224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Yellowstone RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (406) 848-7496
CGID1676

Yellowstone RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   9   10   5   5   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This park is located down a rather tricky looking hill along the banks of the Yellowstone River. We did not have any trouble getting our 40 foot RV down the hill and into our space. The park seems to be well managed (in fact we were notified by phone when our mail arrived before we did). We were assigned a level, gravel, pull-through space with full hookups and a picnic table. We did have to park our towed vehicle sideways to fit it in the space. This park does not recycle. Verizon service was OK in the area. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$42
This is a nice park and very close to the north entrance of Yellowstone. We stayed in May before the rest of the park was open so this was convenient to visit Yellowstone. We stayed at one of the deluxe spots which is really just a regular spot in any other park. Spots were OK size, bathrooms were very nice and clean. Driveway was a little steep, but not really a problem getting in or out. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
The park hosts were awesome. They advertise 12 channels of TV we got 5 and so grainy/fuzzy we couldn't watch it.The host did everything to try to fix it, but nothing we did worked. Sites are narrow and dusty gravel tight turns for a big rig. Down a big hill. Verizon didn't work had to go up the hill. We paid 47.50 with AAA discount. Seemed like too much for what you get. The Wi-Fi worked ok. but lost the signal a few times. Might come back if same hosts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
This is our favorite place to stay in Yellowstone. We're photographers and are in mostly the Northern Tier, so this is a great location for us. The sites are level, gravel, a few trees, with some sites on the Yellowstone River for a great view (and sound) of the river. If you're interested in a river view, call early (they start accepting reservations April 1), because employees from Yellowstone (Xanerra employees) stay here and the park fills up quickly, but it's worth it to make this effort. It's big rig friendly, pet friendly, clean bathrooms and laundry, and the caretakers make a good effort at keeping the property in good shape. The only problem I have is that the Wi-Fi is iffy at best. It's best during the day when no one is there, but since we were out mostly during the day, this made it hard to upload pictures. For a full-service park, this is your best bet in the northern part of Yellowstone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
The river view is only available from the highway but not from your rig. Not a big plus for the price you are paying. There are small patches of grass between sites but no shade until late evening when the rig next to you provides the shade. Manager was extremely friendly and checked on us a couple times during our 3 night stay. We were in site 1 which was long enough but somewhat unlevel. We were unable to make the loop to get into the site and had to end up backing into the site. Be prepared for high water pressure, have a regulator. Wi-Fi was excellent and better than our own hotspot. Seems to be a lot of permanent residents but enough sites for short term stay. The views from road are great, close to Mammoth, Gardiner and Jardine and North loop of Yellowstone. We gave it a 9 only because price seems high for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
Nice spot on the river, close to town and the north entrance to Yellowstone NP. Picnic/tent area with nice grass on the river for use even if you have a back row site. Friendly managers were very helpful. A number of these sites are leased to seasonal park workers so a call for reservations is a good idea since not all sites are available each night. Very neat, clean park. There are a number of 50 amp sites, but be prepared for 30 amp, more of those it seems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$44
In this extremely popular area there's little competition; business will come your way regardless. That said, this is a lovely spot if you get one of the waterfront sites. Still, we were packed in like sardines even though it was off-season, September 19th. The restrooms were clean, the showers well designed, and the Wi-Fi connection was four bars. It wasn't particularly pet friendly nor could I see any amenities for children except for a single swing set. OK but hardly raves. You might consider dry camping at at one of the many beautiful public CG's nearby. It's a matter not of cost but aesthetics. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
The managers are very nice and helpful, this RV park is very close to the North Entrance to Yellowstone, (you can see the Arch from the park). It's very near to downtown Gardiner, within walking distance. Sites are small, close together, 30 amp. Park is very basic, CTV is poor, channels (12 of them) are on west coast time except 1 (CBS) which is on east coast time. Park is dusty when dry. The price is high for what you get, but being this close to Yellowstone NP and considering Fishing Bridge as the alternative, I guess it's about average for this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$44
Wow! Got a river site and we look out and watch the osprey & eagles catch fish all day long. We're photographers, so this was an excellent site. It is .7 miles from the North Entrance to Yellowstone. Read on other reviews that Xanterra employees stay here - for me that was good recommendation, but does stay filled up, however toward end of August, begins to thin out. Friendly & helpful with hookup and sites are easy to navigate and pull into. Playground for kids, all Wi-Fi coverage (this is new). Very easy, very nice and friendly - couldn't ask more. Only reason this isn't a 10 is this is my first review. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Stayed here for six nights while visiting Yellowstone. This park is just a mile or two from the North entrance to the park and on the banks of the Yellowstone River. Very quiet as the park sits below the highway and there is not much traffic. The sites are level and gravel with good hookups and staff available almost 24/7. The Wi-Fi is passable and for the most part reaches the entire park. Two restroom and shower buildings. Very clean and maintained, lots of hot water. Laundry facilities in each building. The park has many full time residents as they contract with some of the vendors in the park for employees. Great location, just a short walk to town and if you wanted right into Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We have stayed at this park several times before, but it has become a private park for Xanterra employees with only 8 sites available for the public. The public sites are out of range for the WiFi and there are trees that block the use of one's own satellite internet system. We asked for a better site but that request was denied even though there were empty sites available. We drove in and right back out again, and won't be back. Too bad! The only saving grace for this dirt pile was backing in on the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Nothing special, but a great location to visit Yellowstone and have full hookups at your campsite. There is decent space between sites but sites are somewhat short in length. There is no easy view of the river. The river is down about a 30 foot steep embankment. Don’t expect a river view or river access. Free but very weak, unreliable, and intermittent WiFi through Tengo internet. Off network connection with AT&T. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Great park. Very satisfied. It was acceptable to stay outside Yellowstone Park. Gardiner has everything you need, including casinos. The park was well maintained, clean and friendly. Would stay here again. It was a good laugh to see the bear warning signs; highly unlikely. Wi-Fi is limited to proximity of the single transmitter. River is not accessible to you. Unless you're a mountain goat. Spots are too close together. Gravel road and spots. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Nothing sexy, but clean, quiet and convenient. No amenities like internet or pool, but so close to Yellowstone, who needs it? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This little campground is right on the banks of the Yellowstone River. We had a back in site and could put our chairs in the grass on the banks of the rushing river. There are no amenities, but we didn't need them, as we were interested in touring Yellowstone National Park which is about 20 minutes away. The owners were very friendly as were the other RV'ers, many of whom were there for the summer, working at Yellowstone. This is a convenient spot if you don't want to stay in the park. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
Charming site next to Yellowstone River, but had to back-in. Park accepted Good Sam. Mostly gravel with small amount of vegetation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
This is a very comfortable park. I have stayed here for seven summers. This park is in the rain shadow of the mountains in a very arid environment, but the view of the Yellowstone river is very nice and the sound of the flowing river is very soothing. The arid, rugged mountains all around are impressive. It can get hot here in the mid-summer and the wind may gust through the river canyon, but one should be out and about in the park if it is too uncomfortable. The park is very well maintained and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. If I have any complaint: it would be that the automatic lights in the shower building go out before I can finish, but this is minor. Over all: the Yellowstone RV Park is excellent and my home-away-from-home. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
This campground provides excellent access to Yellowstone National Park. Sites are not large but are adequate. The staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. They assure guests a quiet, pleasant stay. They are very willing to help with any emergency situations and try to accommodate camper needs. The restrooms and laundry are always very clean. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are available and reliable. Our only suggestion for improvement would be to do something to keep the dust down: it can be a bit unpleasant when eating or lounging outside. We spend the summer in Gardiner and this campground has been our "headquarters" for years. The Yellowstone gateway town of Gardiner has a grocery and several restaurants. All services are within a mile of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$41
We have stayed here nearly every year for the last 11 years. We have been treated exceptionally well by the management. We have had great views of the river and mountains and have seen moose, antelope, bighorns, elk, deer, ospreys and eagles from our site. We will continue to stay here as often as we can. The RV park is very well kept and fits in with the historical town of Gardiner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
We reserved a site for 4 nights a week ahead and were told we were the only ones reserved for that night. When we arrived, the person checking us in rudely told us that "not everyone could have a riverfront site" and assigned us to a 2nd row pull through. You couldn't see the river or even get to the bank to see it, as there are no access points provided if you don't have one of the riverfront sites. Most of them are occupied by Yellowstone workers. The place is extremely dusty and the road is not watered, although the grass is. If we had not been meeting friends there, we would have left immediately. There was Wi-Fi, but our friends used my network, as the one from the park was unreliable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
I reviewed this park back in May of this year. As I said then we are staying here for 5 months as we work inside the National Park. I must comment on the review about it being brought up to standards. I would of hated to see it before. The longer we are here the worse it is. The only 50amp service is at the top of the hill which is occupied by a park worker. Everything else is 30amps. The electric seems to be dropped on a daily basis, the Wi-Fi is dropped for 24 hours after your usage has hit it's limit. Since I have an air card I'm not sure what the usage is per rig. The dirt, burrs and weeds are almost unbearable. It seems that every day the wind is enough to knock you down. Of course with dirt and wind your RV gets sand blasted. Several rigs have been getting mice inside. I'll be extremely glad once our work schedule is over so I can get out of this place. I would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
This was an OK park for the 4 nights we were there. We did not have 50 amp service on our site but did have W&S. The steep access road was VERY dusty and covered the rear of our coach and tow in it--yet NO washing rigs!!! Our site was not on the river but did look across to picturesque mountains across the river. Also, we do not agree with previous reviewers on the site sizes: we had ample room to negotiate around the park. In fact, a 45' Prevost parked across the street while we were there. The campground is quiet (no parties, etc) and many of the rigs along the river belong to people working in Yellowstone NP. We would stay here again for short stays. There is only one other CG in the town. We enjoyed the scenery at and around the park. We also enjoy the small western towns such as Gardiner. Great scenery between Gardiner and Mammoth Hot Springs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
This park has new ownership in the past couple of years, and the new owners have really done an excellent job bringing it up to, and beyond standard. They were very helpful, friendly, and just nice folks to be around. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
There are back-ins and pull-throughs. The campground isn't much. It sits down in a hole so you have NO CELL PHONE connection and your internet is off and on at best. The sites are gravel with very little grass in between. The road is dirt/gravel. There is a very steep entrance to the actual park. The laundry is clean; there are 2 of them; water pressure is good. We will be staying here for 5 months as we will be working at Yellowstone. The park is a mile from Yellowstone. There is only 1 grocery store in town. This is a typical tourist town. If I were here on our own we would probably stay at the other RV park in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This campground is perched on the side of a hill. The river is not accessible. The sites are so close together that we had to "wiggle" our 40 ft motorhome in and out to leave. There was no room for our neighbor to park their tow vehicle except in front of us. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Guessing on nightly rate, don't have info right in front of me. Check with the park. We love this park and have stayed here 4 or 5 times since buying our trailer in 2004! Back in on the Yellowstone river and watch the birds and animals on the hills. Watched a fisher across the river catch a dozen fish or more. Close to the entrance to Yellowstone. Owners and staff are so friendly. WiFi is now available, which is a big plus! They're planting more trees, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Close to Yellowstone. Sites are very close. Space for parking is limited. WiFi is limited to area near one of the two bathrooms. Friendly staff. Dusty roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Reasonable park with easy access to Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
Need more parking room, otherwise a nice park, excellent laundry facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2005
$23
Sites are close to together. The is a beautiful view of the river, which runs right beside the park, but it is not accessible due to a steep bank. (A Montana state license is needed for fishing the river, not a Yellowstone Park license.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$33
Sites are on the river but a steep bank so you could not enjoy the river at all.We could not get outside at night bugs eat you up. Sites are dirt and really close together. Campground is really small and had been cut out of the side of the hill I would never return to this campground. Modem hook up in the laundry at the pay tele could not use it as this was the only tele for every one in the campgroud (no cell service). Over all this place was the worse place we have stayed in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com