220444 User submitted reviews online!!
Eugene T Mahoney State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (402) 944-2523
CGID1708

Eugene T Mahoney State Park

Camp Information
Sites
149
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   5   6   7   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Big rig warning: I do not recommend using ReserveAmerica until you have talked to the park office. The park is a series of very steep hills. With fairly narrow blacktop roads. Backing up a hill steep enough to sled on with little room to maneuver could be a challenge for a large fifth wheel or a gas motor home. There are a number of sites at the bottom of the hills that are great, but there is no real way of knowing on ReserveAmerica and Google maps does really show you how steep the roads are. The office can tell you what you are in for. There are some sites that do have water and sewer, but they don't seem to be available on the ReserveAmerica web site. The ReserveAmerica fee does NOT include the state park fee of $5 a day per car or truck (or a max of $25 per vehicle). Other than that nice park. Friendly staff, large spaces between campsites We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Very nice campground; however, unless you are a NE Husker fan, don't plan to stay here on game day. We arrived on a game day, Saturday, didn't realize there was a football game that day. The campground was packed, seemed like each site had an additional 2 or 3 vehicles in addition to the tow vehicle. Hard to get through the campground. There was plenty of parking near the campground but I guess folks were not willing to walk a short distance. The campground was empty the following night (we stayed 2 nights). Electric only was $20/night. Don't miss the melodrama at the theater, the SAC museum, all very good. Sites were level, restrooms/showers good, lots of activities and miles of open space. A great place to visit. Only negative (other than football Saturday) is that it is close to I=80 so there is lots of traffic noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Nice park, but no water anywhere except the dump station. Watch the prices. Whatever price they quote you, the actual price will be $5-$10 per day more. They charge $5 per day additional for each vehicle (including the camping vehicle). They never mention this until you actually show up to claim the reservation. Everything in the park is extra charge (i.e. pool, boats, shows, golf, etc). Good Verizon data & voice. Good air TV. I will not return to a NE state park due to their excessive extra charges. There are plenty of cheaper local and city parks available in NE. The price quoted includes camping fee, reservation fee, daily MH fee, and daily toad fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
One might expect that reserving and paying for a campsite included the ability to access that site without paying even more. Such is not the case, however, in Nebraska state parks. When we reserved a spot on line (add a $7 reservation fee plus 2 sales taxes), there was no mention of the additional daily $4 fee per vehicle. In fact, when we arrived and checked in, no one mentioned the fee and we did not know about it until coming back into the park in our car. We did not inquire about having to pay yet another $4 a day for the motorhome. Our $26 a night electric only site was just about the lowest spot in the campground, so our site was all mud after a thunderstorm. There are plenty of actives in the park and the park is very popular. The Strategic Air & Space Museum is right next door and worth the price of admission. We will not be returning to this or any other Nebraska state park as long as costs are not clearly stated up front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
This is a large and busy campground. It is quite close to I-80 and you can hear the highway from the Creekside Campground. Our site was very muddy, unfortunately right where our steps lowered. Cell-phone service was good. We camped here during a big thunderstorm outbreak, so can't really comment of the condition of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
CG was in good shape. The roads are in good shape, but a few areas are a bit tight for a 36' MH with tow vehicle. We were here for a special event, and will stay here again for a close weekend stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
We have been to this park many times in the past and always enjoy our time here. The sites are hard-surfaced and spacious. The price is right, and there are many things to do in the park, especially in the summer. But, I am noticing that more and more things are becoming run-down and in need of repair. The fire grate on our site was broken, and we had a difficult time trying to grill with it. Our site was level, but it needs to have some gravel or be re-seeded as in a rain storm, would have been a total mud pit. The staff at the park can sometimes get crabby, but otherwise a nice gem between Lincoln and Omaha, right off the Interstate. You WILL hear interstate traffic and train noise which is why I did not give it a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Park makes you buy a parking pass. Since we were staying 2 weeks we had to buy 2: one for the toad and one for the MH. Total cost was $30, so my cost reflects this in the price. NE should just roll this into the camping fee like most other states. It feels like you are being charged double when you roll up to the gate. We stayed in site 141 in the Lakeview Campground. We were here for 9 days so my review will be different from the other posters who I suspect are here for weekends only. First the pros. We had 30 amp electric, and site was paved with asphalt, sites are spaced nicely in Lake View (LV) much more than in Little Creek (LC). There is shade in both camps. We were able to get 8 TV stations very clearly. ATT and Verizon both worked here. There are water spigots available in center of loops. Our site had a picnic table and a grill/fire ring combo. Trash cans are located throughout the campground so no long walk to take trash out and it seems to encourage people to dispose of their pet waste. Cons. The sites flood every time it rains leaving a muddy mess, none of the sites are level, there are only 5 full hookups in LV and only 2 can be reserved. Host sits on a walk up site, so really there are only 2 walk ups available. Bath houses are very old and there are only 2 showers in LV and 4 in LC. You also need to push a button to get a shower, water only lasts for about 2 minutes and you do not get to control the temperature of the water. There should be more showers for a no water/sewer campground. Wi-Fi is supposed to be available in LV but even sitting right outside the bath house where the transmitter is located, we could not get a signal. (Wi-Fi was a big reason for booking in LV and not LC). We had to go to the lodge daily to get a signal and do some work. Our power cut off several times for short periods during our stay, causing us to have to reset items when returning to our RV after being away. Also there are several trains day and night and they do blow their horns for quite some time when they go by. Park: The park is landscaped beautifully with lots of activities for everyone, We participated in the Jr Naturalist classes which were offered everyday, not just on weekends. Park has mini golf ($3.50), water park ($7/5), horse trail riding ($15-not worth it), melodramas ($7/5 we saw 3 of them), indoor playground ($2) and fishing (need a permit). There is nothing nearby so bring everything you need for a stay unless you want to drive to Lincoln or Omaha. There is a small but nice wildlife safari ($6/4) 1 mile down the road and a SAC museum ($10/5) next door. There is a marina between the 2 campgrounds that sells convenience items, firewood, ice cream and fishing stuff and paddleboat rides. There is also a nice bike trail that goes all the way around the park. There are 2 outside playgrounds 1 in LC camping area and the other next to the theater. Bball courts and baseball field are near LC camping area. Laundry is located at LC campground in bath house ($1.50 W or D). Tennis courts are near water park. We would have given this park a higher rating if only staying here for a weekend, because then we would not have had to use the bath house. Because of the age and lack of usefulness of those, and there is no water at sites and our RV sat in a wet mud hole for 2 weeks, we rated it lower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$19
Another beautiful state park. This park has so much to do. It has a water park, horse riding, bike trails, and a lake. We did not explore the lake area, but the bike trails were wonderful. It has a playground just across from site number one. We stayed in site 1 so that the kids could go and play on the playground. It was nice and level. Some sites are smaller and tighter than others, but there was plenty of room to get around. There is a definite buzz from the highway (I-80) that you can hear. It was not bad when we were inside sleeping. You will also need to purchase a daily park pass that is $4 per day from noon to noon. This park is wonderful. and we will try and get back when we can stay longer to enjoy more of it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
This was probably our fifth time camping here and yet again, it didn't disappoint. We camped at the Lakeside Campground which is right next to Owen Marina where there is paddle boat rental for the small lake and a convenience store as well as a fishing bridge. It's a great spot for anyone who has kids since you can watch the kids go to the marina from your campsite. It's best to hit Mahoney on the weekdays, though, as it can be really busy on the weekend. Even on a Monday, the water park was packed! The water park is Top-Notch and only $7 for adults and $5 for kids. Mahoney is a great place to camp!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
I love this place. There is so much for the family to do! Water park, horse rides, hiking, fishing and many nearby attractions are just a few. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$15
We only spent one night at this park, but there were lots of activities for kids. The spaces were pretty level and if you have slideouts there appeared to be plenty of room. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2004
$15
Loved this place. My wife and two boys spent a week here and found plenty to keep us entertained. The buffet in the lodge is a must and a good break from camp food. Activities inclueded SAC Air Museum tour, drive through safari, water park, horse back riding, giant indoor playgroung with climbing tubes and ball pits, mini golf, outdoor plays, and an activity center. The natural beauty was breath taking. I recommend climbing the overlook tower at sunset to take in a view of the Platte River Valley. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2003
$16
A wonderful campground. A lot of shade and a lot of room - we camped at the end of the loop road and we had a lot of space to ourselves. Although the park is off of an interstate highway, traffic noise was not a problem. We camped during the week and there were plenty of sites avaiable, however the weekends are busy so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
This is a state park,(park permit required) and unfortunately, no water/sewer hookups are available. However, water is readily available at various sites throughout the park. All roads and sites are paved making it nice and clean. Fire rings and picnic tables available at each site. There is much to do in this park, mini-golf, a nightly mellow-drama in the summer months, hiking trails and a very nice bike/pedestrian trail which runs through the park. Horseback riding & paddle boats(seasonal) also available. There is a nice restaurant within the park and very nice playgrounds. There is a nice water park/swimming area during the summer months. It is hard to get a site during the summer months. We had no problems finding a spot the last two times we went in September and October though. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com