206944 User submitted reviews online!!
Beacon RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (816) 279-5417
CGID1644

Beacon RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   1   4   3   4   3   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
This park was really close to a highway where there was lots of motor noise. Its a great over night stay but not for a relaxing vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
The park was clean, few permanents and easy in and out. Free internet and lots of cable channels. It is on a busy street, but being down from the street level, was very quiet. The site was uneven, but easy to find a level location. Don't know what park the previous reviewers were looking at, but they grossly misrepresented this park. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Place is awkward to get into for a larger unit. Lady who was in the office was nice. Place is older and in a neighborhood. No dedicated dog area, but plenty of room to walk dog. Quiet at night We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This is not an RV campground, just a trailer park. Very difficult to drive down the road due to cars and trucks parked halfway into the street. Concrete sites are cracked and broken and not level. Very unkempt grounds, way overpriced. Office reeked of cigarette smoke. Lots of permanent residents. Staff was friendly but this place needs some major improvement. I would not stay here again, ever! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Park entrance is on a busy highway with a very, very steep driveway to the office. Mostly residents in mobile homes, that have bags of trash, junk and broken down cars all over the place! Park is open to traffic from several entrances, and security is non existent. Concrete slabs are broken, with huge chunks missing. Dirty and dusty, with dead landscape made for a very poor appearance around the sites. The only positive thing we can say is that it was close to a business that we had to visit while passing through Missouri. Will NOT stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Agree with another reviewer that I don't know how this park earned a Good Sam rating. It's very small, no place to walk or play with pets, and right off of a very busy road. When we arrived there had been a fender bender between a big rig and a truck. Rather than directing us around the mess to a comfortable site via the city streets that surround the park the on-duty manager squeezed us into a site where you could barely open the door without hitting a retaining wall. The restrooms smelled of cigarettes and were not particularly clean. We were only there for one night but I would not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Disappointing for a Good Sam Park. Set on Belt Highway and on a hill. First appearance is junkie. This was reinforced when we entered the office area. The park sells electronic cigarettes and candles and this dominates the office area: which is also cluttered. There are RVs at the top of the hill and on down. Some of the trailers are not in very good shape. Restrooms and laundry at the crest of the hill (most of the RVers are down the hill). Parking for one truck only and many park on the road rather than in their spot making travel (including backing out) through the park challenging. We found the staff to be less than friendly. There is an overall sense of not caring. Very few if any repairs have been made to sites including the concrete pads, gravel or grass. While the park does accept pets, there is little space for them to be walked: especially when the park is busy. There are no sidewalks outside the park. We are fulltime RVers and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Off a very busy street & very hard to find. Not much room to park while registering. Office is crowded & messy. Sites are end to end so we were glad it wasn't too busy so that we could leave our towed car hooked up as we stayed only 1 night. Office help was friendly & helpful as was the owner who did come into the office later. There is an oriental restaurant across the street but otherwise you would have to drive to find a restaurant as there are no sidewalks along this busy street. We will try a different park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Stayed one night here while going home. Was ok for just a stopover, but I wouldn't stay more than that. It had that "trailer park" feel and look. Had a lot of permanent units. Attendant was friendly and helpful, he helped us back in to our site. Wi-Fi was great and cable TV must have had 60 channels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
I would drive three hours to avoid this park. I would have left after checking in had I known it was going to be so bad and if I didn't mind driving at night. I tried three times to take a shower and each time there were people waiting to get in. When it was finally free, I took one look and couldn't bring myself to shower. Filthy. The owner was cordial and showed me to my site. I was fortunate that it didn't rain because right outside my door was deep mud--I would have sunk above my ankles. I had asked for a pull through when I called, but he said they reserved those for big rigs that pull in over night. I can understand his reasoning; however, I don't expect an inferior, dirty, unlevel site because I have a small trailer. The park (if you want to call it that) is on a busy street. The only good thing for me was that there is a KFC right across the 5 lane highway, and I was able to get something to eat without unhooking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Old campground, poorly laid out. To get to our site we had to leave the campground, go out on a 5 lane road to get back into the other side. There was no good place to park your tow vehicle. Everyone was parked half on the sidewalk, half on the street. Be forewarned, they charge extra for everything and don't tell you! They advertise 50 amp, cable TV and WiFi. They do have it all BUT you have to pay $1.25 each night for each of these, it does add up! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Except for location this park has no redeeming value. Front desk personnel unhelpful. Restrooms, showers and laundry were not cleaned while we were here, and didn't appear to have been cleaned for a long time. No paper towels in the restrooms during our stay. Cigarette smoke in the office is overpowering. We were denied a space with any shade because we were long term: 4 nights. Car radios, fireworks, loud vehicles and noisy neighbors at all hours. Permanent residents noisy and rude. Management does not enforce rules. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We had a pull through which wasn't really a pull through, but was adequate. Needed gravel on the sites but was parked under a tree so had lots of shade. We stayed here due to our truck breaking down and the hostess was very friendly. Checked with us several times to make sure we were doing okay. Not a 5 star park but was a nice little park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
It was okay for an overnight. The spaces were far too close together and there are no pull-through sites. However if there is an empty site in front you can pull through. The road is wide enough where you can back in without too much trouble. The charge for everything. The management was very friendly and helpful. We got there after it had rained and our site was very muddy. The spaces are paved but in very bad repair. If you are just staying overnight this place should be okay for that purpose. The spaces were not very level but not too far off. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
About the best thing I can say about this small crowded park was that it had excellent water pressure. Very urban setting, but located down a hill off the street, so the noise was not too bad. Convenient to all historic sightseeing, shopping and restaurants. Nice folks in the office. Had trouble with our satellite but they have Wi-Fi, not free, but cheap. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
I stayed here while working close by. The monthly rate was $450, WIFI and cable are $1.25 extra per night. I found this park to be quiet and close to everything I needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. The store in the office had what I wanted to cover all of my rv's needs. There was plenty of space to maneuver my rig (20' 5th wheel). There were rigs way bigger than mine here. There are no pull through sites, but if the one behind you is empty you could pull through. In front and behind the park are 4 lane roads, plenty of room to enter and exit. When you drive in there is plenty of room to park while you register. The park has 3 ways to enter or exit so getting in and out is easy. Over all I have been happy with my decision to stay here. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
The campground was cramped so bad you couldn't even put your awning out. It is in the middle of town and people would walk right by our RV. I thought some young man was coming up to talk to my husband and me, but he was just "walking by" our RV. We are full-timers who stay several months at a park, so find a good park is very important. We soon left after arriving there. All of the pull thru and shady sites are for people who just stay just a few nights, so we got a smaller sight to back our 40' RV in. The park was very crowded. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
For just an overnighter, this park is not so optimum. The suburban location on rather busy streets makes for somewhat frustrating access. No true pull-through sites unless (as others here have noted) you are the first in. Price noted is for a full hookup, back-in site on lean gravel. Beautiful trees grace the park, however had no problem with satellite TV, Verizon air-card or cell phone reception. Cheerful, exuberant office lady coordinating the evening check-ins like an air-traffic controller. She got us all in like a pro: had a full house by dark and it was quiet. Can attest to this park's big-rig accessibility as two magnificent 45-footers with tow vehicles, maneuvered with ease into the last remaining pull through sites before dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This campground is a good location for seeing the sights in St. Joseph, Missouri. It is surprisingly quiet at night; don't let its in-town location scare you away. Friendly staff; many long-term residents in mostly well maintained trailers and motor homes. We highly recommend the Pony Express Museum and the Patee House museum. For pet care we highly recommend Countryside Veterinarians, on Frederick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Wi-Fi cost $1.25 per night. Cable is available but it also costs and I'm not sure of price since we didn't want it. Lots of permanent residents. Propane service was available. Small RV Supply store inside office area. Office lady friendly and helpful. Sites were narrow with no privacy. Had to park tow in front of camper and half way in the street like everyone else. Had to ask camper next door to move his guests vehicle so we could even pull out of our site. There was just no room for guests to park. The pull thru sites are pull thru if you are the first one there. They are actually two back in sites. Not sure I would rate this as a pull thru. Electrical power and water pressure was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Nice location, pretty quiet and very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$28
Be ready for the entrance since it is a driveway between businesses (and downhill). This park is quite convenient for visiting the very many sites in the area. The office staff is friendly and helpful; lots of food choices in the area. It was very quiet for being right on a main road. It's an RV park that could be a mobile home park but the residents are friendly but street parking is tight. Some concrete pads needed to be reconstructed. One site had a lot of mud. We'd come back here for the location and conveniences nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Sites are not very roomy, but a great place to overnight. Restrooms were family style and they were great. Best restrooms we have ever used. Great Chinese Restaurant next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Read the previous reviews. They have it right. Mostly permanent rigs with narrow sites and cracked or missing concrete. We tried to fit in with a 45' motorhome, and felt lucky to get out unscathed. They had one pull thru which one had to access by pulling thru the empty site behind it and down a little hill avoiding mud holes. Exiting is another challenge. Everybody parks their toad or truck on the road in front of their site to and to leave you must ask others to move their vehicles. We left and went to Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
This is a park that has multiple personality disorder. Is it in an urban environment? Yes, yet it was quite quiet. Is it an RV park? It's an RV park that, if those weren't RV's, could be a mobile home park (a number of semi-permanent residents). Is it an RV dealership? Yes, but that does not seem to disrupt customer service for campers. Were the bathrooms large? No, but they were immaculate and incredibly private (almost like a home bathroom complete with walk-in shower, pedestal sink, etc). Was it mowed and neat? Yes, yet some concrete pads needed to be back-hoed and reconstructed. One site had a lot of mud. Was there really any recreation? No, its for an overnight stay if you are just visiting. Would we stay here again? Depends on what time we arrived in the St. Joseph area. This is one of the toughest parks I have written about. Nice, but oddly different. A bit pricey for the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
The best part about the park was the front desk - the woman who checked us in was very nice and helpful. However, the park sits in the middle of the city, right on a commercial road close to many services and restaurants. The sites were pretty close together with several semi-permanent RVs there. It is good for an overnight, but not for a base camp to explore the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$31
I would say that it was just adequate, and was overpriced. Pull-throughs were too short and we had to park the truck in the street. We would probably stay here again if nothing else was available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
We have overnighted here several times. There is nothing about this park that is real outstanding, however there are no real negatives either. The fact that we keep coming back speaks for itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
This is a nice, quiet campground. The entrance is right on the main street, but the campsites are set back and are very quiet. We stayed 3 nights and would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
This is a delightful little park. The sites are very close together, but level and easy to back into. There are only two restrooms, which is a bit of a concern when you don't have a bathroom (we don't), but always look like they've just been cleaned. The staff is wonderful--friendly and helpful. In spite of being right on a main road, the park is quiet at night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
The location of the park is very convenient on the Belt Way. The park is very clean, a little tight BUT nothing of any concern. The staff were WONDERFUL and went out of their way to be helpful! The WiFi is CHEAP and one of the best we've experienced! Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
Very clean and well kept facilities. Campground is right in town with commercial businesses on front and nice residential area behind. We were really surprised at how quiet it was given its location. Campground is situated on a slope, but all campsites are level with concrete or paved pads. Excellent WiFi internet and cable TV service. Highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$26
In town site. Nice neighborhood. Many seasonals. Site a bit narrow and short. Pull throughs in season are quite short. Pull around requires exiting and re-entering from public road. Be prepared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$25
I would have given this park a 10 if they had just washed our motorhome! Really, great place. Will use it again. No complaints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$21
Nice park with very good ingress and egress. Extremely personable and helpful people run it. Across the street from several restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$21
New clean restrooms and laundry. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$21
Nice people, have made a lot of improvements since we were there in 98. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Quiet peaceful park. I found their restrooms and laundry to so pleasing and well decorated. Close to all attractions. Staff gave us directions and they were very friendly. Will go back again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2000
$20
Did not save reserved site, caters to permanents who all park in only exit road, was very difficult to get out. Sites are crammed together. I would avoid this one at all costs. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com