214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Cave Lake State Park (Elk Flat Campground) was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (775) 296-1505
CGID1737

Cave Lake State Park (Elk Flat Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   10   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
We camped here for 3 nights on our way to Utah. We stayed in the Elk Flat Campground as we heard the one nearest the lake was tight and hard to maneuver. The site we had took some time to get level, but we were fine. We had one with a great view. The sites were spotless. Someone had raked everything and it looked great. We were here in Sept so we almost had the place to ourselves. We looked at the Cave Lake Campground later, but we were very glad that we stayed where we did. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Nice park that was very peaceful. Sites are far from level front to back, but was fine for us in our 33' TT. We were at the Lakeview CG closer to the lake at had great swimming and fishing. This park is very well maintained. We will probably come back for a longer stay. It does take a little skill to drive around in a rig our size, but was quite doable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$17
We maneuvered our 35' Coach into a site at the Lakeview campground. It was tight and we suffered some damage to our Coach getting into the site. It was also narrow in the front of the site so we could only get our living room slide open about 90%. But the site was beautiful. It was also not totally level front to back and so we had to put blocks under our front levelers raising the front tires about 9" off the ground. The sites are more for Tent Campers, Trailers or 5th Wheels. There was no view of the lake, but we were surrounded by a lot of trees. The site had a picnic table and a fire pit and a lot of room for our camp chairs and portable BBQ. There is one pull-through site, but it was occupied. The restrooms were a little walk away but were very clean. The lake has a number of picnic areas and is in a scenic setting with mountains in the background. The other campground, Elk Flats, is the first campground and is about 3 miles or so from the lake. The sites there are a little more open, not as much shade, and may be a little roomier, but not much. Great Basin National Park (about 60 miles away), Bristlecone Pine hike where you see trees that are over 4000 years old and the Lehman Cave tour are a great experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
As noted, there are actually two campgrounds, Elk Flat & Lake View. Elk Flat is the CG that you come to first just as you enter the park. The dump station and fresh water fill are located at the entrance to this CG. (There are also fresh water taps throughout the CG, but to fill a tank, the dump station is easy to get to.) Elk Flat CG appears to be newer and more easily maneuvered in a larger RV. Most of the spaces are nice sized but leveling will be an issue in some of the sites. The sites are well spaced and many have great views. Lake View CG is about a mile further into the park and right next to the lake. Many of the sites in this CG are small and leveling can be very difficult. we are only 27 feet long(motorhome) and thought that we would fit into this CG. We did find a site long enough, but we were not able to level the RV. We ended up staying in Elk Flat and were glad that we did. It has a much more open and calm feel than Lake View. This park appears to be very well maintained. The gravel in the sites was recently raked and the fire pits were very clean. Good short trips are up to Success Summit, a steep gravel road with nice views and over to Ward Charcoal Ovens State Park.If you are a birder you will love the park, lots of bird watching to do. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
I was just checking comments from my last visit (June 2009) and I wouldn't change a thing. Great, scenic park. Very relaxing after driving across the state on US 50. One thing I wish for: better marked trails. We have a dickens of a time finding trailheads ;-) Otherwise, worth the 7-mile drive off of 50 for the beauty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
We stayed in this great park for 8 days. We got our 36-footer into one of the tight, unlevel sites but were able to move up to the one pull-through the next day. Able to level and had a wonderful view. No cell but we got MiFi reception at the pull through. Satellite (roof mount) wouldn't work but who needs it! The rangers and their helpers, as seems to be the case in all Nevada parks, we're friendly and courteous. If you have a big rig, swing wide at the entry as it's more than a 90 degree turn and be very careful of the overhanging trees and narrow cattle guard. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
It is a beautiful place. We parked here for 2 nights. There is one pull-through, we had to back in to another site and it was tight. I think this park stays fairly full, although the camping sites are fairly private. The lake is stunning. There is water available and biking and hiking. Everyone we saw fishing were catching their limits. We would definitely come here again. It is wild looking. We heard elk the first night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Great Nevada State Park with two campgrounds, Lakeside and Elk Flats. Lakeside is tighter and not suitable for anything much over 30' due to the tight turns. Elk Flats has a couple of sites that could fit larger RVs. Sites are generally level with excellent separation from your neighbors via distance and the pinion/juniper forest. Each site has a picnic table, lantern post, tent pad and fire ring Cave Lake is pretty lake that is suitable for fishing (NV state record rainbow was caught there), picnicking, hiking and swimming. A drive up Success Loop Road (not in your RV) is definitely worth while. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$14
A beautiful park for smaller campers. Our camper is 25' long, and it fit lengthwise into the gorgeous, private sites. We barely fit with our slide room and steps out, though, but the squeeze was worth it. Cool nights in Nevada (and beautiful stars), very pretty lake, private sites with table, and fire ring. We are now convinced that US 50 is THE way to cross Nevada (rather than dull old 80 to the north) and we will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
Did not find evidence of any pull through sites as previously mentioned. We have a 37' motorhome and pull a Jeep. If you have anything larger DONT COME HERE! There is only one place to turn around and we made the mistake of going up to the lake "campground" which is really small and there is absolutely no place to turn a big rig if you have a towed vehicle. TAll this being said it is our type of campground, no pool, no clubhouse, just nature and a great setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
This is a nice State park that we have camped in for many years. While not having all of the amenities that some expect, it does offer a nice quiet lake camping experience. The showers and restrooms are clean, and the state park people have always been most friendly. It is also very near Ely, NV and the amenities that it offers, including the Northern Nevada railroad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$14
We stayed here over Labor Day weekend, arriving on Wednesay. We travel/live in a 38 foot motorhome and there were only 2 sites that could accommodate us and our tow vehicle. Both of these site were at the newer Elk Flat campground which is a little over a mile away from the lake. The campground does offer flush toilets and pay showers as well as fresh water and a dump station. The campground is well maintained and peaceful, even after it filled up for the long weekend. It is close enough to Ely to make a visit into town easy. Also close by is Ward Charcoal Ovens State Park which is definitely worth visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$8
Park is 15 miles south of Ely off US 93. Sites are compacted gravel and are generally level, some as deep as 45', and wide with good separation. Two campgrounds in the complex; Lakeview and Elk Flats. Elk Flats is newer and could accommodate larger rigs while access to Lakeview is prohibitive to rigs much over 30'. Great hiking areas throughout the park as well as fishing in Cave Lake and an intriguing scenic drive. Water is available as well as a dump station. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com