219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Deer Lodge KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (406) 846-1629
CGID1670

Deer Lodge KOA

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   3   5   10   8   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
We normally don't stay at KOAs and this one was very disappointing. The lots are tight and gravel. Almost stepped in dog mess while hooking up. The lots on the river are small and short but would be nice if it wasn't 24 degrees. The area around the park is rundown, local homeowners use same road to enter their area. There were 5 run-down trashy looking campers that seemed permanent as you enter the park. Wifi worked well. This park is not worth the price we paid which reflects a Discount. We would not stay here again. We camped here for two nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel. Note: the lady who checked us in and took care of the park was awesome! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Staff was very pleasant & helpful and the hookups were good. The restrooms/showers are clean & nice as individual rooms. Roads & sites are gravel and the sites for big rigs are pretty close together. The sites at the river are grass, but seem to be roomier. There are a few long-term campers, but not unusual for KOA's. Workers were busy the whole time we were there. The WIFI worked beautifully. It's a perfect stop to visit the National Park Service Grant-Kors Ranch & other local museums. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
This was our first stay at a KOA, and we were very disappointed. The lots were very tight. We knew there was no cable TV, but there was no digital TV either. The area surrounding the park was rundown; felt a little uncomfortable. The campgroundā€™s Wi-fi service was good as was Verizon 3G service. Restrooms were clean. This park is not worth the price we paid which reflects an AAA Discount. We would not stay here again. We camped here for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Spaces are gravel and dirt, with a weeds growing everywhere. No shade or privacy between sites. Homes and businesses use the same roads in the park, so dust is a big problem with the many cars coming in to the houses that are part of the park property. Area is very rundown, and did not appear safe to walk around after dark. Would definitely NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Office was locked when we arrived, but the staffer came running as we walked up. She was VERY friendly, walked us over to our site and waited to be sure we could get satellite reception (offering to move us if we couldn't). We had planned to stay at the Butte park, but it was full. I'm glad we found this place instead. It's a small campground located right on the banks of the Clark Fork River. Sites were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Nice quiet park readily accessible from the main street and then a smaller street (not an alley). Sites are dirt and gravel with small areas of grass. The bathrooms and showers are individual in private rooms. All hookups are readily accessible. The host is very friendly. Sites are nearly level. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Great hostess. Very nice view of the river (camped right on it in backup slip. Lots of space between sites. Would be better if had some shade. Pull thru sites are not as good as the back in ones on the river. Enjoyed watching the wildlife and would stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This is a small, older campground that you have to drive through the middle of town to get too. It looks sketchy when you make the turn but we were met by the owner as soon as we pulled in. She said take spot 17 and come on into the office. The spots are wide enough to have slides and there is good power 124 volts and great Wi-Fi. I have a full hookup site and can see the river though some of the riverfront sites are empty. We are a big rig but had no problem pulling in (42 foot plus tow and straight axle up front) the space. We called and they said they had a spot and did not ask for any deposit. I was going to just spend the night but decided on two as there is a bunch of neat stuff in town to see, including a prison tour. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
I had a super spot backed up to Clark Ford River. Fly fish-able, but motorized boat traffic is allowed. An older clean KOA, the sites are wider. Super nice owners were really helpful. We were unfortunately at the campground on a night that the campground host had her on-site restaurant closed. The sites are gravel and grass and almost level. I would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
The owner is friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The utilities worked and were properly located. The parking was on gravel with some grass. There were some nice back in sites on the river with water and electric. There were several sites that would work for big rigs. While we were here, the owner was working on improvements and painting the main building. The park is old and not in a pretty part of town but it is a good, friendly and clean place to stop near Yellowstone Park. We would not hesitate to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Owner gave us discount vouchers for dinner, breakfast and 2 cents off on gas. Bathrooms were nice. There was some noise from the interstate but not to bad. Had to pay extra for cable TV. Wi-Fi good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This is a small, in-town campground, not quite up to KOA standards, but not bad. It has 4 individual, coed, full bath restrooms, which were clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are a bit close together, but we've seen worse. Deer Lodge has a lot to offer for a very small town. The Grant-Kohrs Ranch National Historic Site is worth visiting, as is the Old Montana State Prison and attached museums. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We had the most amazing hostess! She was very welcoming (she even gave us geranium starts for our gardens!). The park was very clean and quiet. We camped right by the river and it was nice. We would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$12
Rate is off season daily rate for 30 amp pull through site with sewer. Water had been turned off for the winter. During off season the office is closed: self register and pay by placing the envelope in a box. Excellent free Wi-Fi and the low cost make this an great bargain. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Another quick overnight stop for us. Friendly staff. This is a small park in the middle of town. There is a small river that runs alongside the grounds but does not add much. The sites are very tight but fairly level. Since we came in late and left early we did not use any of the facilities. It worked for an overnight and we would probably return if traveling through again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This park was nicer than I expected based on the other reviews. It is a very quiet, in town location that backs up to the Clark Fork River. Downtown is 3 blocks away. The sites are level and partially shaded. Sites away from the river are full hookups and 30A. Sites on the river are water and 50A, but no sewer. The railroad tracks are close but we heard only one train in 3 days. The Wi-Fi worked better than average. The only thing we didn't care for was the insecticide spraying. Four times a day a truck would drive through the park and fog for mosquitoes. We would rather have the bug than the poison. Overall, this is a nice spot from which to fish or visit Butte or Helena. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
We stayed overnight, and it was an easy on easy off exit. The facilities are older but extremely clean. They had a discount coupon for food at the 4B's restaurant within walking distance and for gas next door. It was great for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This is a small park with some train noise at night. Sites are a bit unlevel. The wireless Internet signal was strong, 160kb/20kb just on my computer. Cass, who checked us in, was extremely helpful and friendly. It's a good place to stop for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
New owners August 2005. Nice and helpful folks! Typical small KOA. Tent sites look okay to us, though we didn't use them. Sites for RVs are mostly gravel. Big rig access depends on the driver! LOL We didn't have any problem getting our 35' fiver pulled by one-ton doolie in. If you have a satellite dish, ask for a site with clearance through trees. Call ahead especially for large rigs. Sites available on the waterway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Entry to this campground is through an alley in town. The trailer section of the campground doesn't look bad, but the location for tent trailers is terrible. There are many old, old seasonal trailers there -- looked like a worn-out trailer town. Walked in and found 3 kids (15 years old) manning office -- no adults. The kids were upset because the "BIG MAN" was coming. Office was not run professionally. They showed us our campsite -- next to "mosquito-ridden" river/creek. No picnic table and very close quarters. Ended up asking for money back and went to motel. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com