223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Double Dice RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (775) 738-5642
CGID1735

Double Dice RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   1   7   4   3   7   2   3   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$41
Not a bad park for an overnight stay. All gravel park. There is a grass area with three picnic tables but dogs are not permitted on ANY grass area. The dog walk area is not maintained. There are dog droppings everywhere. If you walk you dog after dark have a good flashlight. Good Internet and cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The sites are so close together it looks like a used RV sales lot. Our slides almost hit the neighbors awning. The sites aren't level. They say they're pet friendly but they'll only allow dogs on a gravel path and demand they stay off the grass areas. Walking my dog in a parking lot of stones isn't a pet path! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
The campground is a gravel parking lot. Just enough room to pull in and put out slides. Good Sam had the bathrooms rated a "10"; however, they were filthy and had no towels for drying hands. The dryers did not work either. A staff member was walking out of the women's restroom as my wife walked in. They never returned to restock. We ate at their "Family Friendly" restaurant, which was a room tucked in the corner. We waited a long time to order and longer to get the food. It was horrible. My son's burger was burnt. I got sick off of my food. DO NOT stay here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
It is what it is, a huge gravel parking lot. A place to stay while you're on your way. We had good internet connectivity at one of the furthest sites, and I did not think it was especially slow, as other reviewers experienced. I was pleased to see custodians tidying up the bathroom and showers in the AM before the morning rush, a nice touch. The token-operated showers are an IQ test; don't try if you're getting Alzheimer's. Showers never have enough hooks, IMHO, and theirs were no exception. The staff was pleasant and accommodating; kudos to lady at the front desk! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
This is a gravel parking lot, rigs very close together. We did not stay as what they called big rig access would have us sticking out front and back. They got a 4 only because they were very understanding and refunded our money with no questions We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We stayed here one night. Pull through site was a narrow, sloped gravel site that took a 1 inch board to level RV side to side. No table or cable. Numerous free over air TV channels. Unable to leave my RV and truck hooked up without sticking 3 feet out onto road. The rig is 51 feet long. Roads were a combination of asphalt and gravel. Wi-Fi was extremely slow and kept failing. Only good thing was Wi-Fi was free. Showers were clean and we each received a free 15 minute token for the shower when we checked in. Laundry room was clean and all the washers and dryers seemed to work. Free continental breakfast was provided. Dog run in back was gravel with no lawn or dirt. Dog waste scooper bags were provided. Many long term residents. OK for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
This park looks like an RV dealership.The RVs are packed in like sardines. It is mostly gravel with patches of grass mostly around the office. They allow pets but charge extra for them (which irritates me). Any place there is a little bit of grass, there is a sign saying no dogs allowed. I think that the reason RV parks charge extra for dogs is because many people do not pick up after their animals. Come on people be responsible. Cable and Wi-Fi are available and acceptable. We were just passing through and would not stay here longer than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$45
Small slots for RV's. Neighbor's sewer line is located right out your front door. Have to be careful exiting your trailer at night. Very close to neighbors. Prices skyrocketed this year. We will never stay again at this RV park. Too confining. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Big Gravel lot with close parking. Lots of traffic from long term residents and many drive way too fast for inside an RV park. Signs everywhere telling you to keep pets off the grass. they have a gravel strip at the edge of the park that is dirty with trash and lots of weeds that is designated as their pet area. All others would be a better choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Narrow spots, no shaded sites, pull through spots but short. Couldn't leave trailer hooked up to tow vehicle if leaving the next day. Playground was not that great: broken swing on swing set which was all they had. Continental b'fast which only consisted of orange punch or coffee and pastry or muffin. Showers: had to get a token which was only good for 15 minutes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Been on road since April; needed a place to stop over a couple nights to rest; picked this one because of Good Sam. Was a bad move. The sites are very narrow and the pet policy is unreal (we have two small Yorky's). Full of long time workers and lot's of kid's: noisy park. They do serve a continental breakfast. Would not recommend this park or stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
This RV Park is awful. Dirty, dusty, and sites are so close you can't sit out. Park charges for dogs but is not pet friendly. Do not allow pet kennels outside even if you are with the animals. The dog run is very narrow. Worst Good Sam park we have been to and the most expensive. We are full timers and have never paid this much for a site much less a terrible site. We do not advise staying here unless you are desperate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
We stayed here for two nights. We've been traveling since April and I have never felt the need to write an RV Park review, good or bad, until now. I chose this place sight unseen because all the places would have been closed when we were supposed to arrive in Elko, and the fact that it gave Good Sam discounts. The nightly price reflects the additional charge for a dog, my 14 month old son and the five extra dollars I had to pay for internet access per day. This place is a complete rip off. The "free" internet wasn't working, so we asked the woman at the desk about it and she just said that it's been down for two days and the whole city's internet is down, and then walked away. (Elko has city-wide internet access) Funny thing is that I'm writing this review on the city's internet service after forking over the $5 per day fee. This place is not kid friendly, nor dog friendly at all. The dog walk area is a 2 foot wide strip of gravel that runs along the back lot against an embankment. There is zero grass and your dog has to navigate around all the trucks and trailers that are parked back there. If it slips, it's down the embankment it goes. What's really ridiculous is they have the audacity to charge an extra fee for the dog . It can't be outside, and honestly I wouldn't want to punish my dog in that way anyway. The other reviews that state that this place is just a large gravel lot are accurate. The trailers are on top of each other and it is loaded with long term people. We ended up having to close our windows and run the A/C the whole time because between the drunks blasting music and yelling, the traffic, trains and smell of diesel we would have never gotten any sleep. The sights are tilted and the way the sewer hooks up, if you're tank sits low it won't drain. For those reviewers that said it's fine for one night if passing through, 40 plus per night is not such a great deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
If you like a campground that is totally gravel, then this is the one. There isn't anyplace to cook outside. The sites were very, very close, almost too close. For us, this was a 2 day stay. Serviced the diesel truck for a fair price and fuel, grocery stores were plentiful. Elko is a larger town than I was told. If gambling is your thing, then this is the perfect stop. We were able to drive out into Lamoille Canyon which should not be missed!! It's only 20 mile drive into the canyon (which was snow covered), and awesome. The Wi-Fi and cable TV were great but our site was opposite the office. You need a free token for the 15 minutes of shower time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Good for an overnight stop. Easy on and off the highway. Cable and Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
It is what it is: a gravel lot with hook ups. That being said, it is a clean, well-maintained park. Staff was very friendly and accommodating to us. Sites will fit big rigs, but it is tight. Tow vehicles and dinghys are usually parked at the end of the row. Free WiFi worked pretty well. Not much space between sites, and many sites are taken by long-term construction and mine workers. The other, newer RV park is much nicer, but be prepared to pay more $$$. This park caters to overnighters off the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
This gravel parking lot just off I-80 has long narrow pull-throughs for overnighters. Wi-Fi was strong. Other than that, we didn’t stay long enough to see or do anything else. If we need an overnight spot next time we’re passing through, we will probably stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$36
We camped in #45. This park is fine for an overnight stop, not a destination park. Site was gravel, FHU with cable TV and Wi-Fi. No picnic table and site didn't have enough room to put out living-room slide or an awning, neither which we needed for an overnight stop. Train horns and road noise heard throughout night, but if you are tired enough you probably won't notice them. Park offers continental breakfast (coffee, fake juice and muffins). Staff attitude was non-existent, neither friendly nor rude. Slot lounge, horseshoes, playground, and internet area in the office, as well as a mini mart were available for guests. We got a Good Sam/AAA discount. Park had both pull-through and back-in sites. ATT and Verizon both worked. Park was clean, Wi-Fi was slow but did work. There are casino shuttles and park has a laundry facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Our stay here was pleasant only because there were very few rigs, due to the time of year. With empty spaces on each side of our fairly level gravel site, we had ample room for slides and awning if needed; however if either side is occupied, it is a very tight fit on either side. The office also has a lounge and free continental breakfast in the morning. Some train and road noise, and bright lights if you're near the office. Verizon AirCard and cell service were good. Overall, a bit pricey for what you get, especially if sites on both sides are occupied. We'll try another park in the area next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Not a pet friendly campground. Spaces are very tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$26
Good park for an overnight stay. All gravel sites and roads with friendly park personal. Rate included Good Sam discount and $3 off for a return visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
I agree with the other reviews about the gravel and cramped camping. I went back and moved to another site that was a little better as far as stepping out of your door and onto a sewer hose. The dog areas were all gravel and not a happy dog place. We didn't use the shower or bathrooms because they smelled of cigarette smoke, your clean clothes would stink when you put them on. They used coins to use the shower which started when you inserted them outside the shower area. I guess you have to run fast, or walk around naked, at my age it isn't a pretty sight. You had to pay $4.99 for Wi-Fi, or use the one in the smelly office. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
We stayed only one night. The sites were not level and all are gravel, and the campground is on a slight slope. At check-in, the staff was not friendly: when we went to give them our charge card, they had already accessed it! Wi-Fi is available for a fee. You can go into the kitchen/lounge area and use the office Wi-Fi. Which, for that day the internet was down. Staff was not helpful with that either. They were too busy and made you feel you were bothering them: no smiles or welcomes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
This is basically an unlevel, gravel, parking lot with little else to offer. And an expensive one at that! When you add in the charges for our dog and Wi-Fi, the price adds up as indicated. What is really stupid here (and what everyone was talking about last night) is, even when the park is only one-half full, they insist that patrons all park in a very tight, side-by-side, row. After putting our slide out, there was no way we could extend the awning for shade. Even sitting out was unpleasant. Had I done so, I would have been on top of my neighbor's sewer hose. Why, when the park is half empty, the attendants couldn't assign every other site, is unclear to me! It speaks to a lack of commitment on the part of park personnel. Do any of you ever stay in RV parks??? I sometimes wonder. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Clean; good maintenance; friendly hospitality. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Gravel sites. OK for an overnight but nothing beyond that. Showers are on 15 minute timers and require a coin you get at registration. Need to walk to the end of the bathroom to insert the coin then run back to the shower. Not the best situation. Trains run about 1/4 mile from the RV park. Heard them most of the night. Complimentary continental breakfast was a nice touch. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Very much just a gravel lot, but clean. Not nearly as fancy as the Iron Horse down the street, but quiet considering it's proximity to the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
What a rip off!!! This was one of the worst parks in Elko and I've been to two now and am going to try one more before writing off Elko entirely. Nothing was clean, the staff were rude and the price was too much for a piece of dirt. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$41
Overpriced at $36, wifi costs $3.99/day, dog is $1 extra, limited to one 15 minute shower token/person/day with your camping fee, extra "tokens" extra $. And you have to get out of the shower, walk to other end of bathroom, insert second token, and walk back to shower if you want more time. Much of the food in their store is expired. Good cable TV included, easy access sites, all gravel, does have train and freeway noise. Not beautiful by any stretch of the imagination, but the restrooms were clean. We'd been boondocking for 5 days and wanted long showers and cable/wifi without setting up satellite dishes. We got it, but won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Just a FHU park for a quick overnight. There were at least a dozen other rigs here with the same idea. WiFi for a fee, showers for a fee. Gravel sites are dusty and not level. Good thing our neighbors were friendly, because with slides out, we were right on top of each other. There are quite a few permanent residents, but those rigs are clean and well kept. Train tracks are nearby, and trains whistle starts at five in the morning. A guy in a utility truck pulled up to his friend's rig and left the engine running and door open while they had a beer. He got really angry at us when we asked him to turn off the engine after forty minutes! We suggest this park only if absolutely necessary. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$33
Second time we have stayed here and it was just as enjoyable. Same friendly staff and still all the same free stuff. They have a lot of brochures on other out of state parks so you do not have to guess where to go plus a lot of information on Elko and Elko's attractions just in case you have an extended stay you have something to do. They keep up the cleanliness in the restrooms,showers,office,lounge,laundry room and outside. Highly recommend it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
This is a fine park if you need to spend the night at a place with hookups. Checking in after hours is awkward and confusing. It's just a big parking lot with the rigs parked next to each other. Not dog friendly either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
We didn't have reservations but they got us in off the street anyway even though they were full. Elko is fun at 4th of July because there is the Basque Festival which is quite interesting. Shower room was the cleanest we've seen, nice laundry and store. Front desk help was very nice. Loved the slot lounge and free casino shuttles. We were able to join our friends who had reservations and were staying there so it worked out great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
OK overnighter. Gravel throughout. I had no problem with 29' MH. The office was clean although a bit smoky from the adjacent bar/lounge. Simple continental breakfast included. Staff was friendly. I would return if I needed a place to stay overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This is the worst place I have ever stayed, even for one night. It is just a lot full of over heated gravel. The sites are tiny and not marked so rigs are parked haphazardly. The access roads are extremely narrow. It's an overnight stop on the way to somewhere else, so rigs come in at all hours. A 40' motor home had to squeeze in next to us at 10 p.m., and we had to pull in our slide and the fellow behind us had to move his rig in order to make it possible. Train whistles all night long. There was a nice laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Elko itself is a good-looking little city, but at the Double Dice RV Park, the family traveler rolls snake eyes. The RV slots are stacked so close together, you can barely open your doors to get out. Forget barbecueing or sitting out, there is no room. The showers and laundryroom are very good, but the playground looked like something the school system dumped fifty years ago, in a hot dusty, remote corner of the property. What the Double Dice is first and foremost, is a slot lounge. My son complained the next morning that he could hear the slot machines going off all night. That's all fine and good, but it would have been nice to know that up front. Pity the poor tent camper that stays at the Double Dice, since the 'tent camping' area is a strip of grass out in front next to the busy highway. The only reason I scheduled to stay there was it came up on the internet. A billboard on the highway proclaimed a new RV park two and a half miles down (east) from the Double Dice. Though we never got that far, I would have liked to have seen that option on the Elko searches. If you're family Rving or camping through Elko, search out somewhere other than the Double Dice, or even maybe check out any National park camp spots in the Ruby Mountain area, or maybe Carlin, a town just a little further west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
We had no problems with the sites. Moderately level on gravel. Some long TT's had problems getting into their site. Sould have been deisgned for the longer rigs. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
We really enjoyed our stay at the Double Dice. We took advantage of the free shuttle service that runs all night to the downtown casinos. The laundry room and restrooms were extremely clean. They have picnic tables under a canopy with barbeques so that we could be in the shade in the grass area and cook our hamburgers while my niece and nephew played catch. The staff at the Double Dice are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help you with anything. I will definitely stay there again. I highly recommend the Double Dice in Elko Nevada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Good place to stay when you are headed elsewhere. The first line of spots are popular so that you can escape easily the next day. Don't go to the second row to the right - you may get stuck if you are long. coachconnect wireless connection was pretty good - ~500k up and down. Late checkout policy was very lenient. Friendly staff. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Nice park for a quick overnight stay. All gravel and no grass. WiFi connection was a nice surprise and free. Laundry facilities were old and many didn't work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
Not much else in Elko, so it was the best for an over-nighter. Level gravel sites, full hookups, cable TV, phone at site for $2, no shade. Showers were clean, $1 for 15 minutes. They separate the over-nighters from the long-stays, which is good. RV store in lobby, and a free buffet breakfast starting at 7am. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Good for an overnighter. Level gravel sites/roads. Sites are very close together. No playground or arcade for kids. Would've been much better had the kids had an area to throw a ball around or something for them to do. They couldn't ride bicycles or scooters because of the gravel roads. Registration office reeked heavily of cigarette smoke because of adjacent casino. Used the showers (3 available showers in men's room) The one I used I had a hard time of finding a warm setting- wasted 4-6 minutes (of a free 15 minute shower) trying to find a comfortable setting. Employees were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$22
This park is O.K. for a short stop over. Good view on hills around park. No road noise, RxR track to South but no noise problems. Staff was nice and sites were clean. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com