224264 User submitted reviews online!!
Glacier Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 38 user reviews. Phone: (406) 387-5689
CGID1703

Glacier Campground

Camp Information
Sites
185
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   9   8   8   6   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
Liked this campground when we arrived- loved the mountainside trees and ambiance. Very nice lady in office. She offered a site by the laundry/shower house, but then we drove the steep road up and found a narrow, short site at an odd angle. Since it was only for a night and we liked the location, we pulled nose in, same as the neighboring RV did, since it was impossible backing in. Site was slanted, very unlevel. Other camper had 3 boards under tires. Most neighbors were tenters or in small trailers so it was unwise to send 25-28' motor homes to this area. (never saw the "big rig" area but must be better sites). Lots of wood smoke late at night and families lined up for the 2 tiny, dirty showers at 10:30pm. Laundry room small but ok, Verizon works, some tv access. A nice place for the price but do check your campsite before moving in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
A gem of a campground. Located very near West entrance of Glacier National Park. I was lucky - the Going to the Sun road had just opened so I was able to enjoy the drive through beautiful scenery. The campground has a Bistro offering breakfast and dinner at reasonable prices. Laundry facility available as well. Sites are situated on a mountain slope but are level and easy to access. The rate reflects Good Sam discount. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
This was a delightful RV Park. Situated on a mountain slope, the individual camping spots are mostly cut into the forest of trees. "Pull through" sites appeared to be 'spots' along the cross roads that connect the uphill/downhill roads. These appear to have little privacy (though the picnic table, etc., is blocked by the RV) and water and electrical hookups are on the "wrong side" requiring longer than normal hoses/cords. Some of the "regular" sites are "Siamese" so one is back in, and the other is "front in." Water and power is placed on the dividing line between these paired sites. Our assigned site was sideways to the mountain slope: and did not have any part that was comfortably level (our small Roadtrek RV does not have leveling jacks). This was a minor inconvenience and (if warned) I'd have brought some boards to raise up the low side. The dump station was located near the office and was convenient to stop by on our in-out trips (we do not have a toad). This park, located near the entrance to Glacier National Park has a "stop" for the "red bus" tours (but you must reserve a tour in advance and arrange for them to stop for you.) We stayed 4 days and were very pleased with this park for its ambience and proximity to the national park. We did not use their WiFi, but our tablet got good connections to Verizon wireless (2 or 3 bars). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$29
Lovely wooded campground just a mile from West Glacier. Feels like a State campground, but with laundry, big rig space pull asides, and Verizon services. Cozy camp style cookouts for breakfast and dinner near office. Location sets the mood for visiting Glacier National Park. Ladies in the office were very helpful and full of tips on tackling the vast area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Ideal spot to stay while visiting the Glacier National Park. Not only is it convenient and close to the west entrance, the staff is friendly, the sites are wooded and private, the price is very reasonable, and we were delighted to be able have a campfire in the evening. More showers would be nice, as there are no sewer hookups at the sites (however, there is an on-site dump station). We were in site F5, which backed up to some woods and we were spaced out from adjoining sites. We were here for four days and we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Very nice campground just outside Glacier National Park. Lots of shade trees and very quiet except for the occasional freight train going by somewhere close enough to hear it several times during the day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
We arrived without a reservation and found the park staff to be very accommodating and friendly. We were assigned a back-in RV site with plenty of room for our 5th wheel trailer with three slide-outs. All of the sites are back-in. The RV Park is located in a densely forested area and all of the sites are well shaded and have a fire ring. The front office sells a decent bundle of firewood for $7. All sites are separated from each other by a dense forest that gives each camper a lot of privacy. Access roads are paved and in good condition. The RV Park is generally big rig accessible however; some turns are a little tight and trees at some sites make it a challenge to back in. The RV Park is on a slope so most of the sites are not level, but with a full set of leveling blocks we were able to come close to level. Electric (30 amp) and water hook-ups were convenient, on the left side and closer to the front of the site. The electrical connection box did not have a breaker and the voltage was very low. The water system consisted of a flexible plastic pipe attached to a spigot with a hose clamp. The water pressure was very poor. Water from a faucet would slow to a trickle after 3 – 5 seconds. None of the sites have a sewer connection. The sewer dump station is near the RV Park entrance and the turn going into and out of the dump site is tight. There several bathroom / shower buildings in the park. Bathroom buildings and fixtures are a little dated. Each building has two small shower stalls. Bathrooms and showers were in fair condition and could use a deep cleaning. The ventilation fan was very dusty and did not keep the shower area ventilated so the building had a musty smell. The RV Park laundry has four washing machines and two large capacity dryers. The machines are older but in good condition and clean; $1.00 to wash and $1.00 to dry. There is a restaurant on-site with a large open pit BBQ. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner in a large covered outdoor seating area. The BBQ ribs, baked beans and soup were great. The RV Park is approximately .25 miles from Highway 2 and there is a little noise from passing vehicles. There is also a railroad line approximately .5 miles away and the horn from the passing trains can be heard day and night. The RV Park is approximately one mile from the west entrance to Glacier National Park, which is very popular, and reservations are highly recommended. Verizon 3G cell signal was good with three bars. Sites at the southwest side of the park, up the hill, offer the greatest privacy. We stayed three nights, paid $86.67 and received a 10 percent AAA discount. The RV Park also offers a 10 percent discount for Good Sam and AARP. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We loved the location and setting of this campground. It really does feel like camping used to be in the early 1970s. Unfortunately, it's still sized and laid out for a park of that vintage! Most sites, while private and fairly spacious, are not large enough for very many larger rigs. Our 5th wheel is only 35' and it was a challenge negotiating the tight corners and our site, which was a very unlevel pull-through. Our site while long enough had a definite curve in the middle which made setting up and leveling a challenge with three slides and trees all around! We had some electrical issues at our site. Our surge protector kept tripping us off due to low voltage. When we found another electric connection box hidden in the shrubs, we switched to it and it worked a little better. The owners were friendly and they did provide daily trash pickup at each site. The laundry room was not fancy but the 4 washers and two large driers worked well for a reasonable price. The big bonus of this campground is the convenience to Glacier National Park: you're literally minutes away. The BBQ cafe in the campground was nice. We enjoyed a good rib dinner there. There's a taco/burrito stand across the highway which was excellent! We also used the Great Northern Rafting company right across the highway from the campground to take a wonderful whitewater rafting trip. Smaller rigs will find this campground a great deal! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
Great Park, with nice people running it. Rate is with Good Sam card. Negatives are: weak Wi-Fi if you are up on the top of the hill. Difficult to get level with big rig, and tight turns can be handled but carefully, too few showers but they have really hot water and lots of it. Food is great at their outdoor cafe. Yes, I would like to spend more time there: close To Glacier Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We considered a slightly lower evaluation with the lack of sewer and shared power and water stanchions. 30AMP is breaker-less and the left site has to set up to run water and power under the rig to reach the stanchion. Setup then takes away the space for patio and awning. The restrooms and laundry are clean. Water pressure to the sites is poor, sometimes barely a trickle. There are two bath houses to service 175 sites. Access to Glacier west entrance is three miles away. To tour the park, leave your rig at the Transit Center and take the shuttle system which can carry you all the way to the east entrance at St. Mary. Cell phones have good connectivity but Wi-Fi will not connect. The free Wi-Fi at the CG lodge is good. When its busy it can be slow, but otherwise is good. We didn't utilize the BBQ since we were out of the CG everyday in Glacier National Park. The staff here is friendly and very helpful. The "at site" garbage pickup in the mornings is pretty nice. Black Bear have been seen in the CG so food stuff needs to be stored safely. Portions of the CG are a little tight so caution when moving big rigs looking for a space. Don't be surprised at the Amtrak and BNSF trains whistling through the night as they stop at or move through West Glacier. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
This is, indeed, the way camping used to be! We loved this place. The campsites are large and all are well shaded. We were camping with another couple and felt like we had our own private campground because the sites were so large and private. The owners and staff are absolutely wonderful. We ate breakfast at the outdoor cafe twice (the Eggs Benedict are wonderful), and dinner (for the barbeque) once. Loved the cafe and its atmosphere. We liked the site trash pickup. As others have noted, it is really handy to the West Entrance of Glacier National Park. The WiFi was a little weak at our site, but we really didn't mind going up to their cozy living room/office to get our signal. We highly recommend this campground and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$26
Great campground, a mile from the West Glacier entrance. Campsites are wooded and shady. It was a bit tight, but doable for our 34 foot fifth wheel. The staff is WONDERFUL. They are friendly and helpful. Garbage is picked up at the site each morning as wildlife has been seen in the campground. There is an outdoor cafe Wednesday through Sunday that serves breakfast and dinner. Did not have a chance to eat here, too much other stuff to do, but the menu looked good. There was no sewer, but does have an easily accessible dump station. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Advertised as 'the way camping used to be' and it is true. It's not a resort, but they do have a small store, laundry, and a cafe/BBQ on site. The staff is really friendly and helpful. For those that may bypass it due to the lack of sewer hookups, they offer a pump out service by truck for a fee. Park rules state no generators, but there is a boy scout troop here using one for hours right across from the office and they don't seem to do anything about it. The campground and buildings are very clean. This is a fabulous alternative to staying in the National Park without power, especially on hot days. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
Friendly staff, clean but small restroom closest to our site. Sites are dirt and it was a bit muddy from the rain. Sites are not very level. Lots of trees. Overall, a nice atmosphere. Just be sure to have the ability to level your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
We stayed three days in a pull-through site. Deeply wooded sites with occasional bear sighting thrown in. We liked this park, especially for the price and would have rated it at the highest rating if they had park wide Wi-Fi. Friendly folks in the office, nice greatroom, and good access all made for a nice stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Like camping in the National park, but with hook-ups! Heavily wooded, private sites made it feel like real camping after several days of parking lot RV parks. Right outside the West Entrance to Glacier, very clean restrooms & showers. This was a perfect park for us, except that we had to sit in the office to use internet. Even that wasn't bad, because it was a huge comfy living room with friendly people. Skip the KOA and stay here!!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
I agree with a previous poster that said this was a good alternative to dry camping in Glacier NP. It is only a 5-minute drive to Apgar Visitor Center. This is a quiet, wooded campground that has RV sites as well as tents and cabins. The sites are spacious, easy to get into, with some privacy of foliage between sites. Our site took one leveling block. Our water/electric site worked fine. Each site has a picnic table and fire pit. Our aircard and cell phone worked fine at our site, the furthest from the office at the top of the hill. They said their Wi-Fi works only at the office; I never tried it. The restrooms, showers, and laundry room are somewhat old, but were fairly clean and worked fine. The office staff was helpful and nice. There is a playground for kids. We used the dump station on the way out and it worked fine. The rate, which I thought was reasonable for what you get, is with a 10% Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
We are here right on - on the internet from our beautifully wooded site (f10). When we read the previous reviews we almost wrote this place off but thankfully pulled in to check it out b/c the other parks in West Glacier were so costly. The family who owns the place are lovely - they went out of their way to be helpful. Since it is the end of season and they aren't packed they let us drive around and choose the site right for us. When we picked one the Father said "before you pull in checkout F10" and he was right - it is even better. They advertise this place as "Camping like it used to be" and that is so right on. This place is massive with large spots, lots of privacy, tall trees, thick woods - like campground I recall in the 1970's. As for the complaints about the Wi-Fi - I am on it right now from my spot, just uploaded trip photos too. Great connection. Next time we are back to explore Glacier Nat'l Park we are looking forward to staying here. Can't hear a road right now - wow. Camped in 47 states and 7 Canadian Provinces in the last 4 years - wish there were places like this everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
The campground is on Route 2, one mile from the national park entrance, and is a nice alternative to dry camping at the national park. We needed electric for the AC as it was warm in late August. The campground is located in the woods on a relatively steep hillside. Sites are well spaced, except that most seemed to be in relatively close pairs with good space between the pairs. The facility advertises "camping like it used to be" and this is a fairly good description. Most sites were short and not at all level, better for tenting than RVs. At the top of the park were some large (i.e., deep) sites for larger rigs. Most sites are back-in; we had a pull-through which was a wide spot in the gravel road. Sites are all gravel. Power was good and steady. Verizon air card and Tracfone both worked well. Lots of shade from the woods. Park is a Good Sam park and price shown reflected a 10% discount for electric service only. Park was generally quiet with no road noise. Whistles from frequent trains can be heard in the park. There is a rustic BBQ restaurant on site with delicious ribs. We stayed for 5 nights and would stay again when visiting Glacier National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Sites are wooded and a respectable distance from one another. Bathrooms were fairly clean and well maintained. Staff in the office were very friendly and helpful, spending a great deal of time with us discussing "can't miss" sights. Only major beef I have is that there was a pile of debris right in the middle of the campsite and the site itself wasn't level. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
I was prepared to love this campground. The grounds are beautiful and lush, the owners (the older couple) were really nice when I checked in, and it was in a great location. However, despite the fact that Wi-Fi is promoted on the website, after we checked in and paid, we found out it's only available in the office area. There's a lounge for guests to sit and use their laptops. This was a bummer, as I need internet access to work from the road. So my husband and I figured we'd just camp out in the lounge for a bit while I did my work. We took our five-pound, hypo-allergenic (i.e. non-shedding) SERVICE DOG with us and went to settle in by the fire with our computers. As we entered the office, some young guy who worked here, forbade us to come in with our little dog. Fair, there was a "no dogs" sign on the office door, but there were three massive dogs lounging inside where the guests were to hang out. I'm a dog lover, and was fine with this. They were really sweet, gentle dogs: but don't allow your huge dogs to lounge around in the communal space and prohibit my tiny, well-trained dog. And then give me attitude about it. Besides, she's a registered SERVICE ANIMAL, as her ID clearly stated. The guy was pretty rude about it. Plus the whole Internet issue was a total pain. So while we had planned on staying multiple nights, the whole scenario rubbed us the wrong way. We left after one day and went to another park, with an awesome site, instead. At least the prices were decent: $28 for water and electric. They offer AAA and Good Sam discounts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Glacier Campground is a real good site just outside of the West entrance to Glacier park. The management seemed very nice and helpful. They display an easy going, friendly attitude. The prices were reasonable and the campground is clean, but somewhat dated. The showers were hot and appreciated. We stayed a week with them and would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a great campground very close to the entrance of the park. The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites were wooded, and beautiful. We had nothing but forest behind us with a well placed fire pit area. We stayed here 5 days, and spent most of our days at the park, perfect for this. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
When we first pulled into this campground I thought we had been had. The initial impression is not very favorable. The site we were placed in was so sloped that we had to drop the nose of the camper on the ground to get anywhere close to level. They had thirty Boy Scouts across the road in tents on one side and a 'permanent' kind of truck camper on the other. The electric and water hookup was even on the wrong side of site! Fortunately our power and water lines just reached it. Not the situation you want to encounter after a long day of driving. However, after staying here for a couple of nights, the place really grew on us and became one of our favorites. All the sites are very private and heavily wooded, and there was a great open air, casual grill near the main building. This is an older campground and has kept a very comfortable feel. It's a bit of a chore to setup but we were charmed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Pros: right outside the entrance to Glacier, heavily wooded, private sites, very comfortable fee. Cons: old, kind of scruffy and the sites are small Tip: avoid eating at the tacky restaurant/gift shop just south of the campground. Some diners have great food at good prices. This one has neither. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
We found this campground to be less than what we expected. Everything in the previous reviews is right, and although it has the feel of a national forest it's also very busy. There is a restaurant in the campground with lots of coming and going. The only access to the Wi-Fi is in the lounge by the office. If you're camped at the top of the hill it's a long walk down. There are only 2 bath houses and several times we had to wait since most campers did not follow the 10-minute shower sign. There are sites for big rigs but some are narrow and difficult to get in. The staff is great: very friendly and helpful but we never felt "at home" and would not choose to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Very shaded sites, closest RV park to park entrance, nice helpful staff, fires were allowed when I stayed - they sell firewood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Come one, come all. Everyone welcome. From grassy spots for bicyclists to sites for large motorhomes, there is room for all. Family run with a large relaxed living area including a woodstove in the center, WiFi reception there only, seating must be negotiated with owners' friendly dogs. Dump station, propane, free movie rentals and pick up spot for The Going to the Sun Road red busses. Well forested, shady, private sites. 30 amp service maximum. Showers available for walk ins for a nominal fee. Cafe on site open a couple of nights a week. If you like to feel part of a congenial family this is the spot for you. I hated to leave and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Nice campground. Only negative was the part of the campground that you could not have any fires. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
This is a very wooded campground and the next best thing to camping in the national park. There are no sewer hookups, but they do have a pump out service. The restrooms are scarce considering the number of spaces and quite far from many of the sites. The sites could be tricky for larger rigs. The location is great. We stayed a week and would stay again but did try to scope out which sites we could more easily get our 38 footer into. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
If you're looking for a concrete parking lot, you may want to try somewhere else, if you like trees, this is your place. This place is in the woods and more like camping in a National Forest, it does have water and electric, but no sewer hook-ups, but it does have a dump station & a pump truck available, sites are a little on the short side for the big rigs, but our 30 ft. class C / with toad fit just fine. The showers and bathrooms were clean, but need more of them. The owners were friendly & helpful, & we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
The only problem I saw with this place is it is not big rig friendly. Limited to a few sites for the 38' and above. Great location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
We love this campground. It is heavily wooded and the sites are a nice size with lots of privacy. It is very much like a typical state park. They offer a Good Sam discount or 1 free night with the purchase of 6 nights. It is hilly and backing into some of the sites with a big rig might require some finesse. It is very close to the West Entrance to Glacier National Park. We would come back here the next time we are in the area. WiFi is available near the front office, but not in the further sites. If you are looking for a football field-type campground with cable TV, on-site WiFi and swimming pool go elsewhere. If you want to feel like you are camping in Glacier NP, come here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
We keep going back. This was our 4 time in the last 8 years. Very clean and well maintained. Friendly staff. Looking forward to being there again in 2 years. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Friendly greeting upon arrival. Sites are carved out the forest. Very close to West Glacier entrance. I might look for something else next time in the area. It was okay, but not quite as nice as I was hoping for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
This is a great place to stay if you want to visit Glacier National Park. It is close to everything and very quiet and clean. The park is in the middle of the woods and creates the mood of being in days past. Cajun Mary's restaurant on the premises is great fun and great food. We will stay here again if we ever get the chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Restrooms were immaculate and so were the showers. Campsites are level. Playground for children is safe. Restaurant on site is surprisingly very good. Wild berries throughout campground. Aesthetically pleasing. Strict fire management. Campground is neat and tidy and one gets the sense that owners are actively involved in management. People we spoke with were also impressed, with many of them being return guests. Negative: So large must drive to front desk from site, which is most likely at a different elevation. However, restrooms and showers are generally close from all directions. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
The only redeeming feature of this park is the privacy at each and the privacy is OK *only* if you like camping is dense, dark, scrubby third-growth pine trees. The water pressure is so bad as to be unusable and the bathrooms were in need of attention (flooding toilets and mold on the wood around the showers). This is cheap, rustic camping -- OK if you like it but not if you prefer a few basic amenities like full hookups, clean facilities and reasonable water pressure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is the most beautiful campground. Very close to West Glacier enterance. The only thing they could do to improve this campground is to put sewer hookups at the sites but they do have a dump station and a portable dump.The employees treat you like kings. Will stay here when ever we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com