice, but otherwise we were happy with the park. Although there are no trees, we found the park attractive. Pull-through sites provide plenty of room for a large motorhome with tow car behind and enough space between RV's. Back-in sites are shorter and not so good for big rigs. Cable and Wi-Fi were excellent. AT&T cell phone had strong signal. The on-site restaurant was a real plus and food very good. Not a destination resort, but overall, a great place for a one-night stopover, with cost the only negative. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
Although clean and with good 50amp service this campground is barren. Although they state pet friendly the doggie grounds are out a back fence and across a street in some sort of parking lot area. I did not find the staff all that friendly. Although they say kid friendly. There is no pool nor activities. For the $55 price tag this is like a WALMART parking lot with sewer, water and electric. We are now in a campground with pool, basketball, tennis, minature golf, very pet friendly for $41 per night. I would not return to Sundermeir again. If you have kids or pets this really isn't the place for you all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
Sundermeier RV Park could probably be considered the worst of the "Best RV Parks in America". Though they belong to that group, there are no activities save those you create yourself. Given the price, I would expect at least a swimming pool or a shade tree. They have none of these things. Check in is a slow process as they have not computerized their systems, and use appointment books for reservations. On the positive side, the staff was friendly and helpful. This quiet campground is very clean, including the bathrooms, sites are level, internet is good, and there is a park with a playground next door. St Charles is a picturesque town, and there is an inexpensive water park a mile away. Of course, children are allowed here, but we only saw two during our stay. I say that the park is not family friendly simply because no family features are included in the park itself. I give this park a 5 because it fails to meet the expectations of the price per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
The most “sterile” campground we have ever visited. Postage stamp concrete sites force you to park your “toad” or tow vehicle under your awning in your outdoor living space. No pool, no grills, no fire rings, no playground, no community pavilion, no shade, little grass, one third of dryers broken and an overpriced restaurant. The worst part? Very punitive rules and a nasty owner and her staff who watch every move. Close to town, but not worth $50 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
If you like camping in a glorified parking lot, this is for you. You must park your tow vehicle on your site. That means you cannot sit under your awning. The owner is of the attitude that the rules do not apply to her. There is not a bit of shade, no place to walk the dogs on site, and an incredible list of rules, all for $50 a night. I would not recommend this park to anyone, nor will I ever stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$55
Consider this the update of the review I posted in April of last year. The hot water issue has been corrected, so I'm a happy camper again while in St. Louis. Without the frequent noise of "planes, trains and automobiles," I could rate this place a "10." But let's be realistic, folks: the "highest and best" use for land is rarely for RV Parks, so every one of them will have some drawbacks. Finally, much has been said here about the attitude of the owner. But if you ask me, I don't expect her to have the personality of a game show host, just to be good at what she does, and she does it well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$45
Stayed here for one night as we were heading east through St. Louis on I-70. Paved roads and cement sites, with plenty of room length and width. There is a great restaurant in the park. Has friendly management and owners. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
Good clean park. Level concrete sites and good roads. Full hookups. High priced for amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$50
This park is ok if you like trains going by all times of night and morning. You also have a junk yard right behind the trailer, he runs his fork lift all day. Happened to get stuck with a pad next to a light. If you don't mind paying for the parking lights, then this is the place for you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2010
$50
The nice restaurant directly adjacent to the park is a perk, however, we thought the rate for this park was a bit pricey. We stayed just one night, but wouldn't pay this rate for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$45
Unfortunately, this campground sits below a major interstate and train tracks, so it is noisy! We were disappointed as the check in was not friendly and although we requested a site as far away from the noise as possible, no acknowledgment was given to the request. The check in person seemed disinterested in helping us find a suitable site. They have rented a number of sites out long term to some contractors. This contributed to the noise factor. We have stayed here twice, but will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$50
We stayed here for three evenings while visiting family. It is a nice campground. The restrooms are clean with private lockable shower stalls. The sites are very level. We felt it was a little on the expensive side as it did not have any amenities there. There was a playground and bike and hiking path across the street owned by the city, but nothing there. They do include cable and Wi-Fi in the price. Overall a very nice campground, but a little expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$49
This Park is well designed and well maintained. The personnel are friendly and informative. All sights are paved, with Wi-Fi. The location is convenient to St. Louis. There is a bike/running trail behind the park that is scenic and goes for miles, a very nice bike ride. The town of St. Joseph is interesting with many restaurants and things to see. If I find myself in the St. Louis area again I will definitely stay at this park. It is in the "Best Parks in America" group which may account for it's high $$$. I would have rated it higher if there were trees. But that is a personal preference. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$47
This campground is very pricey and has little to offer. We stayed here in early October (off season). The positives were: the double-wide paved roads; each site is very long and has double-wide concrete pads; cable TV; restaurant on site. It’s also within walking distance to the Katy Trail. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$49
This park isn't what I expected since it's $50 for back-ins and $55 for pull-through's. It's a nicely keep park, basically a parking lot with large concrete pads, grass in between. Each site has a picnic table, and major water pressure (you must use a regulator). There is a restaurant on site and although we didn't go, we hear it's pretty good. We stayed here because our son was here for work. I don't know if we would stay here again due to the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
Good place to base to visit St Charles. Good concrete sites that are very close together. Some jet aircraft noise but not a problem during the night. Park is very clean and well kept. Lots of cable channels but some are not clear. Personally, I think it is a little expensive for what it is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
Sundermeier has really nice pavement and really nice grass with a few trees around the edges. The pull-through parking was effortless. The park also has excellent laundry facilities and clean, elegant bathrooms with good security. The free WiFi mostly worked. This park has a lot of amenities that are nearby businesses, but not really theirs. There is a nearby city park with a playground, hiking trails, and the Missouri River. There’s also a fancy restaurant adjoining the parking lot, but we didn’t eat there. The park was kind of expensive for what you got—particularly compared to other upscale campgrounds where we’ve stayed. It was a nice campground, but no bargain. The pricing for our rig was complicated and annoying. We had a pull-through slot, which was $55, and we got the God Sam discount, which brought the price down to $50. Then, they charged us $5 extra per child. The utilities are placed a little oddly on the slots—more convenient for a Class A with a toad than for a travel trailer or fifth wheel behind a truck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Every amenity one could want, but this park is definitely a concrete jungle. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
If nightly rate for this CG was $30-$35 then it would be an 8 or 9 but at $50 its just not that great. The sites are level concrete pads and the interior roads are wide and smooth making navigation easy but the sites are also very close together. There really isn't much to the park, no trees, no swimming pool, no activities that are available in comparable parks. One good thing is an onsite restaurant which is pretty good. This is a nice park but it sure isn't worth what they charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
Pricey but excellent campground, with a fine (expensive) restaurant. Good hiking trails adjacent as it is on the Katy Trail along the Missouri River. There is some street construction in town nearby but access to the park is good, with a somewhat tight right-angle turn between phone poles being the main challenge, but doable. Helpful and knowledgeable staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Lovely, lovely, lovely. The park is a bit expensive, but we loved our stay. If you stay here, make time to go downtown. It’s a brick lined street with many quaint shops. We loved it. The RV Park is clean. The sites are nothing special, but they are level. They are also fairly spacious. One of the highlights of this park is that it’s situated on a bike/walking trail. It’s wide and a great place to exercise our two big dogs. There is also a restaurant on site if you don’t feel like cooking. The bathrooms were extremely clean. Overall, we had a wonderful experience. The only thing that would have been better is if there rates were 10 dollars cheaper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$55
We come here often to bike the Katy Trail and visit Historic St. Charles, and the park's access can't be beat. The restaurant is truly great and the park is well maintained. It does seem a bit over-priced, but it has a corner on the market in the area and is close to many attractions. The owners may want to consider better security at the back of the park by the street as I've seen transients cut through the park several times. Also some questionable folks engaged in questionable transactions late at night in that street too. Overall though, the park itself is secure and enjoyable. Tip- don't get a site on the end near the railroad bridge and lumbar yard- it is a little noisy. You also don't want to be too near the trash dumpster near the restaurant. It can be a bit smelly, but is not unsightly. Weekends are pretty quiet though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
Very nice campground for simply stopping in. There is no pool and it is mainly pavement. If you leave the park and go down the bike trail less than 1/4 mile, there is a city park for the kids. And the bike trail is the Katy trail, which is nice for cycling on. They charge an additional fee for parties more than two, so they are not "family friendly" in the sense that it costs more to bring your family! For what you get, a little pricey, but it is well kept and safe feeling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
This is the cleanest, best manicured campground you’re likely to find. For example, while we were there, an employee was moving from site to site to clean bird residue off the tops of the electrical connection pedestals. It is a well-designed park. There is green grass and plenty of space between the concrete pads which are long enough for the biggest rigs (coach and toad or trailer and tow vehicle) and wide enough for two vehicles side-by-side. Easy in and easy out for any size rig. The bathrooms are very clean. WIFI and cable TV are perfect. Nice store. Families will be disappointed by the lack of a playground and no pool. There are no trees. For us, this park would be a 10 except for location. It’s in the flight path for the St. Louis airport and there are elevated railroad and interstate highway bridges bordering the northern edge of this large RV park. Because of elevation, there is nothing to buffer their noise. On the other hand, with the windows closed, the noise is tolerable, in our opinion. These noise sources are reduced at night and the only thing we heard after 10:30 p.m. was one train at 4:20 a.m. The nightly rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We recommend this park and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$55
This is a very nice park. Unfortunately, there is limited hot water available for showers in the mens' side. We're talking less than five minutes, and that's for the lucky guy who happens to be the first, at any given time. Whoever is next gets no hot water whatsoever. I don't know how long it takes to recover, but eventually it does, and will permit one more 5 minute shower! Now, what is so disturbing about this is that I reported this problem to the staff in early March! (I met another customer yesterday who said he reported it in January)! And, my periodic reminders that this situation still exists have been politely dismissed with the usual excuses. I would like to know why it seems to be such a "moon shot" to call a plumber? Let's hope that management isn't beginning to cut corners in a tight market. I like this park; usually stay here a month or two every year. If they will just get this problem solved I can update this with a much better review. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
This park is probably one of the best in the area; however, there is not a lot to choose from. The sites are all concrete and level, but there are no other amenities. The park is located in an older residential area next to a train track and a highway. There is some airplane noise, but it is not enough to disturb sleep. The restaurant on site is a nice feature. Because this is basically a big "parking lot", we felt the price was too high. Then again, we don't know of another decent place in the area. We probably won't come to St. Louis again, but if we did, we would probably bite the bullet and come back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$50
This campground seems to be geared more toward the older crowd. There’s no swimming pool or hot tub, there’s no playground, no campfires, no tents allowed, and dogs must be walked outside the park. The park is clean, the restrooms were spotless, and the staff friendly. As others have mentioned, the highway is close by and elevated railroad tracks are right next to the campground with many trains passing by. Although the highway traffic couldn’t be heard, our sleep was interrupted by passing trains in the night. The roads are paved and the sites are concrete and wide with a picnic table at each site. The free Wi-Fi worked well but was slow. The park’s cable TV system offered a large selection of stations and there was a phone hookup next to the cable hookup. Most of the pull through sites are long but the backin sites are short requiring you to unhitch from all but the shortest trailers. I considered our rate of $50.00 to be way overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
While the RV park itself is paved and is kept clean, there are only basic amenities available to RVer's such as laundry, on site store, & showers. The don't have a pool / jacuzzi and I don't think they ever plan on putting one in. Nearby in town, there are restaurants, plenty of things to do in a normal town, and there's even a dog park 2 blocks away. What I didn't like, and had never encountered before, was paying for electricity separately from the costs of staying there. They are already the highest priced RV park I have ever stayed at. Its ridiculous that we had to put a $150 deposit for electric. The thing that made me the most upset was how we paid for a full month and ended up having to leave 2 weeks early and they wouldn't give us any kind of a refund. So they get 2 whole weeks for free from us and we get what? Nothing. They chucked it up to the pro-rating thing and how we wouldn't get back anything anyways if we were paying weekly or nightly. Just stupidly ridiculous in my opinion. Another bad thing is, there is a train track right next to the park, and its loud. Sometimes they trains are super long and the noise vibrates you several times a night. Plus, the highway is right next to the train tracks so you have plenty of traffic noise certain times of the day or night. If you are planning on staying one night this place is just fine, but if you stay long term, its not so great. I think the only reason this park is in business is because its the only one around near St Louis. I don't think its cool to be ripping people off like they did us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$53
This park is super nice. It is easy to park a BIG RIG on their concrete pads. Be sure to have a water pressure gauge on your city hookup. A Trolley comes in the park and will take you down town St. Charles to all the fabulous restaurants and bring you back just watch the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$55
Friendly staff. Exceptionally clean, tidy campground. No storage is permitted around or under campers. Very big rig friendly with wide paved lanes and long, wide concrete pads (room for the rig and the toad or tow vehicle). Bathrooms are very clean. Good wifi. No trees. Close to highway and railroad track and in the flight path of the St. Louis airport, but our sleep was not interrupted. Strictly enforced park rules require use of dog walk outside of the park’s fence along a city street and it is not at all convenient, but it is not a reason to avoid this nice park. Water pressure is high and park advises to use water pressure regulators. I believe regulators can be purchased in the camp store. At the city street intersection (Third Street and Transit Street) leading from I-370 to the campground, the campground’s sign is easy to miss; it’s just the blue camper symbol that one sees on highways. It is the only signage the city will allow. This is an exceptional campground, but boring--it is a huge parking lot with nothing interesting to see outside your window but other RVS. We would stay here again, but it is pricey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$50
Very nice, clean place. Pretty stark, with no trees or views to speak of. Amenities work very well- wifi, cable, etc. Easy trip to St. Charles Main Street, which is an absolute jewel. Be sure to try the restaurant (Beefeaters) that is on site. It is terrific. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
A very nice park. It's well kept and the people were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Located next to the well-known Katy Trail (for pedestrians, hikers and bicycles) which goes on for 225 miles. We biked to downtown St. Charles, which is about one mile away and borders the Missouri River. Downtown St. Charles is a quaint historic town with a brick-lined Main Street, horse carriages and gas lights. Sundermeier RV Park is clean and well-managed. A restaurant is on the grounds. This is a rally rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This is a parking lot type camp that is really set up for big Class A Coaches, but not for small trailers. By this I mean it is not a place to relax in your lawn chair and enjoy nature but more the type of place to watch sat-TV on your big screen with the A/C running. Facilities were fine, staff fine and there is a nice restaurant on-site. Pricy for an over night stay too. Water pressure is 100 PSI and they will sell you a regulator for $25. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
We stayed in this park this spring because I had to travel to that part of the country for a friend's wedding. The park was very neat and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the park restaurant, "Beefeater's." This was one of the nicest meals I have had in a long time. I will certainly return to this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$50
The rate is with an FMCA discount. The park was very clean and is a nice park but I think it is overpriced. The park has cement pads that are wide. A picnic table sits on the pad giving you plenty of room from your neighbor. However, there is nothing to obstruct the view. The park is close to a major highway and the railroad tracks plus it is in the flight path of the St. Louis airport. However, we did not find the noise a problem. There is also a restaurant on site. There is no fence or anything keeping patrons from the restaurant or the event center from the RV area. The staff is friendly and helpful. The office is stocked with RV parts, but really very few groceries. The restrooms and laundry are clean. The showers have a dressing room in each shower. The laundry is $1.50 for both washers and dryers. Wi-Fi is free and worked pretty well. It seemed slower in the mornings than at night. We would stay here again because of the convenience to the places we want to go and we felt safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$55
This Rv Park is a little pricey and hard to find. All of the sites and interior roads are concrete or paved. Will accommodate large rigs with tow vehicles. The onsite restaurant is good and only steps from your site. You can stop here overnight and have a good cocktail and dinner without unhooking. The value for the price is the only drawback. The staff is friendly and the park is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$50
A well maintained park with large pull throughs and concrete pads. The free city trolley stops at the park every half hour making touring the Saint Charles Historic District very convenient. The laundry and other facilities were clean and modern. There is a restaurant on site. However, there is little so remarkable to command the price other than the lack of any competition within an hour or less drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Not really a destination site, but OK for our purposes of visiting the area. All sites are large concrete pads with paved roads. Very easy in and out. Modern, convenient hook ups including cable TV and WiFi. Train runs on elevated track near the north end of the campground and depending on wind direction, airplanes might be flying overhead on approach (or departure) to St. Louis Airport. This might bother some people; some might like it. Katy Trail Path runs along the back side: very convenient access if you want a nice bike ride. Historic St. Charles is nearby. We would stay here again. Oh, also nice restaurant (Beefeaters) is right on the premises. We had a nice meal here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
This RV Park is WAY overpriced for what you get! The slabs are concrete which makes it very hot, and there are no shade trees. There is very little grass between sites, and they are very close together. It is close to an airport, so it was noisy if our air conditioner wasn't running. It is not dog friendly. You have to go outside the area, across a busy street to take your dog for a walk. It did appear to be a clean, well-groomed area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
This is a nice park but is very expensive for what it is! it is only a mile from a great dog park so we pay the extra to go there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
Way overpriced, considering that it is sometimes possible to book 3* hotels with Priceline for this rate. Looks like a parking lot. Friendly manager. Train noise. St. Charles seems like an interesting and pleasant place to spend some time. It's unfortunate that there's not more reasonable camping nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$45
First, you must know going in, this is a very noisy campground. The train and highway travel on a bridge next to the campground. Also, it is in the glide path of the airport in St. Louis. That being said, this is a very nice campground. The grounds are beautiful. The sites are wide and long. The managers are very kind and helpful. The laudrymat is huge and well maintained. The bathrooms are large and clean. The Katy Trail (biking/walking) is just through a gate at the back of the park. A local free trolley comes through the park all day to take visitors into St. Charles, 1.5 miles away. Freeway access is very convenient to get to St. Louis. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
Fourth camping experience at Sundermeir RV Park, first at a back-in. We prefer the pull throughs which are wonderful. The back-in is a little small. Otherwise this is one the best campgrounds we have ever visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
This is probably the only 'RV Park' in the Midwest. It is NOT a campground. It is very similar to most RV Parks in the west located along freeways. It is very big rig friendly. I have stayed at this park before. And will stay again when in the area. A good restaurant is located on the property. The owner says they will sell the park for the right price. They are looking to retire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Although all the concrete made for a hot stay (the weather was REALLY hot), it was a nice cg. Having a restaurant close by was great. Staff was friendly and the area was clean. The noise from a nearby train was a tad annoying, but overall, we were pleased. We would go there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$42
Great Park. Don't be fooled by the block of driving to get there (Shantytown). Not only is the park along side of the Missouri River, but it has a great restaurant along side of it (Beef Eaters). It is a very modern park with grass areas along side of each site. Staff is great and you have free shuttle service to St Charles, a very old, quaint town with lots of shops and restaurants. If you are into Botiques, you'll love this town; my wife did. The Museum is not worth the time, but you guys must visit the Cigar store. Word of caution though, do not leave your awnings up; nasty winds come up suddenly. Two RVers lost their awnings in one day . . . ripped them right off, struts and all. This was the only park in our 5 week sojourn that had excellent WiFi service. Granted you had to pay for it (~$7 per week) but it was reliable with great speed. Staff were very friendly. It's a must go to again park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
Paved roads, oversized concrete pads and a close proximity to area attractions are the only assets this park has to offer. No trees, no pool or hottub, Wi-Fi is offered but at ridiculously high prices... and all that for $50 per night. If the park were under $40 I would rate it higher but $50 is just too much to pay for so few services (at least include the Wi-Fi). The owner's husband was a delight.. friendly and helpful, but the owner is anything but. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice park, but it is truly OVERPRICED... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
We stay here on our way to Chicago. It is the half way point. We like it because there are full hookups, and easy in and out. It also has a good restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2006
$55
We had heard many good things about the park so stopped there on way thru St. Louis just to see it. The park is easy to pull in and out of. The restaurant is fair. Otherwise, we were very disappointed. The park is very noisy and in what appears to be a blighted area. Looks like a very old lumber yard. Came in late in evening and charged $55 because we had our daughter, son-in-law and their infant baby w/us. Not the worst we have ever stayed at but the worst for the money. Never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$45
The campground is extremely clean and well kept including the laundry and rest rooms. They do have Wi-Fi but did not use since we have our own wireless internet service. We are in the process of becoming full time RV'ers and used this park for 8 weeks while moving from our house to the fifth wheel. The sites are very spacious. We parked a truck and a car in the same site with the fifth wheel. The restaurant, Beefeaters, is extremely good. The prices range from $6.95 for an oversized hamburger and fries to $36.95 for Surf and Turf. We have tried numerous items on the menu and have nothing but good things to say about the food. Their speciality is prime rib and it is delicious. It is close to downtown historic St. Charles and 25 minutes to downtown St. Louis. The owners are very friendly and the staff at the restaurant are very personable and friendly. Families with small childen will find no playground equipment but a large playground is less than a quarter mile from the park. The campground is also very near the Katy Trail for bike riding and walking. We will be be back to this park in the spring, 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$38
This RV park is ultra clean but like parking on a parking lot. There are no trees and the concrete pads exceed any grass there might be. This is the only RV park near St. Charles and so it seems that is the reason for the near $40.00 a day fee. The staff was pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$41
Excellent concrete site length and width with city wide macadum streets. Only negative is the lack of trees - gives it a barren look unless nearly full and even then the lack of visual appeal is striking. It has a restaurant on site (Beefeater's) which has a good selection menu and serves great food. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2005
$45
This park has good pads and lawn space between trailer. Its priced too high. Its just a spot in an industrial type area. Nothing special. The staff seemed kind of grumpy, not friendly. We stayed one night and moved. If we were visiting some place very close then we might stay, but my suggestion is to look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2004
$39
This park has wide paved sites. It is just a few blocks from St. Charles. The campground is very well maintained but on a narrow side street. It has a restaurant/bar on one side that generates much traffic. Water pressure is very high and there is considerable noise from the railroad and intersate as well as the glide path for St. Louis airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$50
Park is very expensive $50/night and looks like a parking lot with hookups. Highway 370 is on one side, train tracks on same side, airport near and you get both commercial and military take offs. Lumber yard that opens at 6:00 AM on other side and you get trucks pulling in and backing out first thing in the AM. I was already awake since the 5:30 AM freight train. This was the first and LAST time I stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$40
We have stayed at this CG several times this year (2003). It has good accommodations, clean, concrete sites, good roads and a fence around the perimeter. The street coming into and out of the CG is narrow and you need to make a wide exit to keep from catching the curb. The KATY trail is close by for a good walk or bike ride. The prices are high for what you get, but we have been back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$36
If you're in the area this park is nice! Yes, it's a tight turn into the street that brings you into the park, but we're navigating a 40 footer with toad and had NO PROBLEM! Once into the park, it's VERY WELL maintained. Wide streets, level parking (the computer said we were level prior to leveling), state-of-the-art facilities, thought I was back in California. Yes, there are trains and aircraft - so, you're in a city! The park is within walking distance of the Katy trail and historic St Charles. The staff were ALL friendly and courteous, would definitely return!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$32
I have to review this place as an urban RV Park, not a state campground. A few planes, trains, and barking dogs are expected. We've stayed twice and will return. Excellent facilities and friendly and helpful staff. The turn into the park's street is a bit sharp, and the turn out is really tight; you WILL hit the righthand curb unless you can borrow the other lane for the turn. You will be given a restaurant menu with prices when you check in, and the prices seem to reflect the convenience of the restaurant, but you are not required to eat there! The food was good, both times. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$40
I would rate this RV park in a few different ways. As far as the site and hookups, it's a 9 ... huge level concrete pad, nice new, modern hookups, very easy phone hookup. It gets a 7 for the surrounding area ... the immediate neighborhood is old and rough, and the only local grocery store is old and small, but the old town of St Charles, about 2 miles away, is very nice, and the dining is spectacular. Mixed reviews on the staff ... We're relatively young (late 30s), they treated me with gestapo tactics (must have told me 10 times that I'd need to clean up after my dog, which I always do anyway), but my wife liked them (she's pretty, and they liked flirting with her). Noise rates a zero, trains drove by at all hours. Although kids are allowed, there's no pool, or nothing to keep them entertained. Price also is way high. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$39
Wide, level concrete pads. access via a tight turn off main road and then thru three blocks of fairly narrow local street which was congested at times. near large RR bridge over river. Airplane noise. don't agree with other review about pricing at adjacent restaurant. The name is Beef Eaters Pub & Grill and they have an excellent 8 oz Black Angus sirloin burger for $6.95 including french fries and trimmings. Location is good base for visiting downtown St Charles and taking side trips to the wine country and to St Louis attractions. note: we have 40 ft pusher. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2001
$39
Terribly disapointed. Located in a bad neighborhood (frogtown) and is near a junkyard and lumberyard. Noisy area especially when the numerous trains go by. Too expensive. These folks have a situation where there isn't much competition within miles and they take advantage of it. Try somewhere else!! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2001
$39
Their ad claims to be the only "VIP" rv resort in the midwest. We debated the meaning of that before arriving. It listed gourmet meals delivered to your site, 2 instant phone lines to each site and many other amenities. But it doesn't mention it is on the flight path to the airport, that it is in an older neighborhood with narrow little roads, that it is next to a lumber yard that starts work at 7:00 AM or that there is a railroad viaduct next door with frequent nighttime trains. Add to that the 2 phone lines to each site aren't included but rather cost $4.oo per line per night and the gourmet meals delivered to your site are quite pricy and ordinary (2 burgers and cokes with steak fries sets you back $40.00). If I'm going to drop that kind of money per night I expect a whole lot more. We figured out that VIP stands for Very Insane Pricing. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com