224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Whitefish / Kalispell North KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (406) 862-4242
CGID1705

Whitefish / Kalispell North KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$66



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   1   8   6   1   8   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$66
This was by far the most expensive RV park that we stayed in on our trip. We booked by phone and were told that they could accommodate a 38' fifth wheel. In fact we were told that our site was 75' long and that it was a pull through. Our first impression of the park was of a well treed park in a bit of a valley. It was very busy with children running around on recumbent bikes that were low to the ground. Getting into our site was difficult for the size of our unit, and we had to ask someone to move their truck in order to make the turn at all. To say that this park is too tight for big units is an understatement. Although the site was a "pull-through" by name, there was no way to make the turns in order to actually pull through. It certainly was not 75' in length. In fact the rear end of our fifth wheel was very close to the road in the back and there was no room to park the truck in front unless it was sideways across the site. When we put out our slides, the bedroom slide was literally over the concrete table of our neighbour to the left. They could not use their fire pit until we pulled our truck out. They advertised an adult only hot tub, but it was small, dirty, and certainly not hot. We chose not to get in. The indoor/outdoor pool was questionable in its cleanliness and we chose not to use that either. The "free" breakfast was OK, but exactly the same all 3 days of our stay. It lacked any healthy choices except for a bowl of melon. The room in which we ate had a very dirty, smelly carpet on the floor. Supposedly there was free Wi-Fi, however, we were unable to get on at all while at our site. It was possible to access our email at 2 computers provided in the dining hall. The "free" bikes provided were never available, could not be booked, and were used by the same few children daily. On paper the park appears to have many things for children to do, but they are in poor repair. As adults, we found the park too busy, too loud, too tight, and in need of repair. The sites themselves are uneven, and the roads are narrow, bumpy, and have tight turns. This is definitely not a good park for larger rigs. If it had not been for pleasant neighbours, we would never have been able to get out of our site. It required several eyes to help make the manoeuvres necessary to back out and around a turn to the road. We personally will not use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$70
The park has very uneven grounds and site locations. Difficult to navigate through the park and park in the assigned site. Not all sites provide sewer. Very cramped and very noisy all day long and the smoke from the campfires penetrates every RV. It feels like sleeping in a smokehouse. There are hardly sufficient reasons for the nightly rate of 69 or 70 dollars. The breakfast is OK and sufficient.There is nothing for adults to do here other than trying to avoid children on tricycles. The pool is very small, cold and overrun with toddlers and youngsters. The so called "adults only hot Jacuzzi" is a bathtub for perhaps 4 people. The "mini golf" is not even funny enough to describe. Close to Whitefish by car, about 7-8 minutes. Not good enough for us to return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$70
Big Rigs Beware!! Poor guest service. We are traveling with two other parties, we made our reservations in April and we were towing a trailer so we requested a pull through site. At check in our sites were not close to our traveling partners. After two inquiries we were not accommodated because they didn’t want to. Poor layout for big rigs. Our site was too narrow for our 38 foot motor home and we hit a rock. Even the approach to the site was too narrow. It is nice to have trees but they could be thinned for big rig access. Safety concerns. This campground offers very low, big wheel type bicycles but they do not have flags, so you can’t see kids zipping around when you are in a high profile vehicle. We thought the price was high for a narrow deluxe site. They do offer a “free” breakfast every day (same food every day). They have an indoor pool. It was not the type of guest service I expect at a KOA. I would never return here, nor would I recommend it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
A bit overpriced. Wi-Fi is unpredictable. Sites are cramped. Lots of things for kids to do but facilities need some upkeep. Staff is unprofessional and occasionally less than helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
This is a very expensive campground for what you get! We'd have been better staying at West Glacier! The KOA claims this is renowned for it's huge playground: well, it's not that big! A couple of swings and a wooden fort with slides! The pool is good (indoor and outdoor), the pond is tiny. There is an outdoor checkerboard. We had llamas and donkeys and goats wondering around so don't leave things outside or they will get eaten! Pizza place looked ok but was not open when we were here. Lots of indoor game machines for rainy days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$52
After a long day on the road, we called and told there was a deluxe site available for $52.00. Pulled in to a dusty, crowded, small park. Staff very nice to work with but the park was not very suitable for us. They gave us the site and told us we would have to park the truck else where as the site was 35 feet. Once I snaked my way through parked vehicles, dodged kids on motorbikes and of course the dust, we arrived at our site. A motorhome prevented a short turn and the trailer across the alley prevented a wide turn into our 'drive through' site. After one failed attempt, we drove back to the office to try another site. They were full and did offer a overflow site (for $50.00 with only power!) We kept going down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
This is a great park for children. They have so much for them to do: swimming, lawn games and a petting zoo. They also have bicycle-style go-carts for them to use. We had a great spot with reception from our roof mount dish and easy parking. We did have to back out. Our rig would have been too big to make a corner. I did notice some rigs having a hard time getting into some places. It's a very busy park: no empty places at all. The employees were friendly. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
Very nice area with plenty of shade trees. Nice supply of food at breakfast. Areas for kids to play also. A bit cramped with alotted space, but overall a nice friendly location. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$56
Overpriced KOA. The sites were not very level, and could be hard to get into some of them with a larger unit, we had to switch sites that we could get into and our fifth wheel is only 34 feet. The pool was nice, some of the amenities are fee, but not enough to offset the high price. The highway noise is noticeable during the day, but quiets down at night. The access road is steep, but they were grading the gravel to smooth it out a bit. The whole park is gravel, but it is in the trees so thats nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$47
Our preference is for campgrounds with more separation between RVs; this one was tight. The bathrooms were nice, though. Overall, a serviceable site for one night, but I sure wouldn't make it a destination vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
Stayed here for one week in Site 75, best site in the campground. Many of the full service sites have wooden decks, ours was about 10'x18' . Very well treed around perimeter, not much privacy between sites, though ours was large enough that neighbors were at least 30' away. Good location between Whitefish and Kalispell. Downsides would be laundry too small for a campground this size, many people waiting hours to get laundry done, 4 washers and 4 dryers. Pool is so/so, nowhere near as nice as Great Falls KOA, for example. Seemed to be more tents and bikers than typically seen, not a bad thing, we bike ourselves, just something noticeable at the time we were there. Would be closer to a 9 or 10 if the pool facilities were nicer and laundry facilities were of an appropriate size. Lots of wasps everywhere, many wasp traps hanging in the park. Guess that comes with the the forested location, just need to be prepared to deal with them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$63
The campground itself is lovely, with lots of activities for kids, amazingly clean washroom facilities, and lots of extra amenities. We enjoyed the free breakfast, the pool, the petting zoo, and our kids really liked the bikes, volleyball and basketball. Our biggest complaint was with the size of the sites. Our site was incredibly tight to get into, and the sewer hook up was almost useless, seeing that it was located at the very front of the site. We could barely park our truck in front of our trailer. As well, the staff was very unorganized (although extra friendly and helpful). We were camping with a friend's family and upon arrival, asked how close our site was to theirs. According to them, our friends had no site reserved. We hastily booked them another site. Lo and behold, when our friends checked in, they did have a site, but were told that We didn't have a site booked and hadn't checked in yet, at which time they quickly booked US another site. It was a lot of needless stress for both parties. Once we were both there, everything was okay, although our friends found a note at their site on the second day of our four day stay wondering why they were still there, as the staff had them checking out the day before (the original booking was for all four days). They need to either get a more user friendly computer reservation system or do some much needed tech training with their staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$52
We stayed in a "deluxe, full hook-up with wi-fi, pull through site". The site was super tight to get in, you'll definitely need an extension cord to reach the electrical, and there was no wi-fi at the site. Although advertised for big rigs, this park did not fit our fifth wheel and truck, while still hooked up! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Very picturesque park, but rustic. Not really ideal for Big Rigs, we barely fit and had a hard time getting into out site. Nestled in a small valley with lots of trees, which was beautiful, but forget your satellite. We stayed a week and enjoyed this RV Park, but would not return as our rig is better suited to other RV Parks in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
This is a great family park with a free breakfast, free miniature golf, free bicycles, and free paddle boats. The breakfast was outstanding with fresh scrambled eggs, toast, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit, cereal, juice and coffee! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Nice campground. Emp. very nice. Went in the off season but from the looks of it there is alot to do at the campground to keep the kids busy and within minutes to Glacier. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com