221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Three Forks was rated 8 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (406) 285-3611
CGID1701

Camp Three Forks

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   7   8   6   10   7   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
We had planned to stop in Bozeman but the park we planned to go to was full so we headed about 35 miles up the road. Camp 3 Forks a very nice small park of about 90 sites, roomy 30 amp. We have a w/e site. Gravel sites, nice grass all around, very clean park. Good Wi-Fi, no cable, but we got about 20 channels on regular TV. They also have full hookup sites. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
This is a very beautiful park with large grassy sites and nice mature trees. The roads are all good gravel and the sites are gravel though not very level. It rained a lot when we were there and there was no mud at all. It is easy to get around, the staff is helpful and the Wi-Fi worked fine. There is no cable and no local TV. We were very disappointed to find out that the laundromat was closed. We had to go to the Pilot Gas Station to do our laundry. The office does not open until 1:00 PM, which made it hard to make adjustments or shop in the store. This is a great location to explore the area. I don’t think I would go back because of the hours, no cable, only 30 amp power and no laundry. That seems like a lot missing for the money spent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
The park is convenient to I90. We were returning from the Grand Tetons enroute to Washington, so it was a good stop. The gravel sites are easily leveled. 30 amp service, water and sewer worked well. There is no cable, wifi worked well. There are nice shade trees throughout the park. The owner obviously puts a great deal of effort into maintaining the green landscape. We would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This park was a wonderful surprise! It was very easy to locate and the perfect distance from the interstate--no noise, but not too far as to be inconvenient. Sites were a little bit closer than would be my ideal, but it was OK. Our 43 ft motorhome and unhooked toad just barely fit into the site we chose (lengthwise). Large dog exercise area and the loop around the park was perfect for walking the dog and enjoying the views. Cute barn with a sign regarding "feeding the horses" and chickens running around the barnyard. This might not be for everyone, but we thoroughly enjoyed it and would make an effort to stop here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
Liked this pretty, grassy, clean campground because we were in a quiet spot with lots of shade and no nearby neighbors. Hate to give it a low rating, but there were swarms of mosquitoes and no cable or 50A service to justify the price. Somewhat level sites; some are near a noisy road. Website says they have 65 63' long sites, but most are shorter. Despite being fairly empty, they put our 35' fifth wheel + 22' truck in a 45' spot. But they let us park the truck in the next (even shorter) site, so it wasn't a problem. Would definitely stay again. Check out the nearby bakery - yum! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Very nice campground, even had small log cabins available. Close to the very good bakery across the freeway in Wheat, close to the town of Three Forks, where they had an old hotel that had been renovated, a small museum among other things. The campground was very well kept up, quiet, lots of trees and shower facilities were very good. We would definitely make a point to stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
I actually liked this place and would stay again, lots of trees and shade and a fair amount of grass. Just little charm to the place. I was appalled that they burn cardboard on-site. The roads are all graveled. Site levelness varies a lot. The Wi-Fi worked fine, electric varied a lot. The office and store sure could use some updating, but it works. The bike paths north and south of Three Forks were great fun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
This is a pretty park with easy access of the highway. Each site had a grassy area and the facilities (bathrooms and laundry) were clean. The downfalls for us were: non working pool, non working Wi-Fi and they charge extra for children but not our dogs. I would stay here again for an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Rate reflects a week's stay. We arrived and planned to stay 2 days and ended up staying a week. I really like this park. It is quiet, the management is very friendly, and there are large shade trees. The pads are mostly level and a little short but we managed just fine. There is always someone to guide you to your space. The pool is old and empty. The WiFi is one of the best we have experienced. We have a nice shade tree and a good table at our site. Note that there is no 50 amp service. There is a nice children's playground and the tent sites are the best I have ever seen with a fire ring, table and plastic chairs for relaxing. They also have great views. The town of Three Forks is nearby for groceries and a couple of good restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
I don't know what the last few ratings were about but we found this park very, very nice although a bit pricey - the solitude & trees make it worth it. Full hookups $40.66/night; W/E $29/night. Managers were friendly, cheerful and guided you to all the pull-through sites. There are wall to wall assorted, full grown, deciduous shade trees everywhere - the best shaded RV park we have been in. We stayed on the south side of the camp which had a great view of rolling hills and mountains. Well taken care of gravel roads and pull thru sites. The sites around us looked level with well maintained grass and all trees trimmed for the largest motor home to get through. We saw no weeds or trashy areas in the park. Clean/nice showers & bathrooms. Four washing machines @ $2 ea.; four dryers @ $1/35 minutes. Wi-Fi was usually fair to good but there were bad times. There are a couple of restaurants and a grocery store in the town of Three Forks about three miles away. We stayed here a week and would stay here again in a second. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
This is an overpriced park for W/E. It is clean with trees that need trimming and gravel sites that need leveling. Water pressure and power was aceptable, the price was W/E. Sewer was available on limited sites. Wi-Fi was strong near the office. The pool has not been cleaned or opened when we were there. We were guided to our site. It is very quiet. I would try to find a more economical park if in the area next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This is a tired, older park, a former KOA. Our main reason to stay there was to have dinner at the Sacajawa Inn - in Three Forks, which we highly recommend. Definitely overpriced, for what you get - we paid $72.50 including tax for 2 nights, for a water and electric site, no Wi-Fi, gravel weedy sites. Best part for us was being away from the full hookup sites in the back of the park (plenty of long terms there) We had nice shade trees and a beautiful view of the valley. Some road noise during the day, but quiet at night. We were told they are not filling the pool because of a water shortage. Doubt we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This place was level and had electricity, so they get a 5. The people are not friendly, the bathrooms are smokin' hot, and the laundry is worse. There is a nice looking pool, but it seems someone forgot to ad water to it. They tried to talk us into an electric only site and to use their sewer dump but we declined in lieu of full hook-ups. This place is definitely overpriced. We saw one fellow pull in a pull through site with his 35' fifth wheel and was hanging out several feet on both ends. There is nothing within walking distance, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Good and bad park. The setting is very nice. Lots of trees, sites are level, and utilities worked fine. The staff and owner have unfriendly attitudes, in our opinion. I asked for help with something and one worker and the owner rolled their eyes before they helped me. We also arrived near the end of their season and they appeared to want everyone out of the campground to shut down for the year. However, the weather has beautiful and other people were in the park and appeared to want to stay. Used the laundry and that could use some major work. One of the dryers was broke and was held together with a wood peg. The laundry was also very small for the size of the park. The laundry also smelled bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This is a nice park. But the pool needs a lot of work. It is overgrown and not cleaned out at all when we were there. The sites are nice and large. Everyone has grass and a picnic table. The washrooms are OK, they need some work. Good park for a night or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
A nice surprise. A 1/4 mile off of highway on quiet road. Totally fenced and treed. Used to be a KOA and is no longer affiliated with them. Almost every spot is shaded and has grass and picnic table. Nice spacing between units. The staff is attentive to guests and check the park in golf carts quite often, not excessive. Three miles from Three Forks (town) and we rode our bikes in on the bike path. We would have stayed longer had we not been on tail end of our trip home. This is my first review - we have been "burned" with location 3 times because of inaccurate reviews or ratings. I will do my best to be accurate with comments so others won't have problems. Our site number was 34 or 35 - can't remember now. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is a wonderful RV park. The employees are one big happy family and treat the visitors the same way. There is lots of shade and they love well behaved dogs. We were there for four nights and never got a chance to see everything. We’ll be back for a week next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We've been on the road for four weeks, changing camp grounds every three days on average. This is the nicest place we've stayed. It is meticulously maintained with large lawns (not just grass) at each site. The bathrooms and showers are always clean. It is quiet and away from traffic. We stayed three nights and would have stayed longer if there were more to do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a very nice park with very nice & helpful staff. Our site was level and shaded. Our Wi-Fi worked well. The pool was clean and warm, the bathroom, showers and laundry were very clean. The prices in the small camp store were very reasonable. The park was nicely landscaped with flowers, vines and trees. There was a bird feeding station with many birds in the park. There was no traffic noise. This was a nice green oasis in a somewhat barren part of Montana. We really enjoyed this park and will stop again on our way back from the west coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
A nice park with very helpful people. Sites were shaded and had a nice grass area. Nice pet area. My only concern was there is a lot of loose soft gravel: very had to ride in and out of the park on my motorcycle. You cannot ride a bicycle in the park because of the gravel. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
This was an extremely nice RV park. Everything was exceptionally clean. I would give it a 10 if it had cable TV. Otherwise we would highly recommend this park to anyone. Great people in the office also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
First time here at this great park. Big sites with grass and a picnic table. Most sites are shady. The washrooms need some work, but they are clean. Didn't use the pool as we spent our day down in Virginia City. For overnight or for a few days, this is a nice park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Wonderful shaded campground far enough from I-90 that it is not a bother. Some construction is diverting traffic down the hiway by the camp, so the traffic volume was probably higher when we stayed than normal. Overall quiet and shady. We did not have sewer hookups at our site, so we had to use their dump station on the way out which entailed circling back through the park. All in all an enjoyable stay. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
A very nice campground. Pads are gravel with grass area with a table to the side. Sites are adequate for our 40 footer towing. Very quiet area. We were able to get satellite TV reception. Facilities very nice and clean. A bit expensive for what you get. The $34 price is without tax. For an overnight only, we might look for a different spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
This is a lovely place and the owners were very kind and helpful. I was sad to see the beautiful pool not yet open for the year yet, although it was June 30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
A good, basic campsite. Site was clean, showers and toilet facilities clean, everything worked. I would recommend not taking a spot near the chicken coop (unless you want a pre-dawn wake-up call). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
The campground facilities are old but clean; the staff was friendly. We would stay again if in the area. A bit expensive for amenities offered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Great campground! Attractive, nice gravel roads, green grass...they water it a lot. Can't put anything on the grass. Mature trees. Only problem was sites aren't quite long enough. Our rig was 38' & with the car parked sideways, it barely fit in the site. Management very friendly & cordial. Sites plenty wide & ample for slides. It was a great stop...we only intended to stay for 1 night, but stayed 3 & easily could have stayed 4-there's much to see. Virginia City & Nevada City ghost towns are 40ish miles away. The Missouri Headwaters State Park is very interesting. Also take Highway 2 West just as a pretty drive...gorgeous mountain & prairie scenery. This is the road that takes you right past Lewis & Clark Caverns-didn't have time to see. The campground is over a 100 miles from Yellowstone. The exit off I-90 has a 24 hr diesel repair shop with 24-hr towing & a very nice family owned bakery here too. We didn't use the diesel repair, but saw the sign. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
Great private campground!!! Wide, shaded sites that require a minimum of leveling. One mile off I-90, far enough to hear no road noise. Escort to your site, which are not marked too well but it doesn't really matter. Friendly staff which I always expect from a privately owned campground. Water pressure was good, but a weird taste. Secure Wi-Fi at your site at no charge, the way it ought to be!!! I would stay here again in a skinny minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This Park has nice eye appeal, and is well maintained. There are good gravel roads and sites as they have been re-graveled. There is grass around sites and a table. Sites are mostly level. There are lots of trees but some sites are open enough for satellite TV. The Wifi worked well. This price was for a water & electric (30 amp) site. They need to do some tree trimming along the roads as the branches are too close for larger rigs. There is some traffic noise from highway but not bad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
Former KOA and it shows, but better than when it was a KOA, I'm sure. Stopped only overnight on the way to Yellowstone & didn't use most facilities,but what we saw was spotless and well maintained. Dump station was strangely located, but clean and worked fine. Main problem was hordes of mosquitoes. When we inquired we were told "No one goes camping in Montana without mosquito repellent!" For anyone who's wondering, highway 287 from 3-Forks is a better route to West Yellowstone than 191 from Belgrade. Only 1 steep grade and road seemed straighter. Definitely less traffic & no construction hassles. Also, follows the Madison River a good share of the way, so it's prettier. Would definitely stay here again- either overnight or longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This is a very nice park located just a mile off I-90 making it easy to get to but quiet. It is very well maintained, with grassy strips between each site, flower beds near the office and plenty of mature shade trees. The sites are gravel, but nice and level. In season there is a swimming pool, but it was closed at this time of the year. This park used to be a KOA, but is now under independent ownership. Wi-Fi is available, but I had to take the lap top to the office to get it to work, which was a minor inconvenience. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
A nice but typical KOA we used on the way out west. The campground sits in a relatively quiet area well away from the interstate. All the sites we saw were level and reasonably large for a KOA. The owner, and staff were pleasant, and the park appeared clean and well maintained. The only minor complaint was that the small pool was ice cold, especially for September 1st. Wifi did not work at the edges of the park, but a short walk to a vacant table at another site provided some connection. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
The best overnight stop on this trip. Nice grassy pull thru site, very long. The grounds are landscaped beautifully. We would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This KOA is top-notch. The whole campground is like a highly manicured and well-groomed park. The owners were pleasant and helpful and everything worked as advertised. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This campground has wide, grassy, and well-shaded sites. The facilities and equipment were clean, well-kept, and in working order. Park staff were pleasant and responsive. The modem hook-up is in the office. This is a truly restful and relaxing park. We paid the KOA Value Card rate, which included local taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Lovely Park. Main issue is with no enforcement for rules for dogs. People do not pick up after dogs nor do they take them to the dog walk. The dogs are not kept on 6 foot leash but usually a 20' leash. It is very frightening to try to walk and have a dog bound at you on a twenty foot leash, which can go to the interior road, barking & snarling. It is also disgusting to look out your front window to a beautiful view and see a large dog doing it's business instead. Won't return because of this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
We camped here for three nights, and would recommend this park. Staff are helpful and friendly and the owners are very nice. Lots of shade trees and near Wheat Montana (the best place to have breakfast and lunch with the best bakery goods and breads around. Also, good for a trip to the Missouri Headwaters State Park where the Madison, Gallatin and Jefferson Rivers form the Missouri River. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
Nice park. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
This is not a typical KOA. It is like a private park. It is not open in winter. It is a green oasis on the open plains. It has lots of mature trees and there are no trees in the area. The owners are friendly & share their petting zoo. The headwaters of the Missouri River is near. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This is a very nice KOA. According to the owners they have had this KOA for 30 years. There are many full grown trees and a lot of shade. This KOA is about 1 mile off the expressway, but the noise doesn't seem to travel. What you do hear is the crowing of the roosters that the owners have. Lots of chickens running around in the back of the full-service area. The owners also have horses. This campground also has hand-dipped ice cream in about 6-8 flavors which are EXCELLENT! This is one KOA I would definitely stay at again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$24
The lower rating is based on the size restrictions in the park - we live in a 40' MH and the very, very narrow interior roads and quantity of trees made getting in & out very, very difficult. We needed a place to park overnight. The staff was nice, but overwhelmed at the time we checked in. The park is clean & well cared for. Some of the trees need to be cut higher - we definitely cuddled with some - it appeared it wasn't a tree expert that did what cutting has been done. Our satellites worked from one of the W/E only sites, which was cool. Comments I overheard indicate computer hookups are not going to be a priority with the owner. This is a family camper campground, not for full-timers in big-rigs. Which is great - it's just not us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Quiet campground in a pretty setting near the Jefferson River and Missouri Headwaters State Park. Friendly, helpful owners keep the park spotless. Great place to take a break from I-90. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com