206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Buckskin Mountain State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (928) 667-3231
CGID167

Buckskin Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   9   10   7   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$25
Nice park. Some hiking trails. Could be very loud in summer with boats racing along the river. Sketchy Wi-Fi provided at the front of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
We have stayed here before, but this time the restrooms were closed due to a clog somewhere in the system. You had to go to the cabana area to shower and use the restrooms, which was quite a distance away. Be careful, too, if you make reservations online, that you get away from the sewer pond because it is very smelly. Most sites are water and electricity only. If you want a sewer hookup, they are not easy to get. Apparently, people know that they have to make reservations a year in advance to get these sites during the snowbird time and those sites are usually booked, it seems, by the same people every year (we recognized several of the rigs from last year). The store and many facilities are closed in January. There is very little cell service, ours did work sometimes. Television reception on an antenna is non-existent. The nice thing is that the sites are roomy and the staff is very helpful. We would stay here again since there is very little else available in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
We pulled into this park just to check it out, and stayed for a few nights. Very well maintained park, scenic location, sizable sites, and many pull-throughs. Many of the guests are in large Class A motorhomes and fit nicely into the camp sites. According to other guests there are some issues with dumping gray and black water and also with water to the sites. I had no issues at the dump station, and water pressure seems fine. This is a good park to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Basic check in took longer than it should have, pretty slow that day. Well treed campground with paved roadways and sites. Sites are decently spaced. Bathrooms/showers were adequate. Wifi only available in common area. Rental cabana area eliminated what would have been a wonderful river view. Nice beach area along the river but don't expect a sand beach. Enjoyed the hiking trails from the park trail head. Enjoyed our stay and overall a good park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Very nicely layout for RVs of medium size. A bit pricey. Set next to a bend on the Colorado River. Good electrical and water hookups. Free Wi-Fi close to the ticket station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
This is a very nice park with nice large spaces and some nice shady spots. It is very quiet and you don't get a lot of noise from the highway. There is no WiFi and cell service is very limited. Only some of the spots have a sewer connection and it is nearly impossible to get one of these spots because people make reservations a year in advance to get them. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Great park at a great time of year. We enjoyed the river views as well as the low number of campers. Toured the surrounding area and plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$40
A fantastic place to be. The sites were all tar and well kept. We managed somehow to get internet access, not sure how. Little shop on site which provides food, but if you sit in the restaurant you have to listen to the games room next door, which can be rather annoying. Sitting outside on the waterfront was very tranquil. The motorboats and jet ski can be loud. Lovely cactus garden on the site and some old mine machinery. Only stayed 1 night but would have stayed more. Water is very clear; pity no canoes or kayaks to hire. BBQ spots and picnic benches with each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$30
We spent a week at this lovely park right on the Colorado River. Although full, it was quiet (pre spring break). Our site had water and electric hookups. 17 sites have sewer too (call park for site numbers). Grassy areas for walking the dog. Great desert hiking. Friendly rangers, volunteers and fellow campers. We look forward to going back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$30
We hadn't been to the Havasu / Parker area before and chose this park as a base camp for exploring. We were very happy with our site, nice and level, shady, good views of the Colorado river. Our site didn't have the sewer hookup, so the price seemed on the high side taking that into consideration (although we knew that when making the reservation so can't complain much). In comparison to several other options up and down the Parker strip, we would likely stay here again if we came back through. AT&T signal strength was good in the site. Local custom seems to be to walk through each others sites. Maybe they all knew each other already, or were less grouchy than I am! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Yet another nice state park right by the shores of Colorado River. Great place for boating and jet-ski people. Not so great if you are "allergic" to the noise coming from these. $30 per night is perhaps a bit on the high side for "only" State park facilities but everything in pristine working and maintained order. You can get a decent Verizon signal here, although not on all sites. If you need a signal, check it before you commit yourself to a specific site number. Asked permission to use ½ a bucket of water to wash off the bugs on the front of the RV. This was declined by the manager. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$31
This is a gorgeous park and kept up nicely. We stayed in three different sites and all seemed very spacious. Utilities were in good locations, and the sites were level. Most of the sites have a view of the Colorado River as it borders two sides of the park. The hike up the mountain has a great view of the area. Our Verizon cell phones worked fine there. The park was quiet (winter) but full each day. We did not use the restrooms or showers. We would definitely stay at Buckskin again. Wish there were more full-hook up sites; we were not able to get one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$28
This park is a beautiful park but a little pricey, but not visiting this area before you have to get familiar with the area. We paid for FHU's and glad we did, I think in the summer it might be noisy unless that's what your there for. If we are in the area again i think we will stay somewhere else, but we did enjoy the park this time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Agree with what the last reviewer has stated. Bathrooms were clean and functional. The shower water did not get as hot as preferred but was comfortable. No signal for AT&T phones. Weekends got busy with tent campers and water sport enthusiasts. Therefore, the noise level substantially increased as well. Fireworks were set off on the California side over the weekend. Would only stay here again during the off-season and not over a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
The entrance to the state park is a short and somewhat steep road. Some of the sites had FHU and the rest of the sites have water and electric only. There is a dump station within the park. The interior roads and sites are on asphalt. The interior roads are narrow and could be a problem if the park was crowded. There is mostly dirt separating each site and could be very dusty if the winds kick in. The water and electric facilities are located in the middle of the site and the sewer is towards the back. Each site has a picnic table and BBQ stand. The trees needed to be pruned. If you have a tall rig, look carefully at each site. The bathrooms are very old, tired and sad looking. Verizon air card signal was weak but we were able to access the internet. You may need an antenna to boost the signal. The Verizon cell phone occasionally searched for a signal but we were able to make and receive calls. This park tries to accommodate all types of activities. There is a boat dock, swimming area, picnic area, playground, and a small restaurant. This park could get very busy and crowded if all the sites were taken. We would probably come back here again if it was during the weekday and not in season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$28
Have stayed here many times, but was disappointed this time around. The prices went up, but the grounds didn't seem as clean and kept up, as in the past. Saw employees driving around a lot, but not really doing much. Probably won't go back, at least not for quite some time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
Well managed Arizona state park with lots of really nice sites, some with views of the Colorado River. It is quite popular with winter visitors from the North as well as summer water sports enthusiasts. Winter is quiet and peaceful. Summer is a wild party atmosphere. When the park isn't full, you can pick out your own site, which is nice since not everyone has the same preferences. There aren't too many services nearby but Parker to the south and especially Lake Havasu City to the north will have just about anything anybody needs. If you are a golfer, try Emerald Canyon located between Buckskin and Parker. It is a terrific course at a reasonable price. The best closest dining is at the Indian Casino south near Parker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$23
Camped here for two nights and concur mostly with previous assessments. From what we saw in the area, this may be the best if one can go without cable tv and wifi. Verizon is hit and miss in the campground. There are wide paved access roads and paved sites. Sites 30-38 are the pull through with sewer. The rest are back-ins without sewer and have 30 amp. Site 58 and 59 seem to be the best for an RV over 30 feet and they can be reserved. Upper sites endure the sewage pump house noise. The restrooms are aged with marginal warm water for showers. The Colorado River is adjacent to the campground and there are no RV sites on the river. We camped here in a Motor Home and would stay again on a week day during the winter when the boating crowd is hibernating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
My sister and I took our (combined) four children to Buckskin Mountain State Park for fall break. We tent camped in one of the cabanas right on the river and the children had a great time! The park is clean and relatively quiet and the people are very friendly. The store was open for some last minute grocery shopping and the restroom/shower facilities were reasonably clean. The only draw back was the louder weekend crowd (mostly college age) who apparently forgot the good manners their parents taught them. Beyond that, our overall experience was very pleasant and we are definitely returning for additional camping trips. Two thumbs up!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
Beautiful. As good as it gets for state parks in Arizona, or anywhere for that matter. Very busy except for 'off' season, we have managed to camp here once in 3 efforts. Very pretty lots with lots of shade, gorgeous river frontage. Excellent (hilly!) hiking trails. Friendly camp people with very nice 'cactus' walk near gate. Bar and store, beach for those that can brave the chilly Colorado River. A wonderful park by any standards. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This is one of the nicest state parks we have visited. The location on the Colorado River is scenic and provides good recreational opportunities. The sites are large and level. Numerous mature trees provide good shade from the summer sun. The entire park including the showers and restrooms are clean and well maintained. Staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. I do not fault them for the reservation system. The rules are made by the park service administration, not the local rangers. Penalties for canceling or changing reservations are usually imposed for good reasons, among them being to discourage reservation hording and opportunism. It is unfortunate when they bite people with good intentions but it sometime happens. Most of the sites in this park are available on a first-come basis so you do not have to use the reservation system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
Warning. This park is wonderful and we would love to see it stay open through all the budget cuts. We had one issue, otherwise this would have received a 10. We made a reservation after looking at the “Not to Scale Map”. When we arrived we realized we made a mistake, the space we thought we were getting was not the one reserved (we had been to this park before and were going from memory and the map fooled us). The map showed the space we wanted the size of a tent site, when actually it is one of the largest spaces in the park. There were four other RVs in the park (the park was empty, it was a Tuesday at the end of summer, kids back in school) and we were told we could not change spots without paying a penalty of a full night fee and a reservation fee ($55 for one night including penalty). In summary, they punish you for making a mistake and for making a reservation. If you make a reservation in this park you pay a fee of $5, pay a higher rate per night, you get an inferior space and you cannot change spaces when you arrive even when the park is empty! Our fifth wheel and truck would not fit in our reserved space without unhitching. The park rangers we talked with were all really nice, however, only one can make decisions on park rules and he was not around (he was not available the three days we were there). He does not allow his rangers to make any decisions without his approval. We were also told we are not the first customers to leave upset and we surely will not be the last unless these rules are changed. The reason for writing this email is the hope that other people will talk to him and ask him to make the rules friendly for the customers. Do not punish people for making a reservation, let them enjoy their trip in a space that fits their unit (maps which are not to scale cannot be read well over the internet and everyone has different preferences). We were not able to talk with the manager, left a message, but never received a return call. We want our AZ State Parks to stay in business and treat customers right. Thank you for reading this posting, I hope it will make a difference. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Love this place. Camp here as often as we can. Just wish it wasn't so hot in the summer. Staff is always very pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
This park would get a 10 if it were not for the motor boating crowd. Everything is very nice and what a great location on the Colorado River. If you want quiet look some where else. If you can take the sound of high performance engines, this place is for you. Plan ahead because the are very few full hookup sites and even fewer sites that can be reserved. We saw four rigs in line one morning waiting and hoping that someone would leave and they could get in! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
We forgot the relaxing atmosphere of this state park 30 ml south of Lake Havasu City and the friendly park rangers. Situated on the Colorado River, all sites are level and have water & electric; only a few have sewer but a dump station is available. We learned that a few sites can be reserved up to one year in advance by calling the park. Several snowbirds who were en route to southern Arizona/ Mexico were in the park also. A 2 week say is maximum and a discount is offered in Nov/Dec to stay for 7 nights for a 5 night fee (except for pull-throughs which are full hookup sites). This is a busier place in the summer with a boat launch, cabanas, play area; the store, arcade and restaurant close for the season in December but re-open in Feb. A museum and a cactus garden are available on-site plus a hiking trail. Blue Water Casino is 10 ml away. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$22
A beautiful site on the Colorado River. The river wraps around this park making a stark contrast to the rugged Buckskin Mountains to the east. This is a great place to relax and enjoy nice warm winter days. Great evening walks along the river and also a trail that crosses over Hwy 95 into the Buckskin Mountains where we saw some great views. There is a park market and launch ramp if you have a boat. Also a nice playground for kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
We had a water/electric site, but the sani dump worked out okay. Beautiful setting on the river. The cabana sites are next to the water, but only have 15 amp electricity. Only a few sewer hookups and if you want one better reserve it. Handy store on site, but adjacent restaurant appeared closed during our stay. Interpretive center was interesting and good view of the area short distance up a medium difficulty trail. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Very nice State Park campground. Right on the Colorado River. Nice, double-wide, shaded, back-in spaces. Water/ electric hook-ups in all sites, sewer available in a few. We spent 4 days here during the kids x-mas break from school and had a blast! The Buckskin Loop Trail is great, also some nice areas to ride bikes. Hopefully you can run into the guy that is a host here and knows all about the trail and the vegetation in the area, he is great! Will be back next winter for another get-away! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Great campground on the Colorado River. In the evening we would take chairs down by the river and visit while watching the stars. We had a very enjoyable stay at Buckskin Mountain State Park. We will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2004
$23
This is the best place to stay in the Parker area. All sites are paved with water and electricity. Only several have sewer, but there is a dump station next to the store that is within the park. Boat ramp, restaurant, playground, and hiking make it a good family place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
This was a wonderful stop for several nights, especially Monday through Thursday. The weekends are busy and noisy with boaters all around. However, during mid-week, the place was peaceful and quiet. This is one state park where any kind of rig will have plenty of room. We had a 70' long and very wide back-in space with a view of the bend of the Colorado River all around. Virtually on the river. 30 amp power and good water. Bring your water toys as there is a boat ramp, beach, etc. Nice little store. We'll definitely return. It's a great place for a few days getaway. Some spots had nice shade, others were in the open. No reservations so come early and take your pick. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com