220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Silver City Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (775) 267-3359
CGID1756

Silver City Resort

Camp Information
Sites
206
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   4   6   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
This park is clean and well maintained. The sites are level concrete pull-throughs with large gravel areas and picnic tables. Very few trees on the premises. Personally, we like the lack of trees and grassy areas. No dust or mud problems. The lack of park cable is a downer and the Wi-Fi is quite slow unless you are at the front office area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Overall, this is a good park when traveling on US 395 through NV. All rock (not small gravel) sites were not appealing, and lack of shade made it uncomfortable in the afternoons. The wind blew every afternoon we stayed there, and without trees, there was no shelter. Laundry room and shower rooms were clean. We did not use the shower rooms, as security is always a problem when shower stalls only have a curtain, and no way to lock the door for individual safety. This might not be a problem for men, but women would appreciate a locked shower door! Small dog areas, with only dirt, but we were able to walk dog outside of park area for more exercise. Several long term residents, some that need to clean up their site, with dogs left tied up outside that barked when anyone walked by. Also, noticed several old RV's stored, or abandoned ? in spaces on the monthly section of the park. Would not recommend this park as a destination park, but is definitely good for a short stay when visiting the Carson Valley area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$41
A first-class park and staff. Appealing entrance behind huge RV-friendly gas station. Asphalt roads, level concrete pads, and gravel for toads. Excellent laundry & bathrooms. Cleaning lady is everywhere: non-stop and friendly. Turning radius a little tight for big rigs. Just wished for shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
We chose this park because they accept Passport America, and the daily rate reflects that discount....the Passport America price is actually $19.98 plus tax per day. A very nicely maintained park right next to US HWY 395, but there is not much traffic at night, so it was not an issue. Staff was friendly, fast and helpful. We were led to our 70 foot long pull through site, and the person made sure our 62 feet of motorhome and trailer were parked properly within the site before leaving. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
We stayed here in April 2013 (monthly) and for a week in May 2013. We were going to stay again in September but they would not honor the internet price they had advertized. In May, the internet rate was listed as $165/week. In September, it was the same. We were told both times that the rate had JUST increased. We fell for it in May and paid it. We didn't stay there in September because they were aware of the discrepancy in May and didn't fix it. We felt that was deceptive. Too bad, because the place meets our basic needs when we visit relatives in the area several times per year. Pros: quiet, close to Carson City, full time residents are friendly don't have lots of junk spread around their sites. They keep it pretty clean. Cons: no shade, very windy (area in general), staff not knowledgeable about which sites are appropriate for RVs with slides. If you stay here, visually confirm that the site will be ok for your vehicle. Price discrepancy we thought sloppy at best and deceptive at worst. We will not be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
The rate included all taxes with a Good Sam discount. First of all this is not my first choice for camping in the area but since the others were booked we ended up here. The site we were given had electrical problems and after three days of surge protector kicking power off they finally ackowledged they had a problem and quit blaming it on the coaches on both sides of us and had a electrician there to fix it the day we were leaving. I can say this; they did give us three days free out of seven for our discomfort. I have a problem with RV Parks that nickel and dime you for cable TV and a pet when they already are charging you what appears to be too much in the first place. This park does have some nice amenities as previously mentioned but not enough for us to come back with the issues we had to deal with. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Keep in mind you're in NV; there is no grass or shade at this campground. Most sites are pull-through with paved runners for parking, the other areas are all river rock, no dust. All hookups are in the rear of the site. Nice pool, laundry, showers and restrooms. The staff are very friendly and the store is well stocked and clean. They sell gas and diesel and the price is good. They allow rig washing for a small charge. Wi-Fi was great most of the time. I would have rated this campground higher except for the fact they allow campfires and there is always a wind that will blow smoke on you if a campfire close by is burning. I feel the sites are way too small for allowing campfires. Great area to see Tahoe, Virginia City and Reno from. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Don't pay for TV, you have good reception on your antenna. Good free Wi-Fi. If you ask you get a fire pit. Beautiful half open swimming pool, nice views. Great place to visit Lake Tahoe and surrounding mountains. You don't hear the traffic noise even though the road is just next to the campground. They have the cheapest diesel we had for a long time, just at the entrance. Sites are on small concrete slabs. When you drive a big rig it is a little difficult to park but they escort you to the site and help you with everything. Friendly and helpful people. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
River rock sites with concrete strip to park on. No dust during windy days. Staff is very nice. Pool and spa are covered with roof. Bathrooms are clean but hot and humid. Close to all shopping. Much closer to Carson City than to Minden. Wi-Fi spotty, got better reception on phone hot spot. Some traffic noise. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
This park is a large resort. It has easy access from US 395, with fuel and supplies available. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The sites are all pull through, large, level, and gravel. The park has a two large clean laundry rooms, planned activities, and very good WiFi unless you use Vista platform computers. It is a very nice place to stay while visiting Virginia City, Carson, and Lake Tahoe. We would stay here again in our fifth-wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Located smack on highway 395, but the light traffic noise died down every night. Competitively priced gas station and propane on site. A few trees, clean river rock/gravel sites. Very clean bathrooms, showers, and laundry room. Manager who checked us in gets an A+ for friendly, efficient process. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Very clean park and the staff is friendly as you are escorted to your site. Sites are generous in size and while the WiFi is no better or worse than other RV parks, the TV reception was the best we have had in our 4 months of travel. (Maybe because it is $2 extra per night?) They have a full service gas station, propane is available and a store with a little bit of everything. Will definitely stay here again when we pass through this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$26
Nice, relatively quiet park with a great view of the mountains, close to shopping and dining. Roads between rows is fine for driving, but a little difficult for maneuvering a big rig. Be prepared to swing wide. There are "No Pets" signs in the lush grassy areas and the dog parks are sand, dirt and gravel. Our pets are family members, you charge us $2 a day per pet, please be more respectful of them. There are sprinklers that water the grass in the mornings. While I understand this, it would be helpful if there was a way to warn the people in the dog park that the sprinklers were getting ready to soak the dog park area. In times when the park is not busy, it would be nice if the office personnel could stagger campers throughout the park a little better than packing big rigs right next to each other leaving other parts of the park empty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Rate based on weekly rate. This is a great place to stay if you want to visit Lake Tahoe, Reno, Carson City or Virginia City, which is what we did. Site are concrete pads with gravel all around, so no dust blowing around. There is a pool, hot tub, laundry, hair salon, store, propane, gas and diesel fuel and playground available so you can get pretty much everything you need without leaving the campground. If you do need more, there are plenty of restaurants and retail stores five minutes away. There is a Walmart Supercenter nearby as well. I was able to wash my truck and trailer for a $5.00 fee which was great. We are full timers and find that many RV parks don't allow washing of rigs. We would certainly stay here again if we find ourselves in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
We stayed here for three nights while seeing all the attractions in the area including Virginia City, Carson City and the Nevada State Museum, the little town of Genoa and more. There were mostly permanent residents in the park at this time of year with just a scattering of travelers coming and going. The park is very tidy and well laid out and offers many amenities. The restrooms and showers were particularly clean and spacious! Didn't notice much in the way of noise, even from the nearby highway. Wi-Fi worked well. This would be a hot place to stay in the summer as most of the trees between the sites are not yet mature enough to provide any shade, but there is a pool available for cooling off on those hot summer days. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
Park was just OK. We were over nighting so didn't use any of the facilities. Quite a bit of road and airplane noise. Store and gas station was convenient. Staff was friendly. My stay here again if needed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
These folks could not have been more helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here while visiting Harrahs Auto Museum, Virginia City and the surrounding area. Pull throughs were concrete, level and clean. Everything worked well and it was a great stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Good stop on 395, stayed here to visit some of the neighboring towns in the area. The address is in Minden, but it is actually just south of Carson City, and several miles north of the downtown area of Minden. Very friendly at check-in, and the property has a lot of amenities. Gas, propane, groceries, etc., even a pond! Very clean sites, rocks with concrete strips to park your RV. My only wish would be that there would be more trees, and some mature trees; could get a little warm! (Guess this will come in time.) Everything seems fairly new. The sites had plenty of room for us. Internet service was as usual in the parks, just OK. I have just gotten to the realization; this is just an added extra, that may or may not work well. They just want to be able to advertise that they have it! We will probably stay here again when traveling 395. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is IMO the best park/value in the area. Great Wi-Fi, cable, clean, staff great, etc., etc. True, the "patios" are rock/gravel, but that is fine with us, better than the dirt in many parks. Escort to site, basics in their store, fuel/propane on premises. The few permanent residents appeared to keep their spaces up better than a lot of others we have been in. We will stay here when back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$35
Clean, friendly park right on 395. We are staying a month. Sites are a bit narrow, but not a problem in the winter (see below). Several small dog-walking areas, but recommend dog park a couple of miles down the road in Carson City. Buildings are all sparkling clean. There is a monthly rate that is significantly less, even with the charge for electricity. One big drawback is very friendly staff does not always know what they are doing. It took 3 tries to get our 34 foot motorhome into a 50 amp site with enough room for our slide (small trees are planted too close to the curb). Also they didn't know about the propane delivery logistics or schedule,and gave much misinformation, even though they sell the service. On the phone they said the internet was great, but when we checked-in they said is problematic in a lot of spots. We picked a spot near the tower and have had no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This was our second time to stay at this CG. The new management has made some nice improvements. Both stays were only one-nighters as we were crossing the country, so we didn't take advantage of all of the facilities. The major improvement for us was FREE Wi-Fi. The previous stay was extra cost and didn't work, but this time it worked just fine. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and meet our needs. This area can be very windy, so be careful about extending your awnings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
This is one of the nicest campgrounds in the area. When we originally looked at it I was not that impressed but after staying for 5 nights (we added 3 after we got there) I really liked the place. They have a wonderful staff & a new manager who was great. The pool & spa were clean and a good temperature. The laundry room & bathrooms both were exceptionally clean. They have the most well-stocked store I have come across and their living room area was great. 2 big screen TV's, sofas, big table and chairs and a great internet connection. If in the area again I would definitely stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
This RV Park has an open setting in the Carson Valley. It has pull through sites, which are not long enough for our MH and attached small car and reach the hook ups at the rear of the site. All sites had hook ups in the extreme rear of the site. We could not connect our sewer hose because of the location of the hook ups. Everything else worked well. The Park was neat and clean everywhere. We planned on staying only one night and we did. I gave it a lower rating because of the lack of shade and hook up locations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is by far the best campground we visited in the area. The site we had was a pull through and was of good size for a big rig. Ours was extremely level which was a pleasant surprise. It is a little tricky to drive onto the concrete strips and it required a long sewer hose as the connection was at the very back of the site. The roads are quite narrow but not a problem. There is a bit of road noise and no security. Everything was really clean and the staff was friendly as well as helpful. We would recommend the park and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
We arrived on April 27 and paid for a month. The rate was 425 plus a 100 deposit for electricity. The staff was helpful. The roads are paved and the sites have concrete strips for the tires. Otherwise the sites are rock. The power is good. Be careful when you check in as some of the sewer connections are at the very rear of the pull thru sites and you will need a long hose to dump. Some rows have the sewer towards the middle of the site. They have a decent store and gas station with a nice lounge for guests. We would stay here again. I am a tough critic but will give this park a seven and recommend it. It is close to Lake Tahoe and Carson City. The casinos are fun with some having good food at a reasonable price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
Very friendly welcome when checking in. Park has gas and propane service, some of the lowest gas prices around (if you leave your debit card in the office while filling up: they consider it the same as cash for the low price.) Sites wide enough, cement tracks to park on and test your driving skill! Good Sam discount. Handy to Carson City. Nice pet area and fishing pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
We found the park to be clean, the sites paved, but with rock/stone small yard. We found the staff to be very friendly, BUT the management was not so. After staying for 2 months, we asked for a different site, twice, and management chose not to accommodate us. They had many excuses such as and not limited to; "It is a lot of paper work for my staff." "We will have to read your meter." "We have other campers that have been here longer than you, that might want that site." (As I type, the site is still empty), etc. etc. etc. We have camped here off and on for several years, this will be out last stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
This is a very large park with lots of amenities, most of which we didn't use, so we found it expensive for what we did use. But everything in this area is expensive, and it is a nice park. Our major complaint is that the sites are narrow. We had to remove a couple of branches from the tree at the side of the site because it was scratching the side of our slideout when the wind blew. The sites are gravel (actually fairly large rocks) except for two strips on which you're supposed to park. The utilities are all at the rear, so we didn't have much option of pulling up to get away from the tree and we had to use our macerator to empty the tanks, as our normal hoses wouldn't reach. They do allow you to park your tow vehicle on the gravel at the side, which is good because our truck wouldn't have fit otherwise. I was never able to access the Wi-Fi but I don't know if that was their problem or mine. We have our own internet access so it wasn't a big problem. The cable TV is good, the electric power is strong and the water pressure is good. It looked like there were lots of seasonal or permanent residents: lots of trailers without tow vehicles evident, but all the sites looked clean and tidy (they have lots of rules on that subject). On balance, we'd come back here if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Interesting campground with the concrete strips where the tires are suppose to go and then the rest of the site being gravel. Wi-Fi is "free". Have to go in and get a sheet with a user name a password for every 4 hours of use, but plans are to change that. They gave cable TV "free" to us also. Maybe because we were staying for nine days/nights. But with this price they both should be in with the price. The only other complaint other then the price, is the traffic noise. The farther back in the campground you can get no doubt will be better. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
The site was nothing special; in fact, the hookup box was falling apart. And babies in the spa. Setting that aside this was a great place for our overnight. I don't think we have ever had a better / more caring staff anyplace. At check-in I owed them for the pet fee and it came to $1.10 and I gave him $2. He tossed one dollar back and reached in his pocket for the dime. His money or the maybe the resort's - makes no difference; it was the idea of it. As we are walking around one of the staff members (had SC shirt on) asks if she can answer questions or help out - shows us the large, spotless laundry and the ladies bathroom to DW. As we are walking back to the 5er we see her going to a room and getting supplies - yup, one of her jobs is cleaning the bathrooms! And you would not know it from her manner or appearance. Then, I messed up on the Wi-Fi and charges and all - definitely my fault. Called them at 8 PM and the guy got on a cart and brought me new connection codes no charge even though I told him it was my fault. Yup, would go back there again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Great little store with RV supplies and groceries. Has a gas station on site, as well as a beauty shop! Restrooms and pool areas were very clean. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. All pavement, concrete and asphalt, so very clean, a treat after coming from remote campgrounds with nothing but dirt underfoot. Has a few trees. Not cheap, but a convenient location for day trips to Lake Tahoe and Virginia City and into Carson City. I am a solo traveling female. Felt perfectly safe in this park. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$40
This is a nice park, but overpriced. I have stayed here a number of times in the past. They sprayed for weeds all over the gravel and actually left pools of it. This is potentially a problem for pets and people. The sites have gravel which is quite large and not particularly user friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This RV park is clean and well maintained with a service station and store on site. This was my second visit to the park, and if in the area I would not hesitate to visit again. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
A nice park and fairly new. Only problem we had was the electrical box was at the very end of the site and our cord didn't reach. Don't know about the Wi-Fi status: husband didn't want to pay extra for it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Very poor quality Wi Fi, which we paid $5 extra for 4 hours, plus the charge daily for cable. The site was not level, and rather smallish lengthwise. I would stay elsewhere next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
I would rate the CG higher except for three problems. They cannot eliminate the road noise from the nearby highway but that could correct erratic water pressure and (in time) the lack of shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
A nice park with good paved parking pads that are good sized. Patio area is unfortunately filled with rather large gravel. The park has excellent facilities and is well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The scenery is beautiful, and the location makes it convenient to all services. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
We are full-time R.V. residents and are currently living at Silver City RV Resort as my husband works nearby. We have lived here for 6 months now and have been completely happy with the services. The staff are quick to respond to any problem and very helpful. This park is very pet friendly with three dog parks that provide waste removal bags at each site. The clerks will hand out "treats" for your pet if requested. The pool and spa are kept clean and orderly and there are "Adult Only" hours posted and enforced at the pool/spa. There is an on-site Beauty Shop, a nice convenience store, a small Casino, a lovely large community room w/fireplace and kitchen for residents use and a catch/release fishing pond, putting green and walking area with trees and grass. The only reason I couldn't give this park the highest rating is the lack of mature trees to provide shade during the hot summer months. We will continue to live here until we retire in two years and will stay here whenever we are in the Carson City area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Much of what the previous reviewer is true; way too costly and they have the nerve to charge for WiFi and cable. Streets narrow and the sites are all rock except for two concrete paths to park the RV on. It was clean, though. There is a big shopping center nearby. Traffic getting in and out is bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Price on the high side and you have to pay for WiFi, $5 for four hours and $2 a day for Cable extra. Also, Motothomes will have to unhook tow car to get into most sites as the streets are narrow. All in all, a nice place but next time I will try another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Big WiFi advertising sign at entrance then you find that it's $5 for 4 hrs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2006
$35
Very poor management. I would not recommend if you are looking for cleanliness. Cleaning lady spends all her time hiding in laundry when she should be cleaning. You have to avoid using laundry at that time or will be bothered. Also, handicap ladie's room has been out of order for some time. Now the 2nd of 4 toilets are broke in same rest room. I went to use the sink in ladie's room once & a beagle was tied up to faucet. Was glad to leave. The staff that works in the store are good, except for women who appears to be in charged. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
The park is clean and the clubhouse is nice. The park really lacks in customer service and management. We have been here for 2 months and will soon be leaving. The staff never knows what is going on with issues in the park. The park flooded badly December 31st and nobody knew what to do. We ended up at the Wal-Mart parking lot for our new years. They didn't seem to care. We found out it happens often and that the guests are on their own to deal with any problems that arise. The park will not take care of it. Needless to say, we will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Newer park. Located south of Carson City. You have to drive to any casinos or restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com