218725 User submitted reviews online!!
Pin Oak Creek RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (636) 451-5656
CGID1652

Pin Oak Creek RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   6   7   5   6   8   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
Definitely overpriced but closest campground we could find to attend a wedding in the area. Lots of families with kids. Pool was full of kids and was closed in the evening. Poor WiFi service. Probably wouldn't stay here again. Sites were ample and nice trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
In general, we liked this park, and actually added in an extra day to spend more time in the area. On the positive side, you couldn't ask for more friendly greeting and expeditious check-in. Truly happy people who seem to go out of their way to make you feel welcome (including the kids). Swimming pool was clean and very busy with lots of families and children. Perhaps a bit small for the overall park demand because it was crowded, but everyone had fun and cooled off. The restrooms and showers, while functional, were somewhat dirty and tired looking. Could use a thorough scrubbing and some cosmetics to make it look more presentable. Did I mention how nice the staff were? Worth mentioning again. Spaces weren't as large as others but ours came equipped with fire ring, good water pressure, and a clean trash can. We appreciate having the crew come around and collect the trash daily. The wooden playground in the middle by the pool was decent and safe. Mini golf was kind of lame. It too could use some touch ups. There is a paint ball outfit connected to the park, but we're not the types. People here were so friendly! Would stop by again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
This campground is overpriced for what it offers. The sites are pull-through combination sites. In other words you pull through and then someone can back into the site behind you. They do offer single pull through sites at a higher nightly rate. The park roads and sites are hard-packed dirt with some gravel mixed in. Fortunately it didn’t rain while we were there. Each site had a picnic table and fire ring but the sites are narrow so if your neighbor has a campfire it will be very close to your RV. Over-the-air television is weak and the park does not offer cable TV. The pay for use Wi-Fi is available through Tengo and was is next to useless. Highway noise from the nearby Interstate Hwy 44 was loud. I would hate to try sleeping in a hybrid or popup trailer with the amount noise. I felt the park’s pool was small considering it had an eight foot deep end. The small fishing lake was very nice and there was no state fishing license required and no fee to fish it. The showers and restrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$39
This was on overnight stop on a trip through the area. We arrived around 6:30 in the evening and left around 10:00 in the morning. We never saw anyone in the office, so left payment in the night deposit. This seemed much over-priced for a winter stop over. The water in the restrooms and showers was freezing cold, so in my mind, the showers were not usable at this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Gravel, long pull throughs combination of two lots. Plenty of overflow parking available. Restrooms are clean but dated. Showers worked well. The water feature is a small pond. OK to walk around. Pool table was being replaced while I was there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This is a well maintained campground with many full time residents. Staff was friendly and the park was quiet. However, I resent the fact that this $25.00 campground used Tengo net for their internet provider. This pay for use internet is the most sub-standard service in the US and unusable most of the time. When I pay $40.00 for a $25.00 campground I expect free working wifi service. Very disappointed with this campground. When I left I looked to see if there were a hidden KOA sign somewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
Pros: Easy access from the interstate, big rig friendly (we were in a 40' with toad: did not have to unhook), good power & water and friendly staff. Cons for us: No cable, no over the air TV either even with a new antenna. Weak Verizon strength. Good for an over night if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
This is a clean, cared-for park with decent sites, friendly staff, and great, tall shade trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
Pleasant, clean but aging park. The putt putt course, swimming pool and playground could use some TLC. We would chalk this up to charm if the price were lower. Seemed a bit high considering the run down condition of some features of the park. Standard sites are close together with maybe 12 feet of grass between campers. Campground hosts were friendly. Enjoyed the view of the pond and little walking bridge. Overall a good experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
First time camping in our new (to us) motorhome. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice mature tree shaded sites, plus open sites available for those looking for satellite access. Could not pick up TV signal and no cable, so bring movies for rainy days (they do have small selection of DVDs to rent). Very reasonable prices in their General Store. This is a campground that we could definitely see ourselves coming back to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$37
Large, attractive tree-shaded sites. Large pond on site. Escort to site. Full hookups. Very friendly host. Looks like it is set up for full Halloween celebration this coming weekend. No TV reception except for 2 Christian stations. Internet supposed to be limited to one hour, but didn't actually cut off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
This is a family friendly campground. The pool is clean. Bathrooms and showers are clean. The mini-golf course is old and in need of repair, but gives a back-to nature feeling with the moss and tree cover. The camp has a bounce house for young children and paint ball activities, but I have no first-hand knowledge of these. I especially appreciate the tree-cover throughout the park. Owners are friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend, Friday-Monday, so the place was packed, row upon row of RVs right next to each other, each with a fire pit. It was clean, and the employees were helpful. There is a small private lake to fish in, and plenty of space to walk the dogs. The spaces were pull through or back-in, depending on whether you paid for a premium site (or deluxe site and whether you arrived before the people in the space behind you did so you had to back in). They did not ask nor charge extra for our four kids or four dogs. There was a pool, putt-putt golf, general store, tandem bike rental, cabins. All sorts of vehicles/RVs/tents stayed here. It was close to a Dollar General, a gas station, and Washington (where there are grocery stores, Walmart, restaurants, etc), and Six Flags. I did not like that they did not enforce a quiet hour/time, as the folks beside us and behind us were loud. The price was a weekend special of $113. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$42
Very disappointing based on other reviews. Not as clean as I expected and our neighbors were noisy. We didn't complain but another camper did without any results so the next day we went to different campground down the road in Eureka, Missouri, where it was very clean and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
The staff here were super friendly and very helpful. The park is very pretty with big shady trees and a large pond/lake. There were lots of squirrels and birds. The toilets were very clean as were the showers but the amenities block is in need of a face lift. It was very relaxing here and we loved the squirrels running about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a very nice park that we are so glad to have discovered! Upon check-in, we were escorted to our site. The owners tried to keep space between campers until rows had filled up, giving us more space than anticipated. However, the site provided was a bit short to accommodate both the camper and tow vehicle. We enjoyed fishing and swimming, but didn't have a chance to check out the mini-golf. The bicycle rental was fun, but rather expensive. $20 for our family of 4 got us half an hour! Ping pong was free, though. We figured that made up for it! The bathhouse near the pool was not the cleanest, but my husband said the showers near the office were some of the best he'd ever used! All in all, a good experience. Site size and unclean pool bathrooms prevent a "10" rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We enjoy this campground and go yearly (sometimes several visits in a year's time). It is out of the city but close enough for a quick drive to the attractions of the Arch, St Louis zoo, Six Flags, etc. We really enjoy this campground. The only problem we had this year was a neighbor with a loud barking dog early in the morning, waking our 10 month old and he barked a LOT without the owners saying anything. They have a nice pool and friendly staff with a nice country store for any needs you might have. The weekend activities are fun as well! Highly recommend this campground. It's about a 40 minute drive to the St Louis Zoo. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
If going to 6 Flags or if you want to stay outside the St Louis rush then forget KOA and forget Jellystone. Pin Oak is the right campground and for about 1/2 the price. Very friendly helpful folks. Sites were clean, well shaded, and level. No highway noise. Both bathrooms could use some updating. The bathhouse next to the pool got a lot of use and seemed to always been in need of a good cleaning. The bathroom next to the office had AC and was cleaner. Trailer Life rated the bathrooms as an 8*. That is a bit high. Maybe a 7 (no star) but they were OK. Water pressure and voltage was good. Connections were at the middle of your site which was convenient. Our TV reception was limited but got enough channels to keep up on the news and weather. The first day we were able to connect to the WiFi for free. The 2nd day the free WiFi was not available. It forced me to register again and the free was grayed out. Don't know if it was the website, if I was doing something wrong, or if you only got 1 day free. Didn't matter that much but something to check on if WiFi is important. Word of caution getting to the campground. It doesn't matter if approaching from the east or west, the entrance is on a curve with very limited visibility. Be extra careful that you give plenty of warning to those behind you that you are slowing and pulling off the highway. When leaving, watch the roadway carefully. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We just spent five delightful nights at this campground. We had seen some negative reviews but elected to stay after camping friends checked out the campground personally. This former KOA campground was recently acquired by a new owner who spends a lot of time at the site. Staffing increases and changes, significant tree work that is ongoing, and other attention to detail such as improved procedures, better matching of RVs with sites, etc., are clearly making a difference. We would expect continuous improvement. We asked for someone to lead us into our site. We stayed in a 35 footer with an attached car in tow and had no difficulty getting in or out. Highlights include a nice shady environment, large yards, a number of long pull-through sites with full service including many with 50 amp power, and very competent and helpful staff. Some sites that allow friends' awnings to face each other are available. We can find numerous campgrounds in our area with nice trees and shade and a number with full service sites, but comparatively few have both, and still fewer have pull-through sites. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Stayed here for an extended weekend. Very helpful staff, very efficiently run. Campground is older and it shows. The pool was nice and very well maintained. Cool 3-wheel bikes and paintball for older kids. The bad: the mini golf needs some refreshing and the kids play set is literally rotting and rusting away. If this was replaced, it would be nearly perfect with the exception of some road noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Very nice park. Treed sites and clear sites for satellite receiption. Close to attractions. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
After a long day of driving, we stopped here for one night. It was easy and quick from I-44. Even with the proximity to the expressway, it was very quiet. The campground is under big shade trees, with long, level pull through sites. We did not have to unhook from our 5th wheel. Bath/showers were clean but could use a bit of updating. We stayed here the Thursday before Memorial Day so there were plenty of other campers enjoying all the campground had to offer. Staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
Not worth the $37 per night. The bathrooms by the office, while clean, need some TLC and upgrades. The bathrooms and laundry by the pool were closed for maintenance so I don't know what they were like. The sites are wide apart, and you get a symphony every night of bull frogs, birds etc. Close to freeway, but with trees, so not a lot of road noise. An occasional train, but not disruptive. We would stay closer to St. Louis the next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
Pulled in for an overnight stay on our way to Branson and was very pleased with the friendly staff and the campground in general. Escorted to site and was able to pull through without unhitching which was great. Kids used the pool while we cooked dinner and they loved it. Also a nice little playground and fishing lake. Took dog for an evening walk and toured the CG and discovered really nice cabins, volleyball court, trash cans throughout park to use so you didn't have to hike to one dumpster. Bathrooms were dated but clean. Room between sites was generous. Did not feel cramped. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. In fact, we got a "Thank you for staying with us" letter and $5 giftcard in the mail from them yesterday. What a surprise! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
Stopped for an overnight stay while traveling and has good access from interstate. Staff was very friendly and escorted us to our site. Sites were gravel but seemed to be fairly level. They do not have cable and satellite would not work do to trees. Offered to let us have another site but since we were staying only for the night we decided not to bother moving. We would stay here again, but just as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Red-neck written all over it, very trailer trashy atmosphere, way too much going on, I would rather be at a cleaner more quieter park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Nice shady park with gravel streets and pull throughs. Quite close to I-44 so lots of noise. The WiFi must be purchased but was quite good and I was never disconnected. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Close to Six Flags and about 30 - 45 minutes from St. Louis attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
Very nice park. Close to I-44 and shopping. Staff was friendly and helpful. The one downside is the TV reception if you are on antenna. It was not very good. Cable TV would be nice. We will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
This campground is very convenient to I-44 and is very big rig friendly. Our site was extremely easy to enter and exit with a tow. The sites are gravel, large and with plenty of grass between each other. There appeared to be a fair amount of seasonals, but they are not with the others. The staff is very helpful. We had excellent dish reception. The campground is right on historic Rt. 66. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$39
We were here on a rainy day, so we didn't have much experience with the facilities. Everybody was very nice and the sites were good, so I'd give it a thumbs up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
This was a great park. They showed you to your spot and the people were very helpful. In a very quiet and peaceful area. They are adding more RV spaces to the park by the pond. You can fish without a license because it a private pond. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
This is a very family oriented campground. During the summer months they have planned activities for the kids on weekends and the playground includes a bounce house. The park also has a small fishing pond , a mini-golf course, a small arcade, and a small swimming pool. This is a very good campground for RVers with children. The roads and sites are gravel and a host will guide you to your site. Each site had a picnic table and fire ring. I considered the side to side spacing just barely adequate and probably wouldn’t be happy if someone had a campfire that close to my rig. There are lots of mature trees that provide shade and the trees are trimmed to a height to accommodate tall rigs. Many of the sites are back ins and during crowded times the RV’s are parked back to back. During less crowded times the sites are used as pull-throughs. Highway noise from the nearby Interstate highway was very noticeable at night. The bathrooms near the office/store were very clean and while the bathrooms near the pool were clean, the fixtures were showing rust and the walls could use a fresh coat of paint. The laundromat was dingy and could use some paint too. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. We paid $32 a night which I thought was very pricey considering it didn’t include cable TV and you had to pay for WiFi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$39
Nice park just stayed for an over night while passing through. Very quiet, people were very friendly. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
This park is just off I-44 so there is highway noise. It is a nice park, with very friendly and helpful staff. It has level gravel pull through sites with table and fire ring. This park can feel cramped when it is full. The sites we have been in have been shaded. Based on our 40 footer, big rigs can easily get around in this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Staff were very helpful, and the park was quiet and clean. We were in a motorhome and did not use the restrooms, but the park was quite well maintained. We would definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$31
The people here are the kind you want to deal with. They were incredibly wonderful and helpful! Stayed two nights in a 36' motorhome. Had a few problems with mechanicals and they were right there with any assistance. Famously clean bathrooms, movie night for the kids, and shade to boot! The only thing I'd change is how they park all the campers and rvs back to back. It makes for more money, but a crowded campground. This campground is about 35 miles west of St. Louis and 12 miles west of Six Flags. A nice place to stay for the weekend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
The owners and staff of this campground are very friendly, helpful, and clearly want your stay to be an enjoyable one. We plan on returning during warmer months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$28
We found this campground to be a mix of good and not-so-good. On one hand the road approaching the park is lined with rather derelict properties so when you reach the park with security gates and a nice, well-kept office you almost feel relieved. Then you get inside the park and find a couple of rather derelict mobile homes and permanent RV's prominently located. The pond was relaxing and scenic, many were fishing in it, and the numerous tall trees in the park were pretty and gave great shade. Our site was level gravel with grass between, it was roomy enough for our 30 ft class A but not exactly spacious. The pool is small but looked clean, bathrooms and showers are clean enough but not nice or in the best repair. And no doubt I'm just a crank but I did not like the live entertainment offered on Saturday afternoon. While the band was certainly not bad it was really very loud--I'll go to a bar when I want live music--I prefer peace and quiet in my campgrounds; we would have requested a site far in the back had we realized. The staff inside and outside of the office as well as on the phone were exceptionally friendly, helpful and capable--a pleasure to deal with. We were glad to find this park when the state park we were hoping for was full and found that the drive to the Arch and Grant's Farm was no problem. All things considered though this park isn't ideal for us and we probably wouldn't stay again except as a quick overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Lovely rural park about an hour outside of downtown St. Louis. Heavily forested but with all trees trimmed out of the way. Some sites may have you parked rear to rear with another rig. We found the park hosts to always be cheerful and helpful throughout our stay. We found the road roar to be a little louder than expected given its location off the highway but not problematic. I would recommend this park to anyone staying in the area who prefers a little more rustic nature than the rigid concrete parking area of most city locations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$29
Highly recommended to all campers with children. The pool is small, but worth it. The campground is located by the pool and kept clean. The lake has lots of fish and the boys had a great time telling their catfish stories. The showers are very clean and not full of bugs (from the lights). Owners want to keep you happy and are there to help. They have entertainment (singers) on weekends which is a nice touch while swimming. When you call to make your reservation, you can request what site you want and they will make sure they try to honor it. If not, you will be happy with the optional site they give you. When you arrive, they take you to your site with a golf cart and make sure you are situated the way you want before they leave. You do share a "driveway" with another camper, however they is plenty of room - we shared our spot (28ft TT) with a 37ft motorhome and had plenty of walking room. Not sure about posting that mentioned old campers. I didn't see many, if any. There are alot of motorhomes and only about 5 tents when we were there. They are adding over 15 more electric/water sites by the end of summer. The only reason I didn't give a 10 is due to the straw on the ground where it looks like they are trying to plant more grass. It was difficult not to carry it inside the camper. We like it so much that we booked Labor Day too. We visited with four other families (all Travel Trailers) over July 4th weekend in 2005. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
We left after one night, even though we had intended to stay there 3 nights. What we didn't like about this campground was: 1. It is not very convenient to St. Louis, unless your think a 45 minute drive is convenient. 2. It is located in the middle of nowhere. 3. About three-fourths of the "campers" are locals that use the campground to entertain their kids during the summer. It seemed that every campsite had at least 3 or 4 kids...forget about using the pool or bathhouse. 4. Over half of the campers are camping in very old/small travel trailers, pop ups, or tents. 5. Campground had the appearance of a trailer park, which we found unacceptable. 6. The water is undrinkable and stinks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
This is a place you just have to feel good about. After talking to locals who have been going here for years I learned that about three years ago new ownership took over. And I must say they evidently WANT to run a campground. They are so gosh darned nice, hard working and friendly that you can't help but enjoy the place. They greeted us upon arrival and took us around in a golf cart so I could pick the site I liked best. After that they always seemed to be driving around and just waiting for us to ask them to do something for us. The sites were a tad close together. One long cement strip equalled two sites. In otherwords, if full you were bumper to bumper at tail ends with the other camper. That is all I can find fault with. There were enough large tress to provide us all with shade, but they were trimmed up high enough to avoid problems. The pool, game room, bathrooms and laundry room were clean and near enough to be convenient to all sites. The pond was small, but our kids had fun catching minnows. This isn't a natural, wildlife campground, but it is close to St. Louis. Most sights we wanted to see were within 30-40 miles. Oh, and if you go here, be sure to see the Wolf Sanctuary in Washington. Started by Marlin Perkins and very cool! Stayed here August 2004 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Very clean facilities. Excellent help from staff. Very quiet, peaceful setting. Loads of shade trees. Nice fishing lake. We felt very secure with their security gates. Looking forward to a return visit. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I stayed four nights in August while my daughter visited friends in Union. A very clean and well kept RV park. Interior roads tended to be dusty, but that's the nature of the local limestone gravel. Very helpful and friendly staff. The RV park seems to attract weekend campers from the St. Louis and East St. Louis (IL) area. All very pleasant and not boisterous. Their free phone jacks for computer use, in an air conditioned room, allowed me to get a lot more work done than I had expected. I can recommend Pin Oak Creek to anyone. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Very nice clean and quiet campground. Arrived after hours and were still met at the gate to be led to our site. Only stayed over night but will definitely return for a longer stay. Easy access, level, shaded pull through sites. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$22
Nice, quiet, pond w/fishing, managers very helpful, loads of shade trees We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com