206532 User submitted reviews online!!
Ely KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 73 user reviews. Phone: (775) 289-3413
CGID1738

Ely KOA

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   6   6   5   5   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Spacious KOA. Sites are not all very level. Our back-in site #20 was not level at all. Campground has big grass areas to relax. Check-in was very friendly. Washrooms were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
For the price, we were disappointed. Only spot in town since other park was chock full of longterm campers. Our site was not level...wheels came off ground when trying to level our 36' MH. Even though office said site was a 65' pull-thru, we didn't feel safe leaving toad attached because of all the traffic. Couldn't get DTV for the trees. Cable TV picture was fuzzy and very hard to watch. Decided to move on down the road even though we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
Wide spots. Not level. We had to use boards. We had a "premium" spot which included a paved patio with a table and chairs. The park is very well maintained. Constant upkeep. We don't usually use the bbq's but these were really clean. There are hairdryers in the bathrooms! Everything is tidy. As soon as a rig pulls out, there is the maintenance person raking and smoothing the site. The view is gorgeous, mountains all around. Lots to do in Ely and good food in the restaurants. Eat in the Jailhouse! It's fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Despite being on the highway it is pretty quiet for a KOA. Very friendly, helpful staff/camp manager. Free ice cream, dog treats, and movie night. Park is gravel and occasional bits of grass, all with signs to keep pets off them. Two pet walk areas at each end of park but quite small. Lots of trees but many not large enough to give shade. Our spot was barely large enough to put 21 ft. RV and tow vehicle side- by-side, so picnic table was almost in the road. One of four rows of sites seemed to be full of long-termers. We would only stay here again as an overnight en route to somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
We don't stay in KOA camps very often. It was very clean, although we didn't use any of the facilities. Seemed a little pricey, especially since our "pull-through" site was so short we had to disconnect our car and squeeze it in beside the RV. Our son and family stayed in one of their cabins a week earlier and recommended them. I wouldn't personally recommend it for a one-night RV stay in Ely, and I'm not sure how many people want to spend more than one night in Ely anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
For $40 a nite, I expect things to be perfect. NOT! Cable TV receptive is lousy. Sites are neither level side to side or front to back. My site slopes 3 inches side to side and more front to rear. Leveling nightmare. But, it is a KOA and it is clean and secure. My last stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
Close to Hwy 50, easy off and on. Lots of permanent residence here that start going to work at 4am. Good for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
Good park and great location for an overnight stay while traveling through Nevada. Good WiFi and cable. Management is very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
This is a nice park with very friendly and helpful owner and staff. They went out of their way to be sure we had the right site to use our satellite. There are long term rigs, but they are nice, well kept, and in one section. It is a clean park, and the staff keeps the grass mowed and the park looking nice. The store is well stocked with RV supplies and convenient style grocery items. The services all worked well; the sites are wide and long enough for big rigs with out having to feel cramped. We will be coming back to stay here and see more of the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Graveled park with lots of large trees (spotty satellite reception). Sites are long and fairly level with a slight forward slope. Restrooms were clean, shower stalls typical KOA, small and fiberglass. The laundry room was very clean. There are 2 small enclosed dog runs with pick up bags provided. The camp store is quite well stocked. Campers seem divided between over nights and permanent residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
If you're passing through Ely and need a place to stay for the night, this place is acceptable. It's not a destination campground, but neither is Ely a destination sort of place. We were given one of a small number of very large pull throughs which easily accommodated our 40' RV and tow. The sites are gravel and ours wasn't particularly level, but we were able to get to level using our jack system. A lot of the residents of the campground appear to be long term, mostly workers maybe from the nearby copper mine, but their sites appear to be well maintained. The WiFi was a bit erratic and slow at times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Good to place to stay overnight, would return. The park managers are very friendly and offered a nice spot with shade. Restrooms and showers very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
If you are coming or going from Reno, that stretch of HWY-50 is a long ride. Ely is the perfect place to stop for the night and this KOA is a great place to stay. Gravel, not windy when we were there, easy pull-thrus, easy hook-ups, and right on the highway, just down from the major fuel stations. Good WiFi and Cable TV. Friendly, helpful staff and just outside of old Ely town. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
Best in Ely. Dirt driveways with wind which makes for lots of dust. Our site was large with easy access. Not much road noise. It is over priced but most KOA's are. This one has no pool. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Staff friendly and helpful! The Wi-Fi was marginal at our site. Sites are all gravel and dusty, very dusty. Sites are downhill. As another has said, utility connection look new. Just not much choice in Ely, we will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$35
The site are OK easy pull thur for big rigs that is the good news and the staff are very nice. The "Bad" don't use the WiFi first it won't work but it will also load a new front page on your computer lots of fun with that one. The cable was very bad on all channels We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
This park has been undergoing upgrades since a change in ownership a few years ago. Power and water facilities are all new. It is a clean and well maintained park with very helpful and friendly management. The sites are somewhat narrow but adequate in length for most rigs. It is a good park to use for a few days while in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This was a good stop over park. The utilities all worked well. The only site issue is ours wasn't real level. The dog run was very good. A previous reviewer complained about the number of full timers in the park. There were quite a few in our row but they were quiet and their sites were well kept. The staff was very friendly and offered lots of tips on local dining and such. The store was very neat, clean and well stocked. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
We stayed overnight here as we made our way south. We were very displeased with the park. All the interior roads and spaces are gravel and very very dirty. The spaces are very out of level; ours required 4 inches of lift to the side and over 6 inches in the front. The staff was friendly and the park was quiet. If we end up paying the high rate we did at this KOA, we expect it to have level spots and not so dirty under foot. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Wow. Did not expect this KOA to be so amazing. The managers go way beyond your needs with info on local dining, shopping, etc., even letting us know a limo would pick us up for dinner! Talkative and charming, the couple even help a woman calm a frightened puppy of a Kamper who came by, by petting and talking to him. Super clean park: quiet, without the usual trains, or highway traffic. Owner and managers have tight control, without being hard-nosed. VERY much the opposite. The President's Award the got in 2010, couldn't be more deserved. Book and stay here with complete confidence. We loved it, and we're kind of picky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
OK overnight. (if your tired (we were), not much else around) This has turned into Work Campers Park. The 1st. row facing Hwy, has old RV's/ trailers/pickups/ the usual crap that humans surround their permanent home sites with. At the end is a overflow tractor trailer/RV parking area. The entry has metal poles that serve no purpose, except to hinder your way in. Truly Scruffy. W/P/S OK. Sites not very wide. It gave it a 5 for the quiet night, we were gone on Sunday. Work days would be bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
Office staff went out of their way to be helpful. Gravel site was level and roomy. Showers were clean and had good water pressure. There are 2 fairly small dog enclosures and waste bags are provided. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Great place to stay, clean level pull through spots, many with trees and shade. Quite park, with friendly staff, ice cream social ($). Lots to see and do around town and if you ride OHV you can leave right from park for many trails. Have nothing but positive feelings and would go back next time through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
The Ely KOA is a great base camp for the east central area of Nevada. The park hosts are friendly and know the area. The park roads and sites are gravel which helps keep the dust down as this is high desert and very dry. Some of the sites have a small grassy area but we opted for the all gravel sites. Our site was large enough to park the truck next to the rig with room to walk around without bumping into slides. There was also room for the picnic table and chairs. Most sites had mature shade trees and at night it was a very quite park. We will be staying again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Super friendly staff. Great campground kept very neat by staff. Everything you need is there. Camp Store is well staffed with RV parts you may want/need. Staff knows town very well and offers great advice for places to see and eat. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
This KOA was a great place to stay for one night on our way to Great Basin National Park. The sites are gravel with dirt roads. Each site has a picnic table. We had a 60 foot pull-thru which was great because we didn’t want to unhook. Staff is very friendly. Extended Cable and Wi-Fi was good. Showers and bathrooms were immaculate. Verizon cell phone reception was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
First view from highway is not inviting. Many apparent long term trailers face the highway and are packed in tight. Yet, when you get past this, the park is quite pleasant with view of the neighboring mountains. Our back in site was in gravel and a bit rough graded. People were nice and put us in a rather private spot with a nice view overlooking a grass mini park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
This park is easy access from highway 50 and not far from the intersection of highways 50/93/6 93. It is clean and tidy. The facilities are very clean. There is a grassy dog area and fenced dirt dog area. The adjacent property is vacant with some trails for a longer dog stroll. The sites and roads are gravel which we suspect may become dusty during dry times. Each site has shade trees and picnic table. The tent area looks nice. It is an excellent and quiet overnight stay. We would stay here again when traveling through. The WiFi worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
Nice park, spacious country setting, well-run, family operated. Seemed expensive for the area (and for KOAs in general) but didn't shop around -- not a lot of choices on US-50, "The Loneliest Road In America." Had two minor problems: At our site and adjacent site, cable TV signal was too weak for useful picture. Site manager tried to fix it, and vowed to continue to work on the problem. Good news is, cable provides many channels -- including what seems to be continuous episodes of sitcom "The Real McCoys" series from 50 years ago. After overnight rain much of my site and access road became muddy -- and so did my cables and hoses and pants and shoes while unhooking for departure. The park needs more gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$43
Rate was for full service including cable TV and WiFi which we did not try. The campground is built on the side of a hill with the sites running back to front down the hill. As a result they were not very level (back to front sloped down the hill). I've been in worse, but as a result it took extra time to level up. The sites are also very narrow so you feel like your right on top of your neighbor. All of the utilities are at the back of each site so I had to run extra hose and sewer line to reach my connections on the middle of my trailer. The office staff was friendly and helpful, but as with most KOA's the price was more than other comparable campgrounds with similar facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Great place in Ely to stay. Quiet, clean facilities and wonderful friendly staff. Highly recommend this KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
The park was clean and well maintained. There was plenty of room between the sites and all of them had trees as well as picnic tables which were in good repair. The bathrooms and showers were immaculate. There was a small fenced in grassy area for pets, but this led out onto a trail into the desert where you could walk your pets more freely if you wanted. The people in the office were very friendly and helpful. We paid $29 for electric and water hookups only. The rates went up to around $45 for 50v with full hookups and wifi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Have stayed at the Ely KOA several times as it's about the only game in town. The staff is friendly, sites are generally level with picnic tables. I rate it only a five due to voltage problems that management doesn't seem able to correct. As the park fills, voltage drops to as low as 106. Thank gosh Ely's at 6500' so it cools down in the evening. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Nice park, off the road, quiet, partially shaded sites, good hookups except no breaker for the electrical service. The park is all gravel, so there's a little dust. Easy in and out, friendly staff that grilled a picnic dinner the night I stayed. I've stayed before and will again. A nicer facility than the other park I stayed in previously. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Although this is the only commercial park in the area, it is quite nice. Good sized spaces, gravel surface. Small fenced dog area. Our only complaint was that the Wi-Fi was VERY slow. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
New owners don’t seem to know what’s going on, but they've definitely raised their rates. Everyone was accommodating at check-in but even after driving my husband around to show him available spaces, they didn’t know that the space he chose was 30amp instead of 50amp which we asked for. After setting up and then pointing out this error to them we had to move to another space. During check-in the owner’s 4 children were fighting and playing all around and behind the desk and later the owner was playing his loud radio in one site where he was working. At 9:30pm the owner escorted an RV into the space next to us. He parked in our space with his headlights shining into our bedroom window while shouting directions to the driver. 50% of the park appears to be permanent residents. Sites are nicely spaced dirt and gravel with huge shade trees. There is grass in many areas including the tent area but not in the overnight RV area. Traffic on dirt interior roads stirred up lots of dust. With no pool in this hot, windy area, no grass in the RV sites, and extra $ for cable TV, this park is way overpriced but it is a long way between towns. Their website says our space with cable is $43. I can only assume that because we didn’t have reservations we were charged $45 without cable. This park is a gold mine at the expense of the traveler but your other options are much less desirable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This park has the basics. All hookups work and the site is level. Wi-Fi is $2.00 per day extra, but we have our own Verizon card so we did not take the park Wi-Fi so cannot comment on how it works. Our Verizon card works very well here. Cable TV has plenty of channels and good reception. Only complaint with the park is that it is totally gravel, both roads and sites and it is pretty windy here, so there is blowing dust. Staff is helpful and friendly. Suits our needs for a two night stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Rate is with KOA card. Verizon cell and aircard signal strength is very good. Visited the charcoal kilns located about 10 miles east of the campground: worth the visit, mostly dirt roads. Drove part of the Success Drive, which was worth the drive, but better suited for a 4-wheel drive, not the family car. Also, it does get windy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$34
Quite full for a chilly day in mid November. While not Presidential Award material it's a nice park, helpful staff, gravel roads, propane, typical KOA. It's a little difficult to find as their address is a Box number so if your coming in on Hwy 6 turn south on 93, away from town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
This campground is fine for an overnight stop. There is plenty of room to maneuver and facilities were adequate. Office staff was very friendly. There is not a whole lot to do in Ely but this campground offers a nice break from a long day driving in the desert. If you don't want to prepare a meal there are plenty of fast food establishments nearby. There seemed to be quite a few permanent residents but they did not detract from the rest of the park. This is the best place to stop in the Ely area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2009
$36
Typical KOA, overpriced and rude staff. I have a 40 foot 5er, they acted like they were put out by the length of my rig. The park is layed out very poorly, I could not get one slide out extended due to the "landscaping" rocks piled up next to my site. They charged extra for cable TV, internet, and 50 amp site. I paid $36 for a 30 amp, cable TV site that I could not get my slide extended open and could not hook up to the sewer due to the hook up being 2 feet above (higher) than my outlet. The sites are not even close to level and the staff are very rude. I'd go down the road anywhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
It was very, very windy, 20 to 50 mph the day we arrived. The sites are all gravel and so very dusty. The Verizon cell and aircard signal is very good. Some areas of the campground will get noise from the highway. There is not much grass, but lot's of trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
I stayed here a total of seven nights on two separate occasions. I would definitely return. The Park is located about three miles outside of town and has nice views of the mountains. The Park is right on the highway, but there is very little traffic at night, so noise was not a problem. Everything in the Park was very clean and well-maintained. The staff was helpful and friendly. Behind the Park is open pinon-juniper woodland for several miles all the way to the mountains, and crisscrossed with trails, perfect for hiking or jogging. I think the Park's rates are somewhat high considering the area, but I could find nothing to complain about the Park itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
The park was nice, office help were exceptionally nice. Would stay here again. Not normally a KOA fan, but this was OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
One of the best stocked parts departments I have ever seen in a KOA Kampground. A fairly well-stocked mini-grocery/liquor store, too. Mostly gravel with a few grassy spots where dogs are not allowed to even be on, except for their dog. Quite unfair, if you ask me. They do have a five by 25 foot dog run...all gravel, though. Lots of old units parked around, must be monthly rentals, which detracts from the beauty of the park. Messy sites around those monthly rentals. Owner lives behind the park and his old, beat up equipment detracts from the park, too. Too high-priced for the looks of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
We regretted making a reservation for here as it was bad. Unfriendly owners, he was drinking whiskey while showing us to site. Site was very unlevel, with holes in the rocky pad. Site was rocks the size of your fist, not gravel! He said we did not have to unhook but we stuck out about 5 feet into driveway because pull thru was so short. Not a blade of grass anywhere! Site was VERY narrow, and the neighbor on our driver side sat 5 feet from our trailer smoking until 11:00. We couldn't open our windows or roof vents without gagging on his smoke, plus he had a mean dog (boxer) that growled and barked at us and everyone else he saw. Lots of permanents there, too and they left for work early a.m. in their loud diesels. A very crummy night and we WONT be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
We were pleasantly surprised by this park. The staff was AMAZING! They went out of the way to be accommodating and made our visit a very pleasant one. Like the other reviews state, it is dusty. However, you are in the middle of the desert and you should expect this. We had no trouble with rough roads as some had complained about, so perhaps these have been fixed. Overall, this is a great park that included spotless facilities and a great staff. We highly recommend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Fine RV park for a stopover or even a bit longer. Well organized operation, adequate amenities and very clean despite a windy and sometimes dusty location. Gravel sites are mostly level but not in all cases. Grass pet area and chain link pet run are provided along with stern instructions about policing after your dog. Other remarks about a pitted driveway are accurate so take it slow and easy getting in and out. We'll stay again when on this route. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$34
Overall, a nice park but the roads [entry and interior] are very rough and sites are not level. They have a lot of customers, so it would seem they could afford to fix the roads. Also, typical for KOA, everything is extra $: Cable TV, sewer, Wi-Fi. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Gravel roads and sites. A large number of long-term trailers, but all were tidy and clean. Grass only at the edges of the park and between the long term resident sites. Fairly wide sites (30 ft +), mature trees. Extra charges for cable and internet. The 30 amp fuse popped upon hook up but was attended to promptly by staff. Friendly hosts, store well stocked. The laundry and bathrooms were clean. Ooodles and oodles of flies, though, from the adjacent corrals, spoiled an otherwise pleasant visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
This is a pretty nice park. Our site, number 53, was level, shaded and plenty wide. The hookups worked great, and the cable was outstanding. The park staff was friendly and helpful. They will lend you sports equipment to use on their courts. What really stood out for me was how reasonably priced the camp store was. The $38 nightly rate felt high, but we had four relatives with us that we don't normally travel with. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Not knowing what to expect from the mixed reviews here, we were actually pleasantly surprise. While the park had shaded sites, I asked for an open site because of our satellite and was given one that was just fine, fairly level and gravel. I didn’t like having to pay for the wi-fi, especially since the other recent stays at KOAs did not charge for it. What’s worse, the code can only be used on one computer!!!! Our power and water pressure were good, as was the AT&T signal. All in all, we were pleased with the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
What the heck is going on with KOA ? I have been actively r.v.'ing for 25 years now. KOA's have become either completely worn out, or like this one, so independent and lacking in customer service, that they run long timers off. I called to make a reservation for the last weekend in May, and was told I had to pay for three days or not at all. Apparently they now have a rule that during holiday weekends, you either stay three days or get your behind down the road. I guess that's fine, there are other fine RV parks in Ely. I really think its time those of us that are paying the bill have some say so in the campgrounds. With the economy what it is now days, parks that treat folks like this will slowly go out of business. Without us, they have no business. I will certainly be taking my dollars to some other Nevada town. Hear that Ely Chamber of Commerce ? We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
I disagree. I thought this was a very nice KOA. I came on a motorcycle after being scared of the Border Inn. Park is very clean. Restrooms and showers were spotless. Yes, there is a little dust, but hey, you're in the desert. The people that run it were very nice to deal with and gave me a disabled veteran discount. Don't see that very often. If I was to find one thing wrong here it would be the awful prices of the food and snacks in the campground store. I would say 200% over store prices. But then the town's fast food places are just a mile down the road. I "will" stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Typical KOA--overpriced to start with and nickel and dime charges in addition. Wi-Fi was average and was an extra $2.00 per day. Park is extremely dusty and sites are very, very unlevel. People who work at the park were nice, however. We would not stay here again if we had a choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Nice staff, well stocked store, clean restrooms, narrow spots, everything worked. Not too many choices in Ely, but this one was fine and met our needs, though not cheap. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Ok place to overnight, considering it's in the middle of nowhere. Would stay here again if going through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Owner admits that the electrical system is antiquated. We had no power in our site, used a cord to the next site and that power was weak. Sites are good size, office is pleasant and helpful. Nice views and burros to watch. If only they had good power! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$27
Check in was easy and fast and the campsite was muddy (we came in during a spring snowstorm). You have to pay for wi-fi and cable TV--$2 each and the service of both was good. We were going home from Cedar City so we just stayed overnight. The store was well stocked with supplies and food. The clerk was nice and gave us a list of places to eat and had a good knowledge of the area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
This KOA was better than most, except in terms of price. As with most KOAs, it was over-priced. There were extra charges for Cable TV, WiFi and 50 amp. The WiFi worked well. The sites were spacious but, as usual with KOAs, the noise caused by the gravel driveways was annoying. Because the park was set back quite a distance from highway, it was very quiet. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2006
$34
This could have been a much higher rated rv park. When checking in I politely asked for a site away from most of the other campers and was told I didn't need one. I was put right next to two hunters who barbequed, built a wood fire, got drunk, talked loud, slammed doors, and parked their running truck right behind my back door. Everyone that came in after me was put in the back of the park away from others. Because of this I have nothing good to say about this place or the people running it. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
We stayed here this past weekend. We were allowed to off-load the camper and use the truck for site seeing. Nevada Northern Railroad a must do and see. We also visited Lehman Caves National Park about 60 miles east near Baker, NV. We have stayed here in the past and always enjoyed our visit. This time was no exception. Friendly helpful folks in the office. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
There aren't many choices in Ely. In the off seasons this place seems to attract a lot of permanent trailer park types along with their associated junk. Great fun watching a drunk couple have a verbal fight and then start a bon-fire that almost torched their beat up camper. Couple that with 4wheelers rcing all over the place and this isn't a fun place to be. Too bad since the facilities are not bad. Incidentally, Ely has some of the highest gas prices in Nevada. Be prepared to pay for the privilege of passing through here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
This is a nice park to stay in. There is a nice pet area and the staff was very friendly. The wi-fi worked great for us and was only $2. We have stayed here 3 times now and have enjoyed every stay. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
A nicer KOA however, the staff has a horrible attitude. Their wi-fi was down hard and inoperative yet they claimed I was at fault. (I am network engineer by profession and a former cellular telephone system operations manager). When I tried to explain my level of expertise to the staff person they said "good for you", completely discounting the issue at hand and never offering a refund. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$42
This was the second time we've been to the KOA in Ely, and its the nicest RV park we've ever stayed at. KOAs tend to be nicer than most RV parks, at least consistent, standardized, but for amenities for a family, KOA #35 in ELy can't be beat. The picnic tables at each camp spot aren't for show, you can use them, as well as the barbeque. There's a nice dog run, the playground is new and bright, and they've got this thing going, on the grass that doubles as a volleyball court. At night, they open up this little cabin that houses a big-screen TV. The kids get the biggest kick out of sitting on the grass with a blanket over their shoulders and watching some family movie. They make friends with the other kids, and its just generally a good experience. We were there to ride the Ghost Train, the Northern Nevada Railroad Museum train, so we stayed for two days. Besides the train (we took both the Ruth steam train and the Highline train) we hunted garnets at Garnet Mountain, and checked out the Ward Charcola kilns, and even found the Ward cemetery. Like the wife told me, we could have spent a week in Ely, but we said that about Pahranagat NWA as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
Wifi not working when we were there. Very dusty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Given the nearby alternatives the KOA in Ely is a great stop over. park is nit paved and the gravel roads create a dust problem when the park is busy. One annoying rule of the park is that they require a minimum 3 night stay on holiday weekends in order to get a reservation. Good news is they never seem to turn anyone away no matter how crowded they are. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Portable campfire grills were added recently and are a nice touch. Just wheel one to your site when you want a campfire. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Campers across the drive stayed up ALL NIGHT, with multiple different cars stopping by for a minute or 2, then leaving. No action by management. While in the store, one of the staff mentiioned, loudly enough to be heard by my wife and I, that "he wished people from Southern California would only stop long enough to leave their money, then get the HELL out of his campground". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is a poor park to stop at. The staff was nice, but the place is not much to look at. Good view of the mountains to the East. All sites are gravel and we had a lot of dust due to high wind. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2001
$20
Seem to stay here at least twice a year -- it's a long way to Ely from anywhere! Sites and access roads are gravel, pads are long, wide and as level as can be expected for gravel over clay/dirt. A few sites do have some grass and all have trees that offer shade during the summer. Owner/operators are friendly and helpful. Great dog area (open sage brush field) just outside the park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$25
We were attending a class reunion and stayed for several days. This is a small town and you have to appreciate that a lot is not happening. Lots of beautiful scenery and fresh air. Make plans to see the old mining sites and the Northern Nevada Railroad. The campground hosts went out of their way to make all the guests feel like family. Highly recommended for a slower pace. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
1999
$20
We thought this was above average for a KOA. Ely is in eastern Nevada, so is not very busy, so it is nothing like Las Vegas or Reno. If you go here then Lehman Caves is a must see and is nearby. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com