221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Chimney Rock Pioneer Crossing was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (308) 631-4478
CGID1710

Chimney Rock Pioneer Crossing

Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   9   8   7   5   8   4   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
A horrible campground. Avoid this place. Poorly managed, and they charge for everything to include the use of the restroom! Zero shade, no trees, lots of mosquitoes and a nice view of a cow swamp. Rude owner/staff. Don't waste your money. The only thing worth the effort is the nearby visit to Chimney Rock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This was beautifully cared for, nice grass on each site, wonderful setting. No trees, it is on the prairie. Can see chimney rock from campsite. Wonderful people, must stay if in the area to see the "rock". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
We really liked this RV Park, small but the view of Chimney Rock is right in front of you. All sites are level and pull through. The owner was very friendly. There are a number of coal trains that go by and blow their horns at crossings close to the park during the day and at night, but they did not bother us. They have a small store that the owner was cleaning up and getting ready for the summer season. She said they have a liquor license and was thinking of having a margarita night. She makes homemade waffles used for ice cream cones but we were there too early to sample. We would stop again because of the fantastic view. Also should note that this is close to Scotts Bluff National Monument about 20 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Pro: Nice rural setting 1/4 mile off highway. Site faces chimney rock about 1 mile away. Full service pull through site, friendly staff. We are the only ones here tonight so people depending on lights, or if your scared of the country you won't be happy. They can cook you a light supper if you don't want to cook. Would stay again. Con: Busy rail line is 1/4 mile away and two crossings give you multiple horns. Internet worked fine but I'd assume it would slow to a halt if others were also in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
This was a nice park. There was several trains during the night but we got use to the sound. Even though it didn't have Wi-Fi our antenna picked up several channels. We were the only ones in the campground. The lady in the office made us an ice cream with a homemade waffle cone. What a nice touch. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
The best thing about this park is the view of Chimney Rock at night. The monument is lit from all sides and is just stunning. To offset that view, you have to look at it from inside the RV...the mosquito's were just horrendous. They usually don't bother me too much, and they drove me inside in a matter of minutes at dusk. The lot is pretty open with large pull throughs, and hook ups were easy. However, you have to pay extra for showers and the restrooms. There is also a UP main line about 1/5 of a mile away and trains were running all evening and night. While that doesn't bother me too much, some others may not like it. The site is pretty basic, but it does get you a wonderful view of Chimney Rock that can't be beat and was a pretty good value overall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
This is a "basic" campground. It has no "resort" amenities. No swimming pool, etc. The outstanding items are that the park is very well maintained and in great shape. Lush grass between the sites, and the sites have a fair amount of room between them. The owners will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They also have trading post with unique gifts available. Not the regular "same old" "same old" seen in most gift shops. They also have limited food service. The only real drawback, is the trains that pass by frequently. If train whistles bother you, this is not the place. After a few days, most people do not even notice them. If you want a basic, campground, at a fair price, this is a good one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
I agree with the other reviewers. There are nice folks running the place. This is about as basic an RV Park as you will find. Great for an overnight stay but definitely not a destination park. Services are a`la carte: you pay extra for electricity and of all things, showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
The campground was difficult to find at night as there are no lighted signs. We thought our gps was taking us to the visitor center. We did end up at the campground. It has flat level sites with nice thick green grass between sites. There is a nice view of Chimney Rock. The owner very friendly and helpful. He even gave my husband latex gloves to use for sewer hook up (we ran out) and shone his truck lights on our rv so we could get hooked up. The only reason we gave it a low rating was due the loud train whistles every 15 minutes. The train passes right next to the campground. If you love trains or are a heavy sleeper then this campground is for you. We just used it as a rest stop on our way home so we didn't explore the area or campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We came to the area specifically to see Chimney Rock and the visitor's center. This campground is right down the road from the V/C and has great views of the Rock. To be honest, it is just a place to park with full hookups and rest. The rate was reasonable and the location perfect. Trains are a bit loud, but that's when the earplugs come in handy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
Nice store, nice people, right next to Chimney Rock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2004
$18
Good: An unsurpassed view of Chimney Rock, friendly staff, nice convenience store. Bad: Plenty of mosquitoes, highway/train noise, no shade. We camped for two nights and we were the only campers there except for one overnighter. I travel through this area several times a year and I rarely see anyone camping there. This is a great stop for Oregon Trail buffs because it sits on the trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
A new clean rv park in a rural setting with a breath taking view of Chimney rock a famous landmark on the historic Oregon Trail. Lunch and snacks are available and the even have trout in the pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com