214273 User submitted reviews online!!
Meramec State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (573) 468-6072
CGID1649

Meramec State Park

Camp Information
Sites
206
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   10   8   6   9   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
We got one of the full hookup spots on the row by the river. It wasn't riverfront, but there was only a little road and strip of trees between us and the river. Full hookup 50 amp/water/sewer all worked fine. Wi-Fi comes from the bath house, so get close to it if that's critical for you. It didn't work in spot #4. We got very spotty Verizon service since it's down in the river valley, unusable for data and we only got texts and calls when walking around the far eastern edge of the campground. It is a beautiful park, almost like golf course pretty. Lots of room between sites. It was very, very well maintained and between the well cut green grass and millions of shade trees it was a very tranquil environment. Fisher Cave is at the campground and offers guided tours. Meramec Caverns is really corny and located about 20 minutes away. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Good state park. Campground is a couple of miles from park entrance. Some sites are full hook up. Some water and electric only. Camp hosts do a good job of checking up on campground. We enjoy the solitude found during the week. Sites vary from shaded to fairly open. We have had no difficulty getting satellite reception. WiFi reception is somewhat spotty, but they are working on improvements. We enjoy this campground and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
Very family friendly park. Both weekends we were there they had huge campground activities for Halloween on the Saturday nights. Campground is easily perused from any location for keeping an eye on the kids. Only real downside is the large shedding of black walnuts that time of year - loud and can hit you in the head! But a little free added adventure I suppose! Wifi is horrible. They use the lowest available service and when campground is full - good luck... Restrooms are basic but clean and easily accessible from most spots. Trails are abundant and there's one for all skill levels. Word to the wise, area is very hilly and campground is deep into the park. Wildlife is also abundant but still relatively timid so we didn't have any problems but some great observation opportunities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Meramec State Park is a great place to stay. The campground is clean and the large trees give great shade. The Meramec River runs along the side of the camp grounds with easy access. It is also the site of Fisher Cave, one of the many caves in Missouri. You can take a guided tour (seasonal) of the cave for a nominal fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
The campsites were in amazing shape considering that the Meramec River had flooded recently. It has been at least 15 years since we have camped here and the trees in the campground have matured nicely so that nearly every site is shaded. As the previous reviewer stated, you cannot see the river any longer as the vegetation has grown up. But with a short walk upstream there is nice river access. In the vicinity of the campground the banks are steep and dangerous. This park is popular as it is close to St. Louis and everyone comes down to rent canoes from the on-site outfitter and "float" down the river. They take you upstream in a bus and you float back to the campground at leisure. This service is offered daily during the summer, and on the week ends during the spring and fall. There are cabins and motel rooms for rent, and a grill that we found out is only open Thurs- Sun. Fisher Cave is located at the campground, in fact its entrance is a storm shelter. It is no longer open for tours in 2013 due to the white nose syndrome that is spreading through the bat population. We'll be back, but during the week when it is less crowded. Our rate was for an electric only site and reflects a $2 disability discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Was really disappointed when we arrived. Our campsite 112 was cover with mud and sludge.(Almost slid down when trying to hook up). Pad that table was on had standing water and wooden table was bowed and uneven. The biggest disappointment was that while we are right by the river you can't see it because of the undergrowth. Website map just shows river and campsites and doesn't even hint of trees/undergrowth between. We'll have to take our granddaughter somewhere else to swim. Very frustrating. We will not be coming back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This is a great park. We were there on a crowded week-end and had a wonderful time. The spaces are large and roomy. The bathrooms could have been cleaner and front check in girl didn't seem to know much about the area. But the park is awesome and Fisher Cave is a must see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Lovely state park. Easy check-in and friendly camp host. Quiet, peaceful. Large trees, some over hang the road but are easily avoided. Large grass areas to enjoy plus a river to wade/swim in if you want. Dog waste bags provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This state park campground was a hit with our family! We camped Labor Day weekend, and had a fabulous time. There were many campground hosts riding around on golf carts, making certain all was well. There were evening programs available with the park rangers that were great! We learned about owls and bats on successive nights. The hiking paths around the campgrounds are great fun, but watch out for the poison ivy and ticks. A good bug repellent is helpful. Showerhouse #1 was quite clean at all points of the weekend! Kudos to the staff! This is certainly a campground you don't want to miss! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is a very nice park. Friendly staff. Very pretty. Right next to the Meramec River, but you can't actually see it from the sites. Nice, wide sites easy to back into, even for our big rig. There are no signs to indicate where hookups are until you finally get to that area, which is at the very end of the road, so follow the tent signs. The approach is interesting, but typical for the Ozarks, down to a valley over very big hills. Big rigs have to dodge low overhanging tree limbs. If you need a breeze to stay cool in hot weather, you won't find one in this valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
We came here on early Friday on Memorial weekend, hoping to get an electric walk up site. They had three left and advised us which one would accommodate our 35' motorhome. We ended up on the back end of a loop with nothing behind us but woods (#45B). Being Memorial weekend, it was packed, but we felt like we had tons of privacy. We used the showers at bathhouse #3 which is all by itself in a group camping area, therefore less used. There is a store with wood and a restaurant (we didn't eat there), that's at least a mile from the campground entrance and hilly, so riding a bike there for more than a loaf of bread might be a challenge. There are cave tours and nature programs at the ampitheatre. There is a small boat launch and a rocky beach accessible by a winding, muddy (while we were here) trail. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$11
A typical State Park; average size lots fanned out over several loops. Electric sites are next to the Merimec River, and makes for a pleasant walk. The even-numbered sites are under Black Walnut trees, which in the Fall drop hard, gooey nuts on your camper. We spent an hour scrubbing off the black walnut stains from our white motorhome. Used this park as a stop-over on the way home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Full hook up sites lined up along road adjacent to river. Close together, level but very wet and muddy with rain. We were evacuated in the early morning due to rain the day before and the river rising. Grassy, tall trees for shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
This is a lovely campground and we would definitely stay here again – in cooler weather during the off season for camping. We were next to the river but the view was obscured by the trees and growth. We could occasionally hear boats going past. The campground was extremely crowded the weekend of our stay which meant more people using the bathhouse and toilets. The campground staff could not keep up with cleaning the facilities during high traffic times. Earlier in the year the campground was under water so much sand remained from the flooding. Our site had full hook-ups including sewer. The electric power quality was good. The water connection couldn’t be tightened enough to prevent a small continuous spray that kept the area wet around it. We could not pick up any AM or FM radio stations. Some campers who had satellite dishes did have television reception. However, most cell phones could not get a signal. This was August so we did have bugs and gnat type flies in abundance. Mosquitoes didn’t seem to be a huge problem. The area has lots of trees that add to the woodsy setting. The trees had started to drop some leaves, some walnuts and sap. The campground is well patrolled and quiet hours seem to be enforced. Our directions from Internet mapping services were inaccurate for this area. We found it best to use the directions provided by the campground website. If you miss the turn into the campground entrance, it’s hard to find a place to turn around. This is a very scenic campground and we plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Great state park and campground. We spent a week in one of the full hook up sites which are located across from the river (you can't see the river due to the vegetation). Because this campground flooded twice in March the 'riverfront' sites were full of sand which, naturally got everywhere. We took the Meramec Caverns tour - it is commercially run and about 20 minutes from the campground - we much preferred the Fisher cave tour which is located within the campground. We also did a river float which was enjoyed by everyone. The town of Sullivan is close by and contains a Wal-Mart Supercenter for all your shopping needs. There is also a very nice city-run swimming pool which we enjoyed one afternoon. We had no problems accessing the roadways or sites in our 40 foot coach and would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
This is a beautiful park. Was quiet and well kept. The employee at the gate was friendly and helpful. This was a great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
We enjoyed our stay at this park. It was a very nice and peaceful weekend. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Beautiful setting with large trees. Level asphalt pads. Trash disposal nearby. Recycling available. Wonderful historical park with an awesome cave tour and hiking trails available. There is a great park store on the way in. Bathrooms were in acceptable condition. The park was heavily used while we were there. We plan to return to the park and spend time floating the lovely river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$15
This is one of the finest campgrounds we've stayed in. It's a State Park and the rates are very reasonable. The grounds were very clean, the sites green and spacious and there were lots of nice areas to walk our dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This is a beautiful park to stay. We met new friends. The park is kept clean and a lot of places to hike. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
We stayed at this park again for the second time. This is a beautiful park with lots of trees and campsites. There are several campgrounds with sites along the river. There is a park store and an amphitheatre. There are many trails and a cave tour/hike. The park has a nice playground as well. If you like to fish, you can fish along the river - there is also turtle pond which is a short hike (1/2 mile) from the boat launch area. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
This is a nice camp ground there is a lot to do for the whole family. If you get a full hook up site the site will be paved. Some of the other sites are still gravel. They have a visitor center with some neat items to see. They have canoe rental if you want to go floating one day, or you can go for a hike on any of the trails in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
We arrived on a sunny, weekday without reservations and the sun-dappled campground was lovely. The office did not open until 4 p.m., and we couldn't find a map of the campground to identify the non-reservable sites. We had to track down a campground host and he was friendly and provided some help. We ended up on a reservable site that was vacant and was ensured only 2 nights. (The best way to ensure a site is to reserve on-line, but we didn't want to pay the $8.50 reservation fee because we weren't sure how long we were going to stay.) The maintenance crew was very responsive when we couldn't access the site because of low-hanging branches. Floating down the Meramec River on inner tubes or on a raft and fishing seem to be the activities of choice. This campground is located on a flood plain. Therefore, when it rains there is a lot of standing water (even on the paved pads) until the ground absorbs it. The heavy tree cover makes this campground dark and dank on cloudy/rainy days. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
The park was great. We got there on the friday after the 4th the park was full, but we had our spots reserved. The park has lots of trees and the river was only 50ft from my spot. We will go back. The Showers and bathrooms were clean they cleaned them twice a day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
We arrived early afternoon from South of I-44 at Sullivan. The highway to the park was very nice but up and down and curvey. Also, the road to the campsites was curvey but beautiful wooded scenery. There had been a lot of rain the week-end prior to our arrival on Thursday May 18th. The campsites had been flooded by the Meramac River so everything was wet and muggy. The mowers were mowing anyway. The best part of the park for us was the sites and sounds of all the birds. I would imagine in the summer it could be very hot and steamy. Since we were there for only one night and before a week-end there were only about 4 other RV's besides ours in the water and electric hook-up area. I agree with previous comments that in the summer and week-ends the park would be really busy and noisy. We might stop here again if going that direction and if it was cooler weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Very clean and nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$20
Nice setting, near the river. Staff helpful. Many CCC structures on site along with an exhibit of CCC days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$17
Great park, did not seem to be on top of the neighbors and plenty of room behind the campsite for the kids to run around and not be in peoples way. Nice level sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$17
Basic Campsite rate $8, Electric $14, Electric/Water $15, Electric/Water/Sewer $17. Fee to reserve $8.50. Like the first review, all of the postive aspects were here, how ever none of the negative aspects were noticed. We were here the middle of the week and the park was not busy other than the 18 full hookups. We were in campground #2 and the way the sites were angled in, it did not seem crowded. There are 45 basic sites, 143 electric sites (some of these have water) and 18 sites with full hookups. We will be back with our grandchildren. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Meramec State Park is not one of Missouri's better state parks for camping. The positive aspects of this park are the river access, the cave (guided tour was great), excellent visitors center (nice displays, aquarium, slide show), and restaurant. The evening amphitheatre presentation was also well done. The setting is beautiful and there are many things to do. The negative aspects were that section 2 of the campground has squeezed approximately 100 sites into a very small area. On a busy weekend, the campsites feel uncomfortably close together. At night, the campground is very smoky; some campers were calling it "smoky valley". On the late April weekend we camped there, the grass had not yet been cut and gave the campground a messy appearance. It was over knee high on our children, making it difficult for them to navigate their way to the playground. The campground hosts raced around the grounds in their golf cart (definitely over the 10mph limit). The host couple was clearly confused by the reservation system as well; when we arrived, she rudely snapped to my wife that she would have "sold our site to someone else" if we had arrived after 3:00 pm. On Sunday morning at 8:50AM, the restroom/shower house was closed for cleaning, which seemed ill-timed to me. Shouldn't this be done in the afternoon when its less likely to be needed? Many of these criticisms could be one-time problems, but I probably won't return to Meramec any time soon, mostly because the campground is too crowded and uncomfortable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com