214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Stanton / Meramec KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (573) 927-5215
CGID1647

Stanton / Meramec KOA

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   6   8   8   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Nice little campground. It looked like there were more cabins than hookup sites, they filled up shortly after 6 PM. The pull-through spots drop off in the back so you have to be prepared to level your camper toward the front of the spot. Very friendly and very shaded. We just spent one night but I would expect a family would really enjoy staying and taking advantage of the proximity to the Meramec Caverns and the river sports. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2012
$40
Below par KOA, but okay for an over-night. Friendly staff, small pool in season. Nothing close by, unless you want Meramec caves. Far enough off the interstate so noise wasn't an issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
This is a nice over night stop. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I thought the bathroom/showers were very clean, but maybe a little dated and needing some updates. The campground was easy to access from I-44. There was some road noise and the train tracks did offer some noise. While neither was great it was still a little of a distraction. My only reasons for the "8" are around the restrooms and the fact that I did notice an issue with the electrical power. There were several noticeable spikes in the power that I notices looking at my meter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
This park was good for an overnight stop. We called ahead because they only have 16 pull throughs that could fit a big rig. Site was full hook up, fairly level and has easy access to the highway. The down side was they had the laundry room closed and we really needed to do laundry. There is a train track very close and it came by once about 5:30 a.m. The price is a bit too high for this park as most KOA parks through the U.S. We would stay again overnight as there aren't many choices along I-44. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
This a small but very nice campground. We have stayed here often. Water and power is good, sewer location well located. Some sites have satellite access. Reasonably easy access in and out. Shaded sites available. The BBQ dinner is reasonably priced and very tasty. Site are fairly level. This is one campground where we usually would like to stay longer than an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Small, but nice little campground. We arrived right at dinner time, and the host was cooking ribs. They were delicious! We stayed one night. The site was gravel and pretty level. Large enough to hold our 40 foot rig without crowding. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Stayed here 4 years ago and they have actually made improvements by upgrading electric to 50 amp for most if not all sites. Very level, gravel sites with picnic table. Near to I-44 but not much noise from the traffic. Very quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Great KOA with super owners. It is located close to I-44; however, far enough away not hear road noise. They have kayak/canoeing in the summer. That would be great fun to come back and do. Would definitely plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
We stayed here one weekday night in early November and had a FHU, pull-through site. There is no cable TV but we were able to get satellite at our site. Some of the 16 FHU sites may not be satellite friendly. There are also a dozen or so W&E sites. The rest of the park's sites are for tents. We were able to get Wi-Fi in the RV in site 16 but there were only 5 other customers in the park. There are 5 (the 4 networks plus PBS) over the air channels. November is the park's last open month of the season. Bathhouse was fine but some of the other facilities (the pool, clubhouse, and canoe rental) were closed for the season. Staying here in the summer when it is full with families, kids, and other vacationers would be completely different. Also at this exit are a small gas station, a small church, a small post office, and a small cemetery (actually kind of interesting), but the Meramac Caverns are just a couple miles down the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Small quiet KOA off of I-44. Roads & sites are gravel. They have 16 pull through sites all lined up in a row. Each site is full hookup 50/30 amp. Maneuvering is OK with 40 footer and a tow. Sites are over 65 feet long & slightly sloped from front to rear. Received AT&T cell and high seed 3G data service. All these sites are satellite friendly for roof mounted dishes. I would return to this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Nightly rate reflects KOA membership rate. Nice clean facilities. Since our stay was toward the end of the season we had our pick of sites, but also meant the store was very bare. We were able to order dinner which was welcome after a long day of driving and it was delivered to our site. Close to Meramec Caverns. We stayed there one night. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
This park is very conveniently located just off I-44. There is a large area for parking at check-in. Full service pull-throughs are gravel, and ours was not level. Mature trees and grass separate the sites. There is plenty of room for slides and awnings. The owners leave an empty space between RV's until the park starts to fill up. Roads within the park are gravel and in good condition. Utilities worked well, as did the WiFi. Cable TV was not available. We did not check out the washrooms. Road noise from the interstate and the road in front of the park was minimal. There is a train track a block or two away, but only one train came through each day of the weekend - not sure what it would be during the week. This is a very pleasant park with friendly staff and we will certainly choose this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice overnight stop. Just 2 miles from Meramec Caves. Far better place for RVs than the CG at the caverns which is a teenager tent city. Upper section has good gravel pads. Lower section is shaded pull throughs with little cabins & tent camping sites in the same loop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
We stayed overnight while traveling. Fairly easy access from highway. Sites were reasonably level. Got satellite reception with little difficulty. Both urinals in the men washroom were out of order leaving only one toilet to use. Showers were very good - nice individual locking stalls with bench. It's right across from a fire station so we heard and saw trucks 3 times in the early evening, but nothing overnight. All in all a reasonable park - we would stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Nice staff. The campground just had a few campers and it was nice and quiet except for a couple of times that trains went by on the nearby tracks. Good dog walk area. We were in site 15, and that site and the ones around it were well-graveled and level. A little narrower than I like, but not too bad. I did not try to set up our dish, but there was only one tree in our area and I'm pretty sure I would have had a good line of sight. Good WiFi service. The price reflects KOA discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
This is a very nice park located at exit 230 on IH-44 about an hour west of St. Louis. Like some other posters have noted, the GPS does not recognize Stanton, Missouri, but it is very easy to find. Gravel sites were very level and the park was very quiet. The only problem we experienced were too many trees for our satellite dome to receive a signal. However, about 5 over the air channels were available. This park was great for our overnight stay. The wi-fi is very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Easy to find the park. The electric and water pressure was good. Clean park nice with dog area. Some of the sites have new gravel and someone did not get it level. On our site the gravel in rear was low forcing us to use extra step. We would stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This is a pleasant surprise. Very rural area, and our GPS didn't even think Stanton existed. The owners said it didn't and to use Sullivan to find it. Easy to find though if your are on the Interstate. Adequate signs to point the direction off exit 230. Clean and well kept. Small but adequate for an over night stay or a few days exploring. They have some sort of canoe business going. Great food. We had the half rack of baby back ribs. Potato salad was great. We will use this again if we pass by this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Great hosts, very inviting. Pizza parlor was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a nice enough campground and it is very close to Meramec Caverns. The bathhouse leaves something to be desired. There are only 2 showers and the walls aren't even finished. We stayed overnight and the campground is just right for that. We were in a pop up camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Very clean and quiet park. Nice pool area. Good Wi-Fi. Close to the interstate. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
Good overnight stop. Trains nearby, heard one during the night. Site wasn't very level. Not a great value, but that's what I have learned to expect from KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$33
We stayed at this campground one night each way to and from Branson. The campground is located about a quarter of a mile off Interstate 44. Restaurants and retail are not nearby; but are available in Sullivan a few miles up the frontage road. We did not hear interstate traffic. The gravel site did have a slight slope but that helped it drain well. We had to use boards to level from side to side and noticed that others had done the same. The only television stations available are those that can be received with an antenna. The services we used worked (water, sewer, 30 amp power, Wi-Fi). The electrical service at our site was located very close to the ground so we had to make sure our electrical cord stayed properly seated. The bathhouse and bathrooms were not as clean as one would expect during off season and immediately after their scheduled cleaning hours. The fixtures showed their age and the floors needed to be swept and mopped. We would stay at this campground again for an overnight stop. However, it is not a great value for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Quick and easy access off the interstate. Sites were large enough to accommodate our 34 foot motorhome with a 16 foot trailer. Staff was great and campground and showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Clean Park. Friendly Staff. Nice pool. Fine for a one night stay but wouldn't wish to stay there any longer due to small size of sights. We had full hook ups but no shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This KOA park is better than the Jelly Stone park across the interstate. This place like Jelly Stone really pack the RV's in tight. We stayed here so I could drop the kids off at 6 Flags and then pick them up again when they would call. Be sure to ask for a satellite site if you need it. Pool looked clean and had camping families swimming all day long. Park was clean and the staff was very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
Good park near Meramec Cave. Pull thru sites were long and mostly level. The larger pull thru sites had very little shade. Tent, smaller back in sites had plenty of shade. Not a large place, but good enough for overnight. Pool is shallow with 3 feet at one end and 4 feet at the other (good for kids). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Great 1 nighters. Will stay there again for sure . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
The owners are extremely friendly. The campground has 2 levels, one bottom level for tents and pop-ups. It was easy to get into. The owners were as friendly as I have seen in a long time. They went out of their way to help us. The only problem was the lights on the canoes as they run a canoing business. The restrooms have combination locks, and they are one small room with 1 stool, 1 sink and one shower with all being on the same floor (no shower pan) which is unusual. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
We stayed on a quiet Sunday evening. Staff wasn't really friendly on check-in. Huge trash dumpster is located by the office so it is quite a hike to throw trash. Our site was a pull-through located a distance from the pool and right next to the only other campers in the area. The site was quite narrow and didn't allow for the picnic table unless we put it on the site next to us. Some camp sites do not allow campfires. We loved the pool as it was clear and sparkling clean. Could use some umbrellas for shade. I think the fishing hole dried up. Train noise, but it wasn't disturbing. Bathrooms/showers now have entry codes for campers so that the tubers and canoers couldn't use them any longer. They were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$99
We enjoyed our stay at this campground very much. We have a toddler so we used the public restrooms quite often and found them to be clean. The main building is also very clean and comfortable. The new owners do a very good job of making you feel at home. They have WiFi and it was nice to be able to check my email. My toddler really enjoyed the swimming pool and the fishing pond. We look forward to another visit in Summer 2005. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$99
We found this campground to be very nice. We stayed in a cabin, but with a toddler had plenty of opportunity to visit the public restrooms which we found to be quite clean. The main office was very clean and comfortable. The new owners are very friendly and made us feel at home. They have "Wi-Fi" in the main building and it was nice to be able to check email which they plan to expand that availablity to the entire kampground soon. Our toddler enjoyed the pool and the fishing pond also. We look forward to another visit summer of 2005. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Upon arriving couldn't tell if KOA of not- No landscaping could be found-Trash was over flowing smelled- Office is in a dark dingy room where they have tables I guess to eat. Smokers apparently allowed as the room smelled of smoke. We ordered food- Over done- When we told them- They said just heat and serve Alcohol apparently was allowed in & out of bldgs- The restroom connected to main bldg. was filty- No floor covering- dingey dark- Since I was with friends I didn't say anything to Manager- I doubt they have a license to serve food- I would never go here again. A good scrubbing is needed and neat up the place the bath/smelled of urine apparently not cleaned daily. I don't remember if had table or grills at each site. Small sites we couldn't put out awning- Looked like they catered to loud drinking rafters not a family place you would take your children. Please clean up this place- We stayed one nite.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2000
$20
Very noisy park, very small, too much activity renting canoes, smokers in office/store/cafe. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com