221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Cheaha State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (256) 488-5111
CGID17

Cheaha State Park

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   8   7   8   9   5   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
Wi-Fi does not work, no cell phone signal. I was there after an ice storm and there was plenty of wood to burn. Clean up had started but was going to take a while. Staff was friendly. After dark check-in was good. The park ranger even comes to campground to help out if needed. Huge up and down hills getting to park. Make sure your rig is in good mechanical shape before going. Smoky Mountains has less steep grades than this place. Great to get kids away from electronics and into nature. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
I've been camping at Mnt Cheaha for 30 years. There is a campground on top of the mountain and one at the base. The top campground is where I've always gone, is usually quiet, and the pull throughs have very large sites with a fire ring. Some of the back-ins have large sites and some are on top of the next. But all-in-all is a very nice campground. The one at the base of the mountain is another story. There is a new group running the camps and appear to be trying but has been been completely confused every time I've gone up this past year. One time they told me they could reserve a specific site then the next they couldn't. The last time I was told I had site 34 which is a very nice pull-through. I get there and I'm told that I've been placed in the lower campground. I go to the site and it isn't big enough for my fifth wheel and the door is actually in the road. I ended up moving to a larger site and going back to tell them. When I get there it is obvious they have no idea where anyone is and what is available. The lower campground requires a very sharp left hand turn to go through a concrete entrance. I had to back up twice to make it through and not run over the curb. The sites are run down and when it rains (and it did several times) some of the sites are under water and the road has low places. If you are planning on coming to Cheaha, and I encourage you to, make sure you are at the top campground and not the bottom! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Rate was 27.50, as we were there over the weekend. During the week, seniors get a 15% discount. Very bumpy paved roads in the campground. The sites were gravel/grass. We had no problem finding a level site, but we're only 22'. Lots of trees and good shade. As others have said, our cell phone and Wi-Fi (Verizon/AT&T) didn't work. Their Wi-Fi didn't work for us either. Pretty crude shower facilities. Lots of hiking trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$27
Park was very busy for Thanksgiving weekend. I found a spot that was fairly level - site 8 in upper level. Roads in the campground are in bad shape and most sites require leveling - some a lot more than others. Some sites are right next to the road so when the vehicles are parked it results in creative driving. W-Fi did not work at all, there was no phone service for Verizon, and the TV channels were limited and usually poor reception. If these aren't high on your amenity list then you'll enjoy the outdoor trails to hike and beautiful scenery. Glad I stopped for a visit but probably will not return. It's just not a destination park for me. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
We stayed in upper campsite #4. It is a beautiful site and easily accessible with our 33 ft RV. The sites are gravel and un-level, but two 2x6's under each wheel were enough to level our RV. The shade trees prevented reception for satellite TV, but you can receive PBS channels through the air. The Wi-Fi worked flawlessly. Cell phone coverage at our site was unstable, but it worked in other areas of the park. The bathrooms need cleaning and major renovation. The toilets were not bad, but the showers are moldy. It basically needs a good scrubbing. The views are awesome! Although the park needs some TLC, it is worth a visit. You must see the view from Pulpit Rock and Rhododendrons on the Rock Garden trail are incredible. The lady at check-in was extremely nice and helpful. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Beautiful scenery. Lots of up and down driving but that is to be expected in the mountains. Very peaceful and lots of trails to hike. Would recommend to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2012
$27
It is a slow 14 mile drive off I-20 as you ascend to the park, which is situated atop the highest mountain in Alabama. Free Wi-Fi that according to the campground host, is difficult to connect to when raining or windy. It was neither the day we were here, but there was still no Wi-Fi. All sites are gravel and have electricity (30&50 amp), water and sewer. Bathhouses are not just rustic, they were not clean. There is no laundry and recycling is not available. There is a lake for fishing and swimming. Unfortunately this was just an overnight stopover for us, and while this review has pointed out some of the negatives, I suspect that it would be enjoyable to spend a number of days at this state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
I think this campground has some of the most beautiful woods and area but we were so disappointed at the quality of the campsites. We were here in early March and it was not crowded. There were not many sites for a big rig with slides, that were half way level that we could get into. This campground needs a lot of work for motorhomes! Hope that happens so we can return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
There are 2 camp grounds (upper & lower) we prefer the upper as the sites where better and roads seemed in better shape. Not all sites are level but there are full hookups. The colors of the trees where awesome and lots of trails to hike. The view from the lodge is awesome. When coming into the park, come from the north (281) as the south entrance is hairy for big rigs. There is a store in the park for any needs you may have. We liked this place very much. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$19
The CG has an upper (mountain top) and lower (lake) sites. Went to the upper first and it was nearly full so we went to the lower and it was almost empty. Loved the wooded sites, but the sewer connections are much higher than the ground and made it miserable to dump. Sites are gravel and unlevel but we were able to use our leveling blocks to even out. Enjoyed the quiet, would go back again, but the sewer is something to be aware of. Upper camp ground had a pool, place to eat and very nice views. Lower was away from it all but close to the lake. Trails in the area are awesome. We had no internet, phone (Verizon) or satellite reception, but we did get over 12 digital off air TV channels. All in all a nice visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
This is a nice campground with trails close by. The sites are wooded. No lantern posts on graveled campsites. It rained while we were there, and our campsite became slushy, due to poor drainage. No soap dispensers in the bathhouses, so take a bar of soap to wash your hands; there is a paper towel dispenser. No phone service in the campground. The campground opens at 8:00 a.m. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Cheaha is a nice secluded state park on top of the highest mountain in Alabama. You pick your own site and have full hookups. There is a small store and gasoline as well as a restaurant and hotel too. We camped in our toyhauler and love riding the hills in the area. Wi-Fi only works near the hotel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
We were traveling without our camper along I-20 near Cheaha State Park and thought we'd take a detour to check out the park before scheduling a camping trip there. Good thing we did! The park was deplorable. We were so happy that we had not reserved a site, hitched the trailer and meandered through the rural mountain roads to this very disappointing park. The weeds were overtaking almost every campsite. The pads looked to be in very bad shape. What a sad sight. Had we planned to camp here this visit, we would have left and found another park. Cheaha is in need of some serious TLC. With the surrounding views, it has some great potential. But for now, please don't waste your time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
Off I-20, exit 191. Travel to the park on 281 is a 2 lane road for 13 miles with curves and steep grades through the Talladega National Forest. I had read a description of lakeside or mountain top camping before we arrived. Register at the main entrance for either campground, however, the lakeside campground is located outside and past the main entrance of the park. The lakeside campground is not on the lake but across the road and up a hill. Only a few sites have a view of the lake through the woods. We were told by two different park people that the mountain top campground was the best campground. The lakeside campground is more isolated but the sites available were not large enough and the condition of the interior roads and the sites were not very good. The lakeside campground is a little worse than the mountain top campground but both have narrow, rutted, gravel roads with low hanging branches. Although there were not many campers in the mountain top campground we had difficulty finding a site we could maneuver in to or large enough and level enough for our 38 foot motor home. The sites are dirt and gravel with many trees and some are heavily rutted. The park has a lodge, motel, restaurant, cabins, and picnic area. The interior roads are narrow with a couple of sharp curves. The park is very remote and rustic. I would not recommend it for a big rig unless you are familiar with the park. We probably would not stay here again since we can not reserve a specific site and we had too much trouble locating a suitable site. We stayed in site 35, pull through, fairly level, full hookup including sewer and 50/30 amps. Located approximately 30 miles from Alabama Gold Camp. AT&T had no connection. No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
This is one of Alabama's oldest state parks and you can tell it. The sites are bad off level. The roads around the campsites are in need of repair. The road leading into the campground is very steep for all. I think it is 16 miles off the interstate. The views around the park are excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is one of those places where I have been, got the t-shirt and won't go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
This is a poorly maintained park. It is too bad because the location is outstanding! The campground roads are broken up and washing out. The sites are just as bad. The bath houses are old and in need of major investment. With a little effort this could be a great campground. Go and enjoy the park, but plan on a few disappointments in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$26
Scenic location. Full hook ups, but the sewer pipe was too tall to be usable. Campground was full so we were unable to relocate. This campground is not very well maintained. The roads are rough and narrow, with cars and trucks partially on the roadway. The employees are friendly and helpful. There is a well stocked camp store. At the restaurant the food was mediocre and the service poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
A large State Park site with pull-through sites, water, electric and sewer: for $20 a night? Thats great! Beautiful view from the pool, but the water was really cold. Good view for a satellite dish at the site and wireless internet behind the office. Rangers at office were great and there are many things to see in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Cheaha is a very nice state park located in a very wooded rural setting. There is an upper and lower campground, which most sites are shaded. The bath houses were in decent condition. They were mostly clean, but were only cleaned once on our three day stay. We stayed in the upper campground and our site was shaded all day long. There were a few sites that looked like they would be sunny most of the day. The lake at Cheaha is wonderful for swimming. There is a platform out in the water with a 1 foot and about 7 foot jumping/diving place. There is some sand at the beach and changing areas/restrooms. The changing areas are in desperate need of updating. My family said the men's side was not nice at all. The women's side was okay, but not nice. The trails at Cheaha were not very well marked at all. We just had to hope we were on the right trail at certain times. Although we did not swim in it, there is a very nice pool right on the bluff. If the trails and changing areas were nicer, I would have given the park a 9. If the bathrooms were cleaned a little more often, it would be a 10. With a little sprucing up, Cheaha could be one of the nicest state parks in the South. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
We camped here in a hybrid. The park itself is breathtaking. I did not give it a 9 or 10 since the site was not level. The hiking and trails were excellent. It is very rocky. It is a little nerve-racking driving up to the park with the winding road, but completely doable if one takes his time. The upper campground was as expected for a state park: rustic and sites not too close for us. Bathhouses were clean. We had really bad weather, and the weather notification system (outdoor sirens and announcements) were a plus. The amenities could use a facelift: the playground was really not useable for my children as it had a stream running through it (a lot of rain lately); bad planning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$21
We camped here for our first trip of the year on March 20th weekend. This was a wonderfull trip. We were able to camp with friends next door and hiked several of the trails available. A few sites are really too close. We were on site 39, and it has a site across the road. The campers awning was out and I had to back in my site from reverse angle. If I had not had a 5th wheel, I could not have backed in. That needs to be fixed, but all in all a great park, and a really great state park to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2009
$18
The restrooms were the worst I have seen. The campground attendant was nice and the bicycle riding was okay. The view was beautiful from the lookout points. The hiking was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$23
Our second visit. This time we were told they do not give any discount for a Natl Parks Golden Access Passport. Two years ago they gave me a 15% discount. Very nice state park with some big pull-through sites. No problem at all getting our 40' coach and toad up the steep climb with many switchbacks. Some sites are not level, but most are workable for large rigs. In spite or rumors of park "improvements" in the works, we saw no evidence of recent or pending work. Price is a bit more than we normally pay for. Option for electric only hookup for weekend stays would be nice. We came here for a group event, and would return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Great park, though very steep access. The view from the restaurant and pool is spectacular. Restaurant buffet is worth a visit. Great hiking available outside the park to Cheaha Falls. Ask at park for directions, as it is not far. Most hikes in the park were too steep for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$16
Rate is with senior discount. Older state park on top of mountain. Very nice, friendly rangers and workers. Campsites are rustic but plenty large enough; with fire pits made from rocks, grills and picnic tables. Two camping areas, one on top of mountain, other one across from the lake swimming area. Also there is an overflow area. Good water, electric and sewer. Lots of hiking trails, one with a boardwalk for the handicapped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
This is our second time camping here. We really like this park. Wonderful hiking and the views are fantastic. I just wish they would renovate the campground. Many of the sites are not close to being level and the bathrooms need to be remodeled. The cleaning person only moped the floor with a pine cleaner and replaced the toilet paper and paper towels when we were there. The showers had plenty of hot water and the staff could not have been friendlier. It appears that they may be renovating the campground as they have stacked the "railroad ties" just outside of the upper campground. If that does happen, this would be a ten! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$60
If you like hiking and seclusion, this is the place for you. We enjoyed our cabin and the fresh air. We would return. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
There was a long haul up the mountain for rvers on their first trip, but the view at the top was breath taking. Don't know that we will take our 37 foot 5th wheel up again but it was well worth a one time trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$20
What a gem! Nice park in the tallest point in AL. The only complaint we had was; never having toilet paper in the restroom. Not a problem, we always have some spare. Great scenery, observation tower was a plus. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$17
Very nice, especially for a state park! There are two camping areas, one on the mountain top and one at the lake about 1,000 feet lower. We stayed on the mountain top with our grandson's Cub Scout group. The utility pedestal on our site looked brand new, with fresh concrete. We also heard from a neighboring camper that the park will begin other improvements soon. The only part of the visit that made us nervous was the last 15 miles of winding narrow state highway getting there from the south with our 40' motorhome towing our car! They even gave me a 15% discount with my Golden Access Passport! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$16
This is the first time camping here and we enjoyed it. The sites are comfortable sized for the most part, some are small.The park is very quiet and patrolled. There is a few things to do ,like going to bald rock,the pool which is clean and nice. There is a lake about a mile below the restaurant and camping area with paddle boats and fishing.The cg could use a little updating in the playground and a few sites were not extremely level. Take something to set your sewage hose off the ground, some of the pipes are 6-8" off the ground. We saw 3 deer going into the park and people up a few sites had deer almost in their site.We camped here with several friends from church, and had a good time. We will be back to this cg.Be warned, it is a hard pull up the mnt.Lots of curves and hills.I think you go up @2000ft from the time you pull off the main highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$17
We loved the scenic views at Mt. Cheaha. The scenic overlooks on the way up were worth the trip alone. Mt. Cheaha is such a wonderful place, but the campground fails to live up to the setting. Most of the sites have washed out places in them and leveling a RV can be a nightmare. We tried 3 different sites before we found one that we could almost level on. As we walked around the park, we noticed motorhomes with automatic levelers being supplemented with blocks so that they would level. The bathrooms were in sad shape and in desperate need of updating. We were thankful that we were able to use our bathroom in our rig. The trails are well marked and we enjoyed the hike to Pulpit Rock. I just wish that some effort would be put forth in upgrading the campground. I wish we had read the comment about bringing something to raise our sewer hose! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Nice and quiet. Fantastic cabins if you want to surprise someone. They are great for Valentines Day. Highest spot in Alabama. Great views: even if storms are heading your way, is fun to watch as they come from the southwest mostly. View from restaurant is good. Sunset while dinning is a plus. Lots of room between sites. Bobcats, coons, skunks, deer, hawks, etc. Popular ride for motorcycles on weekends. They don't come into campground much. Good trails to viewing spots. Large rock tower to climb up inside. Can watch in any weather. Long way from any stores. They have Chalets too, for large families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Cheaha has a lot to offer. My kids enjoyed the hiking and bike riding. The campground was very open. I do not like being able to see everyone so well. I usually like a little more "green space" between myself and the other campers. The bathrooms are old but as clean as they could possibly be, I guess. I still preferred the bathroom in my camper. The campsite needs a little up-dating. The best part was the handicap accessible trail going to Bald Rock. It was nice for my parents to be able to walk on that rather than hike through the woods. The only drawback to camping here the time it takes to travel up to the top of the mountain. Better have everything you need before you go! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$16
This is a beautiful campsite. The ride up to the highest point in Alabama was awesome a litte over 2 thousand feet; the sites were level for the most part, plenty of room between campsites. A few minor negative details were the low water pressure and the height of the sewer caps. Make sure you bring along some way of lifting your sewer hose about a 10 inches off the deck. All in all a wonderful park. We'll be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$17
We enjoyed this park very much and would have liked to stay longer. There seems to lots to do and see and you do get that 'camping' experience. The bathrooms were spotless and warm as could be. The showers had plenty of hot water for a tired traveler. Only thing we think might be a problem was the curvy, narrow road to the Park. The price was great with friendly staff We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$24
My first time camping with my new-old popup camper I'm restoring (a 1975 Palomino). The sites weren't all THAT level, but nothing major. I camped in the middle of January at a Geocaching event and the wind did NOT stop blowing! The campstore is nicely stocked, the rangers are VERY nice. I'd recommend this campground to anyone. The only thing, one of the bath houses (the handicapped one) was closed and there wasn't any notification except on the doors of the house itself. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$17
Our first time at Cheaha and definitely not our last! The campground is in need of repairs, as most Alabama State Parks are, but we enjoyed our stay here. We stayed at the upper campground and some sites have erosion problems. At the time of our stay, one of the 2 bath houses had a water problem and was closed. The other was clean, but in need of some cosmetic repairs. The camp store was well stocked and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
We loved the hiking trails and the magnificent view from the top of the mountain. Our kids found some "caves" in the rocks at the end of the Doug Ghee Accessable Trail and had a great time exploring the area. Lots of camping areas to be had. You can camp on top of the mountain-primitive, or the upper campground where we camped. Or, the lower campground that had FEMA trailers for Katrina victims. We would reccomend this park and plan to visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Although the camp sites are gravel and dirt, the scenery here is spectacular. We went in the late fall and the leaves were a variety of colors. The sites are well spaced, and pretty private. It did take some work to get the trailer perfectly level as some of the sites have minor erosion problems. There are several recreational activities, including the highest point in Alabama, which is not far from the campground. Note that some of the entrance roads are pretty steep, certainly steeper than usual. Still, it's fun putting the tow vehicle to work. We will cetainly consider this campground again in future trip plans. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is a nice quiet park if you are looking to kick back and relax. This park covers 2700 acres and contains many hiking trails which lead to some beautiful scenic views. It has a wonderful handicap accessible wooden board walk along a forest trail to the most beautiful view: bald rock. There is a small chapel within walking distance of the upper campground which has regular services on Sundays and can be used for special events. The lower campground is located near the park lake which has large piknik pavilions, playground, swimming, and paddle boats. A restaurant is located at the campground entrance and has excellent food which is reasonably priced. There is also a swimming pool and playground located near the campground entrance. There is a small convenience store (this is also where you check in) at the campground entrance with limited camping supllies and groceries. It is a beautiful place to visit in the fall when the leaves began to change. The park is currently undergoing a renovation, but is still a great family oriented place to visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com