220284 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Lodge KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (406) 446-2364
CGID1695

Red Lodge KOA

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   6   6   8   7   5   6   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
We stayed here two nights. We wanted to visit the town of Red Lodge and ride on the Beartooth Highway. It is a must-see! The highway is AWESOME and unbelievable! Red Lodge is a fun town with lots to see and Cooke City is a good stop for lunch on the Beartooth before you turn around to drive back. The site we had was up front near the office. It was OK, but we would ask to be put in the back section next time where there is more grass and space. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Easy check in. Very good 50 amp, water pressure, and WI-Fi. No problems with septic hookups. Very quiet this time of year, but some traffic in and out for one nighters. About 4 miles on the Billings side of Red Lodge, which is a really nice little town. Pool looked clean. Really needs some sprucing up. It is run down to the point we didn't even want to sit outside. Gravel and dead grass. Park is run by nice work-campers. Owners live on site, but must not be real interested, although there is some evidence of a few recent improvements. No views from lower campground area. Had to laugh at local publication touting the park being surrounded by mountains etc...don't expect scenic wonder here. I would not hesitate to overnight there again, but would perhaps consider another campground in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Close to the spectacular Beartooth Highway into Yellowstone. Sufficient facilities. Large site, but no shade. Nice swimming pool. Barely useful WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Campground needs "refurbishing". Getting old. Our site was out in the open. One of two stools in men's room was slow to flush, though they did have a plunger handy. Sewage dump "bubbled" out the top and would have overflowed if I hadn't shut off my drain. Staff was friendly. 4 miles north of Red Lodge. There is a dump site at the visitor center in Red Lodge. Stayed here due to family reunion. Will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We stayed overnight on our way to Yellowstone. We had a full hook up site with 50 amp electric. Everything worked well. The staff was friendly and the campground clean. The little town of Red Lodge was enjoyable to visit. This place met our needs and we were very satisfied. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
Under relatively newer ownership. This is a quiet campground with wonderful hosts. I'm excited to see what this campground can become. We stayed here versus West Yellowstone because it tends to be 10-15 degrees warmer in Red Lodge than West Yellowstone. And that really matters in June. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
We stayed two nights in a 35' RV and not our first time. Our site was not level, but had blocking for this purpose. It took 3" to level. We were located on back side of park. Our site had only power (50amp) and water. The owner is slowly improving campground. Sites have not been touched in numerous years. Some KOA's are spending lots of money to upgrade and some are not. They currently only have one site with a patio. We will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
We arrived here on a weekday in mid-August and were able to get a FHU site. Since there is no cable or antenna TV we asked for a roof satellite friendly site. Only a few of the dozen or so FHU sites appear to be satellite friendly. The site we were given was satellite friendly if I kept the front of the RV at the front of the back-in site. The problem was that both the electric and sewer were at the far rear of the site. For the first time in years I had to bring out my 30 amp extension cord since my on board 30' would not reach. Their WiFi worked OK and the pool was nice. The park is OK but lacking in enough FHU sites, and those they have are a bit deficient. The park is about 4 mile north of town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We almost didn't stay here due to the previous reviews, but we found this park to be very well maintained. Our grass was cut and we had a nice spot across from a flowing stream. Down side is there is no sewer hookups, cable TV, our satellite didn't work here and we were unable to get any local TV stations out of Billings, but we really didn't miss it. Although the pull-through wasn't quite long enough for our 38' motorhome along with our 12' trailer, we were able to put our trailer across the road (not sure we were suppose to, though). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
We stayed at this park for 3 nights. Only a few sites are level and they are full of weeds. No picnic table on our site. Staff was nice and helpful. We feel it was overpriced for the amenities that are offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
There are very few full-hookup campgrounds in this area. We did not miss having cable TV because of the beauty and attractions of this area. This KOA had everything else that we look for in a campground though. The owner was very helpful and made sure we liked our site. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This is a typical aging KOA with owners trying to pocket a few more dollars before investing anything back in the facility. At first glance you could mistake the place for a junkyard. Sites are poorly arranged, unlevel, and often muddy. We had a reservation and after seeing the place opted to leave. Refund? - you must be kidding!. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
This place is only useful because it is the only game in town with full hookups and at that had to take a 30 amp site because not many have 50 amp. I have been on the road for 3 months now and this is the most unsightly and dirty campground I have stayed in. This place looks like no one has done any maintenance around here in years. Right next to my RV site was where they do work such as repair picnic tables,etc. It looked like a junk pile with all the trash and parts laying around. The only grass I saw was dead grass. Sites where others had stayed still had trash laying around after they left for the 4 days I stayed there. Only good thing I can say about this place is that owners were friendly and helpful on check-in and if you like to ride motorcycles on Beartooth and Chief Joseph Hwy like I do, it is a place to stay. Otherwise, I would be embarrassed to bring a guest out to the motorhome because the place looks like a dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
Staff very friendly. Sites minimal at best, little grass/weeds, only 1 with concrete patio, well spaced. Be aware entrance one lane and very few full hookup sites, even fewer 50A. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Nice campground with good shade trees, we were next to a small brook which added some nice ambience. The pool was very clean as were the bathrooms. We pulled in late after the office closed and another camper was in my brother's site, he contacted the owner, who promptly got the other camper to move to his correct site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Great view, great place to stop over. We enjoyed our night here. Quiet and restful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Very tight to get into the so called pull through with my 40' motorhome. Had to unhook tow car. Sites were dirt. Staff was very friendly. No sewer hookup were available. I wanted to dump my tanks when I left but the dump station tank was full. I was directed to a full hookup site that was just vacated and was able to dump there. However I had to back up 60 feet while hooked to my tow car to be able to access the full hook up site to dump. I was not a happy camper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$24
We have stayed in this KOA for the past 3 summers. It is our favorite KOA, and it has new owners in 2004 who are just as nice as the previous family. Everything is spotlessly clean. We have a large motorhome and while getting in and out can be slow, parking is readily accomplished. Nice plae to stay in Red Lodge or to use as a jumping off point for the Beartooth Pass area - to see America's most beautiful drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com