214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Spring Creek Campground and Trout Ranch was rated 9 out of 10 based on 81 user reviews. Phone: (406) 932-4387
CGID1656

Spring Creek Campground and Trout Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   7   7   8   10   10   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
One of the best parks that we have stayed! Drive through Big Timber on a nice road and turn across a big hay field and into the park, situated along the Boulder River, with some fishing ponds in the center of the park. Lots of trees. The staff was very helpful, selecting a site on the river so that our satellite dish would work. We parked on grass, with the back bumper of the fifth wheel about 6 feet from the river's edge. Plenty of space between sites. We did not have a sewer hookup, but there is a free dump on the way out. No problem! Unfortunately, the river was still running very high, so couldn't check out the fishing on the blue ribbon Boulder. A very good reason to come back to this wonderful place! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We stayed at this park while visiting the Big Timber area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Guided us to our site and gave us lots of information for doing day trips and other interests in the area. Our site was by the Boulder River and had an awesome view. would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This is a beautiful park with several sites right on the river. It's very green with a lot of grass and 3 ponds going through the middle of the park. The staff were very friendly upon check in. It's a little ways off the highway, but definitely worth it. We would like to stay here again and spend more than 1 night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Last few nights they were open for the season, so we got a great spot for a sweet rate. We wanted full hookup that night after traveling for a week without any. But we would love to have been on the creek itself. So the guy running the place gave us the space in front of the river space where no one was parked. It was like being on the river. The man spoke to us in great length about this and that. In the morning he saw us packing up to leave and ran over to tell us that Yellowstone West (our next scheduled destination) was expecting 12-24" of snow. He could have let us find that out the hard way. This place is a little strange to get to, but well worth the effort. You get off the highway go a couple miles then through a little town, then down a ways more, then a turn and down a ways again. We were a little leery of that with our novice hauling practice, but it was very easy - even for us. Well worth the extra hassle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
Nice setting along the river. Interesting town and area. Marked campground down for no cable TV and price. We liked the setting, but it's a bit out of the way if you aren't staying to fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This park is a wonderful, quaint, family owned campground. It is a quiet peaceful area with easy access off I-90. The grounds and facilities were extremely clean. It was a wonderful experience, and a good value. We would go out of our way to stay there if in the area. Be sure and get some huckleberry ice cream in the well stocked store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
This is an immaculately maintained campground on the Bounder River and a true gem easily accessible from I-90. The spots are kind of a hodgepodge of selections, as this campground grew out of where people naturally camped when it was a trout farm. But each site is spacious and well appointed. We were able to snag a riverfront grassy spot, and it was divine! There are several full hook-up sites along the back wall of the park, which are a bit smaller in size, but we've certainly seen worse. However, the park offers honey wagon service to the water/electric sites for just $10, and there is a dump station at the entrance, so if you're just staying a few days, it's well worth getting closer to the creek if you can do without having sewer at your site. Super friendly staff while we were there, busily working away keeping things maintained. For instance, the swings in the playground didn't even squeak! There are WiFi hotspots throughout the park, and we had no trouble keeping happily online during our stay. AT&T had boostable 4G service, and our Verizon was a bit spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. The sites are roomy, the grounds are well kept, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The restrooms and laundry were very clean. Trout fishing and watching on site. Some big rig sites. A basic camp store with fair prices. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
We stayed here in our 40' 4 slide motor home with tow vehicle. We were in site 36 with full hookups, satellite and Verizon signal. Site was gravel, tight and unlevel. Did have a table and small patch of grass. Very quiet and personnel were very friendly and helpful. River sites do not have sewer. Nice, well kept park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
We stayed here in a 40' motorhome. The location of campground is nice. Most sites are gravel. The electric and water were both strong. Verizon cell service and MIFI were marginal. Could not get a satellite signal because of a tree in the way. A real ding from my standpoint is, if you ask for a full hookup site they cram you all back together with very little room between sites for sitting out and they don't have fire rings in any of the full hook up sites. If you ask for only electric and water you need to ask for one of the sites along the river, they are the best value and they have fire rings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This is an excellent place to stay when passing through Big Timber. Great staff, great park, quite. Several sites right on the river bank. Ask for #20. Fishing in the campground ponds or river (with proper license). I hate to leave this park and move on. We will without a doubt stay here again when in this area. Visit the Natural Bridge park when staying here. Ten Good Sams and 15% Military discounts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is the nicest park we have stayed in since we left Texas! The park is located about 2 miles outside Big Timber MT on the Boulder River, which is the only sound you will hear at night. Grounds are beautiful. Lots of big trees and green lawns. You can fish the river or there are several trout ponds (for a fee). Nice clean laundry room and showers. Super nice staff. The rate reflects Good Sam discount. We will definitely stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This park is clean, friendly and beautiful. All the sites are within hearing distance of the river, and gravel or grass. Sites right on river for big rigs with hook ups, are gravel. Plenty of space between rigs. The staff is super friendly and helpful. My husband had to fly home for the weekend and I have felt completely safe with plenty to do. Park is very close to Big Timber, a great little town to play in with good restaurants. Try the Grand Hotel for a five star meal. The laundry facilities were immaculate. Ponds for kids' trout fishing. We will definitely be here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
If you find yourself between Billings and Butte, don't miss the opportunity to stay at least one night at this RV park. The sites are either gravel or dirt, but very well packed. Our MH is 43ft, so if we didn't sink you won't either. Of course, if it had been raining we would have asked for a gravel site. We parked at site 16, which put us parallel to the river only 4 ft away. Most sites have trees. The property has several ponds. There is a nice playground and the park is pet friendly. You can trout fish right off the bank or in their ponds. The park is a couple of miles from the highway so no road noise. Wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
What a find! This place is great! We are just passing through this time, but will seriously consider spending some time in this park in the future. This is the kind of park where you want to spend at least a week. Sites are among the trees, but there are still breaks that allow you to setup a satellite dish. The sites are spacious, so there is no problem with slides. There are some sites that overlook the Boulder River. But, you can hear the water running over the rocks from just about any place in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
What a gem! First, super friendly folks, starting with the phone call, giving me great directions (you will need them GPS does NOT get you there), to a big welcome when you arrive and lots of smiles and friendly chatting while you are there. Second, the place, BEAUTIFUL! Two big ponds that I saw kids and parents fishing at daily, a wonderful river that flows loudly with birds singing along with it to sooth you. We had a "nose in" site that came with a bench & fire ring right at the edge of the river, wonderful! If we hadn't had plans to get to the Calgary Stampede, we would have extended our stay a week! We will be back, this place is great. The only reason I didn't give it a 10, is for those who need a pool; it doesn't have that. But with this atmosphere and great people, who cares? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$37
Friendly welcome, lead to site on river. with back in suggested, which was disappointing. I didn't utilize the laundry or showers, as the park seemed to think that all residents would use their own facilities, as in our half there was just one separate shower and toilet for each sex, which seemed under served. Only 11 sites with sewer hookup. Even cabins had no baths. It was lovely to sit by the river and watch the rafters. For the price I would like a little more value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
This was our fourth year staying at this campground, and we will return next year. The staff are friendly, the campground is next to the river, and the stocked ponds are great for fishing. This campground has a lot of grassy areas, which have always been well maintained. The rate does include an extra adult charge and a discount for Good Sam. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Beautiful campground nestled along the Boulder River with 3 ponds on the property for fishing. Sites are available overlooking the river or tucked back in the trees with lots of grassy areas to enjoy. The restrooms were spotless, and the managers and help all very helpful and courteous. The park hosted a free hot dog dinner which was well attended and appreciated. This is a little oasis along the river that would be hard to surpass. We will be back. Thanks guys. !!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
Stayed here in late September in a 45' RV. Employees were exceptionally nice and accommodating. Gave us a fantastic site along the river. Campground is a short drive out of town and very peaceful. We would certainly stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Very well kept grounds but found the parking to be somewhat tight between RV spots. It was very close. Each spot in the area, we parked in site 23, did not have it's own fire ring. They were shared between two spots. We called ahead and were told that, although they had closed for the season the day before, they would still be open and excepting customers. They didn't tell us that they had closed half the showers and restrooms. Overall, it's a pretty setting along side a river with trees. Nice staff also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
Quiet, lovely with trees, agreeable hosts. Approx 2 miles S of town, narrow cattleguarded entry. I considered it too pricey with no sewer, plus it was $3 more than their website advertised. We had a grassy pull-through site, not level (we needed to pull our front tires off ground to level our 40'). Some 'river sites' are just gravel parking-lot type sites, a couple of MH were pulled in facing river so to make common-companion area between two friends traveling together. If you take Left on 4th Ave (off Business I-90 coming from East), then another Left at McLeod St (you're heading South) you don't have such a tight narrow turn on McLeod 'right downtown. Downtown is about 2 blocks! I agree that BT is a 'tired' town but the Grand Hotel is a destination dinner establishment for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
The 1/4 mile of dirt road and 2 cattle guards were red flags, but the green grass, friendly staff and well maintained park was great. We had a pull in, where our windshield was 10 feet from the river. Was a great view. The utilities were adequate and the pull in sites are all gravel. There is a fee trout pond with a fish on every cast. Big Timber was a great place to visit with the locals. Spring Creek is a stop over unless you are a hunter / fisherman. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
We love this little scenic RV Park on the Boulder River. The only problem we saw (and smelled) is the garbage bin. Lots of flies and horrible smell. Once again...a park that needs to put the trash bin to the back of the property away from the campers and provide trash pick up. There were plenty of workers riding carts and could provide this service quite easily in such a small area. Otherwise a great place for young and old to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
I agree with all prior comments. I gave the park a 7 for the following negative reason: the 1/2 mile entry road is not paved. My coach and car were covered with dust. And it is only one lane. Only a few spaces have a sewer connection. There is a dump station at the exit. I was never able to connect to the park's Wi-Fi. Had to use a Verizon card which worked OK even though the signal was not very strong. Big Timber is a tired town. Store fronts not attractive. Streets not well maintained. On the positive side, the location is beautiful. Had a good breakfast at the Timber Bar. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Beautiful park. Right on the river. Very well maintained. Local sights to see including a river forming waterfalls before going under ground. Nice small town - Grand Hotel a great place to eat. Liked it so much we stayed an extra night. Gave it a 9 only because the river sites are somewhat small if full & some of them have hook ups on wrong side of coach to enjoy river view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Located outside of Big Timber about 2 miles. Great retreat. We fortunately had a wonderful spot - the only pull through and on the river. Lots of trees and shade. Only electrical and water hook up which concerned me because we are new at travailing and can't gauge my water usage well. But, a honey wagon is available when ever you need it for an extra $10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Oasis off of I-90. Very nice, clean, well maintained and organized campground. Very friendly staff. Sites right on the Boulder River. Beautiful roomy sites with individual fire rings and picnic tables at each site. They also have trout farm pools which you can fish. Really enjoyed our 2 night stay. Would have stayed longer if we could. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This continues to be one of our favorite campgrounds in this area. The site was grassy, and they have stocked private ponds for fishing with no need for a fishing license. They have fishing poles if you need one and clean the fish after you catch them. We went with two little girls and they were able to catch their first fish! There is a little store on site and the restrooms were very clean. This was our third year visiting and we will go again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We absolutely loved the park. It is so beautiful and well manicured. We were backed up to the Boulder River so we had the wonderful sound of the river rolling by, and could sit on our lawn chairs and put our feet up on the bench and toast ourselves for finding such a great park. The office staff & caretakers are very nice and friendly. There is a little store inside the office. A trout lake where you can catch your own dinner for a fee. Free Wi-Fi at your site. Dump station on property, but not at your site. Park on gravel or grass. We stayed here 3 nights and cannot wait to come back again. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$52
Cost reflects the fact that we had our grandkids with us. Too expensive for what was here. We had a pull through site, dirt and not very level. Personnel were all pleasant and helpful. We stayed here overnight on our way back to Idaho. Probably will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This is probably one of the most beautiful and well kept parks we have stayed in. Our rig backed up to the beautiful Boulder River. The grounds are gorgeous with fishing ponds, a covered pavilion, several cabins, and a store. Lots of lawn that is kept manicured. Would absolutely stay here again. Little expensive for the area and sites are gravel but other than that it is great. No sewer but do have a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
We stayed 4 nights on the river. This is one of the best RV parks we have stayed at. The ladies that run the park are friendly and work very hard to make your stay is a pleasant one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Two Thirds of the sites do not have sewer. All by the river do not. The sites with the best view of the river had grass only by the river. Back to back sites common. Common areas nicely groomed and watered. Wi-Fi near the office. Good Verizon telephone and Aircard coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Beautiful park right on the river. The sites are large with lots of grass. There are ponds for fishing or just sitting on the benches and relaxing. This park is very quiet, clean and friendly. They can accommodate large rigs with no problem. We plan to make it one of our favorites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
This is a rural CG in a quiet setting. The sites are large and relatively private. The price reflects a Good Sam discount. The staff were very friendly and we were escorted to our site. We were a bit surprised that our request of a 50A site meant that we had water and electric but no sewer; for one night that wasn't a problem, but the price was a little on the high side for just E&W. We looked around and it appears that many sites are just E&W. We were just passing through for the night but would come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
This is the second time we camped here. The first time we were in and out in one night. This time we were here 3 days. We had a site right on the river which was great. The down side was that it was high water in a record runoff year and they started to loose some of the bank and we had to move out of the way for about an hour while the fixed that. The trout ponds are teaming with fish, the folks running the place are very friendly and helpful. The site is well kept and the restrooms and showers were very clean. There maybe places in the Trailer Life have higher ratings but this has a great location, no highway noise, no urban noise, and life without cable TV is ok by me. Highly recommended. They do have 15 sites with full sewer hookups, water, and electric hook ups. All the rest of the sites have water and electric except one. If you are in the area do yourself a favor and stay here. Good Verizon phone and G3 too. Apparently that's the only service that works here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We were here for only one night on our way home from visiting family. Wish we could have stayed longer. The park was beautiful, there was deer and wildlife all around. The ladies that greeted us and checked us in were outstanding. Would highly recommend this park for anyone. We will go back again when we can stay longer and fish the ponds which look so inviting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
This campground is beautiful; with lots of grass. We were able to borrow a fishing pole and fish in the on-site pond. The playground consists of a swing-set and wooden merry-go-round. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
OK, where do I start? First, the managers and office staff. They are all so pleasant, efficient, and extremely accommodating. The grounds are unbelievably well maintained and pretty. The riverside sites are grass and very wide or a little more narrow and gravel in the side-by-side section. It is awesome to back up to the river and have that view from the back window of the motorhome. The sites are very level. The area is rural so there is an abundance of wildlife that venture into the park in the evenings and early morning. The WiFi worked fine. There is no cable TV so the only channels we got were CBS and Fox. However, we didn't find that a problem in the week we were here. It rained, hailed and was pretty cold while we were here, but the couple nice days were awesome. While here you need to drive down the road to the natural bridge falls: what a sight. We will definitely return: hopefully during better weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
I had a project to complete this summer in Big Timber so I was looking for a campsite for the summer. My first stay was 17 days and the fee was $736.70. When I returned for the remainder of the summer the monthly rate was $680.00. I question management on how a 17 day stay would cost more than a month’s stay; I was informed that is the way the owner said to compute the 17 day stay. I was going to stay another 45 days, but after receiving such abuse from the management I decided to leave and find other accommodations. It’s a great campground and well maintained. It’s too bad the management is so unfriendly, abusive, and downright rude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This park is located just a couple of miles from I-90, very convenient and quiet. Except, of course, for the sound of the rushing water of the Boulder River. Even though we usually prefer a pull-thru site, we took a back-in right up to the river bank. It was delightful. Roads and sites are gravel and level. Lovely landscaping, big trees and a pond right in the middle of the campground. Very friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi. We were there for only one night, but if we are through this area again, we will stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We have stayed at Spring Creek several times. The sites are grassy, most are shaded, several line the river. There are a couple of fish ponds, a playground and plenty of areas for pets. This is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
Nice park outside of town with two trout ponds to fish in. WiFi worked great for us while we were here. Quiet and peaceful setting along the river with a nice atmosphere and space between the sites with lots of grass. Park staff was friendly and helpful and they even clean the fish you catch in the ponds for you. No other amenities to speak of, so if your kids aren't entertained by fishing, then this might not be the best place. Rate reflects the Good Sam discount and seems a little high for the area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Nice quiet campground. Staff helpful and friendly. Most sites are grassy. High priced since it is some what isolated. Wi-Fi never worked,. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
Really pretty park with friendly staff. Parking is a bit crazy but they lead you into your spot with golf cart. Septic spots are few and up the hill from the river. Definitely worth coming here if you have kids that like to fish. Follow directions on their web site using highway numbers and not street signs. We will come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
The park has a nice location. There are areas where the have provided a place to sit and enjoy the sites and sounds of the river. Private trout ponds give anyone who fishes a place to throw a line in without a state fishing license. If you have the license, you can fish the river. They will only accept a check (or money order, I suppose) for your deposit. When I sent mine in I asked for an email confirmation and never received one. They gave me a site number to put on the check but when I arrived they had given that site to someone else. On the campground information they list three TV channels but they were able to be received with a roof antenna. Overall its pros exceed the cons. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We stayed here 1 night, this park has very clean sites. The river was awesome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
The park is a bit remote, but very clean. It has a bizarre arrangement of sites, but is clean and generally easily navigable our 38 footer. Our site was level and the hookups were convenient. The cell service was spotty. We were able to get satellite. Overall the park had a nice feel. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Pretty spot. We were right on the river for a nice back window view, but the sites are very narrow. Bath was old and small but clean. Laundry was old, but there was a clothesline. No place for dog to swim, but a good spot for retrieve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
Great campground. Our site was a back-in with the back window facing Boulder Creek that was about 10 feet from the back of the camper. The drive was gravel and had grass with a bench next to the river and a picnic table. Very friendly staff. Clean facilities, and fishing in private lake. River was too high for us to fish. Lots of space to walk pets. Used dump station as we didn't have a full hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Beautiful setting and well maintained park with pay to fish trout ponds for the little ones. Right on the Boulder river. No laundry and sewer hookup uphill from RV drain. Otherwise would get a 10. They let me wash my rig for an extra $5.00. Be sure to visit the natural bridge falls while you are in the area. Just incredible and no one mentions it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Very nice campground. We had a very nice spot right on the Boulder River. Your GPS will not be able to find this park. It is not downtown like the GPS will want to take you. There were no sewer hookups on the riverfront sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
This is a beautiful park. It is well maintained and has a nice staff. The sites are level and grassy. Be forewarned: if you leave around check-out time be prepared to wait to empty your tanks (If you opted for only water & electricity). But the wait is worth it for such a lovely park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
You will be pleasantly surprised when you drive into this park: about 2.5 miles from the small community of Big Timber, MT. Located on the Boulder River, in the mouth of the Boulder River Valley, this park offers a gorgeous view of the river, wonderful grassy areas around the whole grounds, lovely shade trees, and trout ponds and river trout fishing. The sites are level and wide, and the view from at the river sites is a great in the morning over coffee!! Verizon card works great, but as there is no cable TV, you may have to park with satellite access in mind. The ladies who staff the park are so friendly and helpful: the best we have experienced in our travels. If you have dogs, there is a large grassy area where they can run off leash, with supervision. A nice day trip is 23 miles down the road to the Natural Bridge Falls, well worth the drive. This was our second stay at Spring Creek, and we will return again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Oh my gosh, this place puts the Park in RV Park. It truly was a park-like setting. Trout ponds, a quaint bridge, streams, the gorgeous Boulder River and lush green grass. Everything was so well maintained and manicured. We intended only one night but stayed two and wished we could have stayed all summer. The ladies that managed were lovely, with the best smiles East of the Divide. There was even a huge area where we could run our Lab off leash. We parked right next to the river with views all around us. This park was recommended by another RVer, and we wish we could hug him. This park is minutes from a healthy but small downtown, great eateries and gift shopping, and about 23 miles from the Gallatin forest to see the Falls. We can't wait to go back. We stayed with our 4 yr old daughter and two dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
We'd planned on spending one night here but stayed two because of the beautiful setting, riverfront site, and gorgeous weather. Very friendly staff escorted us to the site which was a large back-in on the river. Wi-Fi good even at the far end of the park. Would definitely return here on our next trip to Montana. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Very nice campgrounds. The campground is off the beaten path but worth it. Big sites and plenty of trees. Next to a stream, very peaceful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Friend recommended we spend the weekend. Able to get a back in site on the river. Park is very clean, staff is friendly, helpful and social with campers. Enjoyed listening to the Boulder Stream, a blue ribbon trout river and watching the fly fisher people. They have fishing ponds, room for kids to play, a nice picnic pavilion. The town of Big Timber is very pleasant too. Excellent park, very worth the stop and stay a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
This was the second time we stopped here - a week this time. Loved it the first time, even better the second. Nice, patient workers, very friendly and helpful. We had issues with our satellite which required a lot of phone use, and since our AT&T cell didn't have service, they very willingly allowed us to use the office phone (above and beyond). We had a site right on the river, nice soothing river sounds, hubby fished off the bank. We never fished the ponds, but a lot did. There is a lending library in the laundry (which was clean but could use a folding table). Two sets of showers, one set at the office and one on the end with the laundry. Good Wi-Fi, challenging angles for satellite TV but we found a spot that worked finally. No local TV. Quiet at night. River sites were pretty tight, but with the open spaces on front and the river on the back, we never felt too enclosed. Store at the office has good selection of ice cream treats, which is a must for us! The owners and employees seldom rested, always raking, cleaning, mowing, and it shows in how well things are kept. We'll definitely be back when we're up this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Nice well maintained campground. We had a big rig site next to river with lots of shade trees. You do not need a license to fish in trout ponds. They supply rods & bate. You catch, they clean & charge .50 per inch. What a great deal. Internet directions perfect. No cable TV but good Wi-Fi. The park was rather rustic with fire pits. Bought some wood from office & roasted marshmallows! Great evening. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Very nice beautiful setting. It don't get much better than this!. Friendly staff. Seen resident Deer and Antelope. Nice fish ponds and can feed the fish. River spots available. Good WiFi. Good satellite reception. Stay here and you won't be sorry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This is a very quite laid back campground. The sites are somewhat short and if you park on river front, you may need extra length of electrical cord and water hose. The grounds are well manicured with gravel sites that are somewhat level. They have three ponds that are stocked with Rainbow Trout. You can fish without a fishing license, but you are not told that you must pay .50 cents an inch for the fish you catch. All you are told is that they will be glad clean your fish for .50 cents an inch. Another area of concern is the credit card system they use was outlawed over two years ago, the old system being used prints the credit card name (Visa or Discover) and the complete account number. I have a problem with this as today people will use this information to rip you off. No cel service with T-Mobile We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This camp is a little hard to find, but their directions on the website are spot on. Its away from the road and the only noise is the wind and the river. Grassy level sites. We got a river site so we parked ~10ft from the water. Beautiful!! Bath/showers are clean and the WIFI is fast and strong in the entire camp! A+++ Kids caught fish and the staff cleaned them. I wish we could stay here longer. We will come back when we do Yellowstone. Only reason it is not a 10 is there is only one bath and one shower. Could be bigger, otherwise, this place is top notch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
We camped one night with friends in a class c. The sites were level and grass cut. The entire complex was very clean. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The fishing right out the back door was very good. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
This is a great park in every regard! It is in a valley away from town and is very quiet. It has the Boulder River flowing next to it, with site on the river. Shade, fishing (pond or river) nice grassy areas, and a very complete store. They have a lot of RVs there for a month or the whole summer, so book early if you want long term. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
Perhaps we were expecting too much after a long day of driving but we did not feel that the campground lived up to our expectations based on previous reviews. Yes, the river is gorgeous. We never expected to be beside a rushing snow melt fed river. The sites were immaculately maintained, adequate size, no privacy but that is typical for private campgrounds. We felt the washrooms, although clean, were substandard. The shower was so tiny you barely had enough room to dry yourself. There was only one men's toilet to serve our half of the campground. In summary, you are paying a significant premium for a river view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
We picked site #20. This is the best site, but all are great. The people are fantastic, the sites are large and shady. The river side sites (including #20) are fantastic. We think this is the best campground we have visited this year! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$36
I agree with the previous reviews. This park is a refreshing change from the tightly spaced parks along the highway. Very pleasant, very quiet and excellent Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Very nice campground, enjoyed listening to the Boulder River flowing by. At times, it got a little windy, but calmed down in the evening. Will go back in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
This is a clean well-maintained quiet park with fairly level sites. It is big-rig and satellite dish friendly. There are a wide variety of types of sites, so specify what you want when you make your reservations.. Some sites face the river, some are gravel sites, some are grass sites, some have 50amps, many surround the two stocked fishing ponds, most are surrounded by grass and nicely spaced large trees and a few of the sites are close together. There is a dump station and an inexpensive honey wagon is available. They have a very limited number of sites with FHU and they are saved for RVers that are there for longer stays. There are also four cabins along the river. Tent area is separate from the RV section. The park is accessed via an open-range gravel road off Hwy 298 south of Big Timber. Campground hosts were friendly, customer-oriented and escorted us to our site. There is a GS discount or a weekly discount. We are full-timers who lived there 16 days and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
We love this place. We were right on the river, for which we gave up a sewer connection (no problem for 4 days) Most of the sites are grassy and have lots of space. There are some close together, gravel spaces, along the river which some might hate but a camper said to us last night -- who in fact was "crammed in between 5th wheels" -- "Isn't this beautiful." Sites not on the river are slightly cheaper and they offer a Good Sam discount. WiFi is strong here at our river site where I am typing the review. We would recommend a drive down to "Natural Bridge" (get directions in the office). The Boulder River valley is spectacular and the views into the gorge at Natural Bridge aren't for the faint of heart. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We thoroughly enjoyed our almost two-week stay at this lovely and very quiet campground along the Boulder River. The new owner is very anxious to please and obviously cares very much about his campground. He has made many improvements and plans more. The grounds are meticulously maintained and there are a lot of beautiful grassy areas and large trees. Although we were unable to use our Satellite because of the trees, but the site was otherwise so nice we didn't care. We had one of the few sewer sites but they offer a Honey Wagon service for a fee for the other sites and there is a dump station. The tent sites are separated from most of the RV sites, which we appreciated. One can fish the Boulder River from the campground and there are two trout ponds on-site that were very popular. Although it didn't affect us, some may find that the number of restrooms and laundry machines is inadequate for the size of the campground. Also, the WiFi was very slow, was down often, and did not reach all the sites, fortunately it reached ours. We were told that an order has been placed for an upgrade to the system. The campground was so comfortable, relaxing and beautiful that we would be happy to return for a lengthy stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Spring Creek Campground is located approximately 3 miles off I-90. To get to the campground, you have to drive through town. The campground is well taken care of and is adjacent to the Boulder River. There are two trout ponds stocked with rainbow trout. No catch and release. They charge $0.45/inch for fish caught. We asked for a riverside site, but were disappointed with the site, if you could call it that. Although the river was 10' from our site, we were wedged in between two 5th wheels. The area we were assigned was all gravel, and became quite dusty when the wind came up. Because the campground is located on the river and has several ponds, there are quite a number of flying insects that come out at night. This made it all but impossible to sit outside the trailer once the sun went down. The biggest drawback was the bathrooms and showers. The bath/shower facilities are located at the office and at the far end of one of the camping areas. Each unit has exactly one shower each for men and one for women. Also, the office facility has just two private bathrooms with sink and toilet for men and two for women. The far facility has just one bathroom each for men and women. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
This is a pretty nice campground but not very well layed out. A new owner has taken over so maybe that will improve. The only downside was the demeanor of the office/store women. Poor at best if not downright rude. We were going to move our rig to another spot and were told in no uncertain terms, not to move it with our guidance, which is ok. It's just the way we were told. We quit going to the store. We don't know what their problem was but we probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Really an exceptional campground right on the river. The sites are set up so you can face the river with the front of your motorhome. It would be nice to have sewer but there is a legal restriction on having sewer lines that close to the river. This place is so nice that I didn't mind driving up to the dump station. The wifi is very fast and strong. You can drive up the river canyon from the park entrance. It's a great place for a few days or even longer. There are a few sites which do normally have sewer but they are not on the riverfront and when we were here those sites were closed for maintenance. I will definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
First, let me say that this RV Park closed Oct 15. Their listing in the TLD did not list a closing date, so we thought we'd give it a try. The owner came out (lives on site) and encouraged us to stay. No water (pipes had already been winterized), but we had plenty in the tank, so no problem. For $25 per night we got a riverside site with great Wifi connection and very friendly service. Refilled our propane tank for $20 (threw in a can of Skoal for my boyfriend ;-), and checked in on us to make sure we were doing fine this morning. We will definitely return next time we are out this way with the trailer... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This campground changed hands in June 2006 and the new owner is very enthusiastic. He waters the grass regularly and even though the area was in a drought and very brown the campground was like a green oasis. We were taken to our site and offered help in hooking up. There are two stocked ponds in the middle of the campground where one can fish without a license. They were charging 60 cents an inch for for fish caught which included cleaning. They even have fishing rods available. There was a work camper at the desk who was very nice and helpful. They also have milkshakes and hand dipped ice cream cones available. This campground is located a couple of miles from the interstate which makes for a quiet night. The facilities are squeaky clean. Big Timber is a small town but has a nice IGA for stocking up. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
Gravel roads and gravel pads, 30 amp service ONLY, NO CREDIT CARDS, checks or cash only, FREE Wi-Fi is available in office only, does NOT cover park. Nice staff, escort to site. Facilities are a little tired. Hard to find - N45° 48.213' W109° 57.960'. Verizon phone service is ok, but no Verizon cellular Internet access. At time of this review (8/2006), NO FIRES (including charcoal). No cable tv, antenna gets NBC, CBS. Some of the turns are a little difficult, but manageable in big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
Meant to do this last year...this place was fabulous. Very clean, wonderful hosts! Woodall's cheated them on stars! They parked me next to the river and had the best view in the place, and ice cream at the office! Friendliness counts for a lot in my book and these people were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$27
This is a beautiful, clean, very well maintained campground on the Boulder River. The sites are sizeable and most are shaded. The bathrooms are extra clean and private. There is no swimming pool but there is an ice cream parlour, c-store, playground, and fly-fishing. The staff is very friendly. The campground is 2.5 miles off the highway so no highway noise. I wish more campgrounds were like this! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com